Re: Stuart Young on CNN's Quest

Postby sMASH » May 14th, 2022, 6:28 am

Trinispougla wrote:
sMASH wrote:^^ 'output continues to be well below historical levels'

the output inthe past was only able to barely meet the LOCAL demand.

train 1 wasnt down cause people wasnting buying lng, so it didnt make sense running the plant.
train 1 was down cause there wasnt gas for it to run.. plants on pt lisas had supply issues, as there wasnt gas to go around. train1 being down, eased up that supply limitation.

GLOBALLY, there was a reduction in demands, so there would be surplus globally. but LOCALLY, we had more DEMAND than supply.

the reason why rowley tell NGS to fund the train1 tar, was to have it ready for gas to liquify. and that was after, bg/bp/shell whoever, told the govt, WE NOT SPENDING MONEY ON THE TAR CAUSE IT DONT HAVE GAS TO SUPPLY IT TO RUN TO MAKE BACK THE MONEY... SO WE LEAVING IT TF DOWN.
and when the TAR complete, the platn still down, cause WE DONT HAVE ENOUGH GAS TO SUPPLY LOCAL DEMAND.

the global reduction in demand only affected the prices the gas was sold at, but we still had more demand than supply.

rubbish.....at the end of 2020, NGC were faced with volumes in excess of demand because off plant shut downs and a general scaling down of industrial activities as a result of Covid. They would be billed for their upstream obligations still. Long story short, the money spent of Train 1 was for maintenance in the hope that the said gas that was not used as a result of the pandemic would find a use that would be beneficial to the economy. Unfortunately, it didn't work out. But the maintenance of train 1 was not simply for a short term situation of downstreamers not needing gas. Trinidad is assured of gas from the manatee field. Potentially also the dragon field if Venezuela is welcomed back into the international community. And possibly if deep water bids prove successful. Potentially Trinidad is in the LNG business for a long time to come. And you have to make preparations for that. Gas production has been low since 2014, even though at the time we were told it was a maintenance issue, which proved to be untrue. But there is assured Natural gas in the future.
The return of Redman or another red government whoring blogger .

You kants are easy to spot spreading mis truths

why it didnt work out?

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2022, 8:38 am

sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:

train 1 wasnt down cause people wasnting buying lng, so it didnt make sense running the plant.
train 1 was down cause there wasnt gas for it to run.. plants on pt lisas had supply issues, as there wasnt gas to go around. train1 being down, eased up that supply limitation.

GLOBALLY, there was a reduction in demands, so there would be surplus globally. but LOCALLY, we had more DEMAND than supply.

the reason why rowley tell NGS to fund the train1 tar, was to have it ready for gas to liquify. and that was after, bg/bp/shell whoever, told the govt, WE NOT SPENDING MONEY ON THE TAR CAUSE IT DONT HAVE GAS TO SUPPLY IT TO RUN TO MAKE BACK THE MONEY... SO WE LEAVING IT TF DOWN.
and when the TAR complete, the platn still down, cause WE DONT HAVE ENOUGH GAS TO SUPPLY LOCAL DEMAND.

the global reduction in demand only affected the prices the gas was sold at, but we still had more demand than supply.

rubbish.....at the end of 2020, NGC were faced with volumes in excess of demand because off plant shut downs and a general scaling down of industrial activities as a result of Covid. They would be billed for their upstream obligations still. Long story short, the money spent of Train 1 was for maintenance in the hope that the said gas that was not used as a result of the pandemic would find a use that would be beneficial to the economy. Unfortunately, it didn't work out. But the maintenance of train 1 was not simply for a short term situation of downstreamers not needing gas. Trinidad is assured of gas from the manatee field. Potentially also the dragon field if Venezuela is welcomed back into the international community. And possibly if deep water bids prove successful. Potentially Trinidad is in the LNG business for a long time to come. And you have to make preparations for that. Gas production has been low since 2014, even though at the time we were told it was a maintenance issue, which proved to be untrue. But there is assured Natural gas in the future.

why it didnt work out?
Gas production was purposely kept low to squeeze Pt Lisas to extract more money from them. That's all it was about.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » May 14th, 2022, 8:49 am

sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:

why it didnt work out?

