TnT is a right wing country

Numb3r4

Re: TnT is a right wing country

Postby Numb3r4 » June 29th, 2022, 1:19 am

^^^ Really people thought that?? We're the "Dubai of the Caribbean"?

Trinbagonians need to get out and travel more.

The one I heard was Trinidad is the New York of the Caribbean, the story went that around the time that the highway to Point Fortin was being built that on the newly constructed section if you brought a girl from the islands down here and took her for a drive on the newly constructed highway you could tell it was New York and she wouldn't know or you could get away with it for some time.

dogg

Postby dogg » June 30th, 2022, 10:56 am

Numb3r4 wrote:^^^ Really people thought that?? We're the "Dubai of the Caribbean"?
No.

Postby The_Honourable » June 30th, 2022, 11:22 am

dogg wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:^^^ Really people thought that?? We're the "Dubai of the Caribbean"?
No.

Nah, people thought that we suppose or could have been the Dubai of the Caribbean but we royally f**k up that opportunity.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 30th, 2022, 11:26 am

Trinbagonians need to get out and travel more.

The one I heard was Trinidad is the New York of the Caribbean, the story went that around the time that the highway to Point Fortin was being built that on the newly constructed section if you brought a girl from the islands down here and took her for a drive on the newly constructed highway you could tell it was New York and she wouldn't know or you could get away with it for some time.

This is probably true b/c NY is a cesspool.
Least favourite big city I ever been to.

Postby hover11 » June 30th, 2022, 11:30 am

The_Honourable wrote:
dogg wrote:
No.

Nah, people thought that we suppose or could have been the Dubai of the Caribbean but we royally f**k up that opportunity.
With the opportunity we had we surely wasted it. Imagine a once oil rich country and we still have places like beetham and Barrackpore

Postby The_Honourable » June 30th, 2022, 11:38 am

hover11 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
dogg wrote:
No.

With the opportunity we had we surely wasted it. Imagine a once oil rich country and we still have places like beetham and Barrackpore

Naaaahhhh... Barrackpore and Beetham not on the same level sir, come down from dey :lol:

I get yuh point tho.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 30th, 2022, 12:43 pm

hover11 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
dogg wrote:
No.

Been to Barrackpore recently? The area is definitely not poor, bad roads for sure, rural yes, endless Prado and Range Rover, check.

Postby alfa » June 30th, 2022, 1:16 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
dogg wrote:
No.

Been to Barrackpore recently? The area is definitely not poor, bad roads for sure, rural yes, endless Prado and Range Rover, check.

Plus a lot of people choose to live the old time life down barrackpore. Doesn't mean they're sufferers

Postby hover11 » June 30th, 2022, 1:26 pm

Let's not miss the point why is there a beetham and sealots when we were an oil rich country for so many years

Postby teems1 » June 30th, 2022, 1:58 pm

hover11 wrote:Let's not miss the point why is there a beetham and sealots when we were an oil rich country for so many years

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Resource_curse

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » June 30th, 2022, 1:59 pm

hover11 wrote:Let's not miss the point why is there a beetham and sealots when we were an oil rich country for so many years
Historically Beetham and sealots is where illegal immigrants came in and settled in the early years of the PNM to offset votes

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 30th, 2022, 2:10 pm

Kickstart wrote:
Historically Beetham and sealots is where illegal immigrants came in and settled in the early years of the PNM to offset votes

That was 50-60 years ago, what forces have kept only black ghettos down in dumps (no pun intended)?

Postby alfa » June 30th, 2022, 2:21 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Kickstart wrote:

That was 50-60 years ago, what forces have kept only black ghettos down in dumps (no pun intended)?

I would tend to say ghetto culture and gimme gimme attitude but that go raise a hornets nest as usual

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2022, 2:21 pm

plenty, having been fed a constant diet of social welfare don’t need to work programmes(dewd, urp, cpep) and in more recent times govt contracts whilst the rest of the country has to get up and go to work
we talking at least 2-3 generations