New Lexus or Used Porsche - which one would you buy?

SuperiorMan

New Lexus or Used Porsche - which one would you buy?

Postby SuperiorMan » July 20th, 2022, 3:25 am

Which one would you buy?

Brand new Lexus ES 350 Luxury edition

Used 2021 Lexus LS500 (about 15,000 miles)

Used 2019 Porsche Cayennne (about 30,000 miles)

Re: OFFICIAL "Local CLEAN AF" ChEd...

Postby adnj » July 20th, 2022, 6:41 am

SuperiorMan wrote:Which one would you buy?
Brand new Lexus ES 350 Luxury edition
Used 2021 Lexus LS500 (about 15,000 miles)
Used 2019 Porsche Cayennne (about 30,000 miles)

Because of the residual values, it makes more sense to lease either a new Cayenne or Lexus every two or three years than to be bothered with actually buying one. Unless, you plan on driving a ten year old car, leasing is the better choice that costs about the same.

Re: New Lexus or Used Porsche - which one would you buy?

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 20th, 2022, 10:03 am

what's the cost factor here?

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 20th, 2022, 10:10 am

Toyota vs Volkswagen. It will always be the former over the latter. Lexus's quality, reliability and resale value is superior to Porsche. Remember the initial slogan for Lexus...."The Relentless Pursuit of Perfection" which is more or less the Company's modus operandi even up to this day as most of them are still built in Japan!

death365

Postby death365 » July 20th, 2022, 10:19 am

yuh sounding like scotty kilmer there.... Toyota is he god! :shock:

ah forget to actually say the Porsche will be better IMHO just to show off and say u have a Porsche

agent007 wrote:Toyota vs Volkswagen. It will always be the former over the latter. Lexus's quality, reliability and resale value is superior to Porsche. Remember the initial slogan for Lexus...."The Relentless Pursuit of Perfection" which is more or less the Company's modus operandi even up to this day as most of them are still built in Japan!

Postby MaxPower » July 20th, 2022, 10:30 am

Supes,

This is just me, but when it comes to high end vehicles, i am not buying one that someone else used.

Postby j.o.e » July 20th, 2022, 10:38 am

Lexus over Porsche ….. I’d grab the LS. It will last forever. Reliable luxury

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 20th, 2022, 10:45 am

j.o.e wrote:Lexus over Porsche ….. I’d grab the LS. It will last forever. Reliable luxury

Test drove it and surprisingly the new es has a smoother more comfortable drive.

Postby Rovin » July 20th, 2022, 10:59 am

brand new over used ...

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 20th, 2022, 2:41 pm

MaxPower wrote:Supes,

This is just me, but when it comes to high end vehicles, i am not buying one that someone else used.

even if the previous owner was a white american man? (serious)

vehicle in pristine condition.

Postby adnj » July 20th, 2022, 3:18 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

If your credit score is 600, used it is the way to go.

Postby Gladiator » July 20th, 2022, 3:27 pm

Was in lifestyle service center the other day (downstairs)... the technical assistant come in with a guy, young black guy well dressed looking like he worried. The technician assistant tell the service rep, all the lights on on the dashboard. The CSR ask if they drive it up the ramp, he say they try but it can't make it up.

He ask for the vehicle number, he say PDW XXXX Porsche Cayenne... customer looked as though he was about to cry. Why do these high end vehicles give so much trouble?

Postby De Dragon » July 20th, 2022, 4:00 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

Or a Vene? :roll:

eKeith

Postby eKeith » July 20th, 2022, 5:06 pm

A Lifestyle mechanic once told me that the smart Porsche buyers also purchase their extended (I believe 10 yr) warranty...

Postby toyolink » July 20th, 2022, 5:49 pm

Don't normally comment in these type of threads since I am biased, but brand new ES gets my vote.
It must be noted that proper service regime is absolutely important from day 1 and the amortised annual maintenance would be in the order of $15000 (tyres,brakes,consumerables,battery and service charges), additionally only premium.
Year 1&2 the cost would be low on the curve, but 3&4 would see some ballooning.
A real dream to drive and our driving conditions just aint going to allow real enjoyment of the power plant.

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » July 20th, 2022, 7:40 pm

OP that's an easy assessment.

Lexus.

Do a 5 minute research on google and you will clearly get your answer.

I would suggest Porche on the basis if it's a special edition or rare model in which the price will stay the same or appreciate on both the local and international market.

Happy purchasing!

Postby nervewrecker » July 20th, 2022, 10:41 pm

Gladiator wrote:Was in lifestyle service center the other day (downstairs)... the technical assistant come in with a guy, young black guy well dressed looking like he worried. The technician assistant tell the service rep, all the lights on on the dashboard. The CSR ask if they drive it up the ramp, he say they try but it can't make it up.

