Sept 26 : Budget Day 2022

Re: Sept 26 : Budget Day 2022

Postby hover11 » September 26th, 2022, 7:53 pm

Ofc not 150 million dollars secured
pugboy wrote:is the mother of carnivals 2023 affected by this budget ?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 26th, 2022, 7:57 pm

Allyuh see Stuart wearing a Rolex with diamonds in the face on tv6
Last edited by Mmoney607 on September 26th, 2022, 8:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby j.o.e » September 26th, 2022, 8:00 pm

hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
hover11 wrote:I not complaining they were elected by the majority not once but twice. Things are the way it is because of them. Anyway, they haven't rioted yet

why weren't there international observers tho did they steal the election

Aye allyuh jokey yes. Which marginal seat or otherwise did the opposition work to make ground in?
They no longer need to work or bother, PNM doing the most right now, you really think any right thinking person going to vote for PNM come next election they are losing ground and it has reached a point of no return

Just like last election ent ?

Postby paid_influencer » September 26th, 2022, 8:04 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Allyuh see Stuart wearing a Rolex with diamonds in the face on tv6

man brave to go on live tv like that

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 26th, 2022, 8:08 pm

Allya expect the man to go on TV with busted up shoes and suit?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » September 26th, 2022, 8:15 pm

paid_influencer wrote:Kamla responds

Thanks, but not interested.

Kamla should retire.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 26th, 2022, 8:16 pm

hover11 wrote:I noticed nobody talking about the increase of the retirement age... trinis taking everything normal
In the private sector this is the norm already. So big whoop.

But the remaining subsides need to be removed. They should have started with electricity to obtain market parity. This would allow renewables a much better chance

Postby redmanjp » September 26th, 2022, 8:19 pm

gopee scoon on cnc3 saying she never heard of ppl complaining of buses not arriving... :roll:

she must be mean not arriving at all- but arriving late like 30-60 mins is the order of the day since i was going primary school. :roll:

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » September 26th, 2022, 8:23 pm

maj. tom wrote:To increase by 100% all firearm user licence fees with the exception of assault weapons which will now have significantly higher license fees. Will restrict the ownership of assault weapons from January 1, 2023.

Complete madness. They really do not want the average law-abiding citizen to legally own a firearm for protection of self and property. Best wishes to those whose application is still pending approval.

Postby redmanjp » September 26th, 2022, 8:28 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:
hover11 wrote:I noticed nobody talking about the increase of the retirement age... trinis taking everything normal
In the private sector this is the norm already. So big whoop.

But the remaining subsides need to be removed. They should have started with electricity to obtain market parity. This would allow renewables a much better chance

reduced over time not removed completely- and those who use less should pay a lower rate than those who have 3-4 ACs blowing 18C 24 hrs a day.

and when u increase rates, provide rebates for renewables. who going to pay $80-100k for a solar installation unless they getting at least a 10-15% rebate? some of the savings in the reduction of the subsidy bill govt is paying must go towards incentives, as 1st world nations offer their citizens. a tax reduction as well can help but the business selling the solar panels might take some of that for themselves.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 26th, 2022, 8:32 pm

I didn't listen to the whole budget but he did mention incoming policy for fed in tariffs. So that will offset cost of RE installation.

Postby redmanjp » September 26th, 2022, 8:37 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:I didn't listen to the whole budget but he did mention incoming policy for fed in tariffs. So that will offset cost of RE installation.

u mean paying less on your bill due to sending excess power to the grids?

over a long period of time but the initial cost of installation is still very high. u need rebates. otherwise u telling me to spend $100k to get back maybe $300-500 every 2 months.

Postby adnj » September 26th, 2022, 9:07 pm

redmanjp wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:I didn't listen to the whole budget but he did mention incoming policy for fed in tariffs. So that will offset cost of RE installation.

over a long period of time but the initial cost of installation is still very high. u need rebates. otherwise u telling me to spend $100k to get back maybe $300-500 every 2 months.

Rebates make sense when either:
- your capacity to produce electricity does not meet consumer needs.
- you need to reduce CO2 emissions and assume that private solar or wind will move you along that path.

Currently, Trinidad doesn't fit either scenario.

The best way forward is to reduce emissions through shifting from refined products to natural gas for transportation and increase native electricity consumption to improve distributed overhead costs. Benefits are improved balance of accounts, reduced subsidies, reduced CO2, and reduced foreign dependence.
Last edited by adnj on September 26th, 2022, 9:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » September 26th, 2022, 9:08 pm

DMan7 wrote:Why raise the retirement age for NIS to 65 though? He should've gone straight to 72.
Makes no sense best raise it to 80 years. Trinidad is a passive country

Postby pugboy » September 26th, 2022, 9:09 pm

that is peanuts, men shoot way more than that in a hour at the range

plus for a person who paid fees all $40k to get ful what is a few blue notes

AbstractPoetic wrote:
maj. tom wrote:To increase by 100% all firearm user licence fees with the exception of assault weapons which will now have significantly higher license fees. Will restrict the ownership of assault weapons from January 1, 2023.