I believe I said........on more than one occasion that
1. The fields are mature
2. That production has been low since 2014
3. And that we were told in 2014 that it was a maintenance issue, which was a complete falsehood.
4. We cannot expect a vast increase in production until Manatee comes on stream in 2025
You need to read the entire passage instead of holding onto one word and making yourself look like an illiterate

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 14th, 2022, 8:56 am

Well that was cringy AF

Postby sMASH » May 14th, 2022, 9:03 am

Trinispougla wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:

why it didnt work out?

1. The fields are mature
3. And that we were told in 2014 that it was a maintenance issue, which was a complete falsehood.
4. We cannot expect a vast increase in production until Manatee comes on stream in 2025
You need to read the entire passage instead of holding onto one word and making yourself look like an illiterate

what part of that is 'decline in DEMAND' and which part of that is due to 'pandemic'?

if i was the pnm handler that send u to ague this point, i will ask u back for a refund.

-u said we suffered 'pandemic induced decline in demand'
- i told u we had supply limitations, as we have more demand than supply and the global reduction in demand did not affect us, and the example of that was that train1 was shut down.
-u said train 1 was not cause supply limitations and now saying that the feilds are mature

how de frack is mature feilds 'pandemic induced'? how de frack mature feilds is 'decrease in demand'?

let me state that ur points are SUPPLY LIMITATIONS and NOT DECLINE IN DEMAND.

hoss, what say would make sense if nobody had brains in their heads.
.... or, if u said, govt will seek to ramp up output ABOVE pre-pandemic levels.

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2022, 10:37 am

sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:

why it didnt work out?

1. The fields are mature

what part of that is 'decline in DEMAND' and which part of that is due to 'pandemic'?

if i was the pnm handler that send u to ague this point, i will ask u back for a refund.

- i told u we had supply limitations, as we have more demand than supply and the global reduction in demand did not affect us, and the example of that was that train1 was shut down.
-u said train 1 was not cause supply limitations and now saying that the feilds are mature

how de frack is mature feilds 'pandemic induced'? how de frack mature feilds is 'decrease in demand'?

Forgive him he's one of those whoring bailiser bloggers.

Postby sMASH » May 14th, 2022, 10:42 am

sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:

why it didnt work out?

1. The fields are mature

Forgive him he's one of those whoring bailiser bloggers.

man get 3 cxc pass and feel he could be a troll. at least make the points make sense.

fleckin dry wells is 'pandemic induced decrease in demand'

where the frick dese men jump out from

Postby De Dragon » May 14th, 2022, 8:12 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Kanty Goebbels keeps digging his dotish lying hole deeper. He was asked about natural gas specifically, so in addition to a useless geography lesson, he LIED about us being able to increase LNG production. No one asked your dotish, awkward arse about ammonia or methanol. It's like someone saying their hungry, and you offering them a brick

you need to listen to the interview again sir......he said that LNG production can be increased to [b]PRE-PANDEMIC [/b]levels. You are assuming that he means 2008 levels when gas production was at its peak. Didn't mean that at all. Remember production took a big hit on already mature fields due to a pandemic that crippled oil and gas prices so it is only natural that the gas companies limited production(as they did everywhere) and production fell.

No it cannot. HALF OF A BILLION MMSCFD reduction in natural gas production even BEFORE Covid cannot simply be willed into reality, Don't talk dotishness about 2008 levels because that is even further than the current output.
Yes, a company selling gas will reduce output because they can always get by with LESS revenue. :roll:

Postby De Dragon » May 14th, 2022, 8:16 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Kanty Goebbels keeps digging his dotish lying hole deeper. He was asked about natural gas specifically, so in addition to a useless geography lesson, he LIED about us being able to increase LNG production. No one asked your dotish, awkward arse about ammonia or methanol. It's like someone saying their hungry, and you offering them a brick

you need to listen to the interview again sir......he said that LNG production can be increased to PRE-PANDEMIC levels. You are assuming that he means 2008 levels when gas production was at its peak. Didn't mean that at all. Remember production took a big hit on already mature fields due to a pandemic that crippled oil and gas prices so it is only natural that the gas companies limited production(as they did everywhere) and production fell.

i dont think lng production/ nat gas extraction was affected by the pandemic. if it was affected it was by operations of the various companies, or the productivity of the feilds.
the companies staffing were affected by the pandemic, but they mitigated that.

