Reginald Armour - another tale from a banana republic

dogg

Reginald Armour - another tale from a banana republic

Postby dogg » June 15th, 2022, 12:35 pm

Have we gotten so used to extreme bacchanal and corruption in TT politics that the mess the current AG is finds himself doesn't warrant its own thread?

Anyways, for those of us who weren't sure what was going on, this Express editorial lays bare what the situation is.

The implications of the debacle arising from the Attorney General’s conflict in the Piarco International Airport fraud and corruption case are substantial and potentially far-reaching.

The obvious first matter of concern is the Miami court’s rejection of AG Reginald Armour’s sworn affidavit given “under penalties of perjury”, in which he stated that for “a few years at the start of the preliminary enquiry” he had “worked as a junior lawyer” to the late Allan Alexander, SC, providing legal representation to defendants Brian Kuei Tung and Renee Pierre in a role “limited to minimal legal research and to taking notes”.

Having reviewed the evidence submitted by attorneys for Kuei Tung and Steve Ferguson, the Miami court disagreed strongly enough to disqualify Armour and the US law firm Sequor Law from representing the T&T Government in this matter. It found Armour’s involvement to be more significant than stated in his affidavit, and cited the Florida Rules of Professional Responsibility.

Perhaps time has dimmed Armour’s memory. In April 2003, senior counsel Alexander, and Armour are identified as appearing for Kuei Tung and Renee Pierre in an appeal against a ruling by then-Chief Magistrate Sherman McNicholls. By May 2004, Armour, by then elevated to the status of senior counsel, was publicly identified as a member of Kuei Tung’s three-man legal team for the preliminary hearings in the airport criminal case. One newspaper reported that Armour “grilled” Cpl Joanne Archie of the Anti-Corruption Bureau. These are public records which dispute Armour’s description of his role as a junior lawyer limited to “minimal legal research” and “note taking”.

Armour’s handling of potential conflicts between his prior private practice and current public responsibilities as AG begs the question of whether the potential risks were adequately addressed by Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley before inviting Armour to join his Cabinet as AG. There is certainly precedent between them.

In March 2015, within three days of being appointed president of the Law Association, Armour withdrew from all legal matters in which he was representing then-Opposition Leader Dr Rowley on the grounds of “insulating the Council and the Law Association from any charges of partiality against the Association in anything to be done under my leadership”. Having seen the problem as clearly as he did then, it is hard to understand why, in a matter as serious as the airport corruption and fraud case, which has cost taxpayers many millions over the course of 20 years, he did not immediately see the danger of crossing from defence to plaintiff.

Of note is the Miami court’s statement that it was making no findings of misconduct by Sequor Law, whose disqualification was due to Armour’s actions.

Several questions remain to be answered. What will be Sequor Law’s reaction to being disqualified? Will it seek damages from Armour and/or the T&T Government? How will the appointment of a new law firm affect the case in terms of cost and time? Most important of all, what impact will the Miami court’s ruling now have on the State’s substantive case against Kuei Tung, et al?

Re: Reginald Armour - another tale from a banana republic

Postby hover11 » June 15th, 2022, 3:15 pm

When are we ever going to get it right? From 1962 to present.....utter failure

Postby timelapse » June 15th, 2022, 3:20 pm

Spoiler alert:
PNM fanboys going to jump out of the woodwork, defend it, we will have a fight down, nothing will come of it and forget about as soon as the next bachannal emerges.
All the while we blaming Kamla Sushilla Persad-Bissessar and studying if Devant or Moonilal better equipped to be leader of the UNC.
In a nutshell

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 15th, 2022, 6:43 pm

How could you at this level of such a proceedings make such a mistake?

I can't believe that you would just lie like this at this level and the fact that it is a case that you are representing the country internationally.
How could you have no due diligence? Is it a genuine slip-up of the local legal team or did they really try to pull one over the eyes of the US court?

In that case was it really a mistake, sheer incompetence or a deliberate act of deception?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 15th, 2022, 6:45 pm

I would like to think that such an error would be favourable to Kuei Tung, et al?

