Ricky Jai: Chutney music dying without support! ...

Re: Ricky Jai: Chutney music dying without support! ...

Postby Rovin » June 19th, 2022, 8:07 pm

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chutney_music

Chutney music is a fusion genre of Indian folk music, specifically Bhojpuri folk music, with local Caribbean calypso and soca music, and later on Bollywood music. This genre of music that developed in Trinidad and Tobago is popular in Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, Suriname, Jamaica, other parts of the Caribbean, Fiji, Mauritius, and South Africa. Chutney music emerged mid-20th century and reached a peak of popularity during the 1980s. Several sub-genres have developed.

chutney came about to cater for mostly young indian ppl who couldnt understand d hindi in traditional songs so they started singing in full english & to merge this new uptempo calypso beat called soca that emerged at d time which tried to blend elements from indian & african music

Soca music is a genre of music defined by Lord Shorty, its inventor, as the "Soul of Calypso", which has influences of African and East Indian rhythms. It was originally spelt "sokah" by its inventor but through an error in a local newspaper when reporting on the new music it was erroneously spelt "soca"; Lord Shorty confirmed the error but chose to leave it that way to avoid confusion. It is a genre of music that originated in Trinidad and Tobago in the early 1970s and developed into a range of styles during the 1980s and after. Soca was initially developed by Lord Shorty[1] in an effort to revive traditional calypso, the popularity of which had been flagging amongst younger generations in Trinidad due to the rise in popularity of reggae from Jamaica and soul and funk from the US. Soca is an offshoot of kaiso/calypso, with influences from East Indian rhythms and hooks[citation needed].

Soca has evolved since the 1980s primarily through musicians from various Anglophone Caribbean countries, not only from its birthplace Trinidad and Tobago but also from Antigua and Barbuda, Montserrat, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Barbados, Grenada, Saint Lucia, the US and British Virgin Islands, Jamaica, the Bahamas, Guyana and Belize. There have also been significant productions from artists in Venezuela, Canada, Panama, the United States, the United Kingdom and Japan.[citation needed]

both traditional soca & chutney sadly long ago evolved into nonsense & is still carried that way today ... :agrue:

ras shorty I did well trying to fuse both indian\african music , d man was a borse ...

Postby Rovin » June 19th, 2022, 8:10 pm

sMASH wrote:wham, they run out of bollywood songs owah.. or copyright india finally pick up with them....

lol ent ...... :lol:

d jamaicans are masters at doing this too to foreign english songs ....

Postby sMASH » June 19th, 2022, 8:45 pm

Rovin wrote:
sMASH wrote:wham, they run out of bollywood songs owah.. or copyright india finally pick up with them....

yeah, but dat was back in the day, and it used to song gud...

it have some of them, like maxi priest, i find better than the original... the dub vibe pull out the real gist in the song.
some of them i didnt even know was sing overs.. just sounded better with the reggae beat.

ravi b and dem fellas need to be relocated to carerra

Postby Les Bain » June 19th, 2022, 9:20 pm

Rovin wrote:

Still hoping Phil Collins people find the natty head good for nothing who butchered One More Night and do him the same thing Sting's people did Puffy: $2K a day every day forever.

matix

Postby matix » June 19th, 2022, 10:13 pm

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 19th, 2022, 11:25 pm

99% of the chutney music made are absolute garbage, I mean, even the people thinks so too cause their YouTube views as one measure is pretty low. The rakesh yankaran megamix does lash though.

Postby matr1x » June 20th, 2022, 12:00 am

matr1x wrote:
You ever heard Latin music. It's no better. It's like ghetto flex

Ummm na, check yourself again big man.

I think you tying up yuhself with Reggaeton.

Latin Music is beautiful, try some dance classes.

Hearing music like despacito makes one put a gun to their head

Postby Rovin » June 20th, 2022, 11:17 am

^^^ anytime i hear that song on d radio i used to switch stations

i myself doh care for spanish\latin music, its like a dull looping beat with words u cant understand

trinis love smutty\taboo songs , look at d recent take bamboo gyal song , big hit locally , all cars passing u hearing it & at any gathering too ... we like chupidness with a catchy beat

Postby Dizzy28 » June 20th, 2022, 9:11 pm

Jai living nice in NY off millions made off chutney here and asking for assistance for the artform?

