Nostalgic food/snack ched

Re: Nostalgic food/snack ched

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 3rd, 2022, 11:03 am

Rovin wrote:$5 burgers u say , dat hadda like 30-40yrs ago ....

nope. 15-20 years ago.

5 dollars was for a plain beef burger on a bun, lettuce, tomato, onion and sauce.
It was the ultimate post club munchies when yuh head bad. I remember because after nuts/pier1 drunkout we used to duck in chaguanas on the bottom of Ramsarran street to distress some burgers

Back then doubles was still $1 so you had options

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2022, 11:26 am

$2 hotdogs was common

Postby RedVEVO » August 3rd, 2022, 11:33 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Rovin wrote:$5 burgers u say , dat hadda like 30-40yrs ago ....

nope. 15-20 years ago.

5 dollars was for a plain beef burger on a bun, lettuce, tomato, onion and sauce.
It was the ultimate post club munchies when yuh head bad. I remember because after nuts/pier1 drunkout we used to duck in chaguanas on the bottom of Ramsarran street to distress some burgers

Back then doubles was still $1 so you had options

Hilarious ! My Uncle (Tio) told me the same yesterday - drunk and hungry times :drinking: :lol:
He used to go to a place in Curepe Junction next to Red Stop .. ?? No guntas then !
Anyhow he claims the burgers we really good ! Drunk peeps know good food !
Similar to White Castle Burgers in the US - BUT $5 TT

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » August 3rd, 2022, 11:35 am

Rember going with my dad central market lady was selling the ends of the chocolate in small plastic bags from Charles factory know they got it from the beetham landfill. Fresh chocolate ends bits

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 3rd, 2022, 11:47 am

this thread is real nostalgia.. $1 doubles from doubles lady in school...

I remember when donut boys opened (90s?) before i left for uni. In A's we used to "break beech" during lunch and buy donut holes. We used to call them 'munchies' i think.

Also, this thing from primary school days.. don't know if anyone remembers it. IIRC, it used to taste like sierra mist.

Postby Chimera » August 3rd, 2022, 11:57 am

ruffrider27 wrote:Rember going with my dad central market lady was selling the ends of the chocolate in small plastic bags from Charles factory know they got it from the beetham landfill. Fresh chocolate ends bits

errr...what?

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 3rd, 2022, 12:12 pm

Postby K74T » August 3rd, 2022, 12:16 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
ruffrider27 wrote:Rember going with my dad central market lady was selling the ends of the chocolate in small plastic bags from Charles factory know they got it from the beetham landfill. Fresh chocolate ends bits

errr...what?
Labasse chocolate

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » August 3rd, 2022, 12:59 pm

K74T wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

errr...what?
Labasse chocolate
:D :D :D

Postby Rovin » August 3rd, 2022, 1:02 pm

i was around but remembering about food for $1\2\5 seemed like d time is decades ago yes ...

Postby Rovin » August 3rd, 2022, 1:04 pm

i remember upper 10 - made by solo right ? ... solo also had RC Cola which i liked but they stopped it yrssss ago

Postby Dizzy28 » August 3rd, 2022, 1:14 pm

FrankChag wrote:Doubles prices over the years (Source: Ali's Doubles)

sources:
https://tt.loopnews.com/content/remembe ... -over-time
https://www.facebook.com/1840485295/pos ... 2w2Dl/?d=n

The only non dollar increment doubles men I go by used was 50c. And that was at $1.50 and $2.50 price point. Thereafter they just use $1 increments to avoid the issue with cents change.

Postby alfa » August 3rd, 2022, 1:48 pm

K74T wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

errr...what?
Labasse chocolate

Ent know about the landfill business but I recall in primary school companies used to give out freshly expired chocolate and other snacks instead of throwing away

Postby RedVEVO » August 3rd, 2022, 2:16 pm

alfa wrote:
K74T wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

errr...what?
Labasse chocolate

Ent know about the landfill business but I recall in primary school companies used to give out freshly expired chocolate and other snacks instead of throwing away

They still do :D They like to see their product move .

Why should companies throw them away ?

The old peeps who eat all the sweets etc., from primary most likely are now obese and/or diabetic .

And they going to die as soon as COVID comes to their address or they have organ failure.

