Re: Another Boeing take a nose dive.

Postby Rovin » March 23rd, 2022, 11:40 am

i doubt anybody cud survive a straight nose dive like dat ... rel traggic

Postby sMASH » March 23rd, 2022, 6:42 pm

MaxPower wrote:Boeing breathes a sigh of relief as it was not a Max.
Next tin yuh hear, it get the software update fir the max by mistake.... Lolz.

I still eh trust that max.

Postby shogun » March 25th, 2022, 12:06 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:This is the shocking moment a passenger plane carrying 132 nosedives vertically into a mountain at 400mph.

Damn.

Thaz something I haven't seen before? In for flight data for more info.

xtech

Postby xtech » May 17th, 2022, 6:30 pm

China air crash that killed 132 may have been deliberate, says US report

black box recorders from Boeing 737-800 indicate intentional input from cockpit

The plane did what it was told to do Engineers should add auto correct when to much input is detected

https://amp.theguardian.com/world/2022/ ... -us-report

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 18th, 2022, 2:08 am

So now a new feature to be added to all airplanes would be "anti-suicide" mode. Imagine all of a sudden the pilot says look fire bun life yes and heads to the nearest mountain head-on, sensors should detect this maniac behavior and save the aircraft. Upon landing, take his wings away for life and throw in jail for 50 years.

Postby 88sins » May 18th, 2022, 5:06 am

agent007 wrote:So now a new feature to be added to all airplanes would be "anti-suicide" mode. Imagine all of a sudden the pilot says look fire bun life yes and heads to the nearest mountain head-on, sensors should detect this maniac behavior and save the aircraft. Upon landing, take his wings away for life and throw in jail for 50 years.

Nice idea, but
Once he still in the cockpit with the door locked from the inside, what's to stop him from sabotaging the electronics and causing a crash anyway?

China Flight 5735 Crash

Postby maj. tom » March 6th, 2023, 9:37 am

xtech wrote:China air crash that killed 132 may have been deliberate, says US report

black box recorders from Boeing 737-800 indicate intentional input from cockpit

The plane did what it was told to do Engineers should add auto correct when to much input is detected

https://amp.theguardian.com/world/2022/ ... -us-report

China Eastern Airlines Flight 5735.
I was just catching up reading the report for this airplane crash last year. There were no distress or mayday calls from the cockpit. The flight recorder was found intact and recoverable.

Deliberate by the pilot still seems to be the best answer. 132 souls. No "why?" explanations from China.

China Eastern Black Box Points to Intentional Nosedive
Flight data suggests someone in cockpit pushed Boeing 737-800 into near-vertical descent

Flight data indicates someone in the cockpit intentionally crashed a China Eastern jet earlier this year, according to people familiar with U.S. officials’ preliminary assessment of what led to the accident.

The Boeing 737-800 was cruising at high altitude when it suddenly pitched into a near-vertical descent, plummeting into a mountain at extreme speed. Data from a black box recovered in the crash suggests inputs to the controls pushed the plane into the fatal dive, these people said.

“The plane did what it was told to do by someone in the cockpit,” said a person who is familiar with American officials’ preliminary assessment, which includes an analysis of information extracted from the plane’s damaged flight-data recorder.
https://www.wsj.com/articles/china-eastern-black-box-points-to-intentional-nosedive-11652805097

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/China_Eastern_Airlines_Flight_5735

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 6th, 2023, 10:30 am

agent007 wrote:So now a new feature to be added to all airplanes would be "anti-suicide" mode. Imagine all of a sudden the pilot says look fire bun life yes and heads to the nearest mountain head-on, sensors should detect this maniac behavior and save the aircraft. Upon landing, take his wings away for life and throw in jail for 50 years.

Nice idea, but
Once he still in the cockpit with the door locked from the inside, what's to stop him from sabotaging the electronics and causing a crash anyway?

They would plan it in such a way that the autopilot module is away from the cockpit.

