Scrap iron dealers

abducted

Scrap iron dealers

Postby abducted » June 7th, 2022, 7:45 pm

The scrap iron dealers should be held accountable, for paying the thieves who steal cable and batteries,

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/05/04/tstt-p ... ble-theft/
SOME 161 people have been taken to court this year for stealing copper cable, with TSTT lamenting "a significant increase" in such theft during the pandemic, in a TSTT statement on Wednesday.

On Tuesday, Scrap Iron Dealers Association head Allan Ferguson blamed the thefts on TSTT which he said had failed to take up his association's offer to remove unused copper cables before the thieves could strike.

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/f ... 7688f.html
On June 10, T&TEC security officers filed a report at the Mayaro Police station that 169 Deka solar 12-volt batteries had been stolen from along the Manzanilla Road. The batteries, which powered solar LED streetlights along the “Manzanilla stretch”, were removed from 43 poles.

Re: Scrap iron dealers

Postby nervewrecker » June 7th, 2022, 9:26 pm

Copper is $23.00 a pound now.

I had two bucket of random copper I heaped up while cleaning up. $940.00 I got.

They no longer take iron, they only take by the tonne.

So I stuck with a heap of rotors, motor shells etc. Anyone know where still buying?

Allyuh frowning upon them men but they eating a nice food.

Iron is $2300.00 a tonne. A tonne of iron is not much so think how much them men raking in.

From what I understand they cutting up wasa pipe too.
Last edited by nervewrecker on June 7th, 2022, 9:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 7th, 2022, 9:28 pm

Postby timelapse » June 7th, 2022, 9:49 pm

$23 a lb. For copper? Boy I better not catch one of them.They terrorizing people homes and livelihood by stealing power and communications wires for $23 a lb?And it have people supporting them when they get caught.

Postby nervewrecker » June 7th, 2022, 10:15 pm

The nuisance is not limited to copper lines, it's refrigerant pipes as well.

I pass two good size three phase motors still mounted on an assembly going in the scrap yard am evening.

Scored a working 3 phase compressor from a set passing around looking for scrap iron. Traded them a non working larger compressor for the working one.

These men moving with oxygen, nitrogen, carbon dioxide tanks and everything as scrap. I think is $2.00 a pound they going and sell that for.

Whole whole car getting drop off. I does be tempted to go trade them random scrap of more weight to get like random working motors etc. Bit don't have the time.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 8th, 2022, 3:39 pm

So basically anything in yuh yard could get stolen. If they could buss through a wall in RBL Couva which has a gated compound lit with high powered CCTV cameras opposite a police station, then what else can we do?

Lawn mower, pressure washer, wheel barrow, power generator, your vehicles, water heater, water pump, AC units, tools, ladders, hoses, pipes, down to your material such as bricks, tiles and steel etc dey tiefing. They tiefing front gate, gate motor, your clay pots and plants and all.

Anything resembling a van prowling through neighborhoods at night must be stopped by police for inspection, especially those H100 and K2700's.
Last edited by agent007 on June 8th, 2022, 3:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bluefete » June 8th, 2022, 3:47 pm

agent007 wrote:So basically anything in yuh yard could get stolen.

Last night they cut the water line that connects to the washing machine in my 87 year old next door neighbour's yard.

Pure wickedness.

Postby nervewrecker » June 8th, 2022, 4:21 pm

bluefete wrote:
agent007 wrote:So basically anything in yuh yard could get stolen.

Last night they cut the water line that connects to the washing machine in my 87 year old next door neighbour's yard.

Pure wickedness.

Yea, skyline babe sister tell me they gone with the wasa pipe. Was giving she the score on a play this weekend.

What for some to steal they not stealing. Months now I gauging a fat piece of power cable, every time I pass I does make sure it still there. It still there weekend gone, personnel on standby with the generator thought I come for copper so he brace me.