well opinions and facts are two distinct things chief
The government will encourage further development over the next 12 months with licensing rounds for deepwater, shallow-water and onshore acreage, he said.
Gas production was running at 3.62 Bcf/d in March 2020, but has since fallen because of a pandemic-induced decline in demand. Output 2.81 Bcf/d in the first quarter of 2021 was down by 18.7pc year on year.

https://www.argusmedia.com/en/news/2223239-trinidad-aims-for-precovid-gas-levels-by-2022

Do you understand how long from award of a block to commercial production of natural gas even takes? :roll: The LFD RFD PNM has NEVER awarded a SINGLE block since 2015. If a block was even awarded today, you're looking at 5 years to bring that into commercialization. Stop eating LFD RFD PNM sheit

Postby De Dragon » May 14th, 2022, 8:20 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:

you need to listen to the interview again sir......he said that LNG production can be increased to PRE-PANDEMIC levels. You are assuming that he means 2008 levels when gas production was at its peak. Didn't mean that at all. Remember production took a big hit on already mature fields due to a pandemic that crippled oil and gas prices so it is only natural that the gas companies limited production(as they did everywhere) and production fell.

i dont think lng production/ nat gas extraction was affected by the pandemic. if it was affected it was by operations of the various companies, or the productivity of the feilds.

The government will encourage further development over the next 12 months with licensing rounds for deepwater, shallow-water and onshore acreage, he said.
Gas production was running at 3.62 Bcf/d in March 2020, but has since fallen because of a pandemic-induced decline in demand. Output 2.81 Bcf/d in the first quarter of 2021 was down by 18.7pc year on year.

https://www.argusmedia.com/en/news/2223239-trinidad-aims-for-precovid-gas-levels-by-2022

"pandemic INDUCED DECLINE IN DEMAND"
'DECLINE IN DEMAND' - people didint buy as much, so it had extra
'pandemic induced' - the pandemic reduced the demand, as people was home, not working, businesses shut down,

so, if pandemic reduced demand, then there would be surplus... surplus meaning there is gas that isnt used, so gas available.

if there is gas available, then why didnt train 1 get that extra gas?

ur saying that pandemic affected the demand, but not the supply. what i am saying is, the pandemic affected the staffing at the offshore companies, but they were able to mitigate it and keep production up, thus the supply didnt get affected by the effects on the pandemic on staffing. if there were shortfalls of supply, it was not due to staffing, it was due to equpment.

we did NOT suffer 'pandemic induced decline in demand' because we have a WHOLLLLLE train down, cause there WAS NOT ENOUGH SUPPLY OF GAS.

wheel and come again, and come good when u challenging my opinion.

I need to explain demand and supply to you too? jeez. Patnas.....if demand is low, if countries, such as the main ones we export to: the Chile's, the US etc.....if they have little or no demand for gas, then producers are going to hold or maintain their business. Proof that entire essay is rubbish is that as soon countries started to end their lockdowns(not TTO of course). demand for gas went up and their was a massive increase in production between November 2021 and January 2022.........and i fully expect the next quarterly report to be similar because there is a war in Eastern Europe that has caused commodity prices to explode. Like i said, you are mistaking an increase in NG production with a return to 2008 levels., Natural gas production has been falling since 2009, the fields are mature and which is why the GORTT has arranged with Shell and the Venezuelan government to develop our side of the Manatee field. Unfortunately for us, first gas from that field is expected in 2025. It would have been wonderful if it could have happened now with gas prices at their current levels. That is why Young's words were pre-pandemic levels

https://guardian.co.tt/business/massive-increase-in-tts-natural-gas-production-6.2.1473877.e66b5eede2

There has been a massive increase in the country’s natural gas production between last year November and January 2022. Oil production is also on the rise with an increase of about 1,500 barrels of oil per day over the three-month period.

The Ministry of Energy has not released any production figures since last November, almost four months ago, but the Business Guardian has gotten access to the figures and can today report that natural gas production moved from an average of 2.344 billion standard cubic feet per day (bscf/d) to 2.893 bscf/d in January 2022.

The increase of more than 500 million standard cubic feet per day (mmscf/d) of gas represents a growth of over 23 percent in the two-month period and could not come at a better for the country as it occurred when globally natural gas prices have been high and near record prices for several petrochemical products.