Could this result in the state's case being thrown out or the case becoming a mistrial and having to be restarted which could give Kuei Tung, et al more time or effectively render them "free"?

Is this a case of the state sabotaging itself to save one of the "boys"?
Similar to how Petrotrin mounted their defense against A&V.
Last edited by Numb3r4 on June 15th, 2022, 7:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dogg

Postby dogg » June 15th, 2022, 7:17 pm

So who will be next AG?

My bet is on straight mout' Heinz
17647585-1-1024x828-g.jpg

Postby De Dragon » June 23rd, 2022, 9:36 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:How could you at this level of such a proceedings make such a mistake?

I can't believe that you would just lie like this at this level and the fact that it is a case that you are representing the country internationally.
How could you have no due diligence? Is it a genuine slip-up of the local legal team or did they really try to pull one over the eyes of the US court?

In that case was it really a mistake, sheer incompetence or a deliberate act of deception?

You don't. You lie, you get caught lying, and now you have to lie and insult people's intelligence with your "i de fuhget I de ah Seniah Concil" sheit.
LFD RFD PNM people will of course buy it, and believe it without question,

Postby pugboy » June 23rd, 2022, 10:02 pm

boy
becoming a senior counsel is indeed a big deal
essentially the pinnacle of any lawyer climbing the ladder

how a man could forget that and actually say he was a junior is certainly very very suspect

Postby De Dragon » June 23rd, 2022, 11:07 pm

pugboy wrote:boy

how a man could forget that and actually say he was a junior is certainly very very suspect

I know the year of every single promotion or upgrade I have ever gotten. This arrogant, unethical, lying, corrupt kant clown seems to have convenient amnesia.
As usual, his muffler bearing boss will come full of bluster and sheit to defend his newest cachole

Postby sMASH » June 27th, 2022, 11:47 am

pugboy wrote:boy

I know the year of every single promotion or upgrade I have ever gotten. This arrogant, unethical, lying, corrupt kant clown seems to have convenient amnesia.
As usual, his muffler bearing boss will come full of bluster and sheit to defend his newest cachole

pnm is under attac!! amour memory attacing pnm...

*no weapon formed against me...*[/dissonance]

dogg

Postby dogg » June 27th, 2022, 3:16 pm

Guy reminds me of the Breaking Bad villain

Postby sMASH » June 27th, 2022, 3:27 pm

dogg wrote:Guy reminds me of the Breaking Bad villain
In looks, not in brain. Los pollos, he be not

Postby 88sins » July 1st, 2022, 10:27 am

dogg wrote:So who will be next AG?

My bet is on straight mout' Heinz17647585-1-1024x828-g.jpg

A rat backside have a better chance of remaining dry in a flood.
He far too incompetent as even an MP for that post, especially considering that it have plenty more qualified and capable ppl in the gang that could do that job in dey sleep.

Postby RedVEVO » July 2nd, 2022, 3:12 am

He has an excellent chance of becoming our next Attorney General .

With the name Fitzgerald Ethelbert Hinds how can he not be the next AG .

Postby De Dragon » July 2nd, 2022, 5:22 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^

Because he's dumber than a bag ah hammers

Postby De Dragon » July 2nd, 2022, 8:28 pm

As I predicted, kant JUHN Scarfy come out in full throated defense of his lying, corrupt, arrogant AG Forgetful Jones. His reasoning? The UNC is leading the charge :? So the Miami judge, LATT, Martin George, Martin Daly and the countless other citizens are also on politics? Of course the usual dotishees like Tokesy, Colos, elitecorolla, joe and Pet will stay quiet.
What a sheit of a human being we are cursed to have as PM :roll:

Postby De Dragon » July 3rd, 2022, 6:18 am

More overreach and interference. Then again, this is another one of JUHN Scarfy blued eyed husbands, so I guess he eh go want to hear nuttin about this one either :roll:
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 3294b.html

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » July 3rd, 2022, 6:57 am

"Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley is insisting that his Attorney General was not disqualified from representing this country in a Miami court"

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/pm-deni ... 354a1f7d86

The prime minister is higher than a US court judge?

