Soon T&TEC will pay you for energy - solar feed-in tariffs

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 12th, 2022, 8:58 pm

The Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries said it's awaiting the finalisation of a policy for solar feed-in tariffs which will allow the Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission (T&TEC) to pay homeowners for the energy they produce.

A revised policy document is due to be submitted to cabinet later this month.

29d6367f11b883d5a134a3b89b46ea91solar_energy_tariffs.jpg

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/expert- ... ers-energy

Ripe Chenette

Re: Soon T&TEC will pay you for energy - solar feed-in tariffs

Postby Ripe Chenette » May 12th, 2022, 9:01 pm

When wasa goin and pay me for collecting rainwater?

carluva

Postby carluva » May 12th, 2022, 9:34 pm

Thanks Duane, thanks.

As if we didn't have enough of the alternative energy dialogue in the T&TEC blackout thread, let's create another thread for the usual suspects to rant.

Interesting move by T&TEC though.

Postby redmanjp » May 12th, 2022, 9:53 pm

Ripe Chenette wrote:When wasa goin and pay me for collecting rainwater?

yuh have to call d truck to come and get it first

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 12th, 2022, 9:54 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Ripe Chenette wrote:When wasa goin and pay me for collecting rainwater?

yuh have to call d truck to come and get it first

How much per litre?

Postby zoom rader » May 12th, 2022, 10:59 pm

A move by TTEC for consumers to buy solar from selected people that will have the monopoly on solar, just like the Air Conditioning racket.

It never amazes me how gullible people are. It was the same with CNG conversion, and we all know how that failed.

Spending a pound to save a penny. Certain trinis are indeed idiots.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » May 13th, 2022, 4:06 am

I dunno breds
I was waiting for this for a very long time. My elec bill is ridiculous.

Oh wait I just remembered... this is Trinidad
Cepep and our wonderful neighbor throw stones on my roof when they cutting their grass. I'll be replacing panels on a monthly basis.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 13th, 2022, 4:48 am

it seems to me that solar might be the way to go for spite just to fork away with TTEC. a lot of people complain their ttec bill had them consuming more kwh than the months before yet children gone back to school etc with less people home, less current to be used and yet more kwh consumed. I feel ttec making up them figures.

if i have to spend a 30k for solar with a tax bread i will do it cause it will pay for itself in 2 years.

Postby adnj » May 13th, 2022, 6:33 am

carluva wrote:Thanks Duane, thanks.

As if we didn't have enough of the alternative energy dialogue in the T&TEC blackout thread, let's create another thread for the usual suspects to rant.

Interesting move by T&TEC though.
LOL!

It took an hour to happen.

Postby meccalli » May 13th, 2022, 6:44 am

$5.00 a month worth putting out all that money for a system?

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2022, 6:47 am

them probably looking to cut and paste from other countries

however it go be a problem since our electricity is cheap subsidized
so the effort might not be worth it unless ttec gonna pay us unsubsidized rates.

meccalli wrote:$5.00 a month worth putting out all that money for a system?

Postby timelapse » May 13th, 2022, 6:56 am

This is Trinidad.I don't need to say anything else

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 13th, 2022, 7:42 am

yes, just to get away from TTEC BS. imagine you pay $50000 for a transformer and it still belongs to them that they can use it to benefit other customers in the area. that is real forckery. i rather put the $50000 into solar. if you have a lil 1 bedroom paying $90 a month then solar is not for you.

Postby zoom rader » May 13th, 2022, 10:12 am

daring dragoon wrote:it seems to me that solar might be the way to go for spite just to fork away with TTEC. a lot of people complain their ttec bill had them consuming more kwh than the months before yet children gone back to school etc with less people home, less current to be used and yet more kwh consumed. I feel ttec making up them figures.

if i have to spend a 30k for solar with a tax bread i will do it cause it will pay for itself in 2 years.
Home use solar is the way to go.

It's just that the certain people by the help of the government wants to make a mint on it. They gonna milk you .

Just remembered solar works on a time window, which is during the day unless if you have a massive battery bank to cover the night time.

Postby zoom rader » May 13th, 2022, 10:15 am

Bro , idiots are born every day by this con.

Home solar is the way go , but the government businessmen is looking to milk you on the cost

Postby adnj » May 13th, 2022, 10:47 am

daring dragoon wrote:it seems to me that solar might be the way to go for spite just to fork away with TTEC. a lot of people complain their ttec bill had them consuming more kwh than the months before yet children gone back to school etc with less people home, less current to be used and yet more kwh consumed. I feel ttec making up them figures.