[url]
https://www.bnamericas.com/en/news/trinidad-gas-output-inches-up-as-industry-lays-out-stimulus-plan
[/url]
Latest numbers from Trinidad and Tobago’s energy ministry show a recent uptick in natural gas production although output continues well below historical levels.

Production in January grew for a second consecutive month to 81.4Mm3/d but slid 4% year-on-year to a record low for the month.

BPTT was the principal gas producer in the first month of 2022, accounting for 48% of output, followed by Shell (22%), BHP (13.7%) and EOG (12.2%).

The bulk of gas went to the production of methanol (21%) and ammonia (18%), and power generation

Which brings me back to my first point above

Wanna be economist, there is a natural gas curtailment RIGHT NOW at Pt. Lisas. WTF you talking about supply and demand.
9 plants closed their operations because of gas scarcity and price, you think that is a coincidence?

Postby De Dragon » May 14th, 2022, 8:22 pm

Trinispougla seems to be the relief pitcher for Colos and Tunts7

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2022, 8:29 pm

De Dragon wrote:Trinispougla seems to be the relief pitcher for Colos and Tunts7
Eliteauto-tuntun needs to get better bloggers from bailiser whore House

Postby sMASH » May 14th, 2022, 9:32 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:

'pandemic induced' - the pandemic reduced the demand, as people was home, not working, businesses shut down,

so, if pandemic reduced demand, then there would be surplus... surplus meaning there is gas that isnt used, so gas available.

ur saying that pandemic affected the demand, but not the supply. what i am saying is, the pandemic affected the staffing at the offshore companies, but they were able to mitigate it and keep production up, thus the supply didnt get affected by the effects on the pandemic on staffing. if there were shortfalls of supply, it was not due to staffing, it was due to equpment.

we did NOT suffer 'pandemic induced decline in demand' because we have a WHOLLLLLE train down, cause there WAS NOT ENOUGH SUPPLY OF GAS.

I need to explain demand and supply to you too? jeez. Patnas.....if demand is low, if countries, such as the main ones we export to: the Chile's, the US etc.....if they have little or no demand for gas, then producers are going to hold or maintain their business. Proof that entire essay is rubbish is that as soon countries started to end their lockdowns(not TTO of course). demand for gas went up and their was a massive increase in production between November 2021 and January 2022.........and i fully expect the next quarterly report to be similar because there is a war in Eastern Europe that has caused commodity prices to explode. Like i said, you are mistaking an increase in NG production with a return to 2008 levels., Natural gas production has been falling since 2009, the fields are mature and which is why the GORTT has arranged with Shell and the Venezuelan government to develop our side of the Manatee field. Unfortunately for us, first gas from that field is expected in 2025. It would have been wonderful if it could have happened now with gas prices at their current levels. That is why Young's words were pre-pandemic levels

https://guardian.co.tt/business/massive-increase-in-tts-natural-gas-production-6.2.1473877.e66b5eede2

There has been a massive increase in the country’s natural gas production between last year November and January 2022. Oil production is also on the rise with an increase of about 1,500 barrels of oil per day over the three-month period.

The Ministry of Energy has not released any production figures since last November, almost four months ago, but the Business Guardian has gotten access to the figures and can today report that natural gas production moved from an average of 2.344 billion standard cubic feet per day (bscf/d) to 2.893 bscf/d in January 2022.

The increase of more than 500 million standard cubic feet per day (mmscf/d) of gas represents a growth of over 23 percent in the two-month period and could not come at a better for the country as it occurred when globally natural gas prices have been high and near record prices for several petrochemical products.

[url]
https://www.bnamericas.com/en/news/trinidad-gas-output-inches-up-as-industry-lays-out-stimulus-plan
[/url]
Latest numbers from Trinidad and Tobago’s energy ministry show a recent uptick in natural gas production although output continues well below historical levels.

Production in January grew for a second consecutive month to 81.4Mm3/d but slid 4% year-on-year to a record low for the month.

BPTT was the principal gas producer in the first month of 2022, accounting for 48% of output, followed by Shell (22%), BHP (13.7%) and EOG (12.2%).