And it's much cheaper than the Labasse Chocolate :lol:

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 3rd, 2022, 2:34 pm

USA pop soda and push pop icecream from flavorite

Postby K74T » August 3rd, 2022, 3:00 pm

Rovin wrote:i remember upper 10 - made by solo right ? ... solo also had RC Cola which i liked but they stopped it yrssss ago
RC still around

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » August 3rd, 2022, 3:19 pm

Grapette soft drinks. The factory was somewhere near where the Gas plant is on Gaston Street now.
Grapette_bottles.png
Grapette_bottles.png (142.29 KiB) Viewed 1123 times

Postby timelapse » August 3rd, 2022, 3:40 pm

triniterribletim wrote:Grapette soft drinks. The factory was somewhere near where the Gas plant is on Gaston Street now.
I have terrible memories of throwing up that as a child

Postby Rovin » August 3rd, 2022, 3:41 pm

K74T wrote:
Rovin wrote:i remember upper 10 - made by solo right ? ... solo also had RC Cola which i liked but they stopped it yrssss ago
RC still around

i watched a few YT videos on RC cola some wks ago, interesting story yall shud look up

i think solo stopped packaging it yrs ago but i wont doubt if somebody is still importing it

there was also DIXIE Cola packaged by sm jaleel ...
Last edited by Rovin on August 3rd, 2022, 3:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Rovin » August 3rd, 2022, 3:46 pm

dem half liter seejink was watered down but cheap iirc $1.50 with ur bottle , a case was heavy to lift up & pet bottles was prolly cheaper to make & no bottle to collect\tote so they phased it out ...

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » August 3rd, 2022, 3:51 pm

Rovin wrote:dem half liter seejink was watered down but cheap iirc $1.50 with ur bottle , a case was heavy to lift up & pet bottles was prolly cheaper to make & no bottle to collect\tote so they phased it out ...

Fortunately they never got rid of that option here in Brazil. Though the popular size for the glass bottles is 1 litre. Soft drinks from a glass bottle just go down different.
IMG_20220803_165057.jpg

Postby K74T » August 3rd, 2022, 3:55 pm

71WC2dkrEJL.jpg

Postby Rovin » August 3rd, 2022, 3:57 pm

oh yea d even older days of 1 liter glass bottles coke , nearly forget that 1 yes

fully agree with u on something in a bottle tastes better than from in plastic

i figure another reason for plastic bottles is when ppl drunk ah plastic bottle to head or face hurts far less than glass ... :lol:

Postby maj. tom » August 3rd, 2022, 4:07 pm

in Brasil and most Latin American soda still uses sugar-cane sugar rather than mostly corn fructose in other western countries. I notice canned pepsi from Costa Rica tastes so much different that what we have here.

Postby gastly369 » August 3rd, 2022, 4:10 pm

K74T wrote:
71WC2dkrEJL.jpg
Pricemart has.. All those other "imitation" crap can't compare

Postby alfa » August 3rd, 2022, 4:12 pm

maj. tom wrote:in Brasil and most Latin American soda still uses sugar-cane sugar rather than mostly corn fructose in other western countries. I notice canned pepsi from Costa Rica tastes so much different that what we have here.

Don't we use cane sugar in ours to?

Postby timelapse » August 3rd, 2022, 4:22 pm

Rovin wrote:
K74T wrote:
RC still around

i watched a few YT videos on RC cola some wks ago, interesting story yall shud look up

i think solo stopped packaging it yrs ago but i wont doubt if somebody is still importing it

there was also DIXIE Cola packaged by sm jaleel ...
Yeah I this old to remember the newspaper commentary
Dixie cola went to town
Pepsi cola knock him down
7 up pick him up and
Throw him in the garbage truck.

Thats is exactly what happened to Dixie.

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2022, 4:35 pm

the worst was satchmo soft drinks

for me the original cannings were the best soft drinks

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 3rd, 2022, 4:50 pm

Nuff time I working construction while going to school part time.

That parlour sandwich used to be a lifesaver, but in the bush areas far from main roads that wasn't common.

Used to throw a dollar pack of nuts (blue pack) in a dollar Pepsi and call that lunch inno. Two DuMaurier for dessert and back to the grind

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 3rd, 2022, 4:58 pm

also hops bread in brown bags
any pastry in brown bags sends me back to St. Marys bakery and hilo in the 90s.