Seems like they all served by TTEC. :|

wing

Re: Power outage and load shedding today

Postby wing » August 21st, 2022, 4:25 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
wing wrote:What do all these areas have in common?IMG-20220821-WA0006.jpg

Lol good one. But why are they basically all UNC areas, even though the repair taking place in the La Brea constituency?

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 21st, 2022, 4:37 pm

I know you were coming with that inno, but I dunno the internal routing inside TTEC

Postby nervewrecker » August 21st, 2022, 6:49 pm

wing wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
wing wrote:What do all these areas have in common?IMG-20220821-WA0006.jpg

Lol good one. But why are they basically all UNC areas, even though the repair taking place in the La Brea constituency?

Maybe for safety reasons. Certain areas without electricity create a scenario where something awry might occur.

Or

Maybe they are known hotspots and T&TEC people is people too, they afraid for their safety. In many instances this is the scenario where you need security to accompany you. People may also think you come to disconnect them and some sort of riff raff can playoff that may escalate quickly.

Or.....

Maybe, just maybe they give the heads up to the UNC areas and say hymc to the PNM areas, T&TEC color is UNC :fadein:

Postby S_2NR » August 21st, 2022, 7:05 pm

Why everything for some trinis is some political or race thing?

Postby Dave » August 21st, 2022, 7:11 pm

Sometimes there may be some truth in it?
S_2NR wrote:Why everything for some trinis is some political or race thing?

Postby maj. tom » August 21st, 2022, 7:34 pm

In this case, no. LOL the man put out the bait and the dogs reach yes. See how easy it is on Trinituner?

Power Distribution Utility companies have a piece of computer software called SCADA which manages the grid. This is how they know where current cut off and can read your meter without physically visiting like long time. It will calculate how and where to redistribute load, and where to cut power when they have maintenance on the grid. And in this case 220kV is a huge load so it calculated which substations have to go offline and which locations as close as possible within the remaining online grid drawing load can be taken offline so to keep the remaining grid in balance. No way humans can do these calculations and make these decisions like that.

It's interesting to note that up to Chaguanas Main Road is supplied from Southern substations while right next to it Montrose and Lange Park is the boundary that is fed from the North.

This is what a SCADA control system looks like at the surface:

1Eg2Xn2.jpg

jb2KRgz.png

https://i.imgur.com/1Eg2Xn2.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/jb2KRgz.png

Postby nervewrecker » August 21st, 2022, 7:43 pm

Wait, that's T&TEC own?

You sharing?

Postby maj. tom » August 21st, 2022, 7:55 pm

nah from Google.

Postby sMASH » August 21st, 2022, 8:33 pm

maj. tom wrote:In this case, no. LOL the man put out the bait and the dogs reach yes. See how easy it is on Trinituner?

Power Distribution Utility companies have a piece of computer software called SCADA which manages the grid. This is how they know where current cut off and can read your meter without physically visiting like long time. It will calculate how and where to redistribute load, and where to cut power when they have maintenance on the grid. And in this case 220kV is a huge load so it calculated which substations have to go offline and which locations as close as possible within the remaining online grid drawing load can be taken offline so to keep the remaining grid in balance. No way humans can do these calculations and make these decisions like that.

It's interesting to note that up to Chaguanas Main Road is supplied from Southern substations while right next to it Montrose and Lange Park is the boundary that is fed from the North.

This is what a SCADA control system looks like at the surface:

1Eg2Xn2.jpg
jb2KRgz.png

https://i.imgur.com/1Eg2Xn2.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/jb2KRgz.png

para en espanol

Postby nervewrecker » August 21st, 2022, 8:39 pm

Steups, I get glad for no reason.

Been awhile since I heard about scada tho. Missing the oilfield days :(

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 25th, 2022, 3:00 pm

Had two power dips in Chaguanas today so far.
Fluctuated at first and then went completely but only for a minute both times.
Voltage was a lil high when it came back (130v in)

Postby st7 » August 25th, 2022, 3:37 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Had two power dips in Chaguanas today so far.

didnt experience any dips earlier on my side of the main road.

also i cant remember if i mentioned this, but if your home has been experiencing a lot of dips, you can send a report to tntec on their online portal.

i did that a sunday night after 10 pm, someone called me a couple of minutes later, and a tntec team came to re-wire the connection from pole to house. the frequency in dips went way down afterwards.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 25th, 2022, 4:05 pm

st7 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Had two power dips in Chaguanas today so far.

didnt experience any dips earlier on my side of the main road.

also i cant remember if i mentioned this, but if your home has been experiencing a lot of dips, you can send a report to tntec on their online portal.

i did that a sunday night after 10 pm, someone called me a couple of minutes later, and a tntec team came to re-wire the connection from pole to house. the frequency in dips went way down afterwards.

Was the entire area - so doubt it's the connection from the pole.
Will still reach out to them

Postby goalpost » August 25th, 2022, 9:32 pm

There was a trip on a 33kV transmission line in the Mt Hope area caused by lightning. That kind of fault current and so electrically close to Chaguanas would have resulted in a dip.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 25th, 2022, 11:20 pm

goalpost wrote:There was a trip on a 33kV transmission line in the Mt Hope area caused by lightning. That kind of fault current and so electrically close to Chaguanas would have resulted in a dip.

ah ok that explains it - thanks

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 26th, 2022, 9:48 am

Could be worse.
At least three times in the last two years, an osprey (not the same one :/) with a long fish in its mouth shorted out the transmission line knocking out a circuit from Couva to Brickfield, and subsequently barbecuing the bird if at least temporarily. That took 'em several hours to sort each time

Postby K74T » September 22nd, 2022, 6:44 pm

Just had a dip here in Barataria.

I saw Ian Alleyne posted that there is an outage in Chaguanas.

Postby redmanjp » September 22nd, 2022, 6:46 pm

dip in POS too. what it is this time a truck almost pull down d main transmission cable or what :roll:

Postby Dizzy28 » September 22nd, 2022, 6:51 pm

Dip in Tunapuna and my sister now called to find out cuz they had it in Arima. Seems very wide spread

eKeith

Postby eKeith » September 22nd, 2022, 6:52 pm

Dip in Petit Valley

eKeith

Postby eKeith » September 22nd, 2022, 6:52 pm

Blackout in parts of Valsayn South

Postby paid_influencer » September 22nd, 2022, 6:53 pm

dip in sando

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 22nd, 2022, 6:54 pm

Blackout in Chaguanas, Cunupia and environs

Postby maj. tom » September 22nd, 2022, 6:55 pm

Rolling blackouts are the new normal for Trinidad. In addition to all the crime. Welcome to the new Beruit of the West.

Postby Dave » September 22nd, 2022, 6:55 pm

Dip was seen in San Juan

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 22nd, 2022, 7:14 pm

Power back on
Cell service too

Postby Les Bain » September 22nd, 2022, 7:20 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Blackout in Chaguanas, Cunupia and environs

Was a power blip in Piarco while I was on a video call with someone in chaguanas.
Power went here around 1:15 a.m. Tuesday morning as well. When we reported it to T&Tec, their automated system gave a list of locations between here and Grande that were affected by the outage. Returned an hour later.

eKeith

Postby eKeith » September 22nd, 2022, 7:25 pm

Power restored in Valsayn South

Postby K74T » September 22nd, 2022, 7:29 pm

7PM: T&TEC Corporate Communications Manager Annabelle Brasnell confirms power outages across Trinidad following a disturbance at a substation at Bamboo.