The bulk of gas went to the production of methanol (21%) and ammonia (18%), and power generation

Wanna be economist, there is a natural gas curtailment RIGHT NOW at Pt. Lisas. WTF you talking about supply and demand.
9 plants closed their operations because of gas scarcity and price, you think that is a coincidence?
Srs, I see Pablo post out Pic that m5000 now done a tar... And Atlantic train 1 off line..
And it still have curtailment?!!!
Damn... Where be this extra gas goebbels speaker of...

Damned be this decreased demand.

Postby De Dragon » May 14th, 2022, 10:37 pm

sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:

[url]
[/url]

Srs, I see Pablo post out Pic that m5000 now done a tar... And Atlantic train 1 off line..

Last week there was a curtailment so severe, several plants had to cease operations for 5 days

Postby sMASH » May 14th, 2022, 10:43 pm

sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:you need to listen to the interview again sir......he said that LNG production can be increased to PRE-PANDEMIC levels. You are assuming that he means 2008 levels when gas production was at its peak. Didn't mean that at all. Remember production took a big hit on already mature fields due to a pandemic that crippled oil and gas prices so it is only natural that the gas companies limited production(as they did everywhere) and production fell.

[url]
[/url]

Last week there was a curtailment so severe, several plants had to cease operations for 5 days

well, at least richard quest know we have gas and happy to send ting to ukraine, for de cause.

cause, there is a 'decline in demand' so gas production reduce.

where is trinispougla,,, like they ask back for his batch of fone cards...

Postby sMASH » May 19th, 2022, 11:40 pm

where is trinispougla?

https://www.guardian.co.tt/business/how ... af9012f85a

guardian wrote:
How the petrochemical sector is coming to T&T’s rescue

by
Curtis Williams
1 hour ago
Thu May 19 2022

The petrochemical sector has been a life jacket for the T&T economy admitted Finance Minister Colm Imbert as he presented the mid-year budget review last Monday.

Imbert told the Lower House that the increase in government revenue for the first six months of the fiscal year was due to higher than anticipated receipts of taxes upon incomes and profits of $3.2 billion.

“If we drill into the figures what we find is that the good performance on taxes on incomes and profits was due to higher than projected receipts collected from other companies and that category includes the petrochemical companies which are proving to be a significant, let’s call it a life jacket for T&T, due to the considerably increased prices of petrochemicals,” Imbert said.

He added, “For those of us who monitor these things one would see that the prices of petrochemicals, ammonia, methanol, urea, etc have doubled, tripled and quadrupled over the last couple years and the taxes from the petchem companies is a direct correlation with the prices of the end product, the petrochemicals, the methanol and so on. So we have had a significant boost from the petchem sector.”

US ammonia prices increased from US $487 per tonne in 2020 to US $746 per tonne in 2021, increasing US $259 per tonne, or a 53 per cent increase. The last time the anhydrous ammonia price was above $746 per tonne was in June 2014.

The price for ammonia in the US market is now over US $1,400 a tonne.

One week ago prices were US$1,425 per tonne and has been at that level since the start of May.

The story is not as stellar with methanol but still the prices are extremely strong, all good news for the country and the Minister of Finance.

According to one of the world’s largest methanol producer Methanex, its North American methanol prices have moved from US $276 in September 2020 to US $639 per tonne as of May 1, 2022.

Imbert’s revelations of the petrochemical sector as being a life raft are in keeping with the argument that were contained in the Poten and Partners Natural Gas master plan which advised government that the country earns more per molecule of natural gas from the petrochemical sector than it does from LNG.

Therefore, according to Poten and Partners, priority for natural gas should go to the downstream sector and not LNG.

The government taxes the petrochemical sector at 35 per cent corporation taxes, higher than the 30 per cent it charges other companies, and it is the same as what the banks pay.

Unlike the banks, however, the petrochemical companies also pay their taxes on profits to the government in US dollars, significantly helping government with much needed foreign exchange and the general small open economy with the hard currency needed to remain sustainable.

Further with the exception of the Caribbean Gas Chemicals Methanol Plant the petrochemical sector is mature and, therefore, not enjoying tax holidays.

High petrochemical prices also helps government by getting higher taxes at the well head from the natural gas producers as some of the well head prices are indexed to petrochemical prices.

It also helps the NGC by increasing its profits, leading to higher government taxes on profits and larger dividend payments.

