Gulf of Paria Underwater Welders Deaths: Commision of Enquiry.

ScHoolboySoloQ

Re: Gulf of Paria Underwater Welders Deaths: Commision of Enquiry.

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » November 24th, 2022, 9:28 pm

The_Honourable wrote:How Wei get that wuk? Simple questions yuh know... he's behaving as if all questions asked are trick questions.

Lodge.

Postby gastly369 » November 25th, 2022, 12:03 am

The_Honourable wrote:How Wei get that wuk? Simple questions yuh know... he's behaving as if all questions asked are trick questions.
Andddd plenty others in that org... Eh see nothing yet....

Postby pugboy » November 25th, 2022, 6:43 am

excellent job of prepping for early death announcement instead of looking to rescue

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/w ... 3219d.html

Postby Les Bain » November 25th, 2022, 8:24 am

Looking like the initial horror of this case being replaced by revulsion and disgust. Hopefully all them managers getting time on the stand to put a face and voice behind the whatsapp messages.

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 25th, 2022, 9:29 am

16 cycles wrote:
mad wrote:

Ty for sharing this..agreed @ Pug...excellent video

This is a rel good explanation. This is the first time I see a diagram explanation and it had to come from someone 8 months after in a another country. Imagine that

Postby pugboy » November 25th, 2022, 9:54 am

actually no,

rhoda borat did a vid and diagram too lol

ruffneck_12 wrote:
16 cycles wrote:
mad wrote:

This is a rel good explanation. This is the first time I see a diagram explanation and it had to come from someone 8 months after in a another country. Imagine that

Postby aaron17 » November 25th, 2022, 12:43 pm

Val

Postby Val » November 25th, 2022, 1:13 pm

Making an update 28-11-22 as I have been able to peruse more info, updated emboldened:

Great video. I have to relook Christopher's statement, but I believe he said both plugs were removed for 1.5 hrs approx and the habitat was ok? Is that true, can anyone verify that?
No, only the mechanical plug could've been out. The moment he deflated the inflatable, the water in the habitat started to rise.

If not, and if the inflatable plug was still in the pipeline, was it pressurised correctly above the habitat & downstream berth 5 pressure? How would the installers of the plug know what the habitat pressure or setpoint of the inflatable plug pressure be?

It had to be pressurised correctly, and holding up to the point of deflation. In fact it held for a very long time, at least a few weeks. The setpoint would've been included in the manufacturer documents.

We still do not know what caused the delta P incident, and i suspect that investigation will take a long time. it will depend on the plug, was it removed in tandem with the mechanical plug (surely the video will show, as it was stated that the habitat was being monitored). Does the video indicate who gave the directive to remove the plug, and which plugs?

Now that i know the second plug was still inside up to the delta P. and the other riser was blanked after removing oil from the line, the removal of the secondary plug + latent delta P condition has to be the root cause. I can't see anything else.

Why remove the habitat now? This should be still considered an investigation scene and left undisturbed. Why go in and mess with it now, to push the plug back in the pipe?

Can't see why this is important other than to Paria. The habitat was clearly intact up to the point Boodram was rescued, as he would've come up in a dry environment.

I mean let's think about it, if they are going to weld on the riser extension, at some point they have to remove both plugs. If anything, it should've been planned for Berth 5 to have a higher pressure than the habitat, and the plug move towards the habitat if a breach? Clearly a lack of subsea experience. I also do not have subsea experience so I am subject to being corrected in my thinking.

Clearly the delta P was not considered, as the plugs would've had to be removed. Could they have been slung while the divers were in the habitat, then pulled out top side with the divers also topside, I dont know if the stove top was set up like that. Anyway, the method was unsafe, as clearly demonstrated.

However, a much more pertinent and low hanging fruit is the lack of emergency response.

if Paria claims to hold LMCS responsible as the specialist contractor for all of the work, rescue plan and equipment, how then could Paria in its proud incompetence deny the specialist from performing their rescue?

If Paria says that no rescue plan was put forward, how then was the JHA even approved? Is it normal for a JHA for diving exercises & including hot work to not include a rescue plan prior to Area Authority approval?

How d man goh lie about the document being scanned incorrectly, I laughed so hard when he was asked to produce the original. He looks like he got caught out and might get charged for perjury at least. Who knows.

If Paria states they believed the men to be alive till 27th, how much longer did they expect the men to be alive for? Why push water in the line? Men breathing water now? Somebody is watching too much Wakanda Forever.