Complete madness. They really do not want the average law-abiding citizen to legally own a firearm for protection of self and property. Best wishes to those whose application is still pending approval.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » September 26th, 2022, 9:09 pm

pugboy wrote:is the mother of carnivals 2023 affected by this budget ?
Costumes already sold out. Trinis have money

one eye

Postby one eye » September 26th, 2022, 9:12 pm

Another well done, very detailed, brilliant budget from our government.

You see the problem with Trinidadians is that they have become too comfortable living with subsidies.

Now it is very difficult for them to maintain their extravagant consumerism lifestyle.

If Kamla was still running this country we would have an inevitable collapse.

The money can be allocated for a better cause.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » September 26th, 2022, 9:16 pm

What is with the assumption that everyone partakes in carnival and its activities.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » September 26th, 2022, 9:18 pm

Cantmis wrote:What is with the assumption that everyone partakes in carnival and its activities.
So that you spend ur money on fetes and costumes while paying a loan for it. Money have to move

japan-r-us

Postby japan-r-us » September 26th, 2022, 9:21 pm

bluefete wrote:FUL fees up by 100%

Ful fee for assault type weapon $5000 :lol:
It good, take bool

You feel the men who own assault weapons really care or have to worry about paying $5,000...

Postby rollingstock » September 26th, 2022, 9:21 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

You think $300 a year is excessive?
Then check your priorities, maybe owning a firearm and starving isn't your best option.

Postby rollingstock » September 26th, 2022, 9:23 pm

japan-r-us wrote:

It good, take bool

You feel the men who own assault weapons really care or have to worry about paying $5,000...

If you only knew some of the sufferers that got ful for it and took a loan to purchase.

Should have just bought a benelli

japan-r-us

Postby japan-r-us » September 26th, 2022, 9:26 pm

japan-r-us wrote:

It good, take bool

If you only knew some of the sufferers that got ful for it and took a loan to purchase.

Should have just bought a benelli

Postby nervewrecker » September 26th, 2022, 9:27 pm

adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Rebates make sense when either:
- your capacity to produce electricity does not meet consumer needs.
- you need to reduce CO2 emissions and assume that private solar or wind will move you along that path.

Currently, Trinidad doesn't fit either scenario.

The best way forward is to reduce emissions through shifting from refined products to natural gas for transportation and increase native electricity consumption to improve distributed overhead costs. Benefits are improved balance of accounts, reduced subsidies, reduced CO2, and reduced foreign dependence.
Methanol is a valid green fuel option.
Someone mentioned to me that we have a few ethanol plants laying around as well. Unsure how true.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 26th, 2022, 9:27 pm

one eye wrote:Another well done, very detailed, brilliant budget from our government.

You see the problem with Trinidadians is that they have become too comfortable living with subsidies.

Now it is very difficult for them to maintain their extravagant consumerism lifestyle.

If Kamla was still running this country we would have an inevitable collapse.

The money can be allocated for a better cause.

Yup. Even Dax Driver was saying that the fuel subsidy benefits the rich more

Postby eliteauto » September 26th, 2022, 9:29 pm

Cantmis wrote:What is with the assumption that everyone partakes in carnival and its activities.

Avg population 1.3M
Avg ppl in carnival 300K
Avg salty social media commentators 60-200
And those 60 people try to sell the narrative you're asking about

Postby eliteauto » September 26th, 2022, 9:31 pm

japan-r-us wrote:

It good, take bool

Some men is $5000x12 eh. They can afford it but they ain't happy to. Plus Imbert said the legislation is being drafted to remove those semi-automatics from the hands of private citizens so imagine paying that 5K x how many variations you got for 2 years and then realizing that was rent you were paying

Postby pugboy » September 26th, 2022, 9:44 pm

why do they need special legislation to revoke those weapons ?
doesnt the commissioner have authority to revoke as he sees fit

Postby rollingstock » September 26th, 2022, 9:56 pm

pugboy wrote:why do they need special legislation to revoke those weapons ?
doesnt the commissioner have authority to revoke as he sees fit

No he have to show just cause.
It was approved, have to justify taking it back.
Either risk court action or amend the act to suit.

Postby Gladiator » September 26th, 2022, 10:00 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Avg population 1.3M
Avg ppl in carnival 300K
Avg salty social media commentators 60-200
And those 60 people try to sell the narrative you're asking about

300k... more like 100k Carnival is a carefully engineered distraction nd mechanism for money to move from black people pocket to 1% bank accounts