Re: Guyana’s Vice President Bharath Jagdeo says that “T&T is falling apart.”

Postby SuperiorMan » March 26th, 2022, 1:17 pm

This all I seeing in this thread

Postby j.o.e » March 26th, 2022, 1:29 pm

Top 10 Facts About Living Conditions in Guyana
Poverty: Unfortunately, Guyana is very poor as over a third of its population lives in poverty. Along with this, Guyana ranks 164 out of 228 nations in human development.
Political Parties are Ethnically Based: There are multiple ethnic groups in Guyana. Forty percent of Guyana’s population is South Asian and are descendants of those brought over for indentured servitude. Meanwhile, about 30 percent are Afro-Guyanese (Guyanese of African descent) are the descendants of ancestors who went to Guyana to work the plantations. Additionally, 20 percent have mixed heritage and 10 percent are indigenous. These differing ethnicities have led to the formation of a number of political parties. There are three main political parties including the People’s National Congress, the People’s Progressive Party, the Alliance for Change and several smaller political parties. These parties include the different ethnicities present in the country, which has led to issues. Some people feel that President David Granger favors his own ethnicity.
Political Tensions: An example of Granger favoring his own ethnicity over others is when he cut subsidies for the sugar industry while making no cuts against the government bureaucracy. This is problematic because a majority of the government is Afro-Guyanese, Granger’s ethnicity, whereas most people who work on sugar plantations are Indo-Guyanese. Although there have been some ethnic-related tensions, Granger has made improvements. An effort to lower the rate of AIDs, which has become an issue for all in recent years, shows this. Since 2010, the rate of AIDS and HIV has increased by over 10 percent.
Emigration: An important point among these 10 facts about living conditions in Guyana is the fact that there is a significant amount of emigration that takes place each year. In 2013, over 7,000 people emigrated. A study also determined that 40 percent of people in Guyana would emigrate if they could. Motivators to leave the country might be a lack of political support and job opportunities. In order to combat this President Granger has raised funds to improve the national public university and increased teachers’ salaries.
Human Resource Drain: Many people leave Guyana because of a lack of jobs. The current unemployment rate in the world is around 5 percent, whereas, in 2017, Guyana’s unemployment rate was 12 percent. Many young Guyanese people are moving to large cities such as New York to secure work. Even though the jobs they get might be low paying, stressful and below their educational levels, having a job that pays is better than not having employment. People who come to work in big cities often send money back to their families in Guyana. All of this emigration leads to the country having a reduced number of human resources. Many of the people who leave have skills and are professional. In fact, 80 percent of students from the University of Guyana leave the country statistically.
Improving Education: Many qualified individuals are leaving the country. A focus on improving youth education has occurred to combat the loss of educated people. An example of this is a partnership between the NGO Family Awareness Consciousness & Togetherness with the U.S. Government that aims to support youth education. The NGO has received a grant of $64,800, which will provide after-school activities, lessons and homework based around arts, sports and life skills. This program is for 80 children between the ages of 10 and 18 in the town of Corriverton, Guyana. Eventually, the NGO hopes to spread these after-school activities to the surrounding communities.
Newfound Money and Potential Issues: The mass amounts of money from oil could present some issues because of the current political tensions. Troy Thomas, the head of global anti-corruption NGO Transparency International, stated that “corruption is rampant.” An example of the corruption that Thomas speaks of was in December 2018 when the governing coalition lost a no-confidence vote, yet disregarded the results. It responded by challenging the vote in courts, which resulted in the occurrence of protests. On September 20, 2019, hundreds of People’s Progressive Party Civic supporters and members protested outside of a hotel where President Garner was to deliver a speech to the business community, who were mainly his ethnicity, Afro-Guyanese. Members and supporters of the People’s Progressive Party Civic feel Granger will use the newfound money from oil to only help the Afro-Guyanese.
Oil to Help the Economy: Among the 10 facts about living conditions in Guyana is the fact that the country’s newfound oil should greatly improve the economy. Predictions determine that the overall economy should grow by 86 percent by 2020. This is 14 times more than China’s predicted rate. Along with this, according to the International Monetary Fund, the oil revenues should reach $631 million by the year 2024.
Guyana and Greener Practices: Guyana has made a commitment to the Green State Development Strategy. This is a long-term plan that will use the money from oil to improve the lives of all ethnicities within Guyana. To achieve this goal, Guyana hopes to create quality education, social protection and low carbon development that is resilient. These things will lead to new economic possibilities. This strategy calls for using the country’s investments to implement more environmentally friendly practices. Guyana will focus on how this change affects agriculture, forestry, energy and road transport infrastructure. By 2040, Guyana wants to transition to nearly 100 percent renewable and clean energy sources for generating electricity. Another main aim of this strategy is to provide all people with necessities, including safe and affordable housing, water, sanitation facilities and electricity.
The Green State Development Strategy to Create Jobs Through Tourism: A focus of the Green State Development Strategy is to lessen poverty through things such as creating more jobs. A way that this strategy hopes to create jobs is through tourism. In 2018 alone, tourism led to the creation of 22,000 jobs. The Guyana Tourism Authority stated that tourism is the country’s second-largest export sector, bringing in nearly $30 million to the economy in 2018. The Ministry of Business in Guyana predicts that tourism and travel will make up nearly 8 percent of the country’s GDP in 2019.
When it comes to these 10 facts about living conditions in Guyana, the country has faced political and economic issues, but this has the potential to change soon. After finding over five billion barrels worth of oil off the coast, Guyana’s potential for economic growth skyrocketed. Predications state that Guyana’s GDP should triple within the next five years.

