Teaching service advice anyone?

sparkles13

Teaching service advice anyone?

Postby sparkles13 » July 6th, 2022, 3:06 pm

Hey guys. I'm new to trinituner. Dont know how to navigate this site but any advice on the process of becoming a teacher in t&t in 2022 would be greatly appreciated. Thank you all.

Re: Teaching service advice anyone?

Postby alfa » July 6th, 2022, 3:54 pm

sparkles13 wrote:Hey guys. I'm new to trinituner. Dont know how to navigate this site but any advice on the process of becoming a teacher in t&t in 2022 would be greatly appreciated. Thank you all.

Need to apply for your teachers number first. I believe it's two recommendations from current teachers and 5 CXC, full out a form in the ministry and you get the number same day I believe. Next you have to fill out a teaching application form and drop in copies of all your certs and transcripts to the Moe. Wait a few months to be assessed. You'll get a confirmation letter. Wait a decade or so to be called for an interview and further wait some years to be given a job if you're successful. I think now you can only apply in response to an advertised position.
My 2 cents is that it isn't worth it especially to deal with idiot children who have more rights than you nowadays. If you're really desirous if a govt job try national security

sparkles13

Postby sparkles13 » July 6th, 2022, 4:07 pm

Thank you alfa. It's just an option. Will send in those forms but in the meantime I will keep looking for something to do.

Postby bluefete » July 6th, 2022, 4:22 pm

What alfa said.

Also: You can apply to OJT for a 2 year teaching assistant position- which takes just a couple years of waiting compared to waiting 10 or more years to be interviewed for a full time position.

Postby Country_Bookie » July 6th, 2022, 6:03 pm

Given the lengthy wait time to get a job in the service, you can look into giving extra lessons classes. In person is best if you can arrange an appropriate space, if not you can have them virtually.

sparkles13

Postby sparkles13 » July 6th, 2022, 9:44 pm

Those are good ideas. Right abt now it is so frustrating sitting at home with 8 0' level passes. 8 cape passes and a degree . The struggle is real wi.

Postby alfa » July 6th, 2022, 10:12 pm

sparkles13 wrote:Those are good ideas. Right abt now it is so frustrating sitting at home with 8 0' level passes. 8 cape passes and a degree . The struggle is real wi.

Ever thought about leaving here for good? That's what I usually tell younger people with qualifications

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » July 6th, 2022, 10:14 pm

sparkles13 wrote:Those are good ideas. Right abt now it is so frustrating sitting at home with 8 0' level passes. 8 cape passes and a degree . The struggle is real wi.
8 cape passes ?

That makes no sense

sparkles13

Postby sparkles13 » July 7th, 2022, 7:42 am

Kickstart... well that's inclusve of both units 1 and 2.

death365

Postby death365 » July 7th, 2022, 8:03 am

Degree in teaching ??? ECCE ? primary ? secondary? what specialization?

ECCE teachers are contract based as well as many .... an i do mean many teachers in THA. also there's the substitute teacher option via moe website http://sts.moe.gov.tt/

sparkles13

Postby sparkles13 » July 7th, 2022, 8:41 am

Degree in Business Management. Studied at Uwi.

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 7th, 2022, 8:49 am

OP, ever thought about opening your own school? Teach what you know and expand accordingly. What about a pre-school? Or apply for a teaching job in a private school but try sumtin.

death365

Postby death365 » July 7th, 2022, 9:04 am

POB and MOB are very oversubscribed so it will take much much longer to get thru.

there's huge shortages of PE, technical teachers and languages. my suggestion is try an get business exigence thru OJT or a "real wok" for the time being

sparkles13 wrote:Degree in Business Management. Studied at Uwi.

sparkles13

Postby sparkles13 » July 7th, 2022, 9:07 am

I trying my best. But is only so much a youth can do without start up money. Thanks for all the suggestions tho. I never knew this site was so cool.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 7th, 2022, 12:44 pm

Do like most "educated" people and sign up for police. You know how much men have masters, llb etc and with ttps. Face the hard reality of gaining employment outside of your field of study. My 1 cent.......or

Go do IELTS in uwi (cll) and head for canada or summn

sparkles13

Postby sparkles13 » July 8th, 2022, 8:12 am

Yea. Believe me right now I doing all kinda odd jobs while I waiting for something. I must be have more than a hundred applications out there for all kinda jobs. Experience meh @$$. That's what they want. Where d hell I getting 3 to 5 years experience. Yea a few ppl tell me to try the ttps. Maybe I will look into that as an option.

Postby alfa » July 8th, 2022, 8:53 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Do like most "educated" people and sign up for police. You know how much men have masters, llb etc and with ttps. Face the hard reality of gaining employment outside of your field of study. My 1 cent.......or

Go do IELTS in uwi (cll) and head for canada or summn

Based on the couple interactions I had with ttps never would have thought there were highly educated ones nah :D :shock:

Postby nervewrecker » July 8th, 2022, 9:39 pm

agent007 wrote:OP, ever thought about opening your own school? Teach what you know and expand accordingly. What about a pre-school? Or apply for a teaching job in a private school but try sumtin.
How do you go about opening your own school?

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » July 10th, 2022, 8:27 pm

What year you graduate?
What work experience you have if any?
Whats your age?
Also TTPS may not be the best fit for your degree..

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » July 10th, 2022, 9:23 pm

my advice is

if you are only looking to get into the teaching service

because the sTrUgGle EeZ rEaL :roll:

and you cya get notting else

please don't.

quite enough professional salary collectors

and nothing more

in the teaching service as it is

sparkles13

Postby sparkles13 » July 13th, 2022, 5:47 pm

triniboi49.. I pm you. Can you check your inbox? Thanks

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » July 15th, 2022, 5:23 pm

What's your religion? It also makes a difference with some schools

Postby hover11 » July 15th, 2022, 5:44 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:What's your religion? It also makes a difference with some schools
This right here was waiting for someone to say it.

Some ppl I know actually lied stating they were Roman catholic as most schools are RC just to get a teaching wuk. So the thing go I guess.

Postby adnj » July 15th, 2022, 5:48 pm

hover11 wrote:
nismotrinidappa wrote:What's your religion? It also makes a difference with some schools

Some ppl I know actually lied stating they were Roman catholic as most schools are RC just to get a teaching wuk. So the thing go I guess.
You can't lie about being Roman Catholic. There is a baptism registry.

Postby paid_influencer » July 15th, 2022, 5:55 pm

^ they don't request a baptismal certificate?

Postby hover11 » July 15th, 2022, 6:01 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:

You can't lie about being Roman Catholic. There is a baptism registry.
Seems you forgot where you live....how hard is it to acquire a baptismal certificate but carry on in your bubble
Last edited by hover11 on July 15th, 2022, 6:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby paid_influencer » July 15th, 2022, 6:03 pm

good point. a lil bligh does override plenty things

all coming back to who you know. plenty things on paper exist there solely to take point when your connections/bligh not good enough.

welcome to Trinidad, op

Postby adnj » July 15th, 2022, 7:22 pm

Get a false baptism record to prove that you're Catholic; to get a job with the Catholic Church; the church that keeps the baptism registry; and break two of the church's commandments in the process.

Trinitroller stupidshitt.

sparkles13

Postby sparkles13 » July 15th, 2022, 8:21 pm

nismotrinidappa... I am Pentescostal. But the secondary school I went to is attached to the Baptist board.

sparkles13

Postby sparkles13 » July 15th, 2022, 8:25 pm

Ppl I just want a decent wok wi. It doesn't necessarily have to be in the education system. Anything that suits my qualifications will do.