Re: Nostalgic food/snack ched

Postby aaron17 » August 6th, 2022, 7:58 am

I saw polo in the thread...i used to buy Halls
..dentyne ice too
Last edited by aaron17 on August 6th, 2022, 7:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby aaron17 » August 6th, 2022, 8:20 am

Flintsones fruity pebbles cornflakes ...coco ones too
Vitamins
1659788295052.jpg
1659788361025.jpg

Postby aaron17 » August 6th, 2022, 8:26 am

I used to buy nestle honey gold corn flakes...i can't find the original box art but the package inside the box was a heavy silver wrapping rather than normal plastic ones.

Postby timelapse » August 6th, 2022, 8:42 am

I make my own breakfast cereal now.
1 cup puncheon
1/2 cup ice

Postby Dave » August 6th, 2022, 8:45 am

How old are you?
862594999.jpeg

Postby MaxPower » August 6th, 2022, 8:45 am

matr1x wrote:Just eat less sugar. And less tacos or whatever those flabby venes cooking

Glad u finally catching on bro.

Keep it up.

Health is the wealth

Postby aaron17 » August 6th, 2022, 8:58 am

timelapse wrote:I make my own breakfast cereal now.
1 cup puncheon
1/2 cup ice
My snowcone seller in the community still existing... who say condensed milk and rel syrup back in the day?

Postby RedVEVO » August 6th, 2022, 9:41 am

daring dragoon wrote:
timelapse wrote:
alfa wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
matr1x wrote:Just eat less sugar. And less tacos or whatever those flabby venes cooking

"In 2016, female obesity prevalence for Trinidad and Tobago was 26 %. Female obesity prevalence of Trinidad and Tobago increased from 13.7 % in 1997 to 26 % in 2016 growing at an average annual rate of 3.43%. "

https://knoema.com/atlas/Trinidad-and-T ... prevalence

The man mange to bring in venes in a nostalgic snacks thread yes, serious tabanca lol. But on a serious note there was strangely enough less obesity back then when everything had real sugar and now with all this stevia and high fructose nonsense the obesity rates have increased dramatically. What gives?
It ain't the sugar,or the fat that mainstream media made a villain.The main contributing factor for body weight has and always will be carbs.There are starch fillers in literally every food you can think of buying commercially.Trinis eat too much flour,rice , potatoes and provisions.Take note of all the popular fast food and street food.As Max said, where are the healthy options?

trinis grew up having the filler as the main dish such as bread and roti. we order chicken, chowmein and rice in TT but no where else you get that combo. we dont know about meat and veggies but we know about chicken roti, bbq meat, fry rice and potato salad. a trini dont feel full unless it have a carb in that dish.

What is wrong with carbs ? If you young and exercise and play football and hike and active etc.

Carbs is a huge problem with diabetics - especially when you lead a "couch potato" life :cry:

Or rather a " couch breakfast sada , buss-up, doubles, shop roti " life .

Postby timelapse » August 6th, 2022, 10:01 am

RedVEVO wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
timelapse wrote:
alfa wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

"In 2016, female obesity prevalence for Trinidad and Tobago was 26 %. Female obesity prevalence of Trinidad and Tobago increased from 13.7 % in 1997 to 26 % in 2016 growing at an average annual rate of 3.43%. "

The man mange to bring in venes in a nostalgic snacks thread yes, serious tabanca lol. But on a serious note there was strangely enough less obesity back then when everything had real sugar and now with all this stevia and high fructose nonsense the obesity rates have increased dramatically. What gives?
It ain't the sugar,or the fat that mainstream media made a villain.The main contributing factor for body weight has and always will be carbs.There are starch fillers in literally every food you can think of buying commercially.Trinis eat too much flour,rice , potatoes and provisions.Take note of all the popular fast food and street food.As Max said, where are the healthy options?

trinis grew up having the filler as the main dish such as bread and roti. we order chicken, chowmein and rice in TT but no where else you get that combo. we dont know about meat and veggies but we know about chicken roti, bbq meat, fry rice and potato salad. a trini dont feel full unless it have a carb in that dish.

What is wrong with carbs ? If you young and exercise and play football and hike and active etc.

Carbs is a huge problem with diabetics - especially when you lead a "couch potato" life :cry:

Those that exercise properly are in the minority.Too many overweight young people around.Take a walk around C3.You will see it for yourself

Postby RedVEVO » August 6th, 2022, 10:08 am

timelapse wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
timelapse wrote:
alfa wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Those that exercise properly are in the minority.Too many overweight young people around.Take a walk around C3.You will see it for yourself

Take a walk in West Mall ( Falls Mall ) and see majority young health peeps :D

It all depends on your environment .