Does anyone have the OSHA report? Was a cease and desist order lifted? Is Berth 6 operating?

Why in the witness statement bundle, there are no statements from the top brass at Paria? Why stop at Collin? Where are the Directors or Executive Management, who no doubt were involved in the IMT?

How was LMCS selected as a specialist contractor? Yes they have been doing this work for years, but what was the tender process like? How could technical evaluation scores be given if the competence isn't there in Paria? Why not hire an SME to sit on the tenders committee? Were bribes passing and people afraid to say? Who else bid on this job? What were their technical evaluation scores?

On the Berth 5 side (I hope I'm not mixing them up), why not fit a mechanical plug there also just for good measure during the job? Why not isolate the line completely on one end, so there is only one end for variable pressure?

It was blanked, which didn't help the situation.

In accordance with Item 7.0 in Paria's HSE requirements Rev 2021 Jun 14, it states that Contractors must have Emergency Response Plans (ERPs) for fires, gaseous emissions etc and any other credible scenario. These plans must be in full alignment with Paria's ERPs...

Where is Paria's ERP for diving activities? If it doesn't exist, or hasn't catered for Delta P scenarios, this seems a breach of the Osh Act section 13A (1).

In accordance with Paria's General Conditions of Contract June 2021, Page 6 under Section 12.0 Indemnity, Paria states that the Contractor shall indemnify Paria of all claims for damage or compensation as a result of XYZ including deaths, unless caused by the negligence or willful misconduct of Paria. I think this is coming.

In accordance with GCC, Item 35.0, Knowledge of Site Conditions. It states The Contractor shall be deemed to have visited and carefully examined the site of the Work and
the surroundings; to have satisfied itself as to the nature and conditions of existing facilities
possible, obstructions, roads and other means of transport and access for executing the Work and
of possible interruptions thereto; to have made local and independent enquiries of all matters which
may affect the carrying out of the Work and the cost of it as well as the sources and means of
obtaining labour and materials required. Any neglect or failure on the part of the Contractor in
obtaining necessary and reliable information upon the foregoing or any other matters affecting the
Contract shall not relieve the Contractor from any risks or liabilities or from the entire responsibility
for the completion of the Work in strict accordance with the Contract documents and the
Specifications.

Is this statement in contravention with the OSH Act Section 9(a), Section 6(1), Section 6(2)(a)(d) and (f)? If yes, and it is in breach of the law, is this a lawful and therefore binding contract? If this is an illegal contract, then the law takes precedence and Paria cannot transfer liability to LMCS as they are under their employ.
Last edited by Val on November 28th, 2022, 2:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » November 25th, 2022, 1:25 pm

the comments on the youtube vid are quite telling as many of them seem to be seasoned veterans

Postby The_Honourable » November 25th, 2022, 1:25 pm

Wei dragged the commission probably an extra hour by simply stalling at times and being reserved in his answers.

You might call him Dramadhar, but i'm grateful Prakash pressure and rough out answers from Wei who clearly not supposed to be hired in the first place. The commission would not normally allow Prakash to go that far but they and all were glad Wei was being pressured.

https://www.facebook.com/kickoutpnm/vid ... 375536981/

Postby gastly369 » November 25th, 2022, 1:44 pm

Wei mc

Postby sMASH » November 25th, 2022, 1:58 pm

I WANT to think the carber plug would remain in the line to prevent flow from the other end of the line, from the other riser.
The inflatable plug that was closer to the habitat, would be removed when the habitat is pressurized to conduct works. And when the works are done, they re install the inflatable plug, exit the habitat, then relieve the working pressure.

I want to think the riser on the other end, was above sea level... I Would like to know the heights of both risers from sea level.

Postby pugboy » November 25th, 2022, 2:19 pm

if both above sea level then how did water wash in or have a pressure difference?

Postby Chimera » November 25th, 2022, 2:36 pm

what would be the scene if them fellas refuse to testify though?

they could get charged for anything?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » November 25th, 2022, 2:39 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Wei dragged the commission probably an extra hour by simply stalling at times and being reserved in his answers.

You might call him Dramadhar, but i'm grateful Prakash pressure and rough out answers from Wei who clearly not supposed to be hired in the first place. The commission would not normally allow Prakash to go that far but they and all were glad Wei was being pressured.

You see the difference in the manner in which Prakash vs Ramesh asked their questions.
During Ramesh questioning it was clear that Wei was coached by his lawyers and hence his replies were rehearsed. Prakash seeing that probably decided the only way to get anything meaningful from this was to press him hard.