Good for hijackings as well. Just isolate the cockpit and lock it down into a jail cell. And cut comms to all electronics contained within.

Actually, cut power to the cockpit as well. Maybe make it a faraday cage so extra wireless comms can't come in/go out.

Postby MaxPower » March 6th, 2023, 10:36 am

Ruff u well know bro….

Postby maj. tom » January 6th, 2024, 6:26 pm

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-67903655

FAA grounds 171 Boeing planes after mid-air blowout on Alaska Airlines jet

The US airline regulator has ordered the grounding of some Boeing 737 Max 9 jets after part of one plane fell off during an Alaska Airlines flight.

The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) said the inspections would affect 171 planes.

On Friday the Alaska Airlines flight had to make an emergency landing after take-off from the US state of Oregon.

United Airlines says it has carried out the inspections required by the FAA on some of its 79 Boeing 737 Max 9 planes.

Removing some of the aircraft from service is expected to cause about 60 cancellations on Saturday, the airline said in a statement.

Earlier, the FAA said it would "order the temporary grounding of certain Boeing 737 Max 9 aircraft operated by US airlines or in US territory".

Postby Dizzy28 » January 6th, 2024, 9:52 pm

^ That plane was 2 months old

Postby paid_influencer » January 6th, 2024, 10:04 pm

does aeroplane follow bath tub curve too

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » January 7th, 2024, 4:01 am

maj. tom wrote:https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-67903655

FAA grounds 171 Boeing planes after mid-air blowout on Alaska Airlines jet

The US airline regulator has ordered the grounding of some Boeing 737 Max 9 jets after part of one plane fell off during an Alaska Airlines flight.

The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) said the inspections would affect 171 planes.

On Friday the Alaska Airlines flight had to make an emergency landing after take-off from the US state of Oregon.

United Airlines says it has carried out the inspections required by the FAA on some of its 79 Boeing 737 Max 9 planes.

Removing some of the aircraft from service is expected to cause about 60 cancellations on Saturday, the airline said in a statement.

Earlier, the FAA said it would "order the temporary grounding of certain Boeing 737 Max 9 aircraft operated by US airlines or in US territory".

I believe they are also finding slack bolts on the rudder. Out in the wild and inside on the production line.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 7th, 2024, 6:37 am

China woulda wipe out some execs. Merica will give em intense bjs and more contracts

Sent from my 220333QAG using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby 88sins » January 7th, 2024, 6:53 am

Boeing just ain't what they used to be.
Right now I feeling like if I hadda travel I might be safer in a old single engine Cessna

Postby maj. tom » January 7th, 2024, 7:29 am

Downfall: The Case Against Boeing

Investigators reveal how Boeing’s alleged priority of profit over safety could have contributed to two catastrophic crashes within months of each other.
https://www.netflix.com/tt/title/81272421

A damning account of the tragedies caused by the manufacturer’s malfeasance and greed, “Downfall” goes deeper to contextualize Boeing’s culpability within larger trends of American corporate governance, succinctly laying out how the lure of Wall Street led what was once an almighty symbol of American aviation to self-sabotage.
https://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/downfall-the-case-against-boeing-movie-review-2022

And the story continues today.

Postby paid_influencer » January 7th, 2024, 8:38 am

viedcht wrote:China woulda wipe out some execs. America will give em intense bjs and more contracts

the beauty of capitalism

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » January 7th, 2024, 12:17 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
viedcht wrote:China woulda wipe out some execs. America will give em intense bjs and more contracts

the beauty of capitalism

This what happen when employers fail to restrict employee screen time limits. I see some security guards playing video games on the phone while on duty.

Don’t blame the man blame the men.

Postby sMASH » January 7th, 2024, 4:10 pm

This the max 9.
Does the max 9 have the same jack screw issue as the max 8?

