Youtuber\Foodie\Traveller showcases T&T ...

Re:

Postby pugboy » June 28th, 2022, 2:15 pm

nobody ain’t post the triniturbo clip yet?

gastly369 wrote:Oh god not the "fight me bro" clip...

Re: " Davidsbeenhere " - Youtuber\Foodie\Traveller showcases T&T ...

Postby teems1 » June 28th, 2022, 2:15 pm

VII is Jason Peru?

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2022, 7:53 am

he have a next vid out today for the meat eaters and yes the haters gonna hate on we boy jason

Postby timelapse » June 29th, 2022, 10:13 am

Allyuh realize that he dominating the search for 'Trinidad' on YouTube?I'd say better representation than Tidco.Remind me what they get paid for again?

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2022, 10:48 am

only thing is short chef is yellow mustard

Re:

Postby Chimera » June 29th, 2022, 10:50 am

timelapse wrote:Allyuh realize that he dominating the search for 'Trinidad' on YouTube?I'd say better representation than Tidco.Remind me what they get paid for again?

tidco yuh say

ent them closed since 2005

Re: Re:

Postby Dizzy28 » June 29th, 2022, 11:30 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
timelapse wrote:Allyuh realize that he dominating the search for 'Trinidad' on YouTube?I'd say better representation than Tidco.Remind me what they get paid for again?

tidco yuh say

ent them closed since 2005

He probably meant TDC - they closed down more recently 2017

Postby gastly369 » July 1st, 2022, 6:53 am

Postby pugboy » July 1st, 2022, 7:24 am

this man really cant stop eating doubles

Postby Dizzy28 » July 1st, 2022, 8:36 am

Early on in the TT series I didn't get the sense he was overly impressed by Doubles.
Clearly I was wrong

Postby S_2NR » July 1st, 2022, 8:39 am

This man love doubles more than most trinis
I didn't even eat doubles since 2019.

Postby timelapse » July 1st, 2022, 9:46 am

I wonder if he tried chataigne as yet?Most foreigners I know can't get enough of it

Re:

Postby Dizzy28 » July 1st, 2022, 10:10 am

timelapse wrote:I wonder if he tried chataigne as yet?Most foreigners I know can't get enough of it

He did. When he went the Chula Place in South.

Postby Rovin » July 2nd, 2022, 10:32 am

texas trini episode was good ... d strims pie look different\tasty

Postby Rovin » July 2nd, 2022, 10:35 am

big up to d express for recognizing his work ... he showcased T&T better than any govt tourism ministry or anybody else ever did ... great job David

https://trinidadexpress.com/features/lo ... 8w1SWa9l0c

David’s been here!

YouTuber samples T&T’s food

EVEN if you’re not subscribed to David Hoffman’s engaging YouTube channel David’s Been Here, chances are you’ve already seen at least one of his videos featuring the food of Trinidad and Tobago.

The foodie/travel blogger spent a few weeks on our islands, where he sampled bush meat, pork, doubles, lobster roti, bake and shark, crab and dumpling and everything in between. His high-energy content and genuine interest in his subjects resonate with his online audience of just over one million subscribers. In the space of a month his video featuring the street food on Ariapita Avenue and the Savannah strip in Port of Spain made the rounds and racked up more than 240,000 views on YouTube.

Hoffman has made a lifestyle and career out of two of his biggest passions: food and travelling. In the past 14 years, he has been to 1,300 destinations in 88 countries—and counting. Including T&T on his list of places to visit didn’t come about by chance, Hoffman’s roots lie closer to Trinidad than you may think.

“I’ve always wanted to come to T&T because my parents were born in Venezuela and after studying the Indian and Chinese influence a few years ago, I knew it would be a great destination to learn about cuisine and culture,” Hoffman said in an interview with the Express.

His best experience by far was trying bushmeat in the forests of Trinidad.

“I spent almost a whole day eating armadillo and iguana,”said Hoffman. “I also went lionfish hunting off the waters of Tobago, which was so much fun! It took me back to my time spearfishing as a kid!”

Hoffman grew up in a culturally diverse home. His Venezuelan parents are of Italian and Hungarian descent. Added to that, he grew up in Miami, which is like a melting pot of nationalities and cultures. Naturally, it only increased his desire to get out and explore the world.

“Coming from a culturally diverse background, I love experiencing new cultures. It’s what my ancestors did, and I feel like it’s my mission. Exploring new places and hearing new stories has always intrigued me. I grew up with my parents telling me about Venezuela and it always made the idea of seeing the world very attractive to me,” he said.

Hoffman may be a food-crazed traveller but experiencing the world has had an impact on his personal life—in fact it has completely changed the way he sees the world.

“My world keeps changing and growing. Going to places like India and Africa and seeing kids my daughters’ age and the disparity between the poor and the rich has really shaped the way I view the world. It has humbled me, seeing things you would normally only see in National Geographic. But it’s a whole other thing, seeing it with your own two eyes,” he said.

