Re: Nostalgic food/snack ched

Postby timelapse » August 16th, 2022, 7:02 am

matix wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Oh no it was Chicken Roost that was Library Corner

Chicken delight was on Cipero Street

ok right and Chicken Unlimited was in Gulf City Mall
Chicken Unlimited was also Cipero street, opposite Crapital Insurance,and bottom of High Street, opposite Rennie's shoe store.
Chicken Delight was Princes Town, near Uncle Khalid's.
Chicken Unlimited only closed down its last branch on High Street very recently, during lockdown.Was one of my highlights of going Sando.But I figured out how to cook it, so I good.
More nostalgic food,
Urdi Bara
Dahee Bara
Dhal dumpling
Aloo puri
Pigeon Peas puri
Old school pepper roti (minus the cheese)
Guyanese egg ball
Curry Saijan
Coscarob (cooked any way,they so scarce now)
Guabin saltfish
Proper Babash (galvanize nail or gtfo)
Caroni alcohol
Angostura Rush
XS
Cannings Bentley (tasted better imo than solo)
Heineken's Malta (Can't remember the exact name)
Old Oak
Predecessor to snowcone- Press
Proper palets (rolled in paper)

Postby sMASH » August 16th, 2022, 7:12 am

the one on cipero was delight.. the other branch to the ptown one.
ulimited was in gulf(i think) and in highstreet.

Postby sMASH » August 16th, 2022, 7:15 am

for lower 6, i used to go teh ulimited on highstreet to revise after lessons on a saturday... but i used to work mcdonalds friday night and saturday night, lol.

Postby aaron17 » August 16th, 2022, 7:56 am

I can't remember packaging but i know there were mini chiclets.
1660650960033.jpg

Postby aaron17 » August 16th, 2022, 7:59 am

Winterfresh gum
1660651143853.jpg

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 16th, 2022, 2:25 pm

ruffrider27 wrote:Buying black Chinese preserves prunes , Hong Ping on Charlote Street by the Pounds
Don't know if Sinceres on Cipero still have the loose ones in trays.

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2022, 3:24 pm

the place is wing sing charlotte st

Postby *KRONIK* » August 28th, 2022, 8:49 pm

Not a snack or food....but these were mentioned earlier
20220828_201019.jpg

Postby MaxPower » August 29th, 2022, 12:27 am

Who remember Yummy’s bakery in St Helena?

Postby RedVEVO » August 29th, 2022, 12:36 am

GrandFather Moses says " chilly billy " not sure of the spelling .

He claims it like a sugared powder that kids in school use to eat like crazy in his time .

He also claims it is responsible for his missing teeth :lol:

Postby timelapse » August 29th, 2022, 5:40 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^

GrandFather Moses says " chilly billy " not sure of the spelling .

He claims it like a sugared powder that kids in school use to eat like crazy in his time .

He also claims it is responsible for his missing teeth
Chilli bibi.

It still around, you can get it on Maracas lookout .The venes make something similar,not sure what they call it.Basically the same thing, powdered corn with sugar

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 29th, 2022, 4:22 pm

Yup Chili Bibi is a whole vibe.
Dried corn, roasted and ground with sugar and spices mixed in. Done right, it just melts away on your tongue.

Something else that's missing is the whole parlour food situation. Longtime village parlours used to have sandwiches on sale for most of the day. Stew liver/gizzard, channa, chowmein. Sometimes you would have gotten coconut bake instead of hops.

I remember pulling up by one in Couva. Tanty say she giving me the special.
When I opened the wax paper it was Coconut bake, channa, buljol, couple slices of zaboca AND a onion choka thing. $6 and this was mid 2000s.

death365

Postby death365 » August 29th, 2022, 5:46 pm

I always remember it was cafenol not panadol. I think cafenol was cheaper.

Postby timelapse » August 29th, 2022, 6:11 pm

death365 wrote:I always remember it was cafenol not panadol. I think cafenol was cheaper.
And got me caffeine addicted as a child

Postby shogun » August 29th, 2022, 8:47 pm

There used to be a sweet on a toothpick sold by street vendors that I believe was some kind of guava sweet, was deep deep red covered in white sugar. That still around?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 29th, 2022, 10:28 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Not a snack or food....but these were mentioned earlier20220828_201019.jpg

Always a win

Postby De Dragon » August 30th, 2022, 8:53 pm

shogun wrote:There used to be a sweet on a toothpick sold by street vendors that I believe was some kind of guava sweet, was deep deep red covered in white sugar. That still around?

Guava cheese?

Postby nervewrecker » August 31st, 2022, 8:57 pm

shogun wrote:There used to be a sweet on a toothpick sold by street vendors that I believe was some kind of guava sweet, was deep deep red covered in white sugar. That still around?

Guava cheese?
Oh god. De lady accross the road used to sell this. My mouth watering.

Next one is toolum. Hard to find, good toolum at least. Used to get in the blue container before the 3 sisters on the way to Point Fortin but nada. Home made juice still available though.

Postby maj. tom » August 31st, 2022, 9:05 pm

I think the secret of good toolum was all in the quality of the molasses. When Caroni closed down, that quality and local Trinidad sunshine sugarcane formula taste must have got harder to achieve with the imported stuff from different sources.

Postby aaron17 » September 14th, 2022, 7:17 pm

long time i aint hear the name 'penny cool'.

Postby pugboy » September 14th, 2022, 7:23 pm

pennacool still around

Postby *KRONIK* » September 14th, 2022, 7:43 pm

aaron17 wrote:long time i aint hear the name 'penny cool'.
pugboy wrote:pennacool still around
I eat 3 weekend
Rofl

Postby sMASH » September 14th, 2022, 7:44 pm

boil chataigne seed. bessness

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 14th, 2022, 8:03 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
aaron17 wrote:long time i aint hear the name 'penny cool'.
pugboy wrote:pennacool still around
I eat 3 weekend
Rofl

Brave man.

Postby st7 » September 14th, 2022, 9:02 pm

idk where to post it... but i find an ad that use to play back in the day. can i post it here or is there another ched for such things?

Postby timelapse » September 14th, 2022, 9:14 pm

sMASH wrote:boil chataigne seed. bessness
Roast chenette seed

Postby pugboy » September 14th, 2022, 9:18 pm

aka chestnut

timelapse wrote:
sMASH wrote:boil chataigne seed. bessness
Roast chenette seed

Postby sMASH » September 14th, 2022, 10:15 pm

st7 wrote:idk where to post it... but i find an ad that use to play back in the day. can i post it here or is there another ched for such things?
Yuh fraid yuh get ban?
Post ting. Who cares....
I doh even bodda to spell gud

Postby st7 » September 14th, 2022, 10:45 pm

sMASH wrote:
st7 wrote:idk where to post it... but i find an ad that use to play back in the day. can i post it here or is there another ched for such things?
Yuh fraid yuh get ban?
Post ting. Who cares....
I doh even bodda to spell gud

lol nah... i was just wondering.

aite hold this

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 15th, 2022, 9:10 am

I remember Caroni molasses was thick like TAR.

I bought a bottle of molasses in the grocery a few months ago and thing runny like soy sauce oui