And they do not sell chicken roti in West Mall :lol:

Nostalgic food/snack ched

Postby MaxPower » August 6th, 2022, 10:34 am

timelapse wrote:Those that exercise properly are in the minority.Too many overweight young people around.Take a walk around C3.You will see it for yourself

Yeh boi timez.

The youths are bamboozled by social media “foodie” posts and want to do the same thing the rest of the world is doing. They are like monkey seeing and monkey doing.

All these pretty and creative unhealthy looking foods that has become an addiction as they must keep their social media statuses and posts with something new everyday whether it be an exotic cocktail, main course, appetizer or dessert. All that flour, oil, sugar and salt.

No one wants to post the Salad because they get no likes and attention.

The youths belly looking big and it henging. They are unfit and have poor hygiene whether it be perspiration or stink breath due to poor eating habits.

Our youths must do better.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 6th, 2022, 10:44 am

Allyhh homos hijacking a good thread

Postby Rovin » August 6th, 2022, 10:50 am

Dave wrote:How old are you?862594999.jpeg

ole like d road :lol:

i bet most kids nowadays dont even know what is pacman ...

Postby MaxPower » August 6th, 2022, 10:56 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Allyhh homos hijacking a good thread

Aye sorry dey shakes.

Marios in the old Trincity Mall use to be the best.

Postby aaron17 » August 6th, 2022, 11:16 am

Chubby chubby chubby chubby.....
Who remember those chubby man stickers?

Postby Rovin » August 6th, 2022, 11:39 am

during my early teen yrs i used to work in a grocery as a hustle , when chubby came out d company used to wholesale d grocery it for $19\case which 0.79cents each & want d grocery to retail for $1 COLD playing smart oh well u making 26% profit, but dise a meager 21cents & u hadda cold it in your own fridge u paying for electricity & trying to run a business with 21c profit or a huge $5 profit on a case , not many businesses supported it & soon had to raise d price to 1.25 or 1.50 to make ends meet

not long ago they still try that shiit on businesses publicly advertising soft drink $2 cold for d owners to make 40c\50c in these times & expect them to survive on that ... :roll:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 6th, 2022, 11:42 am

Goldfinger was the perfect bootleg kit Kat back in the day. Had one yesterday,they forget to put the wafer in it yes.

Postby gastly369 » August 6th, 2022, 3:42 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Goldfinger was the perfect bootleg kit Kat back in the day. Had one yesterday,they forget to put the wafer in it yes.
It common for them to forget the wafers in them since launch idk

Plenty times I got the pure chocolate alone

Postby aaron17 » August 6th, 2022, 4:05 pm

Idk if cornado is recent.

Postby Rovin » August 6th, 2022, 6:35 pm

if u mean d same sunshine snacks cornado from long time that out here a while at least a decade

i find dem $5 small snacks from both holiday\sunshine d pack over too light & not worth it, time u now start to taste it : it finish , hadda buy d big family size pack which getting pricey now , use to be $10-12 now is $15 ....

Postby MaxPower » August 6th, 2022, 7:12 pm

What was the name of the candy in the straw

Postby K74T » August 6th, 2022, 7:14 pm

MaxPower wrote:What was the name of the candy in the straw
Pixie Sticks

Postby MaxPower » August 6th, 2022, 7:29 pm

Thas d ting self

Postby gastly369 » August 6th, 2022, 7:30 pm

Ah yes had the little candy balls in straw with staple... Ripping staple with mouth dem days and spitting out

Postby A172 » August 6th, 2022, 7:31 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Goldfinger was the perfect bootleg kit Kat back in the day. Had one yesterday,they forget to put the wafer in it yes.
lmaooo

Postby A172 » August 6th, 2022, 7:34 pm

tried this the first time in 1995
2124754892.jpg

Postby timelapse » August 6th, 2022, 7:51 pm

When last you guys eat a Vanilla Cookies?

Postby alfa » August 6th, 2022, 9:04 pm

timelapse wrote:When last you guys eat a Vanilla Cookies?

That's what the old folks used to call sweet biscuit? If it's the same I used to crush that up to make cheesecake base. Haven't seen it in a long time

Postby aaron17 » August 6th, 2022, 9:08 pm

Brooo
1659834498171.jpg
1659834498171.jpg (17.83 KiB) Viewed 964 times

Postby Rovin » August 6th, 2022, 9:11 pm

boi dat caramel popcorn prolly make me get cavities when i used to eat that in my youth days , tasted best but does real stick up in ur teeth ... nuggle too