Poll: Rinsing with water after brushing teeth

Do you rinse with water right after brushing teeth?

Yes
89%
No
11%

Total votes: 18

Poll: Rinsing with water after brushing teeth

Postby aaron17 » January 28th, 2022, 6:20 am

I made this poll because ppl were telling me I was brushing my teeth wrong my entire life. Ever since the pandemic..i believe its due to mask wearing and drinking less water...my teeth health took a decline.i have been getting more cavities. So any tips will be appreciated due to mask wearing in this pandemic.

carluva

Re: Poll: Rinsing with water after brushing teeth

Postby carluva » January 28th, 2022, 7:26 am

Aaron, wouldn't your questions be better handled by a dentist?

PM me if you'd like a contact number for a great and affordable dentist in Chaguanas.

Postby pugboy » January 28th, 2022, 8:06 am

you should not rinse right away or at all i have heard ppl say
allows the teeth to absorb the flouride in the paste
just like when you get the treatment at a dentist

Postby K74T » January 28th, 2022, 8:15 am

pugboy wrote:you should not rinse right away or at all i have heard ppl say
allows the teeth to absorb the flouride in the paste
just like when you get the treatment at a dentist
Correct

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 28th, 2022, 8:16 am

Flossing most important
Mouthwash as well (Act supposed to be best)
Look at your diet (to much sugar etc)
Sometimes meds can be a factor too
Drinking milk in the night and not rinsing after can cause tooth rot.

Check your dentist!

david12

Postby david12 » January 28th, 2022, 8:19 am

Just as an above post says, I have heard from dentists that you shouldn't rinse after you brush as it washes away the fluoride. But I can't brush my teeth and not rinse after. Most times I use mouth wash not even knowing if it has fluoride or not but just for the benefit of the doubt.
Last edited by david12 on January 28th, 2022, 8:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

axe

Postby axe » January 28th, 2022, 8:21 am

When using sensodyne it's not good to rinse out too vigorously

Postby pugboy » January 28th, 2022, 8:22 am

flossing is actually very/more important
helps gum degradation/disease which can lead to a string of issues long term

cavities can be filled and associated tooth loss can be replaced with implants if you have the money
of course oem equip always better

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 28th, 2022, 8:30 am

Dental work is expensive and the costs multiply the longer you take to get it sorted.

Go to a good dentist and come up with a treatment plan

Postby Dizzy28 » January 28th, 2022, 8:31 am

Grew up rinsing with water after brushing and don't think I can stop that nah.
Usually use a mouthwash after (Act) so not overly worried.

Postby aaron17 » January 28th, 2022, 8:32 am

Ppl say i am disgusting for not rinsing after brushing teeth..last time I visited my dentist , i had 3 cavities to fill . I was thinking if it was the mask or brushing (I always rinse after brushing) . So I thinking if to not rinse to develop less cavities overtime especially during mask wearing in pandemic. I need to take frequent mask wearing breaks and drink water too I must admit. My mouth does be dry.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » January 28th, 2022, 8:36 am

Waiting for hover to jump in to say that using flouride will kill you and you are supporting big companies by using fluoride toothpaste.

Postby aaron17 » January 28th, 2022, 8:37 am

fokhan_96 wrote:Waiting for hover to jump in to say that using flouride will kill you and you are supporting big companies by using fluoride toothpaste.

'call poison control asap'

Postby timelapse » January 28th, 2022, 9:02 am

Stop using crystal meth

Postby MaxPower » January 28th, 2022, 9:21 am

fokhan_96 wrote:Waiting for hover to jump in to say that using flouride will kill you and you are supporting big companies by using fluoride toothpaste.

My mouth my choice!

axe

Postby axe » January 28th, 2022, 9:51 am

Wasn't you stressing some time ago. Stress and cortisol release had been shown to change pH of saliva and hence increased cavities.

Postby Dave » January 28th, 2022, 10:01 am

Isn't it being absorbed as you are brushing? Do you need more absorbtion after you finish brush? This would be case if you don't brush your teeth for long.

snatman

Postby snatman » January 28th, 2022, 10:27 am

take this as you will-

My brother, who once had very sensitive teeth tried all kinda thing. Sensodyne only provided minimal relief.

He investigated the active ingredients in Sensodyne. Found out it was Potassium Nitrate.

He sourced said potassium nitrate and began applying minute amounts to his toothbrush when brushing.

This is over 20 years ago.

