Nostalgic food/snack ched

Re: Nostalgic food/snack ched

Postby maj. tom » August 15th, 2022, 9:04 am

The cheaper ones, I assume coming from China, would have more sugar and hydrogenated oils than cocoa and milk elements.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 15th, 2022, 12:53 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
aaron17 wrote:I want to know the name of this ...i can't remember the name. Its like in the 80s or 90s. Its like fishermans friend but its in a circular tin. Its green like hard jelly. And each lozenge is sprinkled with clear/white sugar granules.
Zubes or Valda pastilles
Seems like it.

They still sell them here in Brazil. Next time I come back I'll bring some down. Along with some Benson and Hedges Menthol for some other folks.

Nice. Our great-gran had these in her purse and her room all the time, and always sharing them out. Nostalgia oui! Fun fact, as a kid (maybe 4 or 5?), I dind't know about the colorful sweeties that look like these... so I distinctly remember being surprised when I saw/tasted the sweetie ones. I remember thinking, "wow, these are SWEET!"

I love the sweet ones.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 15th, 2022, 2:09 pm

IMG_2256.JPG

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 15th, 2022, 2:11 pm

IMG_2257.JPG

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » August 15th, 2022, 2:33 pm

Buying black Chinese preserves prunes , Hong Ping on Charlote Street by the Pounds

Postby *KRONIK* » August 15th, 2022, 2:37 pm

gastly369 wrote:
shogun wrote:
083730f1f8dbd5130340712dadc8cfc9.jpg
Dem new coin chocolate doh even melt again and horrible taste ... Long ago you buy a warm one you hadda chew up the foil to get that soft chocolate out from it
Boi
That was a frustration yes

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 15th, 2022, 4:50 pm

Dave wrote:Nuggle was like a meal.
Rovin wrote:boi dat caramel popcorn prolly make me get cavities when i used to eat that in my youth days , tasted best but does real stick up in ur teeth ... nuggle too

Sing the Nuggle song dey fellas.

Nibble ah Nuggle!

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 15th, 2022, 5:06 pm

not a food per se (a food place?), but this logo brings brings back REAL bittersweet mems.

ImageImageImageImage

Postby gastly369 » August 15th, 2022, 6:00 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
shogun wrote:
083730f1f8dbd5130340712dadc8cfc9.jpg
Dem new coin chocolate doh even melt again and horrible taste ... Long ago you buy a warm one you hadda chew up the foil to get that soft chocolate out from it
Boi
That was a frustration yes
Done pay hadda get that chocolate out by any means

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » August 15th, 2022, 6:40 pm

Not exactly food but something for the aftershocks. Always found this was more effective than Andrew's and was sad when it left the local market. Was pleasantly surprised to find it still available in Brazil and in a wider range of flavors.
20220815_193944.jpg

Postby shogun » August 15th, 2022, 7:05 pm

Family member said this franchise was here back in the day?

50th-anniversary-photo4@2x.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 15th, 2022, 7:07 pm

shogun wrote:Family member said this franchise was here back in the day?

I think it was.
In trinidad we also had Chuckwagon, Chicken Unlimited and Chicken Delight

matix

Postby matix » August 15th, 2022, 7:10 pm

I think it was.

Chicken Delight was my fav as a kid, their pizza, burgers, fried chicken was the best for me

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 15th, 2022, 7:16 pm

matix wrote:

I think it was.

Chicken Delight was my fav as a kid, their pizza, burgers, fried chicken was the best for me

That’s the one on Library Corner San Fernando?

matix

Postby matix » August 15th, 2022, 7:34 pm

matix wrote:

I think it was.

That’s the one on Library Corner San Fernando?

Princes Town and San Fernando, yes. Uncle Khalid’s I believe had the franchise or was it his local thing?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 15th, 2022, 7:35 pm

Oh no it was Chicken Roost that was Library Corner

Postby aaron17 » August 15th, 2022, 7:36 pm

I remember eating spees in a clear pack ......and drinking viva in secondary school..sometimes mountain dew...
form 3

matix

Postby matix » August 15th, 2022, 7:37 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Oh no it was Chicken Roost that was Library Corner

Chicken delight was on Cipero Street

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 15th, 2022, 7:40 pm

matix wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Oh no it was Chicken Roost that was Library Corner

Chicken delight was on Cipero Street

ok right and Chicken Unlimited was in Gulf City Mall

Postby shogun » August 15th, 2022, 8:06 pm

50th-anniversary-photo4@2x.jpg

I think it was.
In trinidad we also had Chuckwagon Chicken Unlimited and Chicken Delight

Looks like one local keeping the dream alive. Post was from a few years back though.

16195654_1308495992544822_3294916601297074111_n.jpg

19554716_1504778766249876_6094315784322117314_n.jpg

https://www.facebook.com/chuckwagonchicken/

Postby sMASH » August 15th, 2022, 8:39 pm

remember it had a corn curls that used to taste like nuts?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 15th, 2022, 8:46 pm

I wonder if it's the same people?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 15th, 2022, 8:47 pm

Allya remember Japs Fried Chicken? Not sure if they still around, but the one thing that stood out with them is you used to get a TON of fries in the box.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 15th, 2022, 8:58 pm

DMan7 wrote:Allya remember Japs Fried Chicken? Not sure if they still around, but the one thing that stood out with them is you used to get a TON of fries in the box.

There was a court case over the use of the name "Japs". I believe the original Japs won the case to keep the name and his wife or ex-wife and son or step son, I really am not sure what is their exact relation to Japs, are running the branches under a new name.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 15th, 2022, 9:00 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Allya remember Japs Fried Chicken? Not sure if they still around, but the one thing that stood out with them is you used to get a TON of fries in the box.

There was a court case over the use of the name "Japs". I believe the original Japs won the case to keep the name and his wife or ex-wife and son or step son, I really am not sure what is their exact relation to Japs, are running the branches under a new name.
Darryl's

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2022, 9:04 pm

not anymore, they very tight with the portions
used to have decent prices
it’s now same like everybody else $32 2piece box

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 15th, 2022, 9:06 pm

That's why these local fast food chicken and chips places can't compete with franchises. They need to give the average consumer a benefit over buying the more expensive franchise foods If the benefit no longer exists that is cheaper prices then people are going to go for the franchises.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » August 15th, 2022, 9:35 pm

Jap's used to real lash when they now came out. Used to take the bus from Chaguanas to Rio just to eat a box of Jap's with heavy garlic sauce. Then their quality and portion sizes declined by the time they managed to get a Chaguanas branch going and that folded up after a while. No consistency is the downfall of a lot of food places, sadly.

Postby Chimera » August 15th, 2022, 11:58 pm

The owner of japs and his mother died from covid in December last year

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2022, 5:56 am

yeah, that was during delta covid.

after the court/name change the quality went down for some reason.
when they started expanding the quality was good, I used to go to the st helena branch.

Phone Surgeon wrote:The owner of japs and his mother died from covid in December last year