Home use solar is the way to go.

It's just that the certain people by the help of the government wants to make a mint on it. They gonna milk you .

Just remembered solar works on a time window, which is during the day unless if you have a massive battery bank to cover the night time.

Energy storage at the home is not required for a grid-connected system.

deltagulf

Postby deltagulf » December 12th, 2023, 10:31 am

Does anybody know if this policy has been implemented?

Postby goalpost » December 12th, 2023, 11:13 am

So the govt cancelled the big Orange Grove solar plant. The Brechin Castle one continues for now.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » December 12th, 2023, 1:37 pm

With how cheap our electricity is I wonder about the viability of solar power ... Has the govt done any investigations of Trinbago's geothermal potential that can compete with solar easily where you wont have to store power in batteries.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 12th, 2023, 2:34 pm

Trinidad has zero geothermal potential

Postby adnj » December 12th, 2023, 3:03 pm

Every tectonic plate boundary is a geothermal energy location. Trinidad doesn't have Iceland level GT energy potential, but it's there. Though I doubt that it can approach the current economy of burning natural gas.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » December 12th, 2023, 3:21 pm

adnj wrote:Every tectonic plate boundary is a geothermal energy location. Trinidad doesn't have Iceland level GT energy potential, but it's there. Though I doubt that it can approach the current economy of burning natural gas.

Figured as much I heard of hot springs in Trinbago ... Natural gas increases Trinbago's footprint.

Geothermal doesnt have to be better than Natural gas.

It is like when you and your friends get stranded in the wilderness and are chased by the a bear.

You dont have to run faster than the bear just faster than your slowest friend.

So Geothermal just needs to be more economic than the other options under consideration being Solar and Wind.

Postby st7 » December 12th, 2023, 4:50 pm

who runs from a bear?

be a man.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » December 12th, 2023, 5:02 pm

st7 wrote:who runs from a bear?

be a man.

Anytime I got to hike in bear country bro you are invited.

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » December 13th, 2023, 10:15 am

deltagulf wrote:Does anybody know if this policy has been implemented?

I'm not sure if it's been put into action yet, but I can tell you about something similar that happened with my friend. They started getting solar energy at home, but there was a problem because the company wasn't showing the right amount of energy they were giving.

A friend of mine started using solar energy, but they had issues with their provider not showing the amount of energy they were delivering. To solve this, they turned to IoT energy monitoring. This kind of system lets you track your energy use in real-time. It's been a game-changer for them, ensuring they get what they pay for and can monitor their energy usage accurately every day.

Postby nervewrecker » December 13th, 2023, 3:38 pm

adnj wrote:Every tectonic plate boundary is a geothermal energy location. Trinidad doesn't have Iceland level GT energy potential, but it's there. Though I doubt that it can approach the current economy of burning natural gas.
Thought was just me trying to make sense of nonsense. And we have drilling equipment and expertise. But it's taught in schools that we have zero geothermal potential.

Postby 88sins » December 13th, 2023, 4:42 pm

T&TEC pay you for electricity?
Yuh will ketch hell & never get compensation for when a surge mash up yuh appliances on the rare occasion, but is a regular payment they gonna give you. Ok.

Meanwhile
I have a slightly used bridge under a mountain to sell. It selling cheap, but only cuz I really doh use it, and it have a small defect with dirt kinda blocking the start and end. Asking $5k, serious inquiries only, financing options available.

Postby pugboy » December 13th, 2023, 6:21 pm

when a govt signs onto them climate policies they have to say these things to make it look like they on board with the other countries….

Postby goalpost » December 14th, 2023, 6:29 am

daring dragoon wrote:

yes, just to get away from TTEC BS. imagine you pay $50000 for a transformer and it still belongs to them that they can use it to benefit other customers in the area. that is real forckery. i rather put the $50000 into solar. if you have a lil 1 bedroom paying $90 a month then solar is not for you.

Just curious, since you want the infrastructure to be yours, if this transformer eventually fails or the pole or the wires burst, you paying to replace the pole or the transformer? You gonna pay ttec to send a crew to repair the wires?

Postby maj. tom » December 14th, 2023, 7:57 am

Many regions in USA/CAN electricity provider add a delivery + maintenance fee on the bill about $60 to $80 a month in addition to the KWh usage.