A good windscreen washer fluid for car

Postby aaron17 » June 22nd, 2022, 4:05 pm

I am looking for autoglym screen wash fluid. Seems its hard to get. Anyone knows in tnt has it?

If not ....what are other good options/brands?

Re: A good windscreen washer fluid for car

Postby maj. tom » June 22nd, 2022, 4:32 pm

Well if you're talking about Autoglym Screenwash there's Rain-X in the yellow bottle that helps against raindrops on the screen and you add it to the regular fluid.

But I tell you these things are gimmicks and wasting your money. You can wash and wax your windscreen with any water-repellant cleaner out there to wash car. I do this often with a capful of the Amor-All wash n' wax in a cup of water. It does the exact same thing. You can clean the wiper blades that in contact with the glass every week with a wet cloth and see how much black dust comes out. I use the cheap green Bug Wash from Pricesmart in the tank.

Postby aaron17 » June 22nd, 2022, 4:38 pm

Ohh

Postby 16 cycles » June 22nd, 2022, 5:31 pm

Why not use a pH neutral liquid soap like Dawn to make your mix?

As above, clean glass and use a ceramic wax spray for example...

Postby S_2NR » June 22nd, 2022, 5:48 pm

16 cycles wrote:Why not use a pH neutral liquid soap like Dawn to make your mix?

Dawn wouldnt strip wax or ceramic coating? The excess that runs off the windshield that is.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 22nd, 2022, 5:58 pm

Prestone bug wash is nice, was about 27$ per gallon bottle in pricesmart. Last time i went i couldnt find it though.

Other than that, wax your windshield, it makes quite a difference in this rainy weather we having of late.

Postby 16 cycles » June 22nd, 2022, 6:08 pm

S_2NR wrote:
16 cycles wrote:Why not use a pH neutral liquid soap like Dawn to make your mix?

Dawn wouldnt strip wax or ceramic coating? The excess that runs off the windshield that is.

You might be right.

Do the specific windscreen washer liquids avoid this?

Postby adnj » June 22nd, 2022, 6:22 pm

16 cycles wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

You might be right.

Washer fluid has very low concentrations of surfactant and antifreeze.

The main function of windshield washer fluid is to prevent the system from freezing while preventing algal and bacterial growth.

Two liters of distilled water (prevents spotting) plus 4 or 5 drops of dish detergent (surfactant) and a tablespoon of alcohol (bactericide) is safe for your car's finish.

You will get more guaranteed automotive finish damage just from the sulfuric and nitric acid content of rain than you will ever see in any washer fluid.

Postby S_2NR » June 22nd, 2022, 7:36 pm

16 cycles wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

You might be right.

I'd hope so.

I prefer to just put a few drops of my car wash solution in the bottle and fill with water to dilute, as I know that is safe for the coating.

Postby aaron17 » June 22nd, 2022, 7:36 pm

I not gonna try dishsoap...it may damage paint when overspray..

Waxing ..i go try that.

Postby aaron17 » June 22nd, 2022, 7:37 pm

S_2NR wrote:
16 cycles wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

You might be right.

I'd hope so.

I prefer to just put a few drops of my car wash solution in the bottle and fill with water to dilute, as I know that is safe for the coating.
U kno. I never thought of that b4

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 22nd, 2022, 7:58 pm

Nothing is better than Squeezy. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise.

Postby adnj » June 22nd, 2022, 8:11 pm

DMan7 wrote:Nothing is better than Squeezy. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise.
The active ingredient in floor cleaners, shampoos, dish soap, toothpaste, etc., is sodium lauryl sulfate. It's the active ingredient in most retail auto detailing shampoos, too.

Postby Dave » June 22nd, 2022, 8:21 pm

The waxing thing is real legit and for soap as was mentioned, your fav car wash is good stuff. I like polishing the wing mirror glass as well.

Postby aaron17 » June 22nd, 2022, 8:37 pm

I thought they does say not to wash car with squeezy

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 22nd, 2022, 9:03 pm

aaron17 wrote:I thought they does say not to wash car with squeezy

That's cuz they want to make money on all those overpriced car wash products.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 22nd, 2022, 9:11 pm

squeezy passable in a pinch if you not overly anal.

