Spam WhatsApp messages from +234 numbers

Postby redmanjp » August 13th, 2022, 6:52 pm

Got about 3 or 4 whatsapp messages the past 2 days from these unknown foreign +234 numbers. At first it was my work phone but today my personal phone got a message as well.

Anyone else getting them?
Last edited by redmanjp on August 13th, 2022, 8:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Spam WhatsApp messages from +234 numbers

Postby maj. tom » August 13th, 2022, 7:05 pm

Just block them. Common occurrence from scammers robot calling a list of numbers and see if anybody answers.

Postby alfa » August 13th, 2022, 7:15 pm

I like to take them for a ride. The last one messaged me about winning a phone and money I told him I collected is already and thanks for messaging. Sent him a pic of myself smoking a cigar saying I'm living the good life lol

Postby gastly369 » August 13th, 2022, 7:15 pm

Missed out on your 800k usd and free Samsung s21 ultra..

I does have so much fun with these Nigerians

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » August 13th, 2022, 7:20 pm

S22 ultra is out....just got mine :D

Postby gastly369 » August 13th, 2022, 7:25 pm

@ alpha well pics uploaded from bottom up
Screenshot_20220813_192300_com.whatsapp.jpg
Screenshot_20220813_192245_com.whatsapp.jpg
Screenshot_20220813_192226_com.whatsapp.jpg
Screenshot_20220813_192140_com.whatsapp.jpg
Screenshot_20220813_192127_com.whatsapp.jpg
Screenshot_20220813_192117_com.whatsapp.jpg
Screenshot_20220813_192105_com.whatsapp.jpg

Postby redmanjp » August 13th, 2022, 7:42 pm

Lol allyuh good oui.

But seriously don't think it's a good idea to even respond as they will know they have a valid whatsapp number and perhaps send u more spam.

Postby gastly369 » August 13th, 2022, 7:51 pm

redmanjp wrote:Lol allyuh good oui.

But seriously don't think it's a good idea to even respond as they will know they have a valid whatsapp number and perhaps send u more spam.
Actually like my number on a blacklist... Haven't gotten anything in a very long while lol

Postby alfa » August 13th, 2022, 8:10 pm

Hahaha

Postby paid_influencer » August 13th, 2022, 8:37 pm

redmanjp wrote:Got about 3 or 4 whatsapp messages the past 2 days from these unknown foreign +234 numbers. fro At first it was my work phone but today my personal phone got a message as well.

Anyone else getting them?

i got 1 a few months back. was weird because i don't use whatsapp anymore

and also a robocall from +234 number

never got them again tho

Postby Les Bain » August 13th, 2022, 10:04 pm

Some months ago I got a hello in WhatsApp from an international number that Google suggested was Nigerian. Simple report as spam, block and that was that.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 13th, 2022, 11:37 pm

Once they add your number WhatsApp will tell them it's a valid WhatsApp number

Postby 88sins » August 14th, 2022, 5:53 am

I thought was me alone used to have fun with these clowns
These clowns aren't Nigerians, they're Indians, in India, in a call center.

For some reason, they don't message me anymore. Won't even take my calls from the numbers they know are mine. Good thing I can mask my number, so they see random numbers sending them messages and calls.

Postby gastly369 » August 14th, 2022, 9:35 am

Screenshot_20220814_093456_com.whatsapp.jpg

Postby nervewrecker » August 14th, 2022, 11:34 am

gastly369 wrote:

Actually like my number on a blacklist... Haven't gotten anything in a very long while lol
Same here.

I ain't have the time to play along so like they get fedup.

Postby gastly369 » August 14th, 2022, 12:30 pm

gastly369 wrote:

Same here.

I ain't have the time to play along so like they get fedup.
Next time greet them with "sup madarchod"

Postby maj. tom » January 31st, 2023, 4:58 pm

anyone else get a few call from obvious spoofed spam numbers last night? 86-209-5553 from China.
I was curious after the 3rd time of not answering so I picked up and the other person was a woman talking a Chinese language. Odd since the scammers usually come from SE Asia.

Postby gastly369 » January 31st, 2023, 6:09 pm

Prob wrong number from alibaba

Postby 88sins » January 31st, 2023, 9:52 pm

maj. tom wrote:anyone else get a few call from obvious spoofed spam numbers last night? 86-209-5553 from China.
I was curious after the 3rd time of not answering so I picked up and the other person was a woman talking a Chinese language. Odd since the scammers usually come from SE Asia.

Anybody else ever call them back?

Postby sMASH » January 31st, 2023, 10:25 pm

If u want to talk, I am willing to share... Over share..
IMG_20230131_222424.jpg

Postby Rovin » February 3rd, 2023, 6:23 pm

got a wa call from +234 703 023 0212 , it rang long about 10 rings but i didnt answer

d no. had a "2023" in a blue circle as its phone picture avatar ...

Postby maj. tom » March 18th, 2023, 9:12 am

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/scam-alert-no-pricesmart-promotion-running

PriceSmart is not running any promotion over WhatsApp.

The membership warehouse operator said fraudsters are behind the promotion scam, offering prizes and economic rewards purportedly from PriceSmart.

The company warned that the goal of the scams is to get unsuspecting customers to click on links and share the information with their contacts through WhatsApp in exchange for a prize.

So, what should customers do if they receive messages over WhatsApp about a supposed promotion from PriceSmart?

The company urged customers to be vigilant and not click the links or share the messages.

The company said it never runs contests or awards prizes through WhatsApp.

Postby gastly369 » March 18th, 2023, 10:45 am

Dotish ppl still clicking the link after seeing a sus url....
Also pricemart will never "giveaway" sh!t

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 20th, 2023, 8:32 am

dread, I have one that top the cake

A random number from the UAE VIEWED my story hoss,

And this story was a private circle too so not all my contacts could have seen it.

Number started with +971

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spoke with the whatsapp support chat bot and they were no help. as usual Saying that it was probably the phone number recycled and I had it saved from before, but I didn't have THIS number saved.

And on top of all this, the other person needs to have YOUR number saved to view your stories.
So idk what going on here

Postby gastly369 » March 20th, 2023, 8:49 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:dread, I have one that top the cake

And this story was a private circle too so not all my contacts could have seen it.

Number started with +971

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spoke with the whatsapp support chat bot and they were no help. as usual Saying that it was probably the phone number recycled and I had it saved from before, but I didn't have THIS number saved.

And on top of all this, the other person needs to have YOUR number saved to view your stories.
GB whatsapp "hack"
Dont need to have person number on your phone

But whatsapp clamping down on the "modded app" of theirs

Few accounts getting temp banned but may get perm ban if continue

Postby st7 » March 20th, 2023, 4:57 pm

Number started with +971

something like this happened to me once. then i realised someone on my contact list changed their whatsapp number to the new number they had (canada).

so it's possible someone in your list changed their whatsapp number to the +971?

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » March 23rd, 2023, 1:14 pm

lol at this
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg

Postby redmanjp » March 23rd, 2023, 1:53 pm

hope u included the chorus too :lol:

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 23rd, 2023, 3:07 pm

st7 wrote:

Number started with +971

something like this happened to me once. then i realised someone on my contact list changed their whatsapp number to the new number they had (canada).

so it's possible someone in your list changed their whatsapp number to the +971?

Nah bai, meeno nobody in UAE lmao

The contact name showed itself up as +971xxxxxxx too