What hurting me is copper be $23.00 a pound and I throw over a tonne in a metal waste bin. :fist: :fist:

Postby pugboy » June 8th, 2022, 5:22 pm

we need somebody to do an undercover vid of men selling the copper to the yards

I saw a truck the other day coming out from a track from just before claxton bay full of the burnt wires
like they burnt them overnight in the bush there and come back for it in the morning.

matix

Postby matix » June 8th, 2022, 5:34 pm

pugboy wrote:we need somebody to do an undercover vid of men selling the copper to the yards

I saw a truck the other day coming out from a track from just before claxton bay full of the burnt wires
like they burnt them overnight in the bush there and come back for it in the morning.

Iron is now $1800 per ton. Undercover yuh say? That’s being sold all over, public view!

Postby pugboy » June 8th, 2022, 5:42 pm

i talking bout the stolen copper

matix

Postby matix » June 8th, 2022, 5:49 pm

All we need are some brave journalists and I’ll gladly show them how boldface the scrap iron dealers / scrap (men&women) are.

Postby Rovin » June 8th, 2022, 6:15 pm

is trinidad d land of d lawless allyuh dealing with eh so doh play brave hero & get caught with undercover bisnis cause u cud loose ur life over dat

if u cud do it without being made out who u is then by all means go ahead , doh forget wk b4 police confronted men stealing copper & they ran away leaving big gun in d prolly stolen vehicle ...

Postby Rovin » June 8th, 2022, 6:19 pm

like i said in d daily crime thread : here in chaguanas dem pipers & scrap men will eventually teef out all steel manhole covers

it happening daily & i hear all over d country is d same thing

d president of d scrap dealers say to ban d metal export for a 3-4mths , what gonna happen after that time has passed & its re-allowed , ent d teefin gonna start back ...

Postby nervewrecker » June 8th, 2022, 6:24 pm

matix wrote:
pugboy wrote:we need somebody to do an undercover vid of men selling the copper to the yards

Iron is now $1800 per ton. Undercover yuh say? That’s being sold all over, public view!
$2300.00 dude...

And all the places have cameras. Plus you have to provide your Id or dp before collecting $$$.

It have an old engine and transmission side the road awhile now.

Had an abandoned tractor on Franklin Khan wife land. The tractor gone I see but the engine across the road still there.

Old compressor station abandoned since 19 when still almost intact.

Setta jokers they call scrap iron men. Is mostly pest.

matix

Postby matix » June 8th, 2022, 10:13 pm

matix wrote:

$2300.00 dude...

And all the places have cameras. Plus you have to provide your Id or dp before collecting $$$.

It have an old engine and transmission side the road awhile now.

Had an abandoned tractor on Franklin Khan wife land. The tractor gone I see but the engine across the road still there.

Old compressor station abandoned since 19 when still almost intact.

Setta jokers they call scrap iron men. Is mostly pest.

Nerve, I ain’t asking you the price, I’m telling you.

Postby gastly369 » June 8th, 2022, 10:57 pm

Nerve say de word inno ah know where loaded 50/50

Postby nervewrecker » June 9th, 2022, 12:34 am

gastly369 wrote:Nerve say de word inno ah know where loaded 50/50

So where de f**k yuh feel I talking about? All de locations :lol:

Thats why I say dem men jokey, set ah nuisance.