Breeze on the other hand, is brutal

Postby adnj » June 22nd, 2022, 9:17 pm

Dave wrote:The waxing thing is real legit and for soap as was mentioned, your fav car wash is good stuff. I like polishing the wing mirror glass as well.
OEM windshields are designed to repel water so that driver vision is improved. The same thing goes for the outside rearview mirrors. This quality, called hydrophobicity, tends to degrade as the glass surface becomes weathered and etched. Waxing the surface of a very clean windshield or using Rain-X helps to restore it.

Both methods work very well are probably worth the extra effort for almost anyone. Unfortunately, neither method lasts for very long.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 22nd, 2022, 10:01 pm

I mean if you want your car squeaky clean.

I think it is more to do with how strong it is at stripping away any protection the paint has from the elements... And that most people don't replace it with anything; they don't polish and wax after

Postby MaxPower » June 23rd, 2022, 12:56 am

I is use stale water and a 1/4 bottle of windex in the washer tank.

Postby Chimera » June 23rd, 2022, 1:05 am

Mix 4 oz Black disinfectant with 1 oz Deeya oil and dissolve 1 block camphor and put in the reservoir. Everytime you wash the windscreen you safe from covid and bad juju

Postby nervewrecker » June 23rd, 2022, 1:14 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Mix 4 oz Black disinfectant with 1 oz Deeya oil and dissolve 1 block camphor and put in the reservoir. Everytime you wash the windscreen you safe from covid and bad juju

Lil 2 spray before yuh pass by claxton bay flyover and yuh safe.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 23rd, 2022, 1:14 am

A good wax like meguiars on the windshield and mirrors and the water will bead off.. use water spot remover or vinegar for a wipe down first. A waterspot free start is the best base.

I ceramic coated my daily and applied on the windshield as well, driving in the rain barely needs wiper input because it beads off so well.

In my bottle I premix like a tablespoon of car wash in a couple cups of water then put it in the reservoir to ensure it all mixes well

carluva

Postby carluva » June 23rd, 2022, 6:58 am

What coating did you use?
nick639v2 wrote:A good wax like meguiars on the windshield and mirrors and the water will bead off.. use water spot remover or vinegar for a wipe down first. A waterspot free start is the best base.

I ceramic coated my daily and applied on the windshield as well, driving in the rain barely needs wiper input because it beads off so well.

In my bottle I premix like a tablespoon of car wash in a couple cups of water then put it in the reservoir to ensure it all mixes well

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 23rd, 2022, 8:44 am

carluva wrote:What coating did you use?
nick639v2 wrote:A good wax like meguiars on the windshield and mirrors and the water will bead off.. use water spot remover or vinegar for a wipe down first. A waterspot free start is the best base.

Did a graphene on my np300 and gladiator in the car care thread, cquartz on a new accord. All of them have almost the same beading properties

My new forester just got a good dose of Meguiars ceramic wax (paste version) and it works pretty decent and helps alot with the rains these days. But I’ll hit it the coating treatment when I get time

carluva

Postby carluva » June 23rd, 2022, 4:18 pm

Now that you mentioned it, yes, I now remember the posts on that thread.

Did you do the coatings yourself?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 23rd, 2022, 4:28 pm

carluva wrote:Now that you mentioned it, yes, I now remember the posts on that thread.

Did you do the coatings yourself?

Yupp

matix

Postby matix » June 23rd, 2022, 4:58 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Mix 4 oz Black disinfectant with 1 oz Deeya oil and dissolve 1 block camphor and put in the reservoir. Everytime you wash the windscreen you safe from covid and bad juju

yuh know it have men here will try that

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » June 28th, 2022, 11:22 pm

matix wrote:

yuh know it have men here will try that

That's a serious foamy mess

Postby timelapse » June 29th, 2022, 7:07 am

Rain x seems to work just fine for me with regular water in the bottle