Re: Scrap iron dealers

Postby DMan7 » August 24th, 2022, 6:06 pm

Them scrap iron men need a raise. :shock:

Postby nervewrecker » August 24th, 2022, 8:14 pm

Them playing de rass, it have real scrap iron to thief still.

Thieving the wrong thing :roll: :roll:

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2022, 8:49 pm

how ton they get out of petrotrin if anybody had to guess ?
100tonnes?

pjfred

Postby pjfred » August 25th, 2022, 2:37 am

One 7 inch casing 30 feet long weighs one ton, Trinidad recyclers moved close to 60 forty foot trailers loaded to capacity with casings from forest fyzo. 100 tonnes is just the tip. A cat v16 engine valued at 1.3 million ttd sold as scrap for $5000. Tax payer dollars siphoned away for govt friends

Postby hover11 » August 25th, 2022, 6:51 am

Cox—Scrap iron workers can apply for grants

https://guardian.co.tt/news/coxscrap-ir ... 06d55968d7

Soooo....when did we become a welfare state?I have ZERO sympathy for these ppl, how low do you have to be to steal a 60 year old bell from a church. Lower than the white line in the road.

Postby timelapse » August 25th, 2022, 7:55 am

hover11 wrote:Cox—Scrap iron workers can apply for grants

Soooo....when did we become a welfare state?I have ZERO sympathy for these ppl, how low do you have to be to steal a 60 year old bell from a church. Lower than the white line in the road.
PNM wants us to be a welfare state.
Keep us poor,so Imbert can fill his garage

VII

Postby VII » August 25th, 2022, 9:30 am

I think the bell was much older than that if I'm not mistaken..

I have lengths of steel by a jobs site with no fence and nobody troubling it lol..couldn't do that weeks ago..

Postby hover11 » August 25th, 2022, 9:34 am

I stand corrected

153-year-old tower bell stolen from Anglican church

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/153year ... 803903e574

These ppl know who stole it and refuse to return it. I say let the ban stay in effect, the peace of mind we have now we didn't have it before.
VII wrote:I think the bell was much older than that if I'm not mistaken..

I have lengths of steel by a jobs site with no fence and nobody troubling it lol..couldn't do that weeks ago..

Postby RedVEVO » August 25th, 2022, 9:45 am

hover11 wrote:I am corrected

153-year-old tower bell stolen from Anglican church

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/153year ... 803903e574

These ppl know who stole it and refuse to return it. I say let the ban stay in effect, the peace of mind we have now we didn't have it before.
VII wrote:I think the bell was much older than that if I'm not mistaken..

The bell mostly likely was paid for by the community via the tithes :wink:

Church should very :D happy it's been used to support the economy in hard times :lol:

And ... Who needs a bell nowadays to call the Sunday parishioners ?

Use WhatsApp or Tuner :lol:

Same Same :wink:

Postby redmanjp » August 25th, 2022, 5:13 pm

is the ban just on exports or all buying & selling?

matix

Postby matix » August 25th, 2022, 9:21 pm

pjfred wrote:One 7 inch casing 30 feet long weighs one ton, Trinidad recyclers moved close to 60 forty foot trailers loaded to capacity with casings from forest fyzo. 100 tonnes is just the tip. A cat v16 engine valued at 1.3 million ttd sold as scrap for $5000. Tax payer dollars siphoned away for govt friends

Ahhhh boy yuh know the ting. Easily 80+ tonnes per day easily came out of Petrotrin, pipe fuh so, electrical cables, pumps, motors, fittings, lots of buildings scrapped clean. When there was the absence of ‘petrotrin police’ and the place was left unsecured for those few days, it was a free for all. From former staff, contract workers, the security, men passing through the field roads. Freeness

Postby maj. tom » August 25th, 2022, 9:37 pm

That's a staggering amount of theft! Reading that I kinda feeling a pain. So much loss for the taxpayer, so much corruption. Unbelievable how many $$$Trillion$ may have passed through this country since 1962 through squandering corruption while we remain so under-developed.

Postby nervewrecker » August 25th, 2022, 11:27 pm

matix wrote:
pjfred wrote:One 7 inch casing 30 feet long weighs one ton, Trinidad recyclers moved close to 60 forty foot trailers loaded to capacity with casings from forest fyzo. 100 tonnes is just the tip. A cat v16 engine valued at 1.3 million ttd sold as scrap for $5000. Tax payer dollars siphoned away for govt friends

Ahhhh boy yuh know the ting. Easily 80+ tonnes per day easily came out of Petrotrin, pipe fuh so, electrical cables, pumps, motors, fittings, lots of buildings scrapped clean. When there was the absence of ‘petrotrin police’ and the place was left unsecured for those few days, it was a free for all. From former staff, contract workers, the security, men passing through the field roads. Freeness
That's $1.00 a pound.

