Member of Parliament arrested and charged

Re: Member of Parliament arrested and charged

Postby timelapse » September 25th, 2022, 7:15 am

In before gas prices go up and the red and dead crew try to justify it with semantics.

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2022, 9:30 am

at the end of the day these perks and deliberate legal misuse of them clearly show animal farm at its best and reflects very badly on the people who supposed to be setting an example.

I am sure no right thinking person would approve of their child having a close friend whose parents involved in smartman antics and the said child aspiring to the same and encouraging your child to do likewise
although I am sure there are tuners here who would.

Postby hover11 » September 25th, 2022, 9:40 am

pugboy wrote:at the end of the day these perks and deliberate legal misuse of them clearly show animal farm at its best and reflects very badly on the people who supposed to be setting an example.

I am sure no right thinking person would approve of their child having a close friend whose parents involved in smartman antics and the said child aspiring to the same and encouraging your child to do likewise
Didn't rowley himself say this is the land of the Smart Man and smart woman, everybody looking for a way to beat the system once it not crossing the line separating legality vs illegality. Everybody in Parliament eating a food at taxpayers expense of course

Postby MaxPower » September 25th, 2022, 10:38 am

Loving the new Range.

I wonder which MPs have placed their orders.

Amazing how Trinis fall for and beat up over MPs and luxury vehicles every single time lol

Postby hover11 » September 25th, 2022, 10:40 am

MaxPower wrote:Loving the new Range.

I wonder which MPs have placed their orders.

Amazing how Trinis fall for and beat up over MPs and luxury vehicles every single time lol
Max,

Even the longest rope has an end....

Postby Chimera » September 25th, 2022, 10:56 am

pugboy wrote:at the end of the day these perks and deliberate legal misuse of them clearly show animal farm at its best and reflects very badly on the people who supposed to be setting an example.

You doh have a $$ number?
Like a figure you would accept to participate in racket? Your name would be stink/tarnished but realistically that doesn't mean anything locally or abroad.

Like if you get to participate in a racket and you getting 1 mil 5 mil 10 mil 20 mil or 100 mil.

Everyone would know you were part of the racket but any charges wouldn't stick. You eh spending a night in jail. You eh losing your money.
Your family and children and great grand children set for life cuz you use the money to invest and grow it.

Hell you even give half of it to charity to help your moral conpass. You know if you didn't take the opportunity then someone else would have taken it.

Say you take 100 mil in a racket...and you spend 50mil to better the lives of poor people .

Whats allyuh number?

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2022, 11:00 am

yup, most of them contractors turn into "philantropists" now
that is the buzz word

one of them big into feeding the homeless whilst bribing police on the side to allow all kinda crookedness for the investments in other businesses he doing to legitimize his dollars

its only if your personal price is big enough that you become untouchable like those contractors
ie 100s of millions

otherwise it may not worth the strings attached

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Say you take 100 mil in a racket...and you spend 50mil to better the lives of poor people .

Whats allyuh number?

Postby 88sins » September 25th, 2022, 11:23 am

eliteauto wrote:If you're gonna grouse get your grouses right, not only do ALL MPs and other State officials, as well as the Judiciary, enjoy this perk but they are also entitled to a loan facility and a relatively low-interest rate. This allows them to easily afford the vehicles without committing 100% of their salaries for 50 months as stated above. Some ( not all) of them then flip the cars after 2 years selling at market rates thus making a profit, which if you so wanted could facilitate the next purchase. Now add to that how many of these people as seasoned politicians with many terms under their belt, plus other external interests and it's easy to see how they buy these things.
A vehicle perk is normal in that range, what should be done is a cap on the exemption, if they say $350K total on exemptions that would be a vehicle around 700K which can be a pretty decent vehicle, wanna buy something more expensive then they only waive the $350K and you pay the rest. Also, move it from 2 years to 4, that's a reasonable service life for a vehicle at that level.

Good idea, except for the tiny little fact that they DON'T use the vehicles they buy with said perk in their official capacity damn near 100% of the time. Whether on official or unofficial business, it's the vehicles, drivers, and security detail all paid for by the taxpayers moving them around. So the idea of considering said vehicles service life goes out the window, because it is not in service.

So, since that's the case, there threr acceptable options.
Option one-Drive the vehicle you bought with the perk that comes from your holding your official capacity
Option two-Pay all the taxes due on the vehicle you going to park up in your garage while riding around playing big boy at the taxpayers expense.
Option three-No politician should be allowed to own a vehicle while serving their term, since they NOT gonna be using it anyway for any official or unofficial purposes anyway.

Time to start changing the way we do things in this place.
Unless the wider population is content with this place as is, barely qualifying to be labeled a third world crap hole.

Postby eliteauto » September 25th, 2022, 11:37 am

88 the Worl Boss himself Colm does use his vehicle daily, driven by him, better (worse) yet he lives in his constituency so his constituents see him daily using the vehicle :lol: :lol: :lol: Rite dey he go say " this is for work"

truth be told many MPs use their vehicle albeit with an official driver as provided for in their remuneration package. Only ones on the Gov't side I see with Ministry vehicles are the PM obviously, Young, and Failgerald. I like the options you posted but dem beyotches eh changing nothing that separates the US from the THEMS

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2022, 11:40 am

the population needs to come together against these measures that they keep for them
whilst is crumbs for everybody else

Postby Chimera » September 25th, 2022, 12:38 pm

Pugs you doh have a number?

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2022, 12:45 pm

nope
didnt grow up in that environment
my family worked for themselves

Phone Surgeon wrote:Pugs you doh have a number?