He now has no problems with sensitive teeth.

He still uses it every time he brushes.

He game me some to try. I haven't as yet!

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » January 28th, 2022, 10:31 am

It have some tuners who will say "My mouth, my bredrins' choice"

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 28th, 2022, 10:33 am

Op...ah lil dot 1 beats all them fancy thing

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 28th, 2022, 10:39 am

I have this habit that I floss first, then use mouth wash then rinse. Next I brush using Colgate and when done I rinse again. I prefer the after taste of toothpaste than mouth wash. Went to the dentist in August 2020 first time is probably 2 decades and my teeth are fine. Just needed a little cleaning for some plaque in some areas but I'm good to go.

I have this phobia about rinsing off residual mouth wash and tooth paste from my mouth cause I don't want same entering my digestive tract to give me throat cancer etc.

Guess I've been wrong.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 28th, 2022, 12:12 pm

agent007 wrote:I have this habit that I floss first, then use mouth wash then rinse. Next I brush using Colgate and when done I rinse again. I prefer the after taste of toothpaste than mouth wash. Went to the dentist in August 2020 first time is probably 2 decades and my teeth are fine. Just needed a little cleaning for some plaque in some areas but I'm good to go.

I have this phobia about rinsing off residual mouth wash and tooth paste from my mouth cause I don't want same entering my digestive tract to give me throat cancer etc.

Guess I've been wrong.

This is the correct way.

It is not recommended to use mouth wash after brushing as it reduces the effects of the fluoride. But using it before, or after meals is fine.

It's best to not rinse too thoroughly after brushing as well especially at night,

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » January 28th, 2022, 12:33 pm

aaron17 wrote:Ppl say i am disgusting for not rinsing after brushing teeth..last time I visited my dentist , i had 3 cavities to fill . I was thinking if it was the mask or brushing (I always rinse after brushing) . So I thinking if to not rinse to develop less cavities overtime especially during mask wearing in pandemic. I need to take frequent mask wearing breaks and drink water too I must admit. My mouth does be dry.

"Saliva helps prevent cavities from forming, and aids in protecting against gum disease. It naturally cleans teeth by washing away bits of food debris and preventing a prolonged acid attack on tooth enamel. Saliva also contains antimicrobial agents that help combat bad bacteria that fuels cavities. "

https://www.houstonspediatricdentist.co ... ans-teeth/

After I eat anything, I rinse my mouth a few times to get out the big food particles then I drink water while using my tongue to clean my teeth further. It's good to keep a bottle of water on you to keep some level of saliva in your mouth.

Postby Chimera » January 28th, 2022, 12:36 pm

Just take out your dentures and soak it in a glass with Colgate and yuh good to go

Postby 88sins » January 29th, 2022, 9:24 am

Op, you may want to consider taking a long hard look at your diet as well.
We often consume some highly acidic foods and beverages without a thought, not realizing that they damage tooth enamel, and many adults actually unknowingly take in less calcium, vitamin D3 and vitamin C than they need.
That, coupled with good hygiene practices and regular dentist visits to identify and attend to any small problems early before they become big problems, and you should be good to go.

Postby MaxPower » January 29th, 2022, 9:48 am

Trinis have some serious jungle breath though.

Like it does just stick in Govt offices and public transportation.

I mean like is it the food? Lack of flossing and scraping the tongue?

Rum, curry, kfc and cutters diet?

We need to have more focus on personal hygiene.

Postby aaron17 » January 29th, 2022, 9:55 am

88sins wrote:Op, you may want to consider taking a long hard look at your diet as well.
We often consume some highly acidic foods and beverages without a thought, not realizing that they damage tooth enamel, and many adults actually unknowingly take in less calcium, vitamin D3 and vitamin C than they need.
That, coupled with good hygiene practices and regular dentist visits to identify and attend to any small problems early before they become big problems, and you should be good to go.

I don't eat any sweet things like candy, juice or chocolate but I admit to eating alot of bread... what made it act up was "I ate 2 slices of pine ..in which I shouldn't have(acid, bromelin that eats you) . I aint gonna eat pine for a long while.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 29th, 2022, 9:56 am

Salt water

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 29th, 2022, 10:01 am

I think it is understood that you have to rinse your mouth after brushing your teeth.

Postby aaron17 » January 29th, 2022, 10:12 am

wtf wrote:I think it is understood that you have to rinse your mouth after brushing your teeth.

rinse 30 mins after?