Kickstart

Re: Member of Parliament arrested and charged

Postby Kickstart » September 18th, 2022, 9:46 am

wing wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
wing wrote:Having read the posts in this thread and seeing that only a handful of posters including the alternate account of a notorious user who has been banned, there seems to be a general apathy regarding the situation, or maybe many posters don't agree that the PNM and police and DPP in cahoots and refuse to add to the emotionally charged responses by the UNC supporters here.

david lee can handle himself so there is no need to cry tears for him.

bigger problem is the police service seems to be blatantly controlled by the politicians. i live at ground level so when the wrong politician decides to take a shiet, is feces i bathing in. wing, bro, you might not be at ground level so you think it doesn't affect you. but don't worry, this crap perpetuates a failed state and the fountain of shiet going to splash on you too bro
Don't get me wrong, I was just making a specific observation about the replies in this specific thread. As to being on the "ground" , I am not sure what qualifies someone to be designated as such. I don't care one way or the other, once a UNC politician involved, he will have no shortage of legal representation who will tie up the system and this will be forgotten just like Marlene, Darryl, Faris, Ish, etc. So to come here bleating and clucking and gnashing like the sky is falling is just talk until we take action at the polls, and it not even looking good there. Just wait for the next distraction...it shouldn't be too long..

So, people can't give an opinion on an issue that very much affects them?
Are you saying stay quiet about all the LFD RFD PNM's snafus, scandals, nepotism, corruption, ineptitude and theft until 2025, when you can vote?
Are you serious?
Once PNM do it is OK

Postby hover11 » September 19th, 2022, 5:23 am

Constituents call on Lee to resign

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/c ... 2412412d0d

Postby 88sins » September 19th, 2022, 6:52 am

Allyuh eh fed up with the bs that happens here? Any of allyuh willing and able and ready to get up and move to do something about it? How many decades now allyuh complaining about the same nonsense that will never be addressed because it benefits those who engage in it?

I really fed up of the dotishness in this place. Currently giving serious consideration to taking all in the family that want to leave and migrate permanently.

matix

Member of Parliament arrested and charged

Postby matix » September 19th, 2022, 7:52 am

88sins wrote:Allyuh eh fed up with the bs that happens here? Any of allyuh willing and able and ready to get up and move to do something about it? How many decades now allyuh complaining about the same nonsense that will never be addressed because it benefits those who engage in it?

I really fed up of the dotishness in this place. Currently giving serious consideration to taking all in the family that want to leave and migrate permanently.

But where to? Lots of BS happens here, but look at the world, same issues all over. As a small island we are truly blessed, look what’s happening to Puerto Rico atm.

Postby hover11 » September 19th, 2022, 10:02 am

It has been two years since Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley announced his intention to seek his cabinet’s agreement to cap the motor vehicle tax exemption enjoyed by parliamentarians and other public officers at $350,000. No word on that announcement since

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2022, 10:10 am

thats a mammaguy of the highest degree

you might see them enforce the proper tax overhaul of the gaming before that but dont bank on it either since you know which percentage own all the big casinos

hover11 wrote:It has been two years since Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley announced his intention to seek his cabinet’s agreement to cap the motor vehicle tax exemption enjoyed by parliamentarians and other public officers at $350,000. No word on that announcement since

Postby Dizzy28 » September 19th, 2022, 10:14 am

hover11 wrote:It has been two years since Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley announced his intention to seek his cabinet’s agreement to cap the motor vehicle tax exemption enjoyed by parliamentarians and other public officers at $350,000. No word on that announcement since

Me ain't no lawyer but afaik that's not within Cabinet's control.

Salaries and benefits for Politicians are the purview of an independent body - Salaries Review Commission and that body is enshrined in the Constitution of the country.

CHAPTER 11
THE SALARIES REVIEW COMMISSION
CONSTITUTION OF COMMISSION

140.- 1. There shall be a Salaries Review Commission which shall consist of a Chairman and four other members all of whom shall be appointed by the President after consultation with the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition.

2. The members of the Salaries Review Commission shall hold office in accordance with section 126.

FUNCTIONS OF COMMISSION

141.- 1. The Salaries Review Commission shall from time to time with the approval of the President review the salaries and other conditions of service of the President, the holders of offices referred to in section 136(12) to (15), members of Parliament, including Ministers of Government and Parliamentary Secretaries, and the holders of such other offices as may be prescribed.

2. The report of the Salaries Review Commission concerning any review of salaries or other conditions of service, or both, shall be submitted to the Prime Minister for presentation to the Cabinet and shall be laid as soon as possible thereafter on the table of each House.