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » September 25th, 2022, 1:11 pm

88sins wrote:So lemme see if I got this right

The toolumhead in chief, tells the monkey-minded population to sacrifice and brace for hard times and if you have 2 banana, eat one now and save the next one for later, while the table-thumping ticks and tapeworms buy vehicles they cannot afford on their mp salaries and enjoy tax breaks that literally absolutely NOBODY other than his band of said ticks and tapeworms get, while said parasites remain driven by state owned and maintained vehicles, and then said parasites sell said vehicles that they cannot afford on their salaries without ever using them, for a profit.

And Trinis, being the mindless nitwit folks that they are, happy and cool with that.

Ain't this place wonderful.
Zoom did say we live in a stupid country filled with Stupid people

Postby hover11 » September 25th, 2022, 1:12 pm

Kickstart wrote:
88sins wrote:So lemme see if I got this right

The toolumhead in chief, tells the monkey-minded population to sacrifice and brace for hard times and if you have 2 banana, eat one now and save the next one for later, while the table-thumping ticks and tapeworms buy vehicles they cannot afford on their mp salaries and enjoy tax breaks that literally absolutely NOBODY other than his band of said ticks and tapeworms get, while said parasites remain driven by state owned and maintained vehicles, and then said parasites sell said vehicles that they cannot afford on their salaries without ever using them, for a profit.

And Trinis, being the mindless nitwit folks that they are, happy and cool with that.

Ain't this place wonderful.
Zoom did say we live in a stupid country filled with Stupid people
So we shall remain

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » September 25th, 2022, 1:19 pm

eliteauto wrote:88 the Worl Boss himself Colm does use his vehicle daily, driven by him, better (worse) yet he lives in his constituency so his constituents see him daily using the vehicle Rite dey he go say " this is for work"

truth be told many MPs use their vehicle albeit with an official driver as provided for in their remuneration package. Only ones on the Gov't side I see with Ministry vehicles are the PM obviously, Young, and Failgerald. I like the options you posted but dem beyotches eh changing nothing that separates the US from the THEMS
Seeing an MP driving around in a fancy car does not mean his consistency is taken care off.

If anything its an insult

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » September 25th, 2022, 1:34 pm

Maybach S560 hmmmm what a vehicle.

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2022, 1:36 pm

so how long will the population endure these excesses ?
right now we on par with haiti and papa doc scenes of opulence

Postby hover11 » September 25th, 2022, 1:41 pm

But rowley said at least we better than haiti
pugboy wrote:so how long will the population endure these excesses ?
right now we on par with haiti and papa doc scenes of opulence

Postby De Dragon » September 25th, 2022, 1:49 pm

hover11 wrote:It has been two years since Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley announced his intention to seek his cabinet’s agreement to cap the motor vehicle tax exemption enjoyed by parliamentarians and other public officers at $350,000. No word on that announcement since

Me ain't no lawyer but afaik that's not within Cabinet's control.

Salaries and benefits for Politicians are the purview of an independent body - Salaries Review Commission and that body is enshrined in the Constitution of the country.

CHAPTER 11
THE SALARIES REVIEW COMMISSION
CONSTITUTION OF COMMISSION

140.- 1. There shall be a Salaries Review Commission which shall consist of a Chairman and four other members all of whom shall be appointed by the President after consultation with the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition.

2. The members of the Salaries Review Commission shall hold office in accordance with section 126.

FUNCTIONS OF COMMISSION

141.- 1. The Salaries Review Commission shall from time to time with the approval of the President review the salaries and other conditions of service of the President, the holders of offices referred to in section 136(12) to (15), members of Parliament, including Ministers of Government and Parliamentary Secretaries, and the holders of such other offices as may be prescribed.

2. The report of the Salaries Review Commission concerning any review of salaries or other conditions of service, or both, shall be submitted to the Prime Minister for presentation to the Cabinet and shall be laid as soon as possible thereafter on the table of each House.

The Salaries Review Commission can only recommend salary and perk adjustments. It must then be voted on by the House, so if these leeches really cared about anything but their own enrichment, what do you think they have to do?

Postby hover11 » September 25th, 2022, 1:57 pm

hover11 wrote:It has been two years since Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley announced his intention to seek his cabinet’s agreement to cap the motor vehicle tax exemption enjoyed by parliamentarians and other public officers at $350,000. No word on that announcement since

Me ain't no lawyer but afaik that's not within Cabinet's control.

Salaries and benefits for Politicians are the purview of an independent body - Salaries Review Commission and that body is enshrined in the Constitution of the country.

CHAPTER 11
THE SALARIES REVIEW COMMISSION
CONSTITUTION OF COMMISSION

140.- 1. There shall be a Salaries Review Commission which shall consist of a Chairman and four other members all of whom shall be appointed by the President after consultation with the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition.

2. The members of the Salaries Review Commission shall hold office in accordance with section 126.

FUNCTIONS OF COMMISSION

141.- 1. The Salaries Review Commission shall from time to time with the approval of the President review the salaries and other conditions of service of the President, the holders of offices referred to in section 136(12) to (15), members of Parliament, including Ministers of Government and Parliamentary Secretaries, and the holders of such other offices as may be prescribed.

2. The report of the Salaries Review Commission concerning any review of salaries or other conditions of service, or both, shall be submitted to the Prime Minister for presentation to the Cabinet and shall be laid as soon as possible thereafter on the table of each House.

The Salaries Review Commission can only recommend salary and perk adjustments. It must then be voted on by the House, so if these leeches really cared about anything but their own enrichment, what do you think they have to do?
If it is one time both opposition and government can agree on anything it is the dollars and cents that should be decided by the ppl whether they earned a raise in salary or not. What stopping them from increasing salaries again.....nothing