This new influx of money will allow Guyana to improve the lives of all ethnicities within the country. Guyana should be able to achieve this by investing money into education, job creation, natural resources and tourism while using greener practices.

https://borgenproject.org/top-10-facts- ... in-guyana/

This is a sheit hole. Now it’s a sheit hole that has oil. Hopefully the regular people see some benefit …. Until then he should hush his skunt.

Postby adnj » March 26th, 2022, 1:36 pm

j.o.e wrote:Top 10 Facts About Living Conditions in Guyana
Poverty: Unfortunately, Guyana is very poor as over a third of its population lives in poverty. Along with this, Guyana ranks 164 out of 228 nations in human development.
Political Parties are Ethnically Based: There are multiple ethnic groups in Guyana. Forty percent of Guyana’s population is South Asian and are descendants of those brought over for indentured servitude. Meanwhile, about 30 percent are Afro-Guyanese (Guyanese of African descent) are the descendants of ancestors who went to Guyana to work the plantations. Additionally, 20 percent have mixed heritage and 10 percent are indigenous. These differing ethnicities have led to the formation of a number of political parties. There are three main political parties including the People’s National Congress, the People’s Progressive Party, the Alliance for Change and several smaller political parties. These parties include the different ethnicities present in the country, which has led to issues. Some people feel that President David Granger favors his own ethnicity.
Political Tensions: An example of Granger favoring his own ethnicity over others is when he cut subsidies for the sugar industry while making no cuts against the government bureaucracy. This is problematic because a majority of the government is Afro-Guyanese, Granger’s ethnicity, whereas most people who work on sugar plantations are Indo-Guyanese. Although there have been some ethnic-related tensions, Granger has made improvements. An effort to lower the rate of AIDs, which has become an issue for all in recent years, shows this. Since 2010, the rate of AIDS and HIV has increased by over 10 percent.
Emigration: An important point among these 10 facts about living conditions in Guyana is the fact that there is a significant amount of emigration that takes place each year. In 2013, over 7,000 people emigrated. A study also determined that 40 percent of people in Guyana would emigrate if they could. Motivators to leave the country might be a lack of political support and job opportunities. In order to combat this President Granger has raised funds to improve the national public university and increased teachers’ salaries.
Human Resource Drain: Many people leave Guyana because of a lack of jobs. The current unemployment rate in the world is around 5 percent, whereas, in 2017, Guyana’s unemployment rate was 12 percent. Many young Guyanese people are moving to large cities such as New York to secure work. Even though the jobs they get might be low paying, stressful and below their educational levels, having a job that pays is better than not having employment. People who come to work in big cities often send money back to their families in Guyana. All of this emigration leads to the country having a reduced number of human resources. Many of the people who leave have skills and are professional. In fact, 80 percent of students from the University of Guyana leave the country statistically.
Improving Education: Many qualified individuals are leaving the country. A focus on improving youth education has occurred to combat the loss of educated people. An example of this is a partnership between the NGO Family Awareness Consciousness & Togetherness with the U.S. Government that aims to support youth education. The NGO has received a grant of $64,800, which will provide after-school activities, lessons and homework based around arts, sports and life skills. This program is for 80 children between the ages of 10 and 18 in the town of Corriverton, Guyana. Eventually, the NGO hopes to spread these after-school activities to the surrounding communities.
