Best hybrid to buy now under TT$150k (tax free)?

Postby redmanjp » May 20th, 2022, 2:04 pm

Interested in getting new car, perhaps hybrid. not more than $150k. could be preowned if the new ones over that price.

reliable, very good mileage. parts available. hoping the tax comes off soon.

Re: Best hybrid to buy now under $150k (tax free)?

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 20th, 2022, 2:19 pm

Don't think you getting anything new for 150.
RORO, you might have some options. Vez, fielder, aqua, note, etc.

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 20th, 2022, 2:21 pm

Brand new 2022 Suzuki Dzire 1.2 fits that exact budget and you get a 5 year warranty. You can also buy a 2022 Toyota Agya 1.2 as well. Should you qualify, you can get the loan with 0% down for 8 years.

If that don't cut it then your typical roro Aqua, Note, Axio/Fielder and Fit would have to make do.

Postby redmanjp » May 20th, 2022, 5:05 pm

was thinking aqua, but it look like it doesn't have much trunk space

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 21st, 2022, 8:35 pm

If you looking at roro go to a dealer that keeps stock and check out the different vehicles. The Note looks small but its very comfy for long legged persons both in front and back also has a fairly good amount of trunk space.

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 21st, 2022, 8:54 pm

OP could also buy the new 2022 Suzuki Swift GL 1.2 for $150k and if he qualifies for it, can possibly pay 0 down and have 8 years to pay back. The monthly installment on that would be $1,900. In other words, you can be making $5,000. gross monthly income and permanent employed for 2 years and get a brand new $150,000. vehicle.

Postby paid_influencer » May 21st, 2022, 8:59 pm

agent007 wrote:OP could also buy the new 2022 Suzuki Swift GL 1.2 for $150k and if he qualifies for it, can possibly pay 0 down and have 8 years to pay back. The monthly installment on that would be $1,900. In other words, you can be making $5,000. gross monthly income and permanent employed for 2 years and get a brand new $150,000. vehicle.

is this a trap

Postby bluefete » May 22nd, 2022, 12:09 pm

Basic payback over 8 years = $182,400.00

$1,900.00 per month?

Postby redmanjp » May 22nd, 2022, 12:30 pm

Have they removed taxes yet? It was supposed to be mid May.

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 22nd, 2022, 1:18 pm

I actually saw a quote closer to $1,800. a month for 7 years and this is with 0% down. Some institutions allow deferred payments up to 1 to 3 months as well. For a brand new car under a 5 year warranty, this is not bad. Providing that the borrower has no other loans, the minimum required salary to qualify for this loan is a mere $4,500. a month.

Sadly, for the person who earns that amount of money monthly, they would still be living at home with parents or guardians cause you won't be able to pay a monthly rent or mortgage with the balance especially after deducting for gas, insurance, food and phone.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 22nd, 2022, 1:40 pm

Dont fall for the traps:
-Deferred payments (allows interest to accrue on the full principal for months causing a larger total repayment).
-Rolling insurance into your car payment (more interest)
-Only studying monthly payments and missing the huge expense of dealership maintenance
-Only studying payments and not the overall financial picture: Is a Suzuki Swift or Dzire actually worth that amount?

OP you should really try a used vehicle, and give it the proper due diligence before buying, with that budget you losing too much to depreciation and not getting much car out of it.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 22nd, 2022, 4:03 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Dont fall for the traps:
-Deferred payments (allows interest to accrue on the full principal for months causing a larger total repayment).
-Rolling insurance into your car payment (more interest)
-Only studying monthly payments and missing the huge expense of dealership maintenance
-Only studying payments and not the overall financial picture: Is a Suzuki Swift or Dzire actually worth that amount?

