Why are replacement part numbers a secret?

Postby Gladiator » September 5th, 2022, 1:22 pm

Just wondering for those that know how this industry works. Why do these local sterlerships keep the part numbers for replacement parts such a secret?

There are many websites and even the parent companies themselves that you can provide the VIN# to and they willingly give you the part number. Why these mofos here feel its some kinda top secret?

Is it for the obvious reason to buss your head with price or is there some other ungodly reason?

Re: Why are replacement part numbers a secret?

Postby pugboy » September 5th, 2022, 1:27 pm

you asking answers
esp the pnm dealer

Postby eliteauto » September 5th, 2022, 1:37 pm

Exactly, you answered yourself, you'd be surprised how many vehicle owners are not aware of how to find info online, which makes it easy for stealerships to do what they do by making it seem technical and difficult. So lazy people just go there and buy, some even think it's a flex

Postby maj. tom » September 5th, 2022, 1:40 pm

Don't worry, with some searching through an exploded engineering view you can find the exact part number and order the OEM from the local/foreign dealer. Did that for some trans-axle O-ring washer, OEM was about 6 times more expensive at Ansa Motors compared to generic in regular shops. Came from Japan though. Generic was China.

Example:

https://partsouq.com/en/catalog/genuine/vehicle?c=Honda&ssd=%24%2AKwHu2sulr6yLsrCNv7Pmu7aigoWb6uXo6fv517ajrbK4nenqs72uAAAAACyppdY%3D%24&vid=32669&q=

Use Google Translate addon in the browser extensions so it auto translates from Japanese.

Postby Rovin » September 5th, 2022, 1:45 pm

well dise simply how they make $$$ & u dun kno they jes ordering it online for u with a nice fat healthy profit but thats jes business ent ...

Postby Gladiator » September 5th, 2022, 2:03 pm

Yeah boy... A guy I know just got quoted $40,000.00 for a replacement turbo for a prado... of course they refuse to give him the part number to try to source it outside the company.

One email to an after market online part retailer and they sent the OEM part number.

Postby j.o.e » September 5th, 2022, 2:45 pm

I think the reason is very obvious.

Postby pugboy » September 5th, 2022, 2:57 pm

this is why you buy a vehicle with widely available parts or listing reference to get them

death365

Postby death365 » September 5th, 2022, 3:18 pm

Postby Chimera » September 5th, 2022, 3:58 pm

pugboy wrote:this is why you buy a vehicle with widely available parts or listing reference to get them
Almera and tiida for life

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » September 5th, 2022, 4:13 pm

It's really to keep the masses ignorant. I once went to Toyota to get a part l needed asap, pulled out my drawing with part #, salesperson wanted to know where l got the drawing, cuz it looked just like the one he was viewing on the system. Banana republic!

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 5th, 2022, 4:47 pm

partsouq.com is the best way to find your OEM parts tied to your chassis number.

Although Diamond/Ansa give part numbers freely in their quote - good experience with Honda and Mitsu in this regard. I think Toyota was cool with sending part numbers in their quote too, but I found it cheaper elsewhere.

I remember buying some parts from Autona**ion several times over the years and someone always takes the trouble to black marker censor the numbers.

Postby paid_influencer » September 5th, 2022, 5:12 pm

maybe the part they supplying isn't the same part number or something?

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2022, 5:59 pm

Subaru to the world.

Every Subaru produced has every single part down to nut, bolt and washer listed for the vehicle listed on their site. Just put in the Vin number.

Then there is the site vexx dog listed, opposed forces and many others you can find your part on.

The world will always be fl4t

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 5th, 2022, 6:01 pm

Ditto on partsouq.com for finding part numbers

Postby Gladiator » September 5th, 2022, 7:01 pm

Well look at thing I learn here.... thanks for the links.

Postby MaxPower » September 5th, 2022, 7:17 pm

Gladman,

Everything you need is online.

Remember its a business the people running so they know you want the part number to buy elsewhere cheaper of course. Stop begging them.

When you buying any car from the firm, yuh have to make the link with the salesman one time and tell him if he wants the sale, he has to handle u up with the part numbers from his boys in the parts department.

It eh no secret padna, you just not in the loop.

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2022, 7:38 pm

MaxPower wrote:Gladman,

Remember its a business the people running so they know you want the part number to buy elsewhere cheaper of course. Stop begging them.

When you buying any car from the firm, yuh have to make the link with the salesman one time and tell him if he wants the sale, he has to handle u up with the part numbers from his boys in the parts department.

No, salesman will loose out. He eh have that kinda mindset.