Newfound Money and Potential Issues: The mass amounts of money from oil could present some issues because of the current political tensions. Troy Thomas, the head of global anti-corruption NGO Transparency International, stated that “corruption is rampant.” An example of the corruption that Thomas speaks of was in December 2018 when the governing coalition lost a no-confidence vote, yet disregarded the results. It responded by challenging the vote in courts, which resulted in the occurrence of protests. On September 20, 2019, hundreds of People’s Progressive Party Civic supporters and members protested outside of a hotel where President Garner was to deliver a speech to the business community, who were mainly his ethnicity, Afro-Guyanese. Members and supporters of the People’s Progressive Party Civic feel Granger will use the newfound money from oil to only help the Afro-Guyanese.
Oil to Help the Economy: Among the 10 facts about living conditions in Guyana is the fact that the country’s newfound oil should greatly improve the economy. Predictions determine that the overall economy should grow by 86 percent by 2020. This is 14 times more than China’s predicted rate. Along with this, according to the International Monetary Fund, the oil revenues should reach $631 million by the year 2024.
Guyana and Greener Practices: Guyana has made a commitment to the Green State Development Strategy. This is a long-term plan that will use the money from oil to improve the lives of all ethnicities within Guyana. To achieve this goal, Guyana hopes to create quality education, social protection and low carbon development that is resilient. These things will lead to new economic possibilities. This strategy calls for using the country’s investments to implement more environmentally friendly practices. Guyana will focus on how this change affects agriculture, forestry, energy and road transport infrastructure. By 2040, Guyana wants to transition to nearly 100 percent renewable and clean energy sources for generating electricity. Another main aim of this strategy is to provide all people with necessities, including safe and affordable housing, water, sanitation facilities and electricity.
The Green State Development Strategy to Create Jobs Through Tourism: A focus of the Green State Development Strategy is to lessen poverty through things such as creating more jobs. A way that this strategy hopes to create jobs is through tourism. In 2018 alone, tourism led to the creation of 22,000 jobs. The Guyana Tourism Authority stated that tourism is the country’s second-largest export sector, bringing in nearly $30 million to the economy in 2018. The Ministry of Business in Guyana predicts that tourism and travel will make up nearly 8 percent of the country’s GDP in 2019.
When it comes to these 10 facts about living conditions in Guyana, the country has faced political and economic issues, but this has the potential to change soon. After finding over five billion barrels worth of oil off the coast, Guyana’s potential for economic growth skyrocketed. Predications state that Guyana’s GDP should triple within the next five years.

This new influx of money will allow Guyana to improve the lives of all ethnicities within the country. Guyana should be able to achieve this by investing money into education, job creation, natural resources and tourism while using greener practices.

https://borgenproject.org/top-10-facts- ... in-guyana/

This is a sheit hole. Now it’s a sheit hole that has oil. Hopefully the regular people see some benefit …. Until then he should hush his skunt.

Guyanese GDP is expected to grow just in time to see worldwide petroleum demand start to decline.

---------

Even if governments make no further climate change commitments, oil demand is expected to peak right after 2025 at 97 million barrels per day (bpd), and then decline to 77 million bpd by 2050

https://fortune.com/2021/10/13/oil-dema ... utlook/amp

Postby The_Honourable » March 26th, 2022, 1:38 pm

mero wrote:
mero wrote:So basically WTN, Guyanese edition.
Injuns are better in running a parlour to a country.

