Re: Scrap iron dealers

Postby timelapse » August 18th, 2022, 2:37 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
K_J_R wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
hover11 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
timelapse wrote:
sMASH wrote:the guntas who wukin on the trucks, where they getting money now to mind they pickney?

did y'all think of that....
I see your trick question.
Guntas don't mind their pickney

Many do if they have the finance .

How they suppose to take care of their kids when Gov't lockdown their jobs ?
Look for a proper job and make an honest dollar. They distressing ppl and theifing manhole covers is not an occupation other than being a pest to society

The Scrap Industry is very lucrative.

It needs to be regulated - it brings in foreign $$

And "THIEF thingy " is because TTPS not doing their Jacob :D

it earns forex but it is silly to think that any forex from this make its way to the treasury. so that doesn't help the economy or forex shortage.

It makes foreign $$ for the working T&T man than cannot get access to foreign currency in ANY Bank .

It's not a drain on the economy for foreign $$ as foreign cars dealers, new cars dealers or the large supermarkets or cell phone biz where persons do not earn foreign dollars.

It's the financial independence that angers lots of T&T peeps - not the crime.

Even if such person sells the USD after earning it - he will still earns extra income to take care of his family .
If they come in YOUR yard and steal the brand new I beams you purchased to build a bigger mansion,I am betting that you will be generous enough to offer them some lead for their excellent service

Postby Dave » August 18th, 2022, 2:38 pm

What do they do with the forex they earn apart from selling to the black market?

Postby hover11 » August 18th, 2022, 2:38 pm

So...scrap iron men going and protest everyday for the next 6 months? I thought you need permission from the COP to protest, interesting...

Postby timelapse » August 18th, 2022, 2:43 pm

hover11 wrote:So...scrap iron men going and protest everyday for the next 6 months? I thought you need permission from the COP to protest, interesting...
PNM not going to do a thing about their supporters...

Postby pugboy » August 18th, 2022, 2:59 pm

but they teargas vax protesters

Postby hover11 » August 18th, 2022, 3:25 pm

pugboy wrote:but they teargas vax protesters
Different strokes for different folks I guess

K_J_R

Postby K_J_R » August 18th, 2022, 3:35 pm

allyuh too wicked.

eh.jpg

Dave wrote:What do they do with the forex they earn apart from selling to the black market?

i would like to know dis as well. is just another loss of forex that could have been coming through legal means to the economy.

aka ol tief.

Postby pugboy » August 18th, 2022, 3:45 pm

i guess they don’t pay taxes either since that forex they earn not reported to the taxman and probably in a foreign bank

Postby adnj » August 18th, 2022, 3:52 pm

Forex was used to get the metals to Trinidad. No forex coming back because you can't claim it.

Postby hover11 » August 18th, 2022, 4:08 pm

SCRAP-IRON WORKERS: "IF WE CAN'T EAT, NONE OF ALL YOU CAN EAT."

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/08/18/scrap- ... c-dealers/

Postby Dave » August 18th, 2022, 4:31 pm

Simple solution but then I may give ppl ideas how to avoid the tax man but not sure if they thought this out to that extent.
pugboy wrote:i guess they don’t pay taxes either since that forex they earn not reported to the taxman and probably in a foreign bank

Postby gastly369 » August 18th, 2022, 4:49 pm

Van pass normel normel this morning looking for scrap

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 18th, 2022, 4:58 pm

gastly369 wrote:Van pass normel normel this morning looking for scrap
Dem is the smart ones. While others protesting, they stock piling...

