Re: Nostalgic food/snack ched

Postby K74T » August 4th, 2022, 2:05 pm

68ad1298acff16a80589eba7b31efdb7.jpg
68ad1298acff16a80589eba7b31efdb7.jpg (9.52 KiB) Viewed 846 times
53779eb57810dc4da9f67c840c2d0347.jpg

These tasted the best back when the packaging looked like this...after they started the less sugar more sweetener nonsense it went haywire.

Postby Rovin » August 4th, 2022, 2:11 pm

does nestles still make eggnog & it still have sea-moss flavor supligen ? ...

Postby maj. tom » August 4th, 2022, 2:26 pm

they using stevia now and reduced the sugar. Good move tbh.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 4th, 2022, 5:32 pm

There was an oreo cereal with a kinda marshmallow finish....used to lash!!! Pricesmart have a bootleg atm, nothing close to the original

Postby gastly369 » August 4th, 2022, 5:59 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:There was an oreo cereal with a kinda marshmallow finish....used to lash!!! Pricesmart have a bootleg atm, nothing close to the original
This?
IMG_20220804_175922.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 4th, 2022, 6:02 pm

Yea^!, that's the bootleg one....lol

Postby gastly369 » August 4th, 2022, 6:21 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Yea^!, that's the bootleg one....lol
Oh shits never had to original

But this one aight can't compare but I know for sure as with everything the new stuff can't compare to the original long ago

Postby K74T » August 4th, 2022, 6:24 pm

This was the original

oreo.jpg

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 4th, 2022, 6:37 pm

Anyone had a snack called “Chamoy”. They were in little red packets each containing 3 round sweets. It was like a sweet salty mix close to the candy covered salt prune

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 4th, 2022, 6:49 pm

gastly369 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Yea^!, that's the bootleg one....lol
Oh shits never had to original

But this one aight can't compare but I know for sure as with everything the new stuff can't compare to the original long ago

This is the one I used to have. Them Lil marshmallows were nostalgic
tumblr_mqxfdgwdHp1qzcrj3o2_400.jpg

Postby matr1x » August 4th, 2022, 6:51 pm

maj. tom wrote:they using stevia now and reduced the sugar. Good move tbh.

Those artificial sweetners are horrible

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 4th, 2022, 8:19 pm

good move to tackle childhood obesity.
bad move for taste :sick: :sick: :sick: :sick: :sick: :sick:

Postby timelapse » August 4th, 2022, 8:22 pm

matr1x wrote:

Stevia is a plant . Great sugar substitute for losing weight, and for diabetics.

Postby shogun » August 4th, 2022, 10:05 pm

This still around?

B2001J-1.jpg

Postby matr1x » August 5th, 2022, 3:40 am

timelapse wrote:
matr1x wrote:

Stevia is a plant . Great sugar substitute for losing weight, and for diabetics.

While it's a plant, the process to get it to sweetener product is where the carcinogenic risk comes in

Postby timelapse » August 5th, 2022, 6:45 am

matr1x wrote:
timelapse wrote:
matr1x wrote:

While it's a plant, the process to get it to sweetener product is where the carcinogenic risk comes in
You know you can make it yourself right?
La Vega has plants

Postby matr1x » August 5th, 2022, 2:55 pm

You going through all that?

Postby timelapse » August 5th, 2022, 7:10 pm

matr1x wrote:You going through all that?
You want to stay healthy or eat whatever tf you want and expect miracles?

Postby Rovin » August 5th, 2022, 7:13 pm

shogun wrote:This still around?

B2001J-1.jpg

dat 1 is a rel throwback dan, u ole like d road :lol: havent seen that since i was a child

iirc good i didnt like d taste of it so no lost for me ...

Postby MaxPower » August 5th, 2022, 7:47 pm

timelapse wrote:
matr1x wrote:You going through all that?
You want to stay healthy or eat whatever tf you want and expect miracles?