Kwame better off working for injuns
Explain with use of examples

Careful Zoom... before mods hit yuh a baptist ban till easter.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 26th, 2022, 1:39 pm

88sins wrote:This thread gave me my daily laugh.

The president of a country that has been in shambles for the better part of 60 years, with an abominable track record and zero indication of turning that trend around 180 degrees, claiming that this country falling apart.

What happen, like he want to go into a career in comedy when the people kick him out of politics or sumn?

most of that 60 years guyana was mismanaged by burnham and hoyte who run the country into the ground until cheddi and janet made it recover then jagdeo and increased rice production to export levels. then granger fork it up again. them kinda people cant run anything just look at trinidad only when the injun running the show the country does prosper.

Postby j.o.e » March 26th, 2022, 1:55 pm

daring dragoon wrote:

The president of a country that has been in shambles for the better part of 60 years, with an abominable track record and zero indication of turning that trend around 180 degrees, claiming that this country falling apart.

What happen, like he want to go into a career in comedy when the people kick him out of politics or sumn?

most of that 60 years guyana was mismanaged by burnham and hoyte who run the country into the ground until cheddi and janet made it recover then jagdeo and increased rice production to export levels. then granger fork it up again. them kinda people cant run anything just look at trinidad only when the injun running the show the country does prosper.

How come they can’t stay in power here? Hadda be doing something wrong. Prosperity will make anyone keep voting for them.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » March 26th, 2022, 1:58 pm

j.o.e wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

How come they can’t stay in power here? Hadda be doing something wrong. Prosperity will make anyone keep voting for them.

People vote on race.

Postby Chimera » March 26th, 2022, 2:08 pm

j.o.e wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

Race stronger than anything.

People will happily eat rice and butter rather than let them evil Indian back in power.

Postby j.o.e » March 26th, 2022, 2:23 pm

What are some of the projects or initiatives that the UNC govt started that brought prosperity ? In their defense I don’t think they were ever in power long enough to do any meaningful long term project.
I do think they are generous with that they give … grants, laptops etc but that doesn’t bring revenue. So was just looking for examples.

Postby hover11 » March 26th, 2022, 2:40 pm

j.o.e wrote:What are some of the projects or initiatives that the UNC govt started that brought prosperity ? In their defense I don’t think they were ever in power long enough to do any meaningful long term project.
I do think they are generous with that they give … grants, laptops etc but that doesn’t bring revenue. So was just looking for examples.
Flip side to this, what has PNM done other than sink the country in debt , how many loans we paying and how many deficit budgets have we faced. Yes thank you Manning we have nice water front buildings, other than that what we have to show...economy in shambles, still a banana republic, not even attempting to move away from such.

Postby j.o.e » March 26th, 2022, 2:46 pm

hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:What are some of the projects or initiatives that the UNC govt started that brought prosperity ? In their defense I don’t think they were ever in power long enough to do any meaningful long term project.
Flip side to this, what has PNM done other than sink the country in debt , how many loans we paying and how many deficit budgets have we faced. Yes thank you Manning we have nice water front buildings, other than that what we have to show...economy in shambles, still a banana republic, not even attempting to move away from such.

I’m specifically asking about revenue earners. Like Point Lisas for example.
I’m asking because I’m trying to judge the income earning projects

Postby hover11 » March 26th, 2022, 3:05 pm

j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:

You speak of revenue earners, fine no problem, what about agriculture, we had caroni the government closed it down , we had a cocoa industry , government closed it down, so we going to eat oil and natural gas, our revenue earner should have been focused on feeding ourselves saving forex......a whole war is looming and we better pray it doesn't escalate because we would have empty shelves in our groceries because we were focused on energy revenue earners only

Guyana has sugar ,rice ,cocoa and a healthy agriculture sector , all the geep geep and ha ha they could feed themselves, Question is can we?

Postby RedVEVO » March 26th, 2022, 3:09 pm

daring dragoon wrote:

Preach brother ! Preach ..