OP you should really try a used vehicle, and give it the proper due diligence before buying, with that budget you losing too much to depreciation and not getting much car out of it.
Furthermore local stealerships dont like to honour warranty so that is a waste of time. OP ask yourself if you really need to change your car in these hard times. Is the tradeoff between what you paying for gas/maintenance and the new car loan plus gas/maintenance worth the 8 year expense

Postby redmanjp » May 24th, 2022, 9:26 pm

^ Well i'm currently driving a very old hand-me-down car (was my mom's, she bought a Ioniq in 2020) which might be almost 30 years old. Y10 AD wagon which getting rusted and AC fan only working on the 4th speed and can't find a card for it. steering rack kind of loose (for the 2nd time in a year) and car will regularly pull to one side or another.

b4 gas price increase i was paying $100 and travelling from Arima/D'abadie to POS and back for work that would last me 6 days. so about $500 a month.

after price increase it went up to $120 a full up.

but then, all schools open back, and traffic increased by about 15 mins each morning and now I'm paying about 140-150 for the same 6 days. :roll: and i already does stay back in POS late to escape afternoon traffic- i might be paying more if i didn't.

so $700-750 a month.

so fuel efficiency between a 30 yr old ICE car and a 2-3 yr old hybrid should be a big difference.

my brother in the US giving me a few thousand US $$ to help pay for the new car so there's that. and well now that all taxes are being removed it have to be a good time to buy one. who knows they might do what they already did after my mom bought her tax free Ioniq and put back on taxes later. :roll:

Postby redmanjp » May 24th, 2022, 9:55 pm

so the compact cars like aqua, with limited trunk space- do the back seats fold down if u need more space?

also, which hybrid would have parts easily available for a decent price? including batteries and battery cells?

Postby A172 » May 24th, 2022, 11:22 pm

if u have cash i'll bring a 2019 vezel hybrid for u for $155k, Aqua $87k, Axio/Fielder hybrid $104k

if you taking loan i'll have Aquas in stock by August, avg $100 - $105k

http://www.facebook.com/rvitrinidad

Postby redmanjp » May 24th, 2022, 11:36 pm

and those coming in august would be tax free and thus that would be the reduced price i assume?

Postby Gladiator » May 24th, 2022, 11:46 pm

So it's 1.6L and 105KW motor?
IMG_20220524_234503.jpg

Postby A172 » May 25th, 2022, 12:18 am

redmanjp wrote:and those coming in august would be tax free and thus that would be the reduced price i assume?
lol no pal, that is the price they gonna sell for in stock everywhere when they reach

all who feel 3yr old hybrids is small $ in japan so they should sell for small $ here think again

Postby MG Man » May 25th, 2022, 9:06 am

cheaper to buy a 100k gas engine car than finance a 150k hybrid to 'save money on gas'
Do the math on fuel savings per year vs purchase price and financing on a hybrid and you'll see the maths not mathsing

Postby pugboy » May 25th, 2022, 10:18 am

save the planet sir

MG Man wrote:cheaper to buy a 100k gas engine car than finance a 150k hybrid to 'save money on gas'
Do the math on fuel savings per year vs purchase price and financing on a hybrid and you'll see the maths not mathsing

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » May 25th, 2022, 10:45 am

A172 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:and those coming in august would be tax free and thus that would be the reduced price i assume?
lol no pal, that is the price they gonna sell for in stock everywhere when they reach

all who feel 3yr old hybrids is small $ in japan so they should sell for small $ here think again

And what would be the ACTUAL mileage on these vehicles? Not no rolled back thing

Postby MG Man » May 25th, 2022, 10:46 am

pugboy wrote:save the planet sir

MG Man wrote:cheaper to buy a 100k gas engine car than finance a 150k hybrid to 'save money on gas'

by loading up on cars powered by dirty batteries?