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2022, 5:14 pm

https://fb.watch/dy71ybx9th/

and these is the ppl who guarding petrotrin, the bidder getting a shell

who guarding the guards

Postby Rovin » June 9th, 2022, 7:37 pm

dise really algamated workers ? ... bwda

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 9th, 2022, 7:57 pm

pugboy wrote:https://fb.watch/dy71ybx9th/

who guarding the guards

Amalgamated Security Services Limited - Trinidad and Tobago

PUBLIC STATEMENT ON "CABLE CUTTING" VIDEO IN CIRCULATION
Amalgamated Security Services Limited wishes to address a video that is circulating on many social media pages. While the video is clear in what our officers were doing, the accompanying narration seeks to maliciously impugn the character of the officers involved and by extension our Company.
The details of the incident are as follows:
Today around 1.15pm two of our employees in a company vehicle were conducting TSTT Task Force duties along the Morne Coco Road, Petit Valley. These duties include the cutting and removal of cables that are observed to be prepared by perpetrators to be removed at a later time.
Upon reaching LP 191, cables were observed hanging low and our officers took photos of said cables and forwarded those images to the TSTT Command Centre, who then gave the authorization to cut the cables and to return it to the Laventille Work Centre. After securing those cables in the tray of the vehicle, our team was directed to a location in Piccadilly Street where another piece of cable was cut and secured in the vehicle.
It should be noted that the video in question was taken by someone at the Morne Coco Road venue.
This occurrence is performed by all the TSTT Task Force mobiles daily and the cutting instruments were provided by TSTT.
Regretfully many individuals seek to add their own skewed narrative and malign our Company and our hardworking employees who risk life and limb by just doing their job of securing our customer’s assets.
We simply seek to record the truth.
Amalgamated Security Services Limited

https://www.facebook.com/10665539951342 ... ytDHl/?d=n

285535169_2138977229614554_7887203031675172454_n.png

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2022, 7:59 pm

very good they cleared the air promptly

only thing is the thieves gonna start wearing security guard clothing next

Postby hover11 » June 9th, 2022, 8:00 pm

Syrian security services PR team working overtime
pugboy wrote:https://fb.watch/dy71ybx9th/

who guarding the guards

Amalgamated Security Services Limited - Trinidad and Tobago

PUBLIC STATEMENT ON "CABLE CUTTING" VIDEO IN CIRCULATION
Amalgamated Security Services Limited wishes to address a video that is circulating on many social media pages. While the video is clear in what our officers were doing, the accompanying narration seeks to maliciously impugn the character of the officers involved and by extension our Company.
The details of the incident are as follows:
Today around 1.15pm two of our employees in a company vehicle were conducting TSTT Task Force duties along the Morne Coco Road, Petit Valley. These duties include the cutting and removal of cables that are observed to be prepared by perpetrators to be removed at a later time.
Upon reaching LP 191, cables were observed hanging low and our officers took photos of said cables and forwarded those images to the TSTT Command Centre, who then gave the authorization to cut the cables and to return it to the Laventille Work Centre. After securing those cables in the tray of the vehicle, our team was directed to a location in Piccadilly Street where another piece of cable was cut and secured in the vehicle.
It should be noted that the video in question was taken by someone at the Morne Coco Road venue.
This occurrence is performed by all the TSTT Task Force mobiles daily and the cutting instruments were provided by TSTT.
Regretfully many individuals seek to add their own skewed narrative and malign our Company and our hardworking employees who risk life and limb by just doing their job of securing our customer’s assets.
We simply seek to record the truth.
Amalgamated Security Services Limited

https://www.facebook.com/10665539951342 ... ytDHl/?d=n

285535169_2138977229614554_7887203031675172454_n.png

Postby bluefete » June 9th, 2022, 8:55 pm

Right by the Mosque in Petit Bourg today, one long cut cable hanging almost all the way down to the street.

But the gov't would not ban exports because some big boy Minister or Minister family running racket with this thing.

Other countries would have banned it by now.

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2022, 8:56 pm

this open the flood gates for security guards to start taking down cables eh

Postby nervewrecker » June 10th, 2022, 4:02 am

Postby bluefete » June 10th, 2022, 6:59 am

^^^ Can't believe I listened to the whole thing. LOL.

Don't forget Leon Coldero:

K_J_R

Postby K_J_R » June 10th, 2022, 7:20 am

pugboy wrote:very good they cleared the air promptly

only thing is the thieves gonna start wearing security guard clothing next

no need to.

they cutting in front of police stations now.

no issues.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 11th, 2022, 6:00 pm

^^^ I don't understand that how can you cut in front of a Police station and not get at least chased away from the site.

I mean no one saw anything.

Postby nervewrecker » June 11th, 2022, 6:52 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:^^^ I don't understand that how can you cut in front of a Police station and not get at least chased away from the site.

I mean no one saw anything.
Police station = gate lock, light off in the night.

Police operating hours is 9am to 9pm it look like.

Anything outside those hours is no diggity.