While no one expect these extraordinary prices to remain so in the long term, the CEO of Methanex John Floren is predicting continued strong prices for methanol for the next two quarters or for the rest of T&T’s financial year.

Floren was asked during an earnings call in Canada what is the real value of methanol at the moment and said, “I think there are a number we always watch one is the MTO (methanol to olefin) that’s the one on the affordability curve, the one that gets impacted first.

“In the high-priced energy environment that we are seeing today, that is also very good for olefin prices because they are obviously paying more for naphtha today than they would have been this time last year, so that slipped into the cost curve nicely, so the MTO producers are running like 95 per cent today so unless you saw a huge correction in olefin prices then that would mean energy prices falling quite a lot from where they are today I think we are going to be fine on the demand side.”

He acknowledged that there is a lot of negative sentiment in the market with the current lockdown in China and the inflationary pressure but said when Methanex looks at its supply/demand balance it feels demand is holding up.

“MTOs are running well, high energy prices make the other energy applications very, very attractive for methanol, so we expect demand to continue to grow and we are watching it very closely and we have visibility throughout the globe…and we are not seeing any impact on demand.”

He said there are likely to be a number of planned outages and pointed to the fact that there was already a plant in T&T that is down. He noted this will lead to a continued favourable supply/demand balance for Methanex.

Prices have been beyond the cost curve and part of that is due to constrained global Methanex supply.

Floren told the earnings call that Methanex saw the restart of its idled plant in Trinidad as one area of growth in production for the company and was hopeful that it could be restarted.

Methanex CEO said the company wanted to ensure it would get gas at a price that it can sustain throughout the cycle and was in discussions with the government to finally restart operations.

Floren revealed that the government has told Methanex that it wanted to see all of the downstream production and was hopeful that it could get a gas deal once negotiations were concluded between the National Gas Company and the upstream suppliers.

He said, “Our focus will be on getting our idle plants in New Zealand and Trinidad restarted. So that will be our growth because they are idle today....Right now the upstream and the government are negotiating, their contracts are coming up this year and you know until that negotiation gets finalised I would say it is unlikely that Titan will secure a gas contract to allow that to restart, but those contracts will be negotiated this year and the government has told us they want to keep all the downstream alive and they just need to have their contracts negotiated with the upstream and that is ongoing.

“We are continuing to dialogue with the government and the task is to get gas at an economic price that allows us to operate Titan through the cycle and that’s what we are focused on.”

He said there are likely to be a number of planned outages and pointed to the fact that there was already a plant in T&T that is down. He noted this will lead to a continued favourable supply/demand balance for Methanex.

the man said, because plants were down and others were expected to go down every so often, that that would allow methanax to get gas to operate. in other words, only because plants will stop using gas, then the supply will be more stable for the remaining users.

how de frack do we have extra gas to ramp up supply?

dont come and ague oil/gas with people who does have to scrutinize every letter, every full stop, every decimal.

Postby De Dragon » May 21st, 2022, 2:43 pm

sMASH wrote:where is trinispougla?

https://www.guardian.co.tt/business/how ... af9012f85a

guardian wrote:
How the petrochemical sector is coming to T&T’s rescue

by
Curtis Williams
1 hour ago
Thu May 19 2022

The petrochemical sector has been a life jacket for the T&T economy admitted Finance Minister Colm Imbert as he presented the mid-year budget review last Monday.

Imbert told the Lower House that the increase in government revenue for the first six months of the fiscal year was due to higher than anticipated receipts of taxes upon incomes and profits of $3.2 billion.

“If we drill into the figures what we find is that the good performance on taxes on incomes and profits was due to higher than projected receipts collected from other companies and that category includes the petrochemical companies which are proving to be a significant, let’s call it a life jacket for T&T, due to the considerably increased prices of petrochemicals,” Imbert said.

He added, “For those of us who monitor these things one would see that the prices of petrochemicals, ammonia, methanol, urea, etc have doubled, tripled and quadrupled over the last couple years and the taxes from the petchem companies is a direct correlation with the prices of the end product, the petrochemicals, the methanol and so on. So we have had a significant boost from the petchem sector.”

US ammonia prices increased from US $487 per tonne in 2020 to US $746 per tonne in 2021, increasing US $259 per tonne, or a 53 per cent increase. The last time the anhydrous ammonia price was above $746 per tonne was in June 2014.

