Residential Generators

anthonyanthony

Re: Residential Generators

Postby anthonyanthony » April 29th, 2022, 5:33 pm

But the battery and 12v bulbs will have to be close to each other..with my system the battery and inverter is in garage area and i have power in my rooms or kitchen.

Again it depends on your setting and application.
Some people comfortable with battery lanterns, candles,torchlights ,pitchoil lamps etc.

My setup when power goes you flip switches and instant power.

Postby adnj » April 29th, 2022, 6:55 pm

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2022, 10:50 pm

anthonyanthony wrote:But the battery and 12v bulbs will have to be close to each other..with my system the battery and inverter is in garage area and i have power in my rooms or kitchen.

Again it depends on your setting and application.
Some people comfortable with battery lanterns, candles,torchlights ,pitchoil lamps etc.

My setup when power goes you flip switches and instant power.
So u have a parallel electrical system?

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » April 30th, 2022, 12:52 am

It provides limited power for lights and fans.
I would not call it parallel but a limited back up.

Postby pugboy » April 30th, 2022, 8:06 am

a good project for running lights is to get old hybrid car batteries

them aqua using pretty large nimh batteries which should run led lights for a very long time

Postby pugboy » June 27th, 2022, 8:17 pm

Filled up my gennys and got extra 5 gal container.

tomorrow I going to plumb in the small 110v leo pump to use off generator if need be instead of bigger goulds which would consume too much watts.

Postby gastly369 » June 27th, 2022, 8:27 pm

Yeh done prep also
Only ting missing is good data signal inside house real spotty and outside gate good

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 27th, 2022, 9:27 pm

I real stick, I didn't buy it yet
:/

(shame shame shame)

Postby gastly369 » June 27th, 2022, 10:30 pm

Throwing some chicken on the grill and relax yes.. Taking a day off tmrw

Postby pugboy » June 27th, 2022, 10:51 pm

Well we probably goat mouth ourselves and wont need them hopefully.

VexXx Dogg wrote:I real stick, I didn't buy it yet
:/

(shame shame shame)

Postby nervewrecker » June 28th, 2022, 2:33 am

gastly369 wrote:Throwing some chicken on the grill and relax yes.. Taking a day off tmrw
Nice, what time to pass?

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 1st, 2022, 12:14 pm

hey can anyone recommend a generator to run a welding plan, d normal red one an dem.
Looking at the pricesmart A-iPower 5000 but that's seems a bit low for welding and the A-ipower 9000 is close to $8000 and i wasn't looking to spend so much if possible.
Basically need it to run construction tools in a location without current.

Postby gastly369 » July 1st, 2022, 12:31 pm

Generators for that's power consumption plus other tools not gonna be cheap js...

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 1st, 2022, 12:41 pm

gastly369 wrote:Generators for that's power consumption plus other tools not gonna be cheap js...

me eh plan to wok dem all at once lol, ah know to run all at once you talking tow sized or super expensive portable gennies dey

eKeith

Postby eKeith » July 1st, 2022, 1:43 pm

Check the power requirement specs on your generator and call FT Farfan. They should be able to size what you need.

Then call around to cost...

eKeith

Postby eKeith » July 1st, 2022, 1:44 pm

Peake Marine usually also carry generators.

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 1st, 2022, 11:37 pm

Pricesmart prices:

Pulsar 1200W generator - $1,499.95
A-iPower 4250W generator - $3,599.95
Duracell PowerSource gasless 1440W generator - $4,649.95
Ford Dual Fuel FG5250PBE 5250W generator - $5,999.95
A-iPower 9000W generator - $7,599.95

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 2nd, 2022, 6:44 am

agent007 wrote:Pricesmart prices:

Pulsar 1200W generator - $1,499.95
A-iPower 4250W generator - $3,599.95
Duracell PowerSource gasless 1440W generator - $4,649.95
Ford Dual Fuel FG5250PBE 5250W generator - $5,999.95
A-iPower 9000W generator - $7,599.95

yea i see it online, but i find that 7.6k hard to pay for the 9000w when i was catering for the 3.6k for the 4250w.
I didn't mind paying up to around 6k for a lesser size like 7000-9000w this is why i was looking around to see where else has for sale.

Postby nervewrecker » July 2nd, 2022, 7:01 am

found this, more methanol powered gens.

https://www.siqens.de/en/products-2/

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2022, 8:59 am

i see a 6500 and a 7000 on fb for sale right now

the 6500 is a honda for $2000 is a steal and looks in good condition
I would not hesitate to buy that

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 2nd, 2022, 9:21 am

pugboy wrote:i see a 6500 and a 7000 on fb for sale right now

the 6500 is a honda for $2000 is a steal and looks in good condition
I would not hesitate to buy that

i was watching that one, it seems it was repaired given the seller. still keepin it in mind givin the other options, you think it go run d tombstone welder though?

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2022, 9:24 am

it should be it depends on what current you running the welding plant on
at highest it won’t
and lowest it should so depends on your needs

carry the plant and ask seller to test it out
it looks like they used it for welding too as the 220 plug was changed from twistlock to regular type

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 2nd, 2022, 12:10 pm

pugboy wrote:it should be it depends on what current you running the welding plant on
at highest it won’t
and lowest it should so depends on your needs

carry the plant and ask seller to test it out
it looks like they used it for welding too as the 220 plug was changed from twistlock to regular type

i call d person and dey say someone buy it already lol. and d one 7000w one is 10,000, better get d pmart 12000w if is da lol.
there seems to be a deliberate lack of middle range generators available, like between 6000-9000w, is either yuh pass ~3500 or closer to 10k with no options in between.

