Re: Nostalgic food/snack ched

Postby 2ndchance » August 11th, 2022, 5:29 pm

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » August 11th, 2022, 5:41 pm

timelapse wrote:
K74T wrote:Christmas time favourites

DELTA-STRAWBERRY-FRUIT-CENTER-COOKIES.jpg48405684_1695749463864159_6870339942787055616_n.jpg
I have been looking for those delta chocolate chip cookies in ages.Have you seen them lately and where?

Delta Trading in Chaguanas closed down/went out of business. This was their last shipment activity from what I can see.

2018-09-29 DELTA TRADING CO., LTD.
WESTON FOODS ( CANADA) INC.
DELTA CHOCOLATE CHIP - DELTA CHOCOLATE CHIP
C AED # 02DB52TCK30920180900078

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » August 11th, 2022, 5:43 pm

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » August 11th, 2022, 5:46 pm

Cigarette candy sticks

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » August 11th, 2022, 5:50 pm

Postby Rovin » August 11th, 2022, 5:57 pm

Les Bain wrote:
FrankChag wrote:anybody used to eat frico (powder milk) when hunger take you?
i've sinced moved up to klim btw.

Was real vex when they stopped putting the toys in the tin.

Was so vex I became lactose intolerant in my early 20s.

d tiny lame plastic spaceships right ? u ole like me cause i sure dise b4 some of dem here time

in my childhood days i was never a milk drinker , most i use to do is a teaspoon of stayfresh milk in my tea but as an adult i put a lil touch of kerrygold powdered milk in my coffee

never was a popcorn eater but i did like shrimp flavor chips - it never gets old watching those quickly expand in hot oil ...

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 11th, 2022, 6:04 pm

Postby aaron17 » August 11th, 2022, 6:06 pm

Shrimp chips still selling.

Postby Dave » August 11th, 2022, 6:26 pm

Yup. Still buy but have graduated to air frying them.
aaron17 wrote:Shrimp chips still selling.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 12th, 2022, 5:15 am

Where can you get a proper snow cone?? Back in my primary school days, you could have gotten a scoop of ice with some syrup on a piece of foil paper for 25 cents. Life!

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 12th, 2022, 8:03 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Where can you get a proper snow cone?? Back in my primary school days, you could have gotten a scoop of ice with some syrup on a piece of foil paper for 25 cents. Life!

My go to snow cone man Is a guy that passes Mcbean and Couva in the white van, not just sugar water syrup, he does crush grapes or guava etc depending on what plentiful. No condensed milk. I ain’t gonna lie, I’m 30 and my grandmother still buys it for me every couple weeks and keeps it in the freezer for when I visit, I recently got married and I see she buys 2 now because I don’t share lol

I wonder if lil Prince does still taste good too? Opposite QRC by the Savannah.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 12th, 2022, 9:07 am

nick639v2 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Where can you get a proper snow cone?? Back in my primary school days, you could have gotten a scoop of ice with some syrup on a piece of foil paper for 25 cents. Life!

My go to snow cone man Is a guy that passes Mcbean and Couva in the white van, not just sugar water syrup, he does crush grapes or guava etc depending on what plentiful. No condensed milk. I ain’t gonna lie, I’m 30 and my grandmother still buys it for me every couple weeks and keeps it in the freezer for when I visit, I recently got married and I see she buys 2 now because I don’t share lol

I wonder if lil Prince does still taste good too? Opposite QRC by the Savannah.

Snowy!
That man is a fixture in central, I've been buying from him since I was a kid and he was selling from a bicycle.
Now my kid is getting snow cone from him.

He also makes some really decent lollies/pallet and homemade ice cream. The soursop ice cream is mega vibes because it's loaded with soursop pulp. Tell gramma place an order for the icrecream you won't be disappointed. Think it's 30 or 35 for a 1 later tub.

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2022, 9:21 am

they easy to air fry ?
want to try that

Dave wrote:Yup. Still buy but have graduated to air frying them.