Is the mechs with the private garage you link up with.

Postby Gladiator » September 5th, 2022, 7:52 pm

Oh gosh MaxiPad... you hadda come and stink up the thread eh. Talk was going so nice until you reach....

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 5th, 2022, 8:10 pm

You think a man in the parts department getting no commission being compelled by a salesman?

You taking good chain up when you go to a dealership.

Postby eliteauto » September 5th, 2022, 8:26 pm

:lol: :lol: is either you've never bought at a dealership or you take chainup from a sales rep

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 5th, 2022, 8:35 pm

Some sellers of OEM parts on local FB groups etc do this as well.

I send a man the OEM part # to confirm and when he bring the part he rip off the part of the label with the #, obviously forgetting i SENT him the # beforehand. When asked, he replied "dise how they does come from the manufacturer"

Postby MaxPower » September 5th, 2022, 8:45 pm

My salesman links me up 100.

I don’t deal with small frys.

I instruct him to talk to his people and send me the quote and i get all the associated part numbers.

mad

Postby mad » September 5th, 2022, 10:56 pm

https://7zap.com/en/
For Euro Parts: audi/bmw/merc

https://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/select
Specifically for BMW

https://www.epc-data.com/
For your Japanese vehicles.

Just enter your VIN and you will get all your part numbers.

Postby gastly369 » September 5th, 2022, 11:15 pm

Hear yall go thank me later

https://www.ssg.asia/

Addition to the usual partsouq and amyama etc etc

Postby Dave » September 6th, 2022, 6:15 am

Good thread. Sticky material here!

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 6th, 2022, 6:54 am

Cause people want to sell the products that they have. If the aftermarket and the OEM made by the same company would you bother spending more than double just for the name of the car maker on the part.

On the consumer side... Limited availability and or very good price.; But this is more to do with lubricants and grease specifications

jackal

Postby jackal » September 6th, 2022, 7:14 am

death365 wrote:https://jp-carparts.com/
try this site

I have been buying from these folks for some years now. Much cheaper that the dealership and they have original as well as aftermarket replacements.

Just yesterday ai went to Toyota for a part and I had to supply the salesperson with the part number, he was clueless as to the part.

Many times, when I go, if I don't have the part number, they would return a reply "we not seeing on the system", supply the number, and they find it.

It have this one guy in south, a short stoutly feller, he does not help people at all. He does give me a reply "Toyota did not sell that vehicle down here and we not selling the part". When I go to the thin salesman, he would find the part for me. Prado parts works on the Surf as well.

Postby nervewrecker » September 6th, 2022, 7:42 am

kamakazi wrote:Cause people want to sell the products that they have. If the aftermarket and the OEM made by the same company would you bother spending more than double just for the name of the car maker on the part.

On the consumer side... Limited availability and or very good price.; But this is more to do with lubricants and grease specifications
Wrt OEM vs aftermarket made by same manufacturer I read somewhere (don't quote me on this) that although they have the same manufacturer the original has better build quality or more durable in comparison to the aftermarket.

Case in point, asin (sp) vs Subaru, they say the asin timing belts are of slightly lower quality than the Subaru branded one.

My boss used the asin in his fozz, I used the Subaru in my WRX. I really don't think a buildhouse is going to modify a batch so much just to sell so much cheaper. Both timing belt kits come with koyo or nsk rollers so it's quite possible it's just a brand you paying extra for..

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 6th, 2022, 9:26 am

jackal wrote:
death365 wrote:https://jp-carparts.com/
try this site

I have been buying from these folks for some years now. Much cheaper that the dealership and they have original as well as aftermarket replacements.

Just yesterday ai went to Toyota for a part and I had to supply the salesperson with the part number, he was clueless as to the part.

Many times, when I go, if I don't have the part number, they would return a reply "we not seeing on the system", supply the number, and they find it.

It have this one guy in south, a short stoutly feller, he does not help people at all. He does give me a reply "Toyota did not sell that vehicle down here and we not selling the part". When I go to the thin salesman, he would find the part for me. Prado parts works on the Surf as well.

Couple weeks ago a family member discovered their car was losing coolant. No visible leaks anywhere. I told them i would buy a radiator cap for them myself. Called Southern Sales and the woman said she would call me back when she found the part and if it was in stock.

I waited an hour for the call, got vex, left the office to go SS on Cipero Road in Sando and bought the part. Then went Gulf City and bought lunch and got back to the office. Only then the woman called back to say they had the part. It took her nearly 2 and a half hours to say they had a radiator cap in stock.