The price for ammonia in the US market is now over US $1,400 a tonne.

One week ago prices were US$1,425 per tonne and has been at that level since the start of May.

The story is not as stellar with methanol but still the prices are extremely strong, all good news for the country and the Minister of Finance.

According to one of the world’s largest methanol producer Methanex, its North American methanol prices have moved from US $276 in September 2020 to US $639 per tonne as of May 1, 2022.

Imbert’s revelations of the petrochemical sector as being a life raft are in keeping with the argument that were contained in the Poten and Partners Natural Gas master plan which advised government that the country earns more per molecule of natural gas from the petrochemical sector than it does from LNG.

Therefore, according to Poten and Partners, priority for natural gas should go to the downstream sector and not LNG.

The government taxes the petrochemical sector at 35 per cent corporation taxes, higher than the 30 per cent it charges other companies, and it is the same as what the banks pay.

Unlike the banks, however, the petrochemical companies also pay their taxes on profits to the government in US dollars, significantly helping government with much needed foreign exchange and the general small open economy with the hard currency needed to remain sustainable.

Further with the exception of the Caribbean Gas Chemicals Methanol Plant the petrochemical sector is mature and, therefore, not enjoying tax holidays.

High petrochemical prices also helps government by getting higher taxes at the well head from the natural gas producers as some of the well head prices are indexed to petrochemical prices.

It also helps the NGC by increasing its profits, leading to higher government taxes on profits and larger dividend payments.

While no one expect these extraordinary prices to remain so in the long term, the CEO of Methanex John Floren is predicting continued strong prices for methanol for the next two quarters or for the rest of T&T’s financial year.

Floren was asked during an earnings call in Canada what is the real value of methanol at the moment and said, “I think there are a number we always watch one is the MTO (methanol to olefin) that’s the one on the affordability curve, the one that gets impacted first.

“In the high-priced energy environment that we are seeing today, that is also very good for olefin prices because they are obviously paying more for naphtha today than they would have been this time last year, so that slipped into the cost curve nicely, so the MTO producers are running like 95 per cent today so unless you saw a huge correction in olefin prices then that would mean energy prices falling quite a lot from where they are today I think we are going to be fine on the demand side.”

He acknowledged that there is a lot of negative sentiment in the market with the current lockdown in China and the inflationary pressure but said when Methanex looks at its supply/demand balance it feels demand is holding up.

“MTOs are running well, high energy prices make the other energy applications very, very attractive for methanol, so we expect demand to continue to grow and we are watching it very closely and we have visibility throughout the globe…and we are not seeing any impact on demand.”

Prices have been beyond the cost curve and part of that is due to constrained global Methanex supply.

Floren told the earnings call that Methanex saw the restart of its idled plant in Trinidad as one area of growth in production for the company and was hopeful that it could be restarted.

Methanex CEO said the company wanted to ensure it would get gas at a price that it can sustain throughout the cycle and was in discussions with the government to finally restart operations.

Floren revealed that the government has told Methanex that it wanted to see all of the downstream production and was hopeful that it could get a gas deal once negotiations were concluded between the National Gas Company and the upstream suppliers.

He said, “Our focus will be on getting our idle plants in New Zealand and Trinidad restarted. So that will be our growth because they are idle today....Right now the upstream and the government are negotiating, their contracts are coming up this year and you know until that negotiation gets finalised I would say it is unlikely that Titan will secure a gas contract to allow that to restart, but those contracts will be negotiated this year and the government has told us they want to keep all the downstream alive and they just need to have their contracts negotiated with the upstream and that is ongoing.

“We are continuing to dialogue with the government and the task is to get gas at an economic price that allows us to operate Titan through the cycle and that’s what we are focused on.”

the man said, because plants were down and others were expected to go down every so often, that that would allow methanax to get gas to operate. in other words, only because plants will stop using gas, then the supply will be more stable for the remaining users.

how de frack do we have extra gas to ramp up supply?

dont come and ague oil/gas with people who does have to scrutinize every letter, every full stop, every decimal.

