WTK: HID vs LED

slickrick777

WTK: HID vs LED

Postby slickrick777 » August 8th, 2022, 11:50 am

well seeing that LED technology has.come a long way, but atm deciding on upgrading my projector headlights, any recommendations on this?

Re: WTK: HID vs LED

Postby Les Bain » August 8th, 2022, 12:28 pm

Whatever you choose, please don't be one of them tards who drive with high beams only, and love to tailgate people.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » August 8th, 2022, 12:32 pm

lol, well have some leds atm and they not doing much justice!

death365

Postby death365 » August 8th, 2022, 12:47 pm

what vehicles make/year. was it originally halogen ???

yuh just want to see the road clearer or yuh want to blind everybody >>>?

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » August 8th, 2022, 1:07 pm

wanna see clear and some distance in front, these current leds like they dont throw far!

Postby eliteauto » August 8th, 2022, 1:13 pm

Most LEDs being sold locally are the equivalent of 6000K and up, which doesn't "throw" very far, the new selling point for vendors is the amt of lumens they have, in most applications, they are bright but ineffective, HID especially in the 4300-5000k range coupled with proper projector optics and cutoffs are still the better option for retrofits. Good luck finding them locally though Raj and Nick like de brite lites so mostly 6000k up HID kits available

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » August 8th, 2022, 1:31 pm

Performance in rainy weather?

Postby adnj » August 8th, 2022, 1:35 pm

Candela is the only measurement that will indicate how much light that you will get at a distance. High lumens over a broad arc (called flooding) will offer little benefit while driving. Color temperature has little to no effect except color rendering and personal preference.

Candela is a consequence of a light source and the reflector that is used. Adding a new/different light source for an existing headlamp reflector changes the focus and nearly always results in a wall of light that does little to increase candela.

Without actual testing, you will probably see no benefit.
Last edited by adnj on August 8th, 2022, 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » August 8th, 2022, 1:41 pm

eliteauto wrote:Most LEDs being sold locally are the equivalent of 6000K and up, which doesn't "throw" very far, the new selling point for vendors is the amt of lumens they have, in most applications, they are bright but ineffective, HID especially in the 4300-5000k range coupled with proper projector optics and cutoffs are still the better option for retrofits. Good luck finding them locally though Raj and Nick like de brite lites so mostly 6000k up HID kits available

4300k HID kits are readily available locally. I've purchased at whiteout lighting.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » August 8th, 2022, 5:30 pm

ok on another note, the headlights are projector headlights, where there is a projector part and the normal part, so the projector part will I benfit bettee with led in that part and hid in the open part or both hid, as I am seeing HID is still brighter than led overall!

matix

Postby matix » August 8th, 2022, 7:49 pm

slickrick777 wrote:ok on another note, the headlights are projector headlights, where there is a projector part and the normal part, so the projector part will I benfit bettee with led in that part and hid in the open part or both hid, as I am seeing HID is still brighter than led overall!

I got rid of my HID’s and went back to the regular bulbs. At night, when rain falls it’s really difficult to see with those HID’s and LED’s. Doesn’t show well on the road surface at all

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 8th, 2022, 11:01 pm

The best thing you can do is go with 3700-4500k spectrum, the warmer the light the less diffraction there is. There’s a reason fog lamps are that color, example, just look at led street lamps Vs older 2200-3000k lamps. The new fancy sheit are like fireflies when rain fall.

So if it’s about usable light vs overall brightness, the choice will be HIDs in the lower temps. My van came with factory led projectors and I see less at night in the rain that the regular reflector in the bt50.

hindian

Postby hindian » August 9th, 2022, 4:03 am

I tried LEDs and didn’t like their performance, never used HIDs, eventually went back to halogens 90/100 with a diy relay harness with 40A relays and I good with that

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » August 12th, 2022, 12:00 pm

anyone here ever heard or went by G.S Technologies in Penal?

Postby gastly369 » August 12th, 2022, 12:21 pm

99% kits trini selling is alibaba "branded" stuff

Avoid

Postby aaron17 » August 12th, 2022, 12:43 pm

light/white pitch road vs dark pitch road....
light/white pitch road makes me feel my lights brighter lol