Nostalgic food/snack ched

Re: Nostalgic food/snack ched

Postby maj. tom » August 3rd, 2022, 5:06 pm

alfa wrote:
maj. tom wrote:in Brasil and most Latin American soda still uses sugar-cane sugar rather than mostly corn fructose in other western countries. I notice canned pepsi from Costa Rica tastes so much different that what we have here.

Don't we use cane sugar in ours to?

The local Cocoa Cola labels say "sugar" with no mention of source but it's so easy for the consumer to assume it's cane sugar. If it's not specifically labelled don't be fooled by it. As you know "sugar" in food manufacturing labels can mean a lot of things like maltodextrin, brown rice syrup, dextrose, sucrose, high fructose corn syrup and no mention of the source. Plus they now started using sucralose more than sugar in the formula. But that's Coca Cola.

Pepsi is imported (likely from USA made with corn fructose) and merely distributed here.
Pepsi-Cola Trinidad Bottling Co Ltd which was sold to Caribbean Distribution Partners Ltd. PCT is the licensee and distributor in T&T of the PepsiCo range of beverages–Pepsi, Mountain Dew, 7UP and Ocean Spray–also distributes Peardrax and Cydrax under license. Whiteway's Peardrax was made local by Pepsi-Co Trinidad before it was sold. Then Peardrax and Cydrax was made by Samba Brewing Company in El Socorro and do contain cane sugar, and is labeled as such. You see a manufacturer will not miss an opportunity to advertise this.

Is Samba Brewery still operating today? If not I wonder who is manufacturing the Peardrax?
edit: In 2020 it was awarded to Caribbean Development Company Limited aka Ansa Mcal Carib Brewery.

Another cane sugar drink. See they advertise it.
Last edited by maj. tom on August 3rd, 2022, 5:21 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby timelapse » August 3rd, 2022, 5:08 pm

FrankChag wrote:also hops bread in brown bags
any pastry in brown bags sends me back to St. Marys bakery and hilo in the 90s.
I still go St.Mary's bakery for pies when I in the area

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » August 3rd, 2022, 6:53 pm

The small, cheap burgers from Bos Burger. Even though you could taste the fillers in the patty, those things got me through many a day in Port of Spain.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 3rd, 2022, 6:55 pm

A172 wrote:when this came out in the mid 90's there were 2 flavours, this bbq garbage and a hot one

the hot one was discontinued and never to be seen again, yet u could find that bbq junk selling everywhere still to this day

anybody know why they stop making the hot one? that was actually good
1678900649.jpg
This is facts
Bbq is failure

Postby Dizzy28 » August 3rd, 2022, 7:24 pm

Afaik local beverage companies use refined sugar. It's cane derived but is refined even more than white sugar.
maj. tom wrote:
alfa wrote:
maj. tom wrote:in Brasil and most Latin American soda still uses sugar-cane sugar rather than mostly corn fructose in other western countries. I notice canned pepsi from Costa Rica tastes so much different that what we have here.

Don't we use cane sugar in ours to?

The local Cocoa Cola labels say "sugar" with no mention of source but it's so easy for the consumer to assume it's cane sugar. If it's not specifically labelled don't be fooled by it. As you know "sugar" in food manufacturing labels can mean a lot of things like maltodextrin, brown rice syrup, dextrose, sucrose, high fructose corn syrup and no mention of the source. Plus they now started using sucralose more than sugar in the formula. But that's Coca Cola.

Pepsi is imported (likely from USA made with corn fructose) and merely distributed here.
Pepsi-Cola Trinidad Bottling Co Ltd which was sold to Caribbean Distribution Partners Ltd. PCT is the licensee and distributor in T&T of the PepsiCo range of beverages–Pepsi, Mountain Dew, 7UP and Ocean Spray–also distributes Peardrax and Cydrax under license. Whiteway's Peardrax was made local by Pepsi-Co Trinidad before it was sold. Then Peardrax and Cydrax was made by Samba Brewing Company in El Socorro and do contain cane sugar, and is labeled as such. You see a manufacturer will not miss an opportunity to advertise this.

Is Samba Brewery still operating today? If not I wonder who is manufacturing the Peardrax?
edit: In 2020 it was awarded to Caribbean Development Company Limited aka Ansa Mcal Carib Brewery.

Another cane sugar drink. See they advertise it.

Postby K74T » August 3rd, 2022, 7:39 pm

gastly369 wrote:
K74T wrote:
71WC2dkrEJL.jpg
Pricemart has.. All those other "imitation" crap can't compare
I had it in 2020 when it came back on the market but it didn't taste as good as it used to be back in the late 90s/early 00s. There is also a coconut filling one as well.