Since 2008 Hoffman has been documenting his travel experiences but he was grounded when much of the world closed its borders at the onset of the Covid-19 pandemic. It was hard, he admits. Hoffman couldn’t travel internationally at all between March and August of 2020, and his business suffered because of it. But when a handful of countries, including Albania and Kosovo, started reopening to American travellers, he immediately planned trips to both countries. Speaking of Albania, the south-eastern European country is one of those countries Hoffman says he would return to at the drop of a hat.

“It has a very similar culture to Italy, and it’s so diverse, with snow-capped mountains and beautiful beaches, wineries, plains, and everything in-between,” he said. “The cuisine is outstanding, and some of the most beautiful women in the world are there!”

If you have wanderlust but not necessarily the budget to travel from one country to the next, do not despair.

“I always say, exploring your own backyard is a great place to start. Most people live in a bubble and don’t really expand beyond that. Visiting the next town over, or driving to someplace that’s just an hour or two away can be a fun and interesting experience. That’s still travel. You don’t have to fly to an exotic location a thousand miles away to be a traveller,” said Hoffman.

There is no shortage of world travellers in the YouTube universe whose videos of far-flung exotic locations with hard-to-pronounce names leave us in awe. But rather than be like someone else, Hoffman prefers to make his mark on his own terms.

“Honestly, I learned a long time ago when I was trying to be someone else on-camera, that people really want authenticity. I was so busy trying to be ‘cool’ that I forgot that my greatest asset is just being myself. I’m naturally friendly. I love meeting people, hearing their stories, and making new friends. And I’m just naturally curious. I want to know about the world. I want to learn about history, food, and culture. And I think my passion for those things comes through in my videos,” said Hoffman.

Postby gastly369 » July 2nd, 2022, 4:42 pm

De man calling everything "chutney" and
"Moorish" now... Allyuh really convert de man yes

Postby gastly369 » July 2nd, 2022, 6:53 pm

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 2nd, 2022, 7:12 pm

^Now that fella actually looks more genuine than that chef guy who seems fake all the time when he appears in any videos.

Postby gastly369 » July 2nd, 2022, 7:37 pm

His videos ah pretty decent instead of all the "everything taste good" (paid) reviewers on yt

Postby Rovin » July 2nd, 2022, 7:41 pm

so this evening i went here 1st time because of davids video few wks ago, i told d lady that i came thru watching davids video - think she was d owner who was cashing & taking d orders , she said ohh thank u very much

this location has about 10 other food vendors, its like central's version of d sando cross with a variety of different street food

not much variety in sides or overall but i guess ppl go there mainly for d pork dishes , i bought 2 combos 1 was crispy pork & fires, other was geera pork & fires , $50\box, box itself is those old school paper boxes like what ppl used long time . nice full box 2 ppl cud eat or its plenty for 1 person

pork itself was lean like probably leg meat , cut into 0.5-1" size - almost no fat, barely any bones & tasted satisfying . I reached home maybe 45 mins after buying so fries got a bit soft as expected , a lil bit of salad wud have been a nice as well as if they had fried rice or macaroni as some sides option instead of fries as d lone choice

overall for $50\box thats a good fair deal, i dont eat pudding so next time i go i want to try d chicken ... 8-)

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2022, 8:44 pm

their crispy pork is of the fried variety
not roast

Postby De Dragon » July 2nd, 2022, 9:00 pm

Skipped over the parts wit short dotish

Postby gastly369 » July 6th, 2022, 12:01 pm

More Caribbean flavors and more doubles

Note his next major series like Trinidad and Tobago is Guyana

Postby Rovin » July 8th, 2022, 11:38 am

^^^good episode , man like he truly hooked\addicted to trini doubles & our style of curry

i tort since he was going to a guyanese place we wud see some of their traditional food but i have to admit d d chinese food does looks good kinda like ours

d last place could have gotten a lil more airtime but i suspect both guys bellies were already full ...

Postby Chimera » July 8th, 2022, 11:40 am

Guyanese style Chinese food is amazing .

Wish I could find a good place for it here

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2022, 11:43 am

surinam has some good asian variety too

Postby timelapse » July 8th, 2022, 11:45 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Guyanese style Chinese food is amazing .

There's a place in Aranguez called GT I believe.

Postby Rovin » July 8th, 2022, 11:47 am

i stopped buying local chinese food going in yrsss cause alot of them using imported heavy preservative chemical tyson or whatever else brand of meats they use , on rare occasions if i feel for it will buy wantons otherwise is home made for it ...

Postby Chimera » July 8th, 2022, 12:18 pm

timelapse wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Guyanese style Chinese food is amazing .

There's a place in Aranguez called GT I believe.
Yea they like 5/10

Postby Chimera » July 8th, 2022, 12:19 pm

pugboy wrote:surinam has some good asian variety too
Boyyyyy
Suriname have some amazing good
Chinese, Thai, Indian, everything bess