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2022, 10:19 am

talk is he padna is one whose money trail leads to the car being purchased, ie suspect source of funds for the mp
if he says yes that is true then it could be a matter for the declaration of "gifts" but a strange one since het gifted money to buy a car but give the car back for gift giver to use

and who knows, maybe a judge will also say that because a car is in your name but you are clearly not using it but give somebody else to use fulltime it is not a gray area at all and does not comply with the stated perk of "taxfree car for personal use" and not
"car for use of padnas"

Postby Dizzy28 » September 19th, 2022, 10:35 am

pugboy wrote:talk is he padna is one whose money trail leads to the car being purchased, ie suspect source of funds for the mp
if he says yes that is true then it could be a matter for the declaration of "gifts" but a strange one since het gifted money to buy a car but give the car back for gift giver to use

and who knows, maybe a judge will also say that because a car is in your name but you are clearly not using it but give somebody else to use fulltime it is not a gray area at all and does not comply with the stated perk of "taxfree car for personal use" and not
"car for use of padnas"

This has been on-going for a long time.
A well known businessman used to boast how && buy a Range Rover but its really his.
Legally it is the businessman one now. You can do the Licensing search as that story made news back in the PP days and the chassis # and licence plate # are in the public domain.

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2022, 11:08 am

it would be good if it goes to court and the judge say to legally own but permanently lending is a contravention of that perk and make them clowns in cabinet cover up the loophole, reluctantly of course

mind you its not only parliament this happens, I know somebody who upgraded his bmw m3 more than once with a padna working in the UN.
this perk also is present for other industries, eg hotels are allow it for a "chauffeur" vehicle

pugboy wrote:talk is he padna is one whose money trail leads to the car being purchased, ie suspect source of funds for the mp

"car for use of padnas"

This has been on-going for a long time.
A well known businessman used to boast how && buy a Range Rover but its really his.
Legally it is the businessman one now. You can do the Licensing search as that story made news back in the PP days and the chassis # and licence plate # are in the public domain.

Postby Chimera » September 19th, 2022, 11:34 am

Thats a unwinnable case for the government.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » September 19th, 2022, 12:00 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Thats a unwinnable case for the government.
But a win for the unintelligent pnm supporter as they believe anything told to them.

Postby Chimera » September 19th, 2022, 12:19 pm

Lol yup.

Just like that fcukery with Jack Warner before elections

They extradite him yet?

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2022, 1:00 pm

it’s around this time mid term when the distractions are thrown out to keep the population not bored

Postby hover11 » September 19th, 2022, 1:06 pm

Budget coming , they will mamaguy the masses with some gimmicks
pugboy wrote:it’s around this time mid term when the distractions are thrown out to keep the population not bored

Postby hover11 » September 24th, 2022, 6:54 pm

Just leaving this here. Must be nice to pay no taxes on million dollar vehicles. Hard work and sacrifice from the masses(asses) sweat and tears.
FB_IMG_1664060016703.jpg

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 24th, 2022, 7:02 pm

Anyone ever see their mp driving around the constituency in one of these cars?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 24th, 2022, 7:58 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Anyone ever see their mp driving around the constituency?

FIXED!

wing

Postby wing » September 24th, 2022, 9:07 pm

hover11 wrote:Just leaving this here. Must be nice to pay no taxes on million dollar vehicles. Hard work and sacrifice from the masses(asses) sweat and tears.
FB_IMG_1664060016703.jpg
Everyone knows that document has exemptions for all MPs, so you should be more fair and balanced and not be blatantly UNC.

Postby sMASH » September 24th, 2022, 9:10 pm

wing wrote:
hover11 wrote:Just leaving this here. Must be nice to pay no taxes on million dollar vehicles. Hard work and sacrifice from the masses(asses) sweat and tears. FB_IMG_1664060016703.jpg
Everyone knows that document has exemptions for all MPs, so you should be more fair and balanced and not be blatantly UNC.

need to get rid of exemptions on the whole.
or let them do a means test.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 24th, 2022, 10:36 pm

If you're salary is forty something thousand and you buy a million dollar car, how you maintaining that?! How much for a range rover tire?

Postby j.o.e » September 25th, 2022, 12:45 am

Mmoney607 wrote:If you're salary is forty something thousand and you buy a million dollar car, how you maintaining that?! How much for a range rover tire?

You change the vehicle instead of the tyre

Postby 88sins » September 25th, 2022, 12:54 am

So lemme see if I got this right

The toolumhead in chief, tells the monkey-minded population to sacrifice and brace for hard times and if you have 2 banana, eat one now and save the next one for later, while the table-thumping ticks and tapeworms buy vehicles they cannot afford on their mp salaries and enjoy tax breaks that literally absolutely NOBODY other than his band of said ticks and tapeworms get, while said parasites remain driven by state owned and maintained vehicles, and then said parasites sell said vehicles that they cannot afford on their salaries without ever using them, for a profit.

And Trinis, being the mindless nitwit folks that they are, happy and cool with that.

Ain't this place wonderful.

Postby hover11 » September 25th, 2022, 1:04 am

88sins wrote:So lemme see if I got this right

The toolumhead in chief, tells the monkey-minded population to sacrifice and brace for hard times and if you have 2 banana, eat one now and save the next one for later, while the table-thumping ticks and tapeworms buy vehicles they cannot afford on their mp salaries and enjoy tax breaks that literally absolutely NOBODY other than his band of said ticks and tapeworms get, while said parasites remain driven by state owned and maintained vehicles, and then said parasites sell said vehicles that they cannot afford on their salaries without ever using them, for a profit.