Postby K74T » August 3rd, 2022, 7:43 pm

Used to like these as well

6000198921140.jpg
132780-01_chiclets-chewing-gum-snack-packs-200-piece-box.jpg

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 3rd, 2022, 8:01 pm

K74T wrote:Used to like these as well

132780-01_chiclets-chewing-gum-snack-packs-200-piece-box.jpg
6000198921140.jpg

Up to last month I got a box of chiclet. Not tasting the same. I loved polo too!! If I get a box I buying that oui those kinda mints helped kick my smoking cravings and sometimes works for the snack cravings too

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » August 3rd, 2022, 8:20 pm

most mints and gum arent made with sugar anymore, and use sugar alcohols like sorbitol instead

only thing you can get with sugar anymore might be winterfresh and the others that have like 5 sticks of gum in them

Postby K74T » August 3rd, 2022, 9:26 pm

s-l500.jpg
s-l500.jpg (50.41 KiB) Viewed 1110 times

Postby gastly369 » August 3rd, 2022, 11:26 pm

#memories
2015-04-02-1428013307-1089428-flinstonespushuppops.jpg

Postby RedVEVO » August 4th, 2022, 12:50 am

Ole fart flood loose bowels baggy jockey over 40 plus COVID body pile up no cash lethargic geriatrics thread :lol:

Never see any of those products above except Coke ( the Cola ).

A balanced diet for a tuner geriatric is a bottle of puncheon in each hand.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 4th, 2022, 4:06 am

kc used to have the choco mint during school days and the dinner mint with chocolate inside. idk if them things still around.

Postby aaron17 » August 4th, 2022, 6:40 am

I remember potato sticks in a tin...

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 4th, 2022, 7:06 am

Rovin wrote:$5 burgers u say , dat hadda like 30-40yrs ago ....

Naa u makin me feel old and I now break 30s. I was in primary school when they had the big 5$ stand in Chaguanas next to hcu building

Postby timelapse » August 4th, 2022, 7:15 am

Nostalgic snack- Benson and Hedges Menthol

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » August 4th, 2022, 8:02 am

timelapse wrote:Nostalgic snack- Benson and Hedges Menthol

+2 on this.

Turn to gold………

Postby RedVEVO » August 4th, 2022, 8:31 am

Anybody remember Alphabet soup ?

Postby RedVEVO » August 4th, 2022, 8:43 am

:D We watching you on Facebook

You mean a single broadway with basil infused ganga and a barbecue grilled dinner mint after you cut 2 lb of bodi
and then rear viewing Venezuelans boys while they laying down your backfill :D

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 4th, 2022, 8:56 am

B&H was flagship smokes back then inno.
Top of the heap. Then they replaced it with Dunhill or something?

Any smoker would remember the stink of the old ones like Broadway and Mt Dor

Then they came with nasty new sheit like Flam-something and Craven A (aimed at youths based on the ads)

Postby Les Bain » August 4th, 2022, 9:07 am

When I had to quit for good, Dunhill brought out the transformer cigarettes with the menthol capsule in the filter :cry: .

Modern cost of cigs is enough to quit though.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 4th, 2022, 9:28 am

nick639v2 wrote:

Naa u makin me feel old and I now break 30s. I was in primary school when they had the big 5$ stand in Chaguanas next to hcu building

$5 burger was still a thing after I left UWI and that's 2003.

Food inflation really was a 2005 and onwards kinna thing.

Postby RedVEVO » August 4th, 2022, 9:48 am

nick639v2 wrote:

$5 burger was still a thing after I left UWI and that's 2003.

Food inflation really was a 2005 and onwards kinna thing.

Inflation ? Good point :D

Grand parents told me recently that Royal Castle fries - or chips - were once 25 cents :lol:

And hop bread with cheese slight pepper was 12 cents :lol:

At Starbucks and Rituals a cheese sandwich is $25 nowadays !!

Anybody old enough to confirm per Grand parents ?

Postby aaron17 » August 4th, 2022, 10:06 am

Hops bread and cheese and slight pepper ..they say 10c
They used to run a pala with an ole black and white tv

Postby RedVEVO » August 4th, 2022, 11:39 am

aaron17 wrote:Hops bread and cheese and slight pepper ..they say 10c

Parlor :D

From 10 cents to $25 :shock:

Bet they have a 85" UHD now !

Linda's $25 Chicken Club is a great lunch !

And the BLT came back :D

death365

Postby death365 » August 4th, 2022, 12:04 pm

them kinda pala is where yuh could go an ask for a beer and nip ah rum an get it too :drinking:

also they had the posey under the bed.

aaron17 wrote:Hops bread and cheese and slight pepper ..they say 10c
Last edited by death365 on August 4th, 2022, 12:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby gastly369 » August 4th, 2022, 12:06 pm

434B928600000578-4795404-Other_classic_snacks_shared_online_by_nostalgic_users_included_t-a-31_1502956103048.jpg
434B928600000578-4795404-Other_classic_snacks_shared_online_by_nostalgic_users_included_t-a-31_1502956103048.jpg (41.96 KiB) Viewed 964 times

Postby mero » August 4th, 2022, 12:38 pm

Bun chess tampico in the bag.

Cant belive men used to chain drinking that back to back

Postby gastly369 » August 4th, 2022, 1:06 pm

mero wrote:Bun chess tampico in the bag.

Cant belive men used to chain drinking that back to back
Box lunch crew checking in...

Prob the cause of my join pains now

matix

Postby matix » August 4th, 2022, 1:29 pm

Box lunch on a Thursday was the most popular, Roti!