Postby maj. tom » January 8th, 2024, 9:27 am

Leads to more questions why Alaska Airlines management didn't ground the machine in question and do a full inspection. Rather, they kept it in service! Just not over the ocean flights.

https://apnews.com/article/alaska-airlines-portland-oregon-emergency-landing-adb22cb835b3f561dfc9e6803773c8a6
PORTLAND, Ore. (AP) — The Boeing jetliner that suffered an inflight blowout over Oregon was not being used for flights to Hawaii after a warning light that could have indicated a pressurization problem lit up on three different flights, a federal official said Sunday.

Alaska Airlines decided to restrict the aircraft from long flights over water so the plane “could return very quickly to an airport” if the warning light reappeared, said Jennifer Homendy, chair of the National Transportation Safety Board.

Homendy cautioned that the pressurization light might be unrelated to Friday’s incident in which a plug covering an unused exit door blew off the Boeing 737 Max 9 as it cruised about three miles (4.8 kilometers) over Oregon.

The warning light came on during three previous flights: on Dec. 7, Jan. 3 and Jan. 4 — the day before the door plug broke off. Homendy said she didn’t have all the details regarding the Dec. 7 incident but specified the light came on during a flight on Jan. 3 and on Jan. 4 after the plane had landed.

At a news conference Sunday night, Homendy provided new details about the chaotic scene that unfolded on the plane. The explosive rush of air damaged several rows of seats and pulled insulation from the walls. The cockpit door flew open and banged into a lavatory door.

The force ripped the headset off the co-pilot and the captain lost part of her headset. A quick reference checklist kept within easy reach of the pilots flew out of the open cockpit, Homendy said.

Postby maj. tom » January 9th, 2024, 8:48 am

Boeing doing some level f*ckery. ALL their MAX9 airplanes need full inspection now. Every bolt. Note in the picture how they're missing torque paint/witness marks. Essential in aircraft manufacture.

United, Alaska find loose parts on 737 MAX planes

WASHINGTON/CHICAGO, Jan 8 (Reuters) - Boeing's latest 737 MAX crisis deepened after United Airlines and Alaska Airlines said they had found loose parts on multiple grounded MAX 9 aircraft, raising new concerns among industry experts about how its best-selling jet family is manufactured.
https://www.reuters.com/business/aerospace-defense/no-data-captured-alaska-airlines-737-cockpit-voice-recorder-ntsb-chair-2024-01-08/

Alaska Airlines (ALK.N) said late on Monday that initial reports from its technicians indicated some "loose hardware" was visible on some aircraft in the relevant area when it conducted checks of its fleet.

United (UAL.O), the other U.S. carrier that flies this Boeing model with the panels, said its preliminary checks found bolts that needed tightening on several panels.

Indonesia temporarily grounds Boeing 737-9 Max jets after Alaska Airlines incident
https://abcnews.go.com/International/wireStory/indonesia-temporarily-grounds-boeing-737-9-max-jetliners-106216891

Caribbean Airlines fleet is the 737-MAX8. A different fuselage and not the same factory assembly line as the current 737-900. Hopefully we good.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 12th, 2024, 12:11 pm

Remember watching Fate of the Hunter some years back and thinking of the mh370 thing...
Wonder if the Hudson crash woulda been different in a Boeing

Postby maj. tom » January 13th, 2024, 7:57 am

Boeing f*cked up so much that the FAA rinsing them out.

The Federal Aviation Administration announced it will take the significant step of increasing its oversight over Boeing and begin an immediate audit of Boeing's production and manufacturing in the wake of the door plug blowing out of an Alaska Airlines flight last week.

The audit will "evaluate Boeing's compliance with its approved quality procedures," the agency said Friday.

The FAA said it will also assess the safety risks around delegated authority and quality oversight -- specifically the Organization Designation Authorization program. Under ODA, certain aircraft certification process is delegated to manufacturers like Boeing.

