Nostalgic food/snack ched

Postby aaron17 » August 1st, 2022, 2:46 pm

Wanna start bringing back memories when we were younger in our school days... by d parlour etc

- freezies
- chili bibi
-dark n gold
- green mango in bag
- sucka bag

they were my go- to snacks
freezies2.jpg
freezies2.jpg (12.4 KiB) Viewed 2401 times
dark-n-gold-2.jpg
dark-n-gold-2.jpg (16.4 KiB) Viewed 2401 times

Re: Nostalgic food/snack ched

Postby timelapse » August 1st, 2022, 2:55 pm

Roast brown dove with salt and bird pepper

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 1st, 2022, 3:03 pm

Cutter's corn curls the original cheese bomb, not this new crap
Mopsy biscuit (original and 90's reboot)
Parlour sandwiches (bread and channa $1, bread and chicken $2)
Tamarind ball
Pawpaw ball
Tomato ball
5c sweetie (primary school in the 80's yo)
candy popcorn (homemade by parlours)
Peanut balls (kinda like cheese balls, but peanut flavoured)
Sweet prunes (white powder)
salt prunes
Salt mango
Black mango (Chinese preserve?)

Postby aaron17 » August 1st, 2022, 3:07 pm

Cigarette sweeties yo!

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 1st, 2022, 3:10 pm

timelapse wrote:Roast brown dove with salt and bird pepper

dawg, I thought that was a California thing alone yes :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby De Dragon » August 1st, 2022, 3:40 pm

*ebonx*
Walk in de bush with yuh red rubber slingshot, salt and pepper in foil, small coal pot and coals.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 1st, 2022, 3:55 pm

Milo and milk
Planters Chilli balls

When I was in std 4 or there about ,there was a chocolate covered bite size biscuit that used to real last...similar to that choco bom thing

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 1st, 2022, 4:04 pm

aaron17 wrote:Wanna start bringing back memories when we were younger in our school days... by d parlour etc

- freezies
- chili bibi
-dark n gold
- green mango in bag
- sucka bag

they were my go- to snacks

i still have an unopened dark and gold in the freezer.

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2022, 4:21 pm

cannings mango soft drink
would like to get that back

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » August 1st, 2022, 4:46 pm

There was another biscuit like the chocolate digestive that used to come in a light blue pack and starts with R.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » August 1st, 2022, 4:51 pm

dark n gold don't exist anymore?

Postby alfa » August 1st, 2022, 5:16 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

dawg, I thought that was a California thing alone yes :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I never hear about that :shock: Probably wasn't a south thing

Postby alfa » August 1st, 2022, 5:17 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:dark n gold don't exist anymore?

Just like nutty royale, gone to soon :cry:

matix

Postby matix » August 1st, 2022, 5:19 pm

Lemme know when allyuh ready, we could make a lime

Postby aaron17 » August 1st, 2022, 5:23 pm

Nutty royale done?

matix

Postby matix » August 1st, 2022, 5:24 pm

Joe gum from KC, paradise plum, after school special of a glass bottle Pepsi and a kiss cake by the parlor, there was a wafer snack called Koko was real nice, buying a ‘Bob’ 25 cents worth of red cherries, mango, whatever preserves the parlor have, getting it in a piece of brown paper bag and licking the paper clean.

Postby nervewrecker » August 1st, 2022, 5:29 pm

*ebonx*
Walk in de bush with yuh red rubber slingshot, salt and pepper in foil, small coal pot and coals.
Now is fish with cheeze, broccoli, carrot and peas in the belly wrapped in fig leaf and foil on a piece of galvanise on ah old truck rim with coals.

Talking about that, the man before flyover bar in Santa Flora still around?

On topic

Sour sweetie, bubblelishious, the like stick with the cream in the center (forgot the name), not sure how old Busta was, Chinese sausage (not sure what people call it), the set of small sweetie in the straw with the toy corking the top, joe gum, tattoo chewing gum.

Postby sMASH » August 1st, 2022, 5:33 pm

Soak pomcythere, I dont come across that so.
Single Barra with mango chutney.
And plain Ole going down in the cane feild and pulling cane.

Postby sMASH » August 1st, 2022, 5:34 pm

*ebonx*
Now is fish with cheeze, broccoli, carrot and peas in the belly wrapped in fig leaf and foil on a piece of galvanise on ah old truck rim with coals.

Talking about that, the man before flyover bar in Santa Flora still around?

On topic

Sour sweetie, bubblelishious, the like stick with the cream in the center (forgot the name), not sure how old Busta was, Chinese sausage (not sure what people call it), the set of small sweetie in the straw with the toy corking the top, joe gum, tattoo chewing gum.
Haw flakes. Dont know what so haw about it tho...

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » August 1st, 2022, 5:35 pm

red solo with milk nothing beats that still do to this day
Rough tops
lika stick
Chinese sausage
Joe gum
Bourbon " pak of pelau" we called it and custard cream cookies

Postby sMASH » August 1st, 2022, 5:35 pm

alfa wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

dawg, I thought that was a California thing alone yes

Normal ting for Bush chirren.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 1st, 2022, 5:54 pm

sMASH wrote:
alfa wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

Yup! Growing up in the canefields meant entertainment was outside. Fishing in the pond, slingshot for birds, possibly iguanas and if we lucky could stun a manicou. We had open reign to all the neighbor yards so chow was basically a given every day once the group outside. Then teenage years hit and we moved to cigs, alco and liming by the bar with the old pool table

Postby sMASH » August 1st, 2022, 6:24 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
sMASH wrote:
alfa wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

Yup! Growing up in the canefields meant entertainment was outside. Fishing in the pond, slingshot for birds, possibly iguanas and if we lucky could stun a manicou. We had open reign to all the neighbor yards so chow was basically a given every day once the group outside. Then teenage years hit and we moved to cigs, alco and liming by the bar with the old pool table

one ting i need to start back is a regular chow. fruits, vitc, pepper. plus flush out the airways.

planted a lot of fruit trees, but will take some time to reach bearing stage.

Postby maj. tom » August 1st, 2022, 6:30 pm

Used to do that for the sorry ones who hit the window and fresh fall injured or dead. Guts with a knife by the stand pipe, roast on the ring stove with some mustard and then a lil salt. Dog used to get the head and foot.

Postby timelapse » August 1st, 2022, 6:34 pm

alfa wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

I originally from La Romain pa.Regular bush lime outside going to and from my Nana garden.

Postby aaron17 » August 1st, 2022, 6:50 pm

matix wrote:Joe gum from KC, paradise plum, after school special of a glass bottle Pepsi and a kiss cake by the parlor, there was a wafer snack called Koko was real nice, buying a ‘Bob’ 25 cents worth of red cherries, mango, whatever preserves the parlor have, getting it in a piece of brown paper bag and licking the paper clean.

think koko still there ..chocolate and cococut my fav

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 1st, 2022, 6:52 pm

Charles used to make a couple variations on Bobbie.

Mintie (which was a icing sugar mint core)
Soca (malted ball core)

Soca was legit

Postby aaron17 » August 1st, 2022, 6:53 pm

i totally forgot chinese sausage

Postby aaron17 » August 1st, 2022, 6:53 pm

I hear red solo and homemade sponge cake was a hit with the ole folks.

Postby aaron17 » August 1st, 2022, 6:57 pm

Who remember tablet sweetie?