Y11, DX, L Touring

hindian

Y11, DX, L Touring

Postby hindian » February 22nd, 2022, 12:48 pm

Yea fellas in 2022 which is the best choice out of the above mentioned 3? Looking for a wagon to work taxi and double as small transport from time to time as I'm currently doing home construction. I'm getting different reviews in the toyotas in terms of parts availability and well the y11 the bamboo is your oyster. What's the best pick at this time? I'm actually looking for any of them in Manual trim. Thanks

Re: Y11, DX, L Touring

Postby Rovin » February 22nd, 2022, 1:40 pm

those wud be over 20yrs age by now so expect dem to get rel licks out unless u lucky to find a decent 1

toyota > nissan , see if u cud get a nze wagon at least ...

Postby timelapse » February 22nd, 2022, 2:27 pm

L louring was 4wd ent?Or awd

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 22nd, 2022, 2:29 pm

Y11 is similar to N16 and B15. Engine, transmission, suspension and brakes components/parts would not be hard to find.

Big light small light nose cuts are interchangeable. Tailgates are also interchangeable so with a Y11 you can't go wrong.

The DX and L Touring is based off of the AE101 sedan. The model code on those is AE100 and 104 etc. It's basically a 101 wagon so half cuts are interchangeable. The 101 shares a chassis with the AE110/1 and those 5A and 4A engines are known to be solid performers over the Nissan QG.

A better competitor to the AE101 in terms of technology would be the Y10 which shares parts and a platform with the B14 and N15 They use the GA engine series which imo are better quality than the QG.

If you get a Y10, Y11 or AE100/4 wagon in really good shape, pounce on it quickly.

Those vehicles are within the age range of 18 to 27 years old so you need to open up them eyes and ears for a good unmolested one. If you don't act quickly, it will literally be sold within 1 day. Good luck.

Postby redmanjp » February 22nd, 2022, 2:41 pm

i have ah old Y10 but it doh look like it cud take a beating wukking taxi.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 22nd, 2022, 2:47 pm

Some Y10's came with a large tailgate spoiler, sunroof, fog lights, a California badge and a sr18 engine. That's a keeper! Imagine yuh throw in some multi-spoke ziglas wrapped in nexen tyres and yuh coasting a pioneer deck. Yuh business fix for life with that.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » February 22nd, 2022, 3:03 pm

if you going Nissan don't go E-Throttle

Seeker

Postby Seeker » February 22nd, 2022, 3:10 pm

And why is that...I have an e-throttle for over 14 yrs and no issues. So what is problem with an e-throttle since most
cars have them?

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 22nd, 2022, 3:15 pm

He talking about them nissan qg post 2004. It could have been worse, at least he didn't say stick to nissans using conventional distributors and carburetors only.

hindian

Postby hindian » February 22nd, 2022, 3:31 pm

The taxi aspect of it is not everyday, it when I have spare time as i just recently got a job back after being sent home during the pandemic so is really to boost income when I can. I'm accustomed to driving manual every day I would be on the road up to 4-6 hours at a time with 10 minute breaks so it don't bother me. The manual conversions for the Nissans a lot easier to com by than the toyota so to be honest I'm leaning to that side. If I can find an L touring or DX with the manual conversion already in, I'll pull the trigger on it but I'm only finding the sedans with the conversion.

Postby timelapse » February 22nd, 2022, 3:49 pm

L touring does take real beating and less likely to be stolen.
Theres also the Isuzu Gemini, which is an awd ek3 wagon.Will also take quite the beating and you can always swap out with Honda parts

david12

Postby david12 » February 22nd, 2022, 4:31 pm

Look for a pre facelifted (small light) Y11 and done. Parts are plentiful and cheap especially for a car that has some age and more than likely have a good amount of mileage. If you get into a small jam you'll get body parts. Mechanical parts are shared with different Nissans so even better support. At the end of the day Toyota might make a better product but Nissan is more abundant locally, hence all of the "You could go by a parlor and get parts for a Nissan" comments.
Last edited by david12 on February 22nd, 2022, 4:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2022, 4:58 pm

just remember 99.999% of suspension bushing jobs at machine shops begin with “n”

hindian

Postby hindian » February 22nd, 2022, 9:17 pm

pugboy wrote:just remember 99.999% of suspension bushing jobs at machine shops begin with “n”
Plan to combat that with polyurethane and I will be doing most of the press work myself. On another note, what price am I looking at for a gearbox conversion for the QG15? I understand the GA15 box can bolt up?

Xplode

Postby Xplode » February 23rd, 2022, 1:11 am

My AE111 wagon and BZ back in the days .
IMG00124-20121014-0952.jpg
IMG00075-20100323-1727.jpg
IMG00076-20100323-1744.jpg
IMG00029-20100207-1004.jpg
IMG00027-20100207-1003.jpg
IMG00028-20100207-1004.jpg
IMG00025-20100207-1003.jpg
IMG00026-20100207-1003.jpg

Seeker

Postby Seeker » February 23rd, 2022, 11:16 am

agent007 wrote:He talking about them nissan qg post 2004. It could have been worse, at least he didn't say stick to nissans using conventional distributors and carburetors only.

Oh ok...my bad

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 24th, 2022, 11:14 am

Parts pricing alone on the Toyotas would dictate your choice if you plan on working it.

Postby sMASH » February 24th, 2022, 11:43 am

fixtures for the y10 not available much any more. y11 fixtures getting scarcer but still around.
mechanical parts is no problem.