FAA Administrator Michael Whitaker said the agency is "exploring" the use of an independent third party to oversee Boeing's inspections and quality system.
https://abcnews.go.com/US/faa-announces-increase-oversight-boeing-production-alaska-airlines/story?id=106320703

Postby 88sins » January 14th, 2024, 2:36 pm

Crazy question here
If you pack a parachute as,your carry on, and the pilot on your flight decide to check the plane airbag

Yuh feel yuh could get off before it crashes? Or if they will let you on the flight? Or they go say "siddong and ded like everybody else"?
Or somebody go kill yuh for it?

Postby maj. tom » January 14th, 2024, 4:34 pm

Commercial airplanes speed and altitude won't allow parachutes to be used. The explosive decompression of opening a door if it can even be opened, and the air resistance that will be met by someone attempting to jump out at typical airliner speeds make it impractical.

Military airplanes that can would have ejection systems or platforms to jump from.

VII

Postby VII » January 14th, 2024, 6:20 pm

You can only successfully deploy parachute within certain parameters with altitude airspeed etc . In military aircraft the ejection systems sorts out most of that for you and you may even land unconscious .

I think by now we should have a proper viable detchable modular cabin parachute or glide system for commercial airplanes with all the new materials production methods and programming availabe these days, it's all about cost I suppose..

88sins wrote:Crazy question here
If you pack a parachute as,your carry on, and the pilot on your flight decide to check the plane airbag

Yuh feel yuh could get off before it crashes? Or if they will let you on the flight? Or they go say "siddong and ded like everybody else"?
Or somebody go kill yuh for it?

Postby 88sins » January 14th, 2024, 8:38 pm

VII wrote:You can only successfully deploy parachute within certain parameters with altitude airspeed etc . In military aircraft the ejection systems sorts out most of that for you and you may even land unconscious .

I think by now we should have a proper viable detchable modular cabin parachute or glide system for commercial airplanes with all the new materials production methods and programming availabe these days, it's all about cost I suppose..

The question was really meant to trigger a response wrt why to/not keep chutes on aircraft, in the event of human induced crash or equipment failure.
Airspeed doesn't matter much after you exit the aircraft unless you intentionally/unintentionally doing things to increase yhe speed of your descent. Altitude of deployment may be an issue, but there's ways to counter that.
And landing unconscious is a far sight better than landing dead in 217 pieces.

VII

Postby VII » January 14th, 2024, 10:05 pm

Got that after, lol..Yeah I agree..

But yeah I'm sure they can integrate a detachable modular segmented cabin system in a new design that can eject 2,3,4 cabin modules at certain altitudes..

VII wrote:You can only successfully deploy parachute within certain parameters with altitude airspeed etc . In military aircraft the ejection systems sorts out most of that for you and you may even land unconscious .

The question was really meant to trigger a response wrt why to/not keep chutes on aircraft, in the event of human induced crash or equipment failure.
Airspeed doesn't matter much after you exit the aircraft unless you intentionally/unintentionally doing things to increase yhe speed of your descent. Altitude of deployment may be an issue, but there's ways to counter that.

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » January 15th, 2024, 12:04 am

They actually had an ejection system for super hypersonic moon rockets and their prototypes in the 60s but nothing for the shuttle that came out much later.

So I don’t think anything would ever be in development for passenger planes since nothing for engineers to base new ideas on.

VII wrote:Got that after, lol..Yeah I agree..

But yeah I'm sure they can integrate a detachable modular segmented cabin system in a new design that can eject 2,3,4 cabin modules at certain altitudes..

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » March 11th, 2024, 8:36 pm

Boeing whistleblower found dead in US

By Theo Leggett
Business correspondent, BBC News

A former Boeing employee known for raising concerns about the firm's production standards has been found dead in the US.

John Barnett had worked for Boeing for 32 years, until his retirement in 2017.

In the days before his death, he had been giving evidence in a whistleblower lawsuit against the company.

https://www.bbc.com/news/business-68534703