Postby Chimera » July 2nd, 2022, 12:21 pm

Buy a good inverter welder and you could buy a cheaper generator.

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2022, 12:28 pm

that was a giveaway price, dunno why they sell so cheap.
If I didnt have one I woulda buy that too.

the 5000 size is very popular with contractors.

keep looking of fb, they always have showing up.
up to week before had a 5000 for $3400

the big ones 9000 and up are super heavy and hard to pull start or require electric start which means you have a battery which must be charged.

a 5000-6000 can be easily lifted by 2 ppl and fit in a wagon.

daxt0r wrote:i call d person and dey say someone buy it already lol. and d one 7000w one is 10,000, better get d pmart 12000w if is da lol.
there seems to be a deliberate lack of middle range generators available, like between 6000-9000w, is either yuh pass ~3500 or closer to 10k with no options in between.

Postby Rovin » July 2nd, 2022, 12:29 pm

ft farfan have a sale ad running on fb with generac generators ...

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2022, 12:37 pm

them prices kinda hot though.

I see on fb there is also a westinghouse 5500/6000 and a briggs 7000
no prices listed so you have to call.

not sure how good westinghouse is as its a chinese rebrand.

Rovin wrote:ft farfan have a sale ad running on fb with generac generators ...

agent007

Residential Generators

Postby agent007 » July 2nd, 2022, 12:53 pm

Portable generator price list:

(Running watts/starting watts format)

Ingco 800W - $1,150. @ The Home & Auto Center
Pulsar 900W/1200W - $1,499.95 @ Pricesmart
Ingco 3000W - $2,750. @ The Home & Auto Center
Briggs & Stratton 1700W/2000W - $3199.95 @ Dansteel
Powerboss 2500W/3500W - $3,500. @ Bhagwansingh
A-iPower 4250W/5000W - $3,599.95 @ Pricesmart
Briggs & Stratton S3500 - 3500W/4375W - $4199.95 @ Dansteel
Generac 3300W/3750W - $4,465.13 @ FT Farfan
Duracell PowerSource gasless 1440W - $4,649.95 @ Pricesmart
Briggs & Stratton 5000W - $$5,800. @ Pillai’s
Ford Dual Fuel FG5250PBE 3800W/4750W (LPG); 4250/5250W (gas) - $5,999.95 @ Pricesmart
Simpson 5500W - $6,650. @ Pillai’s
Generac GP6500 6500W - $6,895. @ Super Technologies Ltd.
Generac 5500W/6875W - $7,176.38 @ FT Farfan
Generac 2000W Inverter - $7,200. @ Pillai’s
A-iPower 9000W/12000W - $7,599.95 @ Pricesmart
Generac 6500W/8125W - $8,353.13 @ FT Farfan
Briggs & Stratton S5000 - 5000W/6250W - $8474.95 @ Dansteel
Briggs & Stratton Elite 8000 8000W/10000W - $13,999. @ Dansteel

Feel free to update accordingly.

**updated**
9/7/22
Last edited by agent007 on July 2nd, 2022, 12:53 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Postby SR » July 2nd, 2022, 5:08 pm

After considering all options locally ended up with 2 generacs from ft farfan for warranty and long term servicing. Plus parts and accessories available online.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 3rd, 2022, 7:28 am

agent007 wrote:Portable generator price list:

(Running watts/starting watts format)

Ingco 800W - $1,150. @ The Home & Auto Center
Pulsar 900W/1200W - $1,499.95 @ Pricesmart
Ingco 3000W - $2,750. @ The Home & Auto Center
Powerboss 2500W/3500W - $3,500. @ Bhagwansingh
A-iPower 4250W/5000W - $3,599.95 @ Pricesmart
Generac 3300W/3750W - $4,465.13 @ FT Farfan
Duracell PowerSource gasless 1440W - $4,649.95 @ Pricesmart
Briggs & Stratton 5000W - $$5,800. @ Pillai’s
Ford Dual Fuel FG5250PBE 3800W/4750W (LPG); 4250/5250W (gas) - $5,999.95 @ Pricesmart
Simpson 5500W - $6,650. @ Pillai’s
Generac GP6500 6500W - $6,895. @ Super Technologies Ltd.
Generac 5500W/6875W - $7,176.38 @ FT Farfan
Generac 2000W Inverter - $7,200. @ Pillai’s
A-iPower 9000W/12000W - $7,599.95 @ Pricesmart
Generac 6500W/8125W - $8,353.13 @ FT Farfan

Feel free to update accordingly.

thx man! boy ah tell yuh ah went pmart yday, me eye bonnin meh to take the 12000w a-ipower but is like gawd boy why somebody cya come up with a lil 7k genny for a lil 5k, trying to brakse spending so much.
Anyone have experience with this Neil Dydrian fella who doin these generator repairs/reselling? I'm thinking to just wait as he tell me he getting another few soon. On the other hand me eh wa no immediate headache so new is preferable but not required.