Wait , wait wait one uno momento .. but Faris, DailySingh and Rohan not running the show ?

You soooo ... :drinking:

Postby j.o.e » March 26th, 2022, 3:17 pm

hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:

You speak of revenue earners, fine no problem, what about agriculture, we had caroni the government closed it down , we had a cocoa industry , government closed it down, so we going to eat oil and natural gas, our revenue earner should have been focused on feeding ourselves saving forex......a whole war is looming and we better pray it doesn't escalate because we would have empty shelves in our groceries because we were focused on energy revenue earners only

Guyana has sugar ,rice ,cocoa and a healthy agriculture sector , all the geep geep and ha ha they could feed themselves, Question is can we?

Again. I asked about revenue earners opened or even initiated by UNC led govts. None of those things you mentioned that are no more were opened by a UNC govt. It’s a very specific question I’m asking based on the discussion about wealth generation happening before

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 26th, 2022, 3:17 pm

j.o.e wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

trini injuns are nemakarams as basdeo panday said. they does "do for yuh' and they go run open they own party like team unity and cop to split the vote or do mischief in the back like vaskant bigrat and they does rather bring down a next injun.
i guyana i have not seen any racism between indian and negro. they have about 6 races there and i have never seen racism.

Postby RedVEVO » March 26th, 2022, 3:24 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

trini injuns are nemakarams as basdeo panday said. they does "do for yuh' and they go run open they own party like team unity and cop to split the vote or do mischief in the back like vaskant bigrat and they does rather bring down a next injun.
i guyana i have not seen any racism between indian and negro. they have about 6 races there and i have never seen racism.

Why you does lie so ? :drinking:

Postby Gladiator » March 26th, 2022, 3:25 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

You for real bro...a civil war nearly break out a couple years ago in Guyana between Africans and Indians...many were killed.

Postby hover11 » March 26th, 2022, 3:40 pm

PM on VP of Guyana's comment: "We will not be distracted by that." #Presser

You won't be distracted by the truth....well ok

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 26th, 2022, 3:47 pm

i have been in an out of guyana every month for the last 4 years and i walk in georgetown at night men cutting hair, liming and i have never seen racism like in TT. events, functions, religious events, sports even they way people employ people i have seen an equality that not in TT.
if racism there i havent see it.

Postby zoom rader » March 26th, 2022, 4:16 pm

Golconda just in the back of Duncan Village .

A lot of African folk took the offer of lands and built their own homes.

It was UNC that started UTT which was TTIT

Heritage and stabilisation fund that the red government rapes and gives to the 1% . That was started by the UNC.

Development of neglected South lands

An airport which is the best in the
region.

World class indoor cycling velodrome to which Trinidad holds the world record
Last edited by zoom rader on March 26th, 2022, 4:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » March 26th, 2022, 4:21 pm

daring dragoon wrote:i have been in an out of guyana every month for the last 4 years and i walk in georgetown at night men cutting hair, liming and i have never seen racism like in TT. events, functions, religious events, sports even they way people employ people i have seen an equality that not in TT.

Just curious, are you Indo?

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » March 26th, 2022, 4:48 pm

daring dragoon wrote:i have been in an out of guyana every month for the last 4 years and i walk in georgetown at night men cutting hair, liming and i have never seen racism like in TT. events, functions, religious events, sports even they way people employ people i have seen an equality that not in TT.

Sorry bruh ... I lived in Guyana for over 15yrs ... Racism is there in Guyana it is way worse than Trinidad ... People use the C word there to refer to East Indians like it is going out of style.

Where you in Guyana during elections when those 2 African boys were killed in Berbice did you hear what people were saying?

Where you in Guyana during elections? That is normally when the racism and behavior is at it's worst honestly bro you have to be wearing blinkers. There has been race riots in Guyana storming of presidents office people killed in rioting.

In Trini people talk but being the wrong race in the wrong village in Guyana along the east coast can cost you your life.

Which companies have you worked for in Guyana? Certain companies you will only see folks with curly hair cleaning the floors if at all.