Postby De Dragon » July 3rd, 2022, 7:04 am

Kickstart wrote:"Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley is insisting that his Attorney General was not disqualified from representing this country in a Miami court"

He like dem dotish people when dey son kill people or get killed
"he never do nobody nuttin"
"he was ah good boy"
"he used to sell he lil drugs buh he wasn't no gunman"
" Iz envy and jealousy"
"ah want jostiss"

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » July 3rd, 2022, 8:29 am

Kickstart wrote:"Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley is insisting that his Attorney General was not disqualified from representing this country in a Miami court"

"he was ah good boy"
" Iz envy and jealousy"
"ah want jostiss"
If this Prime Minister can think this way it shows just how corrupt and what dictatorial tendencies he has. One must think how he meddles behinds close doors in this country. It is also a reason why Trinidad must remain with the privy council. This Prime thinks he's greater than a US court.

K_J_R

Postby K_J_R » July 3rd, 2022, 10:11 am

"he was ah good boy"
" Iz envy and jealousy"
"ah want jostiss"

allyuh too wicked.

Postby 88sins » July 3rd, 2022, 11:05 am

Kickstart wrote:

"he was ah good boy"
" Iz envy and jealousy"
"ah want jostiss"
If this Prime Minister can think this way it shows just how corrupt and what dictatorial tendencies he has. One must think how he meddles behinds close doors in this country. It is also a reason why Trinidad must remain with the privy council. This Prime thinks he's greater than a US court.

Don't worry, he so long before he got the pm post, since in patos days as pm. Is what happens when they get accustomed to the public kissing their arse, they get the mistaken impression that they are more important than they actually are, and that stupidity carries over into different aspects of their interactions.

I remember some years ago, I had to cuss way he and his security ass for panorama finals, because apparently he tell them that he wanted to occupy where me and my family and inlaws were seated, so the dummies decided to tell me of all people that we hadda move, because growlee wanted to sit there. The amount of cuss they get they change their tiny minds on that and immediately went elsewhere.

And one of the wife sisters was vex I cuss them. "daz k growled, he big in d pee-on-dem, yuh ha no respeck"
I cuss way she ass too.

Postby RedVEVO » July 7th, 2022, 12:38 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^

Because he's dumber than a bag ah hammers

He is smarter than you thinketh .

He tried to fool peeps with the Bail extension tingy .

Why should a person get no bail for 120 days - regardless ? :roll:

It's because his peeps - TTPS, CG etc., NOT doing their work .

Why Gov't have to do the work of a Judge and determine if bail is yes or no ?

Postby Dizzy28 » July 16th, 2022, 11:34 pm

Two lawyers’ motions against Attorney General Reginald Armour, SC, expressing no confidence in him and calling on him to resign failed yesterday.

The majority membership of the Law Association of Trinidad and Tobago (LATT) who voted expressed their continued confidence in Armour after they shot down two motions that were brought against him by a group of 40 attorneys.

The motions arose out of the imbroglio involving Armour after he was “disqualified” by a Miami court judge in late April from further representing this country in a protracted Piarco airport multi-million-dollar civil asset recovery case.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... ium=social

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » July 16th, 2022, 11:43 pm

PNM lawyers > a Miami Judge

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 16th, 2022, 11:47 pm

"Yeah you know me boy, I go never vote against you yes. By the way alyuh have any state briefs for me this month?"

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » July 17th, 2022, 12:28 am

ProtonPowder wrote:"Yeah you know me boy, I go never vote against you yes. By the way alyuh have any state briefs for me this month?"

It is the code of the Cosa Nostra

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » July 17th, 2022, 12:29 am

Mmoney607 wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:"Yeah you know me boy, I go never vote against you yes. By the way alyuh have any state briefs for me this month?"

It is the code of the Cosa Nostra
Banana Republic