Val

Postby Val » November 25th, 2022, 3:33 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:what would be the scene if them fellas refuse to testify though?

Maybe obstruction of justice? I don't know if we have that here, but of course they are getting subpoena'd so they are compelled to testify by law, otherwise warrants can be set up I believe.

Sure we have some lawyers in here.

Postby sMASH » November 25th, 2022, 7:44 pm

CoE is just glorified story time.

Ttps coudl press charges. Not sure if osha and dpp could charge, or recommend to charge.

Postby sMASH » November 25th, 2022, 7:48 pm

The riser they were workong on was below sea level, and I think 60 ft from the stories.

I not sure a out where the other riser is. But with simple physics, it has to be higher than the first, for water to rush into the first.

There was a drawing, if I could get to see that back.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 25th, 2022, 8:26 pm

16 cycles wrote:
mad wrote:

Damn good video that provided more explanation than all the government media release combined.

Will add more thoughts later when I finish gather them but just wanted to put this out into the forum for feedback.

Shouldn't this have triggered some sort of response from ODPM and Ministry of Nat Security due to the nature of this disaster?

I don't understand how an incident of this magnitude still remains in the hands of a commercial entity and the country's disaster/rescue apparatus doesn't take over. Shouldn't paria have been forced to step aside by the MONS and they initiate some sort of rescue plan?

Postby pugboy » November 25th, 2022, 8:27 pm

so did somebody loose out something in the other riser that they weren’t working on?

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » November 25th, 2022, 11:33 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Wei dragged the commission probably an extra hour by simply stalling at times and being reserved in his answers.

You see the difference in the manner in which Prakash vs Ramesh asked their questions.
During Ramesh questioning it was clear that Wei was coached by his lawyers and hence his replies were rehearsed. Prakash seeing that probably decided the only way to get anything meaningful from this was to press him hard.
I hope Wei knows that he's marked for death now....

Postby De Dragon » November 26th, 2022, 12:12 am

Redress10 wrote:
16 cycles wrote:
mad wrote:

Damn good video that provided more explanation than all the government media release combined.

Will add more thoughts later when I finish gather them but just wanted to put this out into the forum for feedback.

Shouldn't this have triggered some sort of response from ODPM and Ministry of Nat Security due to the nature of this disaster?

I don't understand how an incident of this magnitude still remains in the hands of a commercial entity and the country's disaster/rescue apparatus doesn't take over. Shouldn't paria have been forced to step aside by the MONS and they initiate some sort of rescue plan?

No. There was no spill, gas release or threat to the surrounding commnuities.
Operations similar and just like these are undertaken frequently without incident, and thus any involvement by those bodies you mention. When something goes awry like the Paria incident, or the Hydro incident a few years back, only then do you hear about it.

Postby De Dragon » November 26th, 2022, 12:56 am

I could see Michael Wei restraining himself from cussing up everybody in that COE. IYKYK

Postby stev » November 26th, 2022, 5:55 am

typical uninformed CEO responses

his operational managers cheeks clapping but they'll never be put on stand

Postby pugboy » November 26th, 2022, 6:59 am

he might very well be informed but claiming ignorance

stev wrote:typical uninformed CEO responses

his operational managers cheeks clapping but they'll never be put on stand

Postby timelapse » November 26th, 2022, 7:37 am

GixxerMan wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:

I hope Wei knows that he's marked for death now....
Can we start a GoFundMe for this?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 26th, 2022, 8:12 am

Prakash try to catch him out but it didn't work. Prakash ask the man for the names of the deceased thinking he wouldn't know. He was able to call the names easily...

Postby pugboy » November 26th, 2022, 8:18 am

he was just playing stupid and prakash fall for it

Postby MaxPower » November 26th, 2022, 11:10 am

pugboy wrote:he was just playing stupid and prakash fall for it

Yep exactly that especially when he pauses with that dumb look on his face with his short answers.

But Prakash forcing his emotions too much. A waste of energy.

killercow

Postby killercow » November 26th, 2022, 12:15 pm

Val wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:what would be the scene if them fellas refuse to testify though?

Maybe obstruction of justice? I don't know if we have that here, but of course they are getting subpoena'd so they are compelled to testify by law, otherwise warrants can be set up I believe.

Sure we have some lawyers in here.
Once you are issued a summons to appear, the summons is successfully served to you and you fail to appear, a warrant will be issued for your arrest.