Yes Racism and racist people exist everywhere but even Guyanese I know acknowledge racism is less prevalent in Trinidad

Postby De Dragon » March 26th, 2022, 4:51 pm

Forbes did for Guyana did what Eric did here. Pitted 2 races against each other to consolidate power.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » March 26th, 2022, 5:07 pm

De Dragon wrote:Forbes did for Guyana did what Eric did here. Pitted 2 races against each other to consolidate power.

Forbes Burnham aka Fat boy dead 37ys now ... Cheddi dead nearly 25yrs now ... and Janet 13yrs now ... Ole time story

Whole generations have past ... people need to move on ... especially Guyanese ...

Jagdeo is correct about the Trinbago economy but when Jagdeo speaks you need to understand the context to which he is speaking ... ministers where in Trinidad trying to woe Guyanese living in Trinbago to come back ... Guyana needs Trini businesses to come there and invest they still need Trini money not really the TT dollars. GT people arent prideful them dont mind as they say in GT "Ask for a help"

About 2 weeks ago President Ali announced Republic Bank set up a 100mil USD fund for regional agriculture who is the majority share holder in Republic bank. Republic bank issued a 150mil USD bond for Guysuco Guyana Sugar corporation in 2018 I think it was.

For me time the TTGov and businesses focus in area's where they will be appreciated before you all end up having to forgive another 500mil USD like Panday did in 96 was it.

Infrastructure is poor in Guyana maybe opportunities will exist there for that but they have essentially said unless you are doing joint ventures in energy it is off limit to any company that isnt majority Guyanese owned.

Manufacturing electricity prices to high ... agriculture port facilities poor and also flooding is an issue along the coast ... cost of labour while currently cheap the cost of which is rising rapidly and the young Guyanese aint business with sweating it out in the sun.

Postby j.o.e » March 26th, 2022, 5:24 pm

Heritage and stabilisation fund that the red government rapes and gives to the 1% . That was started by the UNC.

region.

Revenue earners ? H&S is very good tho

Postby adnj » March 26th, 2022, 5:33 pm

j.o.e wrote:

region.

Revenue earners ? H&S is very good tho
You're right. Other than H&S, nothing on that list is driving GDP growth according to Investopedia.

Main Drivers of Trinidad and Tobago's Economy

Trinidad and Tobago (T&T) has had a robust economy over the last decade primarily because of rapid growth in its production of natural gas and the country's substantial exports of petrochemicals. The income earned through the energy sector constitutes a large percentage of T&T's total GDP, government revenues and foreign exchange earnings.1 Although T&T has been heavily reliant on energy-based revenues, the government implemented initiatives to diversify their economy. Specifically, T&T's manufacturing sector is benefiting from a suite of government incentives directed at reducing costs and hurdles to doing business. The government is also encouraging foreign and local investors who are interested in tourism-based enterprises.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 26th, 2022, 5:48 pm

Both set of jackarses think they party could run a country. None of them cud run sh*t cause they only rely on handouts to buy votes.

So Raj or Kwame still on sh*t and cyah run nothing and will only have to rely on corruption to get ahead. Send me a Brad to run things.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 26th, 2022, 5:52 pm

hover11 wrote:PM on VP of Guyana's comment: "We will not be distracted by that." #Presser

You won't be distracted by the truth....well ok

For a lazy arse public servant you have relll mouth inno

Postby timelapse » March 26th, 2022, 6:33 pm

Why he didn't say Trinidad falling apart because there are too many Guyanese that fled their sinking ship and doing whatever they want over here?

Postby MaxPower » March 26th, 2022, 8:00 pm

timelapse wrote:Why he didn't say Trinidad falling apart because there are too many Guyanese that fled their sinking ship and doing whatever they want over here?

times,

I can agree to an extent. The Guyanese here are really despicable and are bringing down our country even more. Both Trini and Guyanese are going competition to see who is the more failure in society.

But friends, ask yourselves….are we really falling apart?

I can tell you that the answer is NOT no…so absorb the true answer and bring your dumb ass selves to reality.