Remember, the equally moronic, LFD RFD PNM appointed Contrad tried to use just that inane piece of jackarsery to justify a quarter million dollar TAR for Train ! Kants singing from the same dotish kant book :roll:

Postby De Dragon » May 22nd, 2022, 9:31 am

Gas curtailment again last night and today. Goebbels like dey start sending de gyas Europe arrready?
What a bunch of lying, inept, morons.
What a bunch of gullible, deluded, soft headed supporters

Postby sMASH » May 22nd, 2022, 10:18 am

^^wtf.... allyuh gonna get more reformer and boiler tube blow outs again... across the estate.

it not good to be cycling pressure and temps in them equipment!... oho

Postby De Dragon » May 22nd, 2022, 11:49 am

sMASH wrote:^^wtf.... allyuh gonna get more reformer and boiler tube blow outs again... across the estate.

At least Europe go be inna gear :roll:

Postby sMASH » May 22nd, 2022, 4:11 pm

sMASH wrote:^^wtf.... allyuh gonna get more reformer and boiler tube blow outs again... across the estate.

At least Europe go be inna gear :roll:

wonder if they want some booster compressors..... never use, jess install and put down.. piper price.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 23rd, 2022, 11:04 am

Postby De Dragon » May 23rd, 2022, 11:16 am

Cantmis wrote:https://www.offshore-energy.biz/klaipeda-lng-terminal-receives-1st-delivery-of-lng-for-pgnig/

https://jpt.spe.org/sempra-pgnig-ink-de ... -terminals

I thought we were getting the extra sales !

The only thing being sold is a bill of goods to dotish LFD RFD PNM supporters, by JUHN Scarfy, Goebbels and Impsy and the corrupt and lying LFD RFD PNM. Sadly, it works EVERY SINGLE TIME!

Postby sMASH » May 23rd, 2022, 11:35 am

Cantmis wrote:https://www.offshore-energy.biz/klaipeda-lng-terminal-receives-1st-delivery-of-lng-for-pgnig/

https://jpt.spe.org/sempra-pgnig-ink-de ... -terminals

I thought we were getting the extra sales !

The only thing being sold is a bill of goods to dotish LFD RFD PNM supporters, by JUHN Scarfy, Goebbels and Impsy and the corrupt and lying LFD RFD PNM. Sadly, it works EVERY SINGLE TIME!

Postby bluefete » June 1st, 2022, 2:04 pm

Postby De Dragon » June 1st, 2022, 9:41 pm

Curtailment right now again in Pt. Lisas.
Dumbo JUHN Scarfy says supply go be tight from 2024 to 2028 :? Numbf*ck, supplies have been tight for years! Exacerbated by the fact that you and your lame arse government did absolutely nothing to secure more gas, except play energy expert negotiator with yuh boy toy Goebbels and saddle plants with gas prices that forced several of them to shutter their facilities.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 1st, 2022, 10:05 pm

Every one is complaining and fair enough but serious question, what is a good workable plan that the state could undertake to salvage or get Pt. Lisas operating at a respectable level?

Or is that too much to accomplish right now?

Also what is going on with Atlantic? How many trains are up and running? What are they taking or asking for or getting right now?

Postby sMASH » June 1st, 2022, 10:50 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Every one is complaining and fair enough but serious question, what is a good workable plan that the state could undertake to salvage or get Pt. Lisas operating at a respectable level?

Also what is going on with Atlantic? How many trains are up and running? What are they taking or asking for or getting right now?

if u use two can of gas to cut the grass in a lawn, but u only have one... what would u need?

Postby De Dragon » June 1st, 2022, 11:54 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Every one is complaining and fair enough but serious question, what is a good workable plan that the state could undertake to salvage or get Pt. Lisas operating at a respectable level?

The decline in gas production in itself was inevitable. What was/is almost criminal, was not awarding a SINGLE exploration block during the entirety of JUHN Scarfy's term as PM. They seemed to have placed all their hopes on Dragon Gas :roll: Now all of a sudden when gas production has fallen to critical levels, comes the announcement of "an aggressive bid round". If ever there was a case of bolting the barn door after the horse has run off, this is it.
We have a huge uphill task to not only return to the gas production of a few years ago, and to have enough surplus to attract investment.
AFAIK Trains 2, 3 and 4 are running normally, while the Train in which we dotishly poured 250M into :roll: , is shuttered still, with no gas for it in the foreseeable future.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 1st, 2022, 11:54 pm

^^^ That bad eh....

Another question to the "upstreamers" what do our deepwater prospects look like?