He ask for the vehicle number, he say PDW XXXX Porsche Cayenne... customer looked as though he was about to cry. Why do these high end vehicles give so much trouble?

Oh the horror stories I have heard about some vehicles. And owners bullied by the firms to stay quiet about it via lawyers.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 20th, 2022, 10:48 pm

Is there any system better than the Mark Levinson audio system? The one in high end Lexus vehicles.

Postby Gladiator » July 20th, 2022, 11:03 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Is there any system better than the Mark Levinson audio system? The one in high end Lexus vehicles.

Yeah... the one you install yourself... LOL

Postby MaxPower » July 20th, 2022, 11:19 pm

Gladiator wrote:Was in lifestyle service center the other day (downstairs)... the technical assistant come in with a guy, young black guy well dressed looking like he worried. The technician assistant tell the service rep, all the lights on on the dashboard. The CSR ask if they drive it up the ramp, he say they try but it can't make it up.

I wonder if the 1% does cry too.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 20th, 2022, 11:21 pm

Gladiator wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:Is there any system better than the Mark Levinson audio system? The one in high end Lexus vehicles.

Yeah... the one you install yourself... LOL

well other than that lol

is there any other better?

Postby Gladiator » July 20th, 2022, 11:31 pm

I wonder if the 1% does cry too.

Actually did see a white boy well up in Sterling the other day. A GLC Coupe AMG I believe, they told him $17k for some part that they have in stock but some other thing has to be ordered and will take 6-8 weeks estimate about thirty something thousand.

I think I saw the vehicle for sale a couple weeks after on Trini Cars...

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 21st, 2022, 4:47 am

I had to pay almost $3000 USD to change my tyres in my e class. Not me and that sheit again. Every other year is a new problem.

Hopefully don't have to go through that problem with a Lexus.

carluva

Postby carluva » July 21st, 2022, 7:09 am

OP, I'm always curious with these types of questions.

Any particular reason why you have identified these three vehicles?

I mean, from a similar cost perspective, are there other vehicles that would appeal to you? Also, given your experience with your Mercedes, why invest into something that may have high maintenance costs (as offered by Toyolink) and repair costs?

If however you really wanted one of those three, and that's all you have it narrowed down to, then go with a Lexus and not the Porsche.

Postby Ben_spanna » July 21st, 2022, 7:24 am

SuperiorMan wrote:

FYI, some of the most beat up, badly maintained vehicles come from Embassy Expat cars, those same type of people couldnt care less about the vehicle and given that many ameer-rikans dont believe in bathing more than once a week, go right ahead and believe that those cars would be cleaner .

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 21st, 2022, 9:25 am

Ben_spanna wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

FYI, some of the most beat up, badly maintained vehicles come from Embassy Expat cars, those same type of people couldnt care less about the vehicle and given that many ameer-rikans dont believe in bathing more than once a week, go right ahead and believe that those cars would be cleaner .

Was being sarcastic dude.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 21st, 2022, 9:26 am

carluva wrote:OP, I'm always curious with these types of questions.

Any particular reason why you have identified these three vehicles?

I mean, from a similar cost perspective, are there other vehicles that would appeal to you? Also, given your experience with your Mercedes, why invest into something that may have high maintenance costs (as offered by Toyolink) and repair costs?

If however you really wanted one of those three, and that's all you have it narrowed down to, then go with a Lexus and not the Porsche.

Lexus has high maintenance costs compared to Mercedes? Nah man.

Porsche has slightly higher reliability than Mercedes but tbh I'm most likely going to get the es.

death365

Postby death365 » July 21st, 2022, 9:50 am

honestly ... if yuh cant afford the upkeep on the vehicle ... DONT BUY IT

and dont cry down when u get hit with big money for parts and service, live within your means.

.. OP this not directed to you eh.. ah just ranting bout trinis over all - audi owners ah looking at u

juggernaught

Postby juggernaught » November 13th, 2022, 12:21 pm

death365 wrote:honestly ... if yuh cant afford the upkeep on the vehicle ... DONT BUY IT

and dont cry down when u get hit with big money for parts and service, live within your means.

.. OP this not directed to you eh.. ah just ranting bout trinis over all - audi owners ah looking at u

Audi owners shots fired we

Postby nervewrecker » November 13th, 2022, 2:55 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:I had to pay almost $3000 USD to change my tyres in my e class. Not me and that sheit again. Every other year is a new problem.

Hopefully don't have to go through that problem with a Lexus.
Now you understand my post above. I will admire the cars when they owned by other people.

Had a chat with a guy, he owns a lancer. When asked about his vehicle history I understand why. The other cars were nothing but headache. You pay x amount of dollars to bling and your car in the firm parked up for significant periods of time.

Lancer gets you from point a to b. You could flip that into a precipice and buy a next one right away without a care in the world. What you drive don't define you.