Postby pugboy » August 18th, 2022, 5:36 pm

they say they looking to go to court and get injunction and ting
all the way to privy council

Postby hover11 » August 18th, 2022, 5:39 pm

pugboy wrote:they say they looking to go to court and get injunction and ting
Knowing how lax the judicial system is wouldn't that matter take longer than the 6 month ban to be heard

Postby pugboy » August 18th, 2022, 5:43 pm

no injunctions are done fast pending a case

hover11 wrote:
Knowing how lax the judicial system is wouldn't that matter take longer than the 6 month ban to be heard

Postby Chimera » August 18th, 2022, 5:44 pm

Lol yuh wudda think lawyerboss know what a injunction is

Postby hover11 » August 18th, 2022, 5:53 pm

pugboy wrote:no injunctions are done fast pending a case

hover11 wrote:
No judge in his right mind going to grant them that with all the havoc and destruction they were causing involving public and private property

Postby Chimera » August 18th, 2022, 6:18 pm

The persons protesting are the street folks. The ones who will apply for injunction are the scrap iron association

Postby hover11 » August 18th, 2022, 6:28 pm

Still not going to get that injunction granted, government done talk and judges in bed with politicians, they going to show for the greater good of the country the ban must stay in effect

Postby Chimera » August 18th, 2022, 6:41 pm

Daz a hard one. They have a good chance of getting it i feel. Plenty people abruptly thrown on the bread line with no warning when there are better methods to regulate the industry.
We will see what going on but I feel they will get an injunction to stop the ban

matix

Scrap iron dealers

Postby matix » August 18th, 2022, 7:02 pm

The guys who go out with the vans ‘buying scrap iron’, they don’t get paid in any foreign currency. They all go and sell it to the dealers (they get the US$) who pack containers, smaller local yards tend to full containers and sell it to the bigger yards. Some pack containers by hand and I know of one other who shreds metal into little billets and load the container. Very efficient system. I’ve done a lot of scrap iron work, still do once it’s over 100 tonnes.
ImageImageImageImage

Postby pugboy » August 18th, 2022, 7:14 pm

we have those shredding machines here with the rotating teeth you see on social
media ?

wow, never realized they flip the shipping containers to fill like that
what yard doing that?

matix

Scrap iron dealers

Postby matix » August 18th, 2022, 8:59 pm

pugboy wrote:we have those shredding machines here with the rotating teeth you see on social
media ?

wow, never realized they flip the shipping containers to fill like that
what yard doing that?

Eco Scrap in Carlsen Field. It’s a really good system, those containers are flipped with a crane. Conveyor belt system from shredder to pile and a sprinkler system to keep down the dust.

Some good fun is when the big machines are cut up, it’s like taking a crab apart.

Postby nervewrecker » August 18th, 2022, 9:04 pm

Anyone ever invest in the vibrating rotational drum with media inside that polishes metal? can such be used to clean insulation off copper instead of burning it?

Its not feasible to strip those lines the time it will take. Small wires from PC components and electronics.

Was thinking to build one but my right hand man migrate and a good engineer hard to come by :(

Postby maj. tom » August 18th, 2022, 9:09 pm

Those videos are so destructively satisfying to watch.

matix

Postby matix » August 18th, 2022, 9:10 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Anyone ever invest in the vibrating rotational drum with media inside that polishes metal? can such be used to clean insulation off copper instead of burning it?

Its not feasible to strip those lines the time it will take. Small wires from PC components and electronics.

Was thinking to build one but my right hand man migrate and a good engineer hard to come by :(

Insulation way too soft.

Postby pugboy » August 18th, 2022, 9:13 pm

the copper wires also very small and soft plus there is a silicone grease between the wires

K_J_R

Postby K_J_R » August 18th, 2022, 9:18 pm

hover11 wrote:SCRAP-IRON WORKERS: "IF WE CAN'T EAT, NONE OF ALL YOU CAN EAT."

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/08/18/scrap- ... c-dealers/

so now is threats they issuing eh? like nobody eh get charge for dem protest or wat?

guize guize, let d pests tief in peace. stop disturbing d pests dem.

let d pests tief normal normal and allyuh stay quiet.

Postby timelapse » August 18th, 2022, 9:27 pm

This is the second day of this foolishness.TTPS riot control got no b@lls.
Is only if you apply for a protest permit they coming to teargas.Other than that, they fraid guntas.Bunch of plebs