Youtuber\Foodie\Traveller showcases T&T ...

Re: Youtuber\Foodie\Traveller showcases T&T ...

Postby Rovin » January 21st, 2023, 12:09 pm

but he only named 2 places he bought food from, to me that is not sufficient to rep how food taste

he needs d david & mark experience but since he is not really know nobody here must be even heard of him to help him do that kind of food tour ...

Postby pugboy » January 25th, 2023, 10:33 pm

David showing Dominica now
Man went collecting crabs, they use the crab fat from inside the shell

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 26th, 2023, 3:40 am

Rovin wrote:but he only named 2 places he bought food from, to me that is not sufficient to rep how food taste

he needs d david & mark experience but since he is not really know nobody here must be even heard of him to help him do that kind of food tour ...

yes but 2 best places. shiann is the best roti in these times too bad there is no parking.

Postby pugboy » January 26th, 2023, 5:19 am

shiann on tragarete rd is the best roti ?

Postby timelapse » January 26th, 2023, 8:18 am

daring dragoon wrote:
Rovin wrote:but he only named 2 places he bought food from, to me that is not sufficient to rep how food taste

yes but 2 best places. shiann is the best roti in these times too bad there is no parking.
Wtf is wrong with allyuh tastebuds.
Allyuh does rate up the most generic tasting food.

Postby Rovin » January 26th, 2023, 10:42 am

d man must be never get invited to a hindu prayers or wedding to eat some good authentic indian food [maybe he 1 of dem who doh like to eat food from another religion?] or eat food made by a bunch of ole indian grandmas doing it d ole time traditional methods ...

Postby bluefete » January 26th, 2023, 12:32 pm

Rovin wrote:d man must be never get invited to a hindu prayers or wedding to eat some good authentic indian food [maybe he 1 of dem who doh like to eat food from another religion?] or eat food made by a bunch of ole indian grandmas doing it d ole time traditional methods ...

Aye, hear nah. I could still remember the smell of an authentic ole time cooking under a house when I was a child. It was by one of my father's co-workers in St. Helena. No food ever tasted or smelt like that since.

Talk about grinding masala with a stone.

Real, real good days.

Postby maj. tom » January 26th, 2023, 4:01 pm

^ there are a few "secrets" I've learned from studying that old time method a bit.

1. The wood fire imparts a lot of smoke flavours into the food, the same kind of wondrous aromas that makes a well aged rum in an burned oak cask. You shouldn't use bitter or sour leaf woods either for that reason like cashew or mango. Bamboo is good. Pitch pine and other similar soft woods have been traditionally used. This local knowledge of choosing cooking wood has been completely lost to all of us with LPG gas stoves.

2. The very hot flames that cannot be lowered create very complex burnt fond flavours inside the pot which are dissolved by adding water. Taking the Maillard Reaction to a different level. The wood forms some coals and hot ashes which controls the heat toward the end. I eventually figured out why my grandmother's food always tasted so different even on her gas stove. She never lowered the flames to let it simmer. It was just one heat, full blast and added a little boiling water and stirred to make sure the food didn't burn. I managed to replicate some of that taste this way. Actually don't be afraid to let the food burn a little bit in the pot, but don't over do it.

3. Seasoning and spices are usually best fresh, and if dry, toasted (patch/parch) and cracked/ground immediately with a mortar and pestle or other river stone tool. Why? The most volatile organic compounds are soon evaporated when it's ground and stored and you've lost some of that minute olfactory factors when it comes from a grocery curry pack. Then there's a method for curry where you let the onions fry a bit until it just starts to turn brown, throw in the garlic and pepper for 1 minute and then add the curry so some of these lipophilic compounds will dissolve in the oil. Then add a bit of boiling water to get the ground particles absorb the water and expand and cook it until it develops a fond (see above) with the oil before adding meat or vegetable. Never add cold water to cooking food btw. A finishing touch is to add a bit of real butter or ghee as soon as the pot is off the fire and stir it in. The fat will now coat the food and your taste buds love that a lot. Rather than cooking with the butter from the start. That's a real restaurant tip, add the butter at the end. They do this with rice, pasta and vegetables and meat... everything.

Postby bluefete » January 27th, 2023, 1:20 am

maj.tom: You know the thing self.