Postby Country_Bookie » June 21st, 2022, 10:12 am

If you have popular songs, people will attend your concerts, pay to download your music or you'll get lots of YouTube views.

If your music is not popular, you get none of the above and you won't make any money. Why should tax payers money be given to you to continue making music people don't care for?? If older chutney artists feel the younger artists need mentoring and guidance, why not take on a role as their producer/ manager/ song writer to improve the quality of their music? That way they get paid once the music is popular.

Apply this logic to both chutney music and the nonsense that passes for calypso music in the calypso tents nowadays. Culture isn't something static, it changes over time. No point in trying to preserve nonsensical music. Make better music and people will listen to it.

Postby Les Bain » June 21st, 2022, 10:22 am

This reminds me of a behind the scenes story with a new band debut a long time ago.
They basically came out from a commune that was full of musicians that were hoping to make a career from music. There were existing bar bands, roaming musicians, producers, techs, all living in this commune. Some would succeed, most would not.

But they never received a cent from the government in their pursuit. Government cut subventions for institutions that need it, but yeah, lewwe give chutney money.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » June 21st, 2022, 10:46 am

Les Bain wrote:This reminds me of a behind the scenes story with a new band debut a long time ago.
They basically came out from a commune that was full of musicians that were hoping to make a career from music. There were existing bar bands, roaming musicians, producers, techs, all living in this commune. Some would succeed, most would not.

But they never received a cent from the government in their pursuit. Government cut subventions for institutions that need it, but yeah, lewwe give chutney money.
Government only began cutting money when Indo artist started asking for assistance. It shows the racist side of the government that had been funding non indo artist for decades. No artist should never be funded by tax payers monies and not even religious institutions. These artist especially kasio tents and religious institutions are what fuels racism in TT.

Postby Rovin » June 21st, 2022, 11:15 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Jai living nice in NY off millions made off chutney here and asking for assistance for the artform?

serious ? , like he pull a david rudder who living in canada & singing trini to d bone ... :lol: .... if they cud find betterment i give dem right yes

Postby j.o.e » June 21st, 2022, 11:21 am

Country_Bookie wrote:If you have popular songs, people will attend your concerts, pay to download your music or you'll get lots of YouTube views.

If your music is not popular, you get none of the above and you won't make any money. Why should tax payers money be given to you to continue making music people don't care for?? If older chutney artists feel the younger artists need mentoring and guidance, why not take on a role as their producer/ manager/ song writer to improve the quality of their music? That way they get paid once the music is popular.

Apply this logic to both chutney music and the nonsense that passes for calypso music in the calypso tents nowadays. Culture isn't something static, it changes over time. No point in trying to preserve nonsensical music. Make better music and people will listen to it.

Reposting because it’s fact

Postby Les Bain » June 21st, 2022, 11:22 am

Kickstart wrote:
Les Bain wrote:This reminds me of a behind the scenes story with a new band debut a long time ago.

Government only began cutting money when Indo artist started asking for assistance. It shows the racist side of the government that had been funding non indo artist for decades. No artist should never be funded by tax payers monies and not even religious institutions. These artist especially kasio tents and religious institutions are what fuels racism in TT.

Let it be told in bold!

Postby timelapse » June 21st, 2022, 8:22 pm

MaxPower wrote:We cause this nonsense upon ourselves.

After Chris Garcia’s “Chutney Baccanal”, we should have put a stop to it right there and then.
Aye.I will not have you blaspheming the legend!!!
IMG-20220615-WA0005.jpg

Postby sMASH » June 30th, 2022, 5:54 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tDHmLYKH3n4

as corny as the synthesizer is in this, i still prefer this to the original.

Postby Rovin » June 30th, 2022, 6:05 pm

how come u posting reggae in a chutney thread bai

here is d original ... https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Someone_Loves_You_Honey

Postby sMASH » June 30th, 2022, 9:04 pm

^^ wow, the reggae did it a favor.

the only ting chutney good for is pholouri and 25c barra