Study how much went in copper from transformers. I asked to buy the tx as scrap long before they closed. 100, 300, 500 kva and what looked like main subs.

Thats tonnes upon tonnes of copper at what was $14.00 a pound.

Then there are stator windings from motors. Not much but the amount adds up.

Used to drive around to see what left. It still has lots of iron in there but I simply refuse to say in an open forum. Would make my peers potential victims.

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2022, 7:24 am

that is some serious change them bandits made, I wonder how many of the petrotrin bandits are the same ones protesting now
That's $1.00 a pound.

Study how much went in copper from transformers. I asked to buy the tx as scrap long before they closed. 100, 300, 500 kva and what looked like main subs.

Thats tonnes upon tonnes of copper at what was $14.00 a pound.

Then there are stator windings from motors. Not much but the amount adds up.

Used to drive around to see what left. It still has lots of iron in there but I simply refuse to say in an open forum. Would make my peers potential victims.[/quote]

wingnut

Postby wingnut » August 26th, 2022, 1:11 pm

Happy 60th T&T from the scrap iron association

301828077_183969007457750_4137778016598351900_n.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2022, 4:58 pm

What a summary of our state of affairs

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2022, 6:02 pm

i am guessing their local councillor was handing out the banners and bunting

K_J_R

Postby K_J_R » August 28th, 2022, 8:06 pm

https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/col ... _4wWwJ_0SM

Equally impotently and indifferently as they do in the cases of the multiple killings daily, the authorities sat by while the incidence of theft of material to supply to the scrap iron industry grew overwhelmingly.

The theft was done with such impunity that there were whole neighbourhoods where cut utility lines drooped in a manner symbolic of the limpness of the authorities. Another newspaper stated that “brand-new metal fittings were being ‘recovered’ and painted metal joists more than six feet long—which were government property and said to be worth over $1 million—were found in a scrap yard”. There was reference also to “welded girders painted in the distinctive blue of government infrastructure”. (See Newsday, editorial of August 22, 2022.)

matix

Scrap iron dealers

Postby matix » August 29th, 2022, 6:12 am

Protesting again today from scrap people. Traffic is horrible on the northbound

Postby timelapse » August 29th, 2022, 6:15 am

Oh mudarse .

Kritical01

Postby Kritical01 » August 29th, 2022, 6:26 am

2 loads of dirt was thrown across the northbound. Only the shoulder was passable at 430am

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » August 29th, 2022, 6:44 am

why these cacaholes

don't go and protest

by whitehall and the red house

and by rowlee house

?

people from claxton bay and south of claxton bay

is not the ones who shut down their business

wing

Postby wing » August 29th, 2022, 7:55 am

Lou Screuz wrote:why these cacaholes

don't go and protest

by whitehall and the red house

and by rowlee house

?

people from claxton bay and south of claxton bay

is not the ones who shut down their business
Since the ban was implemented, how many reports of theft? These pests just showing why the government was right to shut them down, and exactly why all they can do is work in iron.

Postby Dave » August 29th, 2022, 8:03 am

Probably cause it have no more cable to thief lol.

Two wrongs would never make a right and the stance they have taken would never convince the govt to rethink the ban.

They are just digging the hole for their plight deeper and deeper.

Postby Chimera » August 29th, 2022, 8:04 am

That sand drop since 4 am...at 8am its still there..

Postby 16 cycles » August 29th, 2022, 8:23 am

shows lack of presence of TTPS

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 29th, 2022, 8:31 am

16 cycles wrote:shows lack of presence of TTPS

How? They are there, but I guess u want them put the dirt in their pocket?

Postby 16 cycles » August 29th, 2022, 8:45 am

nick639v2 wrote:
16 cycles wrote:shows lack of presence of TTPS

How? They are there, but I guess u want them put the dirt in their pocket?

Any presence on the highway or regular patrols would have alerted them - think dirt was there at 330am....enough time to resolve.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 29th, 2022, 8:50 am

Caused real traffic this morning

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2022, 8:50 am

they would need to get a backhoe