Many people do not know the amount of work that goes into cooking authentic food like that.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 27th, 2023, 4:17 am

timelapse wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

you comparing potato to aloo dey. home cook with no set of cut back on ingredients always taste best. old tanties cooking for a religious event use plenty oil, seasoning, butter or ghee an so forth. i was talking about buying a roti. shiann taste better that hot shop, amins, patraj, hosein and dobson. Drupati on the EMR comes close but shiann have 3 different kind of pepper sauce that make it the best roti you can buy.

Postby timelapse » January 27th, 2023, 10:43 am

daring dragoon wrote:
timelapse wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

you comparing potato to aloo dey. home cook with no set of cut back on ingredients always taste best. old tanties cooking for a religious event use plenty oil, seasoning, butter or ghee an so forth. i was talking about buying a roti. shiann taste better that hot shop, amins, patraj, hosein and dobson. Drupati on the EMR comes close but shiann have 3 different kind of pepper sauce that make it the best roti you can buy.
Try Juman's in Curepe.Try Mona's in Marabella.Try Mayaro Roti shop
Port of Spain roti is meh at its best.

matix

Postby matix » January 27th, 2023, 5:22 pm

timelapse wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
timelapse wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

Try Juman's in Curepe.Try Mona's in Marabella.Try Mayaro Roti shop
Port of Spain roti is meh at its best.

Ahhh boy, indeed Mayaro.

Postby paid_influencer » January 27th, 2023, 6:56 pm

all them youtubers eating ah food at popeyes opening today. big $$ bligh oui

Postby MaxPower » January 27th, 2023, 11:52 pm

The soldier entitled to his own opinion.

Stand your ground.

Postby Rovin » January 28th, 2023, 8:20 pm

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/trini-r ... -york-city

Trini roti welcomed as winter comfort food in New York City

The price is also a bit higher compared to Trinidad and Tobago; a goat roti at one NYC restaurant was US$16, according to the article, which is about TT$108.

this part was = :shock:

i tort d tt45 or 50tt i was told of recently here in a local roti shop was a tad bit high ....

Postby paid_influencer » January 28th, 2023, 9:02 pm

they does give you a fork tho

when last you get a fork with your roti

Postby MaxPower » January 31st, 2023, 12:16 am

Aye team,

Anyone tried 12 by Rishi.

Is the Ramen any good?

Postby Rovin » February 8th, 2023, 9:31 pm

i like this video of carli bay ...

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » February 11th, 2023, 10:00 am

[YouTube]https://youtu.be/74ncT1lIuLU[/YouTube]

Postby K74T » February 11th, 2023, 1:41 pm

Food from Tuk Tuk is awesome, especially the Bang Bang Chicken.

Postby De Dragon » February 11th, 2023, 8:16 pm

Rovin wrote:i like this video of carli bay ...

I've been there many times, not for crabs, but sea conchs.

Postby timelapse » February 12th, 2023, 6:55 am

Confuse-ass once said:
"Man who goes fishing in another man's pond is likely to catch crabs"
Be guided accordingly.

Postby De Dragon » February 12th, 2023, 7:08 am

timelapse wrote:Confuse-ass once said:
"Man who goes fishing in another man's pond is likely to catch crabs"
Be guided accordingly.

Dais why I doh go fuh crab :lol: :lol:

Postby MaxPower » February 12th, 2023, 11:59 am

Aye timez,

Wam to your boy from pizza lab, hear he foot get damage up.

Hope the top dog ok, have yet to try the pizza.

Postby Rovin » February 13th, 2023, 5:01 pm

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=5839833529444573

so Dr. Roast open on monroe road - 1 of allyuh try it & tell us if it good ...

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 13th, 2023, 5:22 pm

Would be good to know what his prices are like.

Postby pugboy » February 13th, 2023, 5:33 pm

i like the commentary bout the “notes”

them mayaro ppl have the greatest racket to ketch ppl with the “roast” fish and lobster
prices higher than fine dining places

Postby timelapse » February 13th, 2023, 7:28 pm

MaxPower wrote:Aye timez,

Wam to your boy from pizza lab, hear he foot get damage up.

Hope the top dog ok, have yet to try the pizza.
I lock off flour again,so I won't be seeing him in a while.But watch nah, just the plain spinach and feta pizza with pepper flakes is amazing.

Postby pugboy » February 13th, 2023, 7:53 pm

a good fermented pizza actually have less carbs the yeast consumes the carbs during the long fermentation

Postby timelapse » February 14th, 2023, 7:20 am

pugboy wrote:a good fermented pizza actually have less carbs the yeast consumes the carbs during the long fermentation
I usually go for no carbs