Lmao

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 5th, 2022, 7:57 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
Rovin wrote:$5 burgers u say , dat hadda like 30-40yrs ago ....

Naa u makin me feel old and I now break 30s. I was in primary school when they had the big 5$ stand in Chaguanas next to hcu building

$5 burger was still a thing after I left UWI and that's 2003.

Food inflation really was a 2005 and onwards kinna thing.

just remembered pie man by 107.. that draf makes you real hungry. Think he used to show up around 12 or 1

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » August 5th, 2022, 8:53 pm

K74T wrote:53779eb57810dc4da9f67c840c2d0347.jpg68ad1298acff16a80589eba7b31efdb7.jpg

These tasted the best back when the packaging looked like this...after they started the less sugar more sweetener nonsense it went haywire.

Now chocnut just tastes slimy. I switch to chocolate supligen as my alternative to make a ratchet mocha coffee at home, surprisingly good.

Postby K74T » August 5th, 2022, 8:58 pm

There's a coffee supligen on the market as well. Tastes pretty good.

hindian

Postby hindian » August 5th, 2022, 11:01 pm

IMG_0711.JPG

I ain’t see nobody mention these things. I was addicted to them back in the day and ever so often when I find it now I still buy it

matix

Postby matix » August 5th, 2022, 11:03 pm

hindian wrote:
IMG_0711.JPG

I ain’t see nobody mention these things. I was addicted to them back in the day and ever so often when I find it now I still buy it

That’s the Chinese sausage thing we’ve all been speaking about

Postby matr1x » August 6th, 2022, 1:05 am

Just eat less sugar. And less tacos or whatever those flabby venes cooking

Postby RedVEVO » August 6th, 2022, 6:10 am

matr1x wrote:Just eat less sugar. And less tacos or whatever those flabby venes cooking

"In 2016, female obesity prevalence for Trinidad and Tobago was 26 %. Female obesity prevalence of Trinidad and Tobago increased from 13.7 % in 1997 to 26 % in 2016 growing at an average annual rate of 3.43%. "

https://knoema.com/atlas/Trinidad-and-T ... prevalence

Postby alfa » August 6th, 2022, 7:00 am

RedVEVO wrote:
matr1x wrote:Just eat less sugar. And less tacos or whatever those flabby venes cooking

"In 2016, female obesity prevalence for Trinidad and Tobago was 26 %. Female obesity prevalence of Trinidad and Tobago increased from 13.7 % in 1997 to 26 % in 2016 growing at an average annual rate of 3.43%. "

The man mange to bring in venes in a nostalgic snacks thread yes, serious tabanca lol. But on a serious note there was strangely enough less obesity back then when everything had real sugar and now with all this stevia and high fructose nonsense the obesity rates have increased dramatically. What gives?

Postby timelapse » August 6th, 2022, 7:31 am

alfa wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

The man mange to bring in venes in a nostalgic snacks thread yes, serious tabanca lol. But on a serious note there was strangely enough less obesity back then when everything had real sugar and now with all this stevia and high fructose nonsense the obesity rates have increased dramatically. What gives?
It ain't the sugar,or the fat that mainstream media made a villain.The main contributing factor for body weight has and always will be carbs.There are starch fillers in literally every food you can think of buying commercially.Trinis eat too much flour,rice , potatoes and provisions.Take note of all the popular fast food and street food.As Max said, where are the healthy options?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 6th, 2022, 7:53 am

timelapse wrote:
alfa wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

It ain't the sugar,or the fat that mainstream media made a villain.The main contributing factor for body weight has and always will be carbs.There are starch fillers in literally every food you can think of buying commercially.Trinis eat too much flour,rice , potatoes and provisions.Take note of all the popular fast food and street food.As Max said, where are the healthy options?

trinis grew up having the filler as the main dish such as bread and roti. we order chicken, chowmein and rice in TT but no where else you get that combo. we dont know about meat and veggies but we know about chicken roti, bbq meat, fry rice and potato salad. a trini dont feel full unless it have a carb in that dish.