Postby aaron17 » August 12th, 2022, 9:27 am

pugboy wrote:they easy to air fry ?
want to try that

yip
chip.PNG
chip.PNG (180.89 KiB) Viewed 1084 times

Postby maj. tom » August 12th, 2022, 9:33 am

You can cook them in the microwave too, any heat source. There is water bound to the starch molecules in the "dry" product which rapidly expands on heating. Oil spray can be added for a little extra flavour in the crisp. They're basically the Asian version of popcorn.

Postby Dave » August 12th, 2022, 9:35 am

Lightly coat with oil and hear them roll around
want to try that

matix

Postby matix » August 12th, 2022, 9:38 am

maj. tom wrote:You can cook them in the microwave too, any heat source. There is water bound to the starch molecules in the "dry" product which rapidly expands on heating. Oil spray can be added for a little extra flavour in the crisp. They're basically the Asian version of popcorn.

Haven’t had those since I was a kid, you all do any dipping sauces with it?

carluva

Postby carluva » August 12th, 2022, 10:02 am

Probably gonna sell out my age with this one but here:
Img_2022_08_12_10_08_42.jpg

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » August 12th, 2022, 10:54 am

aaron17 wrote:Wanna start bringing back memories when we were younger in our school days... by d parlour etc

- freezies
- chili bibi
-dark n gold
- green mango in bag
- sucka bag

they were my go- to snacks

Flavourite close down so these (freezies, dark and gold) are definitely no more.

The other snacks though... Memories

Postby Chimera » August 12th, 2022, 10:59 am

'

all them snowcone fellas around the savannah is failure , real water down crap

it have a youthman in pos savannah who cant be more than 16 selling snowcone though, 4 different flavours syrup , cherry, coconut, guava and a next one....

his one is real justice

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 12th, 2022, 11:08 am

matix wrote:
maj. tom wrote:You can cook them in the microwave too, any heat source. There is water bound to the starch molecules in the "dry" product which rapidly expands on heating. Oil spray can be added for a little extra flavour in the crisp. They're basically the Asian version of popcorn.

Haven’t had those since I was a kid, you all do any dipping sauces with it?

Asian style condiment dip

Ketchup, light soy, a drizzle of honey or a small spoon of brown sugar and some lime pepper

Postby st7 » August 12th, 2022, 11:12 am

DMan7 wrote:Image

this is the rel thing lol

Postby st7 » August 12th, 2022, 11:12 am

DMan7 wrote:Image

they still sell this...and i still eat this lol

Postby st7 » August 12th, 2022, 11:13 am

2ndchance wrote:Image

when you wanna get a good jaw exercise going at the risk of chipping yuh teeth

Postby Chimera » August 12th, 2022, 11:15 am

want to try that

Air fryer is a amazing thing yes.

Down to baigan choka and fry plantain yuh cud make in the air fryer

Postby maj. tom » August 12th, 2022, 11:36 am

them thing does send up the light bill by how much so with say 2/3 times usage a week? I see one in Pricesmart but hesitating. I had got rid of a 1500W electric kettle and the light bill come down so much i start to get a rebate.

Postby Chimera » August 12th, 2022, 11:41 am

maj. tom wrote:them thing does send up the light bill by how much so with say 2/3 times usage a week? I see one in Pricesmart but hesitating. I had got rid of a 1500W electric kettle and the light bill come down so much i start to get a rebate.

daz a good question but with the price of oil and the health benefits i eh really taking on that

when yuh cud easily throw soo much things in it and give it a lil cooking spray instead of having to put a set of oil in a pot that you hadda filter or throw away after

Postby Rovin » August 12th, 2022, 11:55 am

i havent had a snowcone in yrsss , how much it going for these days $7\8\10 ?

when i used to go couva govt sec all d kids used to buy from uncle Ralphy right on d main road , dem days was $1 for 1

iirc from a news article a while back d man sold there for 40something yrs ...

Postby gastly369 » August 12th, 2022, 12:34 pm

Some pics from bpore roti shop
IMG_20190103_111205.jpg
IMG_20190103_111154.jpg