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » May 25th, 2022, 10:49 am

I'm actually in full agreement on this. Currently considering selling my wife's aqua and buying a gas vehicle. If you go through the fb aqua group, the amount of problems coming up with these cars and the cost of fix, it is not worth it. Imagine you buy an aqua and a year later you have to buy a hybrid battery for 14000. I have my tiida 10 yrs now and never spend that amount of money in one repair. The money u saving in gas doesn't begin to offset the cost you are going to experience within 1 or 2 years of owning an aqua

Postby pugboy » May 25th, 2022, 11:10 am

ppl buying a used car whose battery is on the lifespan downslope

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 25th, 2022, 11:12 am

Musical Doc wrote:

I'm actually in full agreement on this. Currently considering selling my wife's aqua and buying a gas vehicle. If you go through the fb aqua group, the amount of problems coming up with these cars and the cost of fix, it is not worth it. Imagine you buy an aqua and a year later you have to buy a hybrid battery for 14000. I have my tiida 10 yrs now and never spend that amount of money in one repair. The money u saving in gas doesn't begin to offset the cost you are going to experience within 1 or 2 years of owning an aqua

I was looking at the new vezel/ xtrail hybrid myself. Then decided eff that yes, and I bought a forester lol, honestly I’m playing blind to this whole hybrid/electric push, if it bites me in the ass next few years well I’ll deal with it and suffer in silence, until then gimme gyas and deezel

Postby Chimera » May 25th, 2022, 11:13 am

Yuh hadda remember that most dealers buying the cheapest of the cheap to import for profit.

Try to import your own and pick something nice.
Even if you pay buy usd 7.5 or 8 to get it then do it. I like how that sienta looking. Seeing 2019 for 11 to 13k usd.

7 seater.

Hadda find out from a mechanic about the parts for it tho. That wud be the biggest issue

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » May 25th, 2022, 11:18 am

pugboy wrote:ppl buying a used car whose battery is on the lifespan downslope

Correct, but also it is the dealers to blame who bring vehicles with a rolled back mileage. In 2020 my friend bought a 2016 aqua with mileage of 20xxx. When I paid for the report from Japan, the actual mileage was 140xxx. So he had to do an immediate total service on the car. The battery test on the hybrid battery showed at 69% as well.
It is also recommended to do an annual battery recondition which people charging minimum $1000 to do which is supposed to extend the lifespan of your battery.

Postby MG Man » May 25th, 2022, 11:44 am

Musical Doc wrote:
pugboy wrote:ppl buying a used car whose battery is on the lifespan downslope

Correct, but also it is the dealers to blame who bring vehicles with a rolled back mileage. In 2020 my friend bought a 2016 aqua with mileage of 20xxx. When I paid for the report from Japan, the actual mileage was 140xxx. So he had to do an immediate total service on the car. The battery test on the hybrid battery showed at 69% as well.
It is also recommended to do an annual battery recondition which people charging minimum $1000 to do which is supposed to extend the lifespan of your battery.

sad that ppl still falling for this sheit
two things that make trinis horny: 'high' series and low roro miles
Too bad there's no recourse for fraud

wing

Postby wing » May 25th, 2022, 11:50 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Yuh hadda remember that most dealers buying the cheapest of the cheap to import for profit.

Try to import your own and pick something nice.
Even if you pay buy usd 7.5 or 8 to get it then do it. I like how that sienta looking. Seeing 2019 for 11 to 13k usd.

7 seater.

Hadda find out from a mechanic about the parts for it tho. That wud be the biggest issue
Did exactly this 5 years ago. Just consumables. Of course I check my battery regularly, no problems whatever. I drive conservatively, so still using the same OEM brake pads with 50% life left. I can drive about 2-3 km on battery power alone up to about 70kph. Based on the reading, I have done about 36% of my mileage on battery power. I think people rush into the hybrid scene without much research. Hybrid is better for city driving, start/stop and shorter runs rather than highway runs. Bear in mind, the launch with battery and engine will surprise many.

Postby Chimera » May 25th, 2022, 11:50 am

lol we buy a "brand new vezel" from a dealer a time, suppose to have 5 km on it when it left japan, we collected it with 75KM (from port to dealer supposedly)
when we driving it, it smelling smoky like if it had a previous owner and they were a heavy smoker

ended up doing a mileage check on it from japan because one or two other things show that it wasn't new and we paid a good 30 or 40k above a vehicle that suppose to come with higher mileage

report come back that it leave japan with 5k or 10k KM

so like they reverse it across the ship all the way from Japan to Trinidad

dealer end up taking back his vehicle and refunding us