And Trinis, being the mindless nitwit folks that they are, happy and cool with that.

Ain't this place wonderful.
That is why we will always remain a 3rd world sh@t hole country, having the asses(masses) argue that both sides use the "perk" as a way to divide the population and then the obnoxious underling arsewari can come forward and say a Porsche is cheaper than a Toyota with the exemptions.

Postby 88sins » September 25th, 2022, 1:11 am

Vehicle costs 2m, without taxes.
Mp salaries around 40k
Said mp would need to dedicate approximately 100% of his salary for 50 months to pay for said vehicle.
But, trinis happy and ok with this. Cool, no problem.
However...

Many of these said vehicles are being paid for in usd, but your minister of fine ants the dishonorable Clown Impinbottom telling you the population of jackassess that there's a usd shortage and have you jumping through 2 dozen hoops and a four month wait to get even a paltry 2k USD to travel or keep your business.afloat.
And Trinis cool with that. No problem.

This is a nation that is both run and occupied by idiots, nitwits, and thieving corrupt useless nincompoops.

Postby hover11 » September 25th, 2022, 1:22 am

Once PNM in charge anything goes, the population will grumble , beat up, then we accept the BS they feed us and find something else to talk about next 7 days. Once the politicians in the spotlight the distractions come into play. Many ppl not seeing the chess moves atm. The pawns are sacrificed at a whim. Men like impsbert buying million dollar vehicle every two years yet he causes nothing but hardship on the citizenry every moment he gets, that is their tax money he uses to pay for those vehicles, however, the fact he himself is benefiting from such that perk will never be stopped or capped due to the fact , they met it this way and will leave it the way they met it. They don't see it as abuse simply as an allowance that comes with the job. Another example of the wise living off the foolish. Patiently awaiting impsbert to raise gas AGAIN with no complaints.

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2022, 5:25 am

you selling the vehicle at a profit closer to market price with taxes in 2 years,
for them most likely tires aint changing by that time
and getting a next one right away, its a business perk

j.o.e wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:If you're salary is forty something thousand and you buy a million dollar car, how you maintaining that?! How much for a range rover tire?

You change the vehicle instead of the tyre

Postby eliteauto » September 25th, 2022, 6:16 am

If you're gonna grouse get your grouses right, not only do ALL MPs and other State officials, as well as the Judiciary, enjoy this perk but they are also entitled to a loan facility and a relatively low-interest rate. This allows them to easily afford the vehicles without committing 100% of their salaries for 50 months as stated above. Some ( not all) of them then flip the cars after 2 years selling at market rates thus making a profit, which if you so wanted could facilitate the next purchase. Now add to that how many of these people as seasoned politicians with many terms under their belt, plus other external interests and it's easy to see how they buy these things.
A vehicle perk is normal in that range, what should be done is a cap on the exemption, if they say $350K total on exemptions that would be a vehicle around 700K which can be a pretty decent vehicle, wanna buy something more expensive then they only waive the $350K and you pay the rest. Also, move it from 2 years to 4, that's a reasonable service life for a vehicle at that level.

Postby sMASH » September 25th, 2022, 6:52 am

eliteauto wrote:If you're gonna grouse get your grouses right, not only do ALL MPs and other State officials, as well as the Judiciary, enjoy this perk but they are also entitled to a loan facility and a relatively low-interest rate. This allows them to easily afford the vehicles without committing 100% of their salaries for 50 months as stated above. Some ( not all) of them then flip the cars after 2 years selling at market rates thus making a profit, which if you so wanted could facilitate the next purchase. Now add to that how many of these people as seasoned politicians with many terms under their belt, plus other external interests and it's easy to see how they buy these things.
A vehicle perk is normal in that range, what should be done is a cap on the exemption, if they say $350K total on exemptions that would be a vehicle around 700K which can be a pretty decent vehicle, wanna buy something more expensive then they only waive the $350K and you pay the rest. Also, move it from 2 years to 4, that's a reasonable service life for a vehicle at that level.

the perk is normal in that range, for private for-profit businesses.
that should NOT be for a salaried public servant.
dont put no cap, dont reduce it... get rid of it altogether.

for the most, let it come tru a means test. if u too poor to buy a car, u could get a low interest loan.

them fellas wining and dining while children cant get a laptop for skool.

priorities bruv

Postby hover11 » September 25th, 2022, 6:57 am

If the economy is as bad as they want us to believe you can't be buying a million dollar vehicle every two years and expect not to pay taxes that is immoral and unethical, shows lack of integrity as well but what can one expect from a politician. Ppl need to stop comparing this perk to that of high ranked public servants, a politician can access this perk buy the expensive vehicle and still be driven to Parliament every Friday and to their MP office every Thursday by a chauffeur.