The Macoya Interchange

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2022, 4:50 pm

Govt to break ground for Macoya interchange in late 2022

Traffic along the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway (CRH) in Macoya, which has become a nightmare for thousands of motorists daily, is set to be alleviated with the construction of a multi-million dollar interchange in the area.

The interchange will not be built on the current site that has been proposed but will be developed further east. With this move, there is likely to be less acquisition of properties to facilitate the construction process and there will be less disruption. The Government is expected to break ground for the project in late 2022.

This was disclosed by Works and Transport Minister Rohan Sinanan during an exclusive interview with Guardian Media at his Port-of-Spain office recently.

Speaking in the company of the ministry's permanent secretary Sonia Francis-Yearwood and the deputy permanent secretary Navin Ramsingh, Sinanan gave an insight into the project.

He confirmed three conceptual designs have already been drafted by a consultant for this interchange.

"So the planning stage of the Macoya interchange has started. We are at the stage where we will get the conceptual designs shortly and then that will go out for tender...So, by the time we finish with the Diego Martin interchange in 2022, we should be in a position to award the contract and break ground in late 2022 for the Macoya interchange."

Last October, Finance Minister Colm Imbert is his 2022 budget said the Macoya interchange will be one of four highway projects that the Government will focus on this year to improve the country’s road network.

Imbert had also said pedestrians would benefit from safe crossing facilities.

According to Imbert, the Development Bank of Latin America (Caf) is providing a sector-wide approach programme loan of US$175 million for a modernised transportation infrastructure that is consistent with the objectives of the pipeline projects which the bank is already financing.

A 2022 public sector investment programme document by the Ministry of Planning and Development showed in fiscal 2021, the sum of $736.2 million was invested in roads and bridges throughout the country, as Government continues to strengthen its infrastructure development.

Screenshot 2022-01-18 at 4.51.31 PM.jpg

Providing details about the project, Sinanan said a feasibility study was done in Macoya based on the congestion motorists face every day.

This study is tied to the Port-of-Spain traffic alleviation project which was developed many years ago.

"The feasibility study showed that lights from Port-of-Spain to Sangre Grande must be removed over a period of time. So the highway would become a free flow," Sinanan said.

Questioned how many people are likely to be relocated to make way for the interchange, Sinanan said this would depend on the designs.

"This would be determined when a design is finalised. We would have to choose a design with the least amount of disruptions. Only when the preliminary designs are completed and they do the surveys and so, then they will know exactly which land they will take and which land they would not take."

As to the precise location of the interchange, Sinanan said it would be done further east.

"It is going further east...because if you go in the junction there you will disrupt several properties. It will be built just before the bridge. You know there is a bridge there, a river, it is just somewhere around there. You look in terms of if you go further East, you have less properties because you have a lot of State land and things like that.

"It's not like how the Curepe interchange was built smack in the centre there because there was nowhere else to go. Once you go further East, the opportunities are greater for less land acquisition."

Sinanan said the construction of the interchange was approved by Cabinet.

Having viewed a three-dimensional simulation of the proposed project, Sinanan said it would, however, require far more work and time than the Curepe interchange. He could not give a final cost for the project at this point.

"This is a bigger interchange in terms of the amount of lights this will eliminate because when you put in this Macoya interchange it takes the lights from UWI all the way up."

Construction of the interchange, Sinanan said, would eliminate traffic lights at UWI, Pasea and Macoya intersections which would help reduce gas emissions, congestion and time spent on the roads

He assured that the proposed interchange will not disrupt operations of the Norris Deonarine Wholesale Market which is a known landmark at the bustling intersection.

"What I can tell you, no...It will not interfere. It will make access much easier for that."

So far, Sinanan said a consultant has come up with three conceptual designs for the interchange which a technical team at his ministry would have to review.

They would then select the most appropriate design, taking into consideration the factors of cost, minimal disruption to businesses and homeowners, the best location and land needed.

The design selected will then go out for competitive tender.

Sinanan said whoever wins the "design-build contract" would have to come up with the final design of the interchange.

As the ministry gets set to undertake this major project, Sinanan said they are also planning to construct two additional interchanges at Trincity and Piarco intersections later on. Of these interchanges, Sinanan said, Piarco would require a larger scope of works.

"When we are done with these two interchanges we would only have the lights at O'Meara and Tumpuna to deal with. So it would be smooth sailing from Port-of-Spain to Arima without having to stop at a traffic light."

A study by the ministry found that close to 60,000 motorists use the 39 kilometre-long highway daily.

https://guardian.co.tt/news/govt-to-bre ... iWoqknTzAE

Redress10

Re: The Macoya Interchange

Postby Redress10 » January 18th, 2022, 4:57 pm

Not being built because it going to better the country but because they find a new way to create a contract fo funnel funds from the state into private hands.

A simple solution traffick is a more reliable public transport system. But they eh find a way to make money from that as yet so they rather pave more road.

Thieves....all of them

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 18th, 2022, 4:57 pm

They would try to complete it before the next GE. They starting that, but what going on with Toco highway and Manzan highway??

Postby hover11 » January 18th, 2022, 5:01 pm

But I thought the country have no money... anyway your government working for you, vote for us because we give allya an interchange.

Take bull.

Postby matr1x » January 18th, 2022, 5:10 pm

Just like covid, they make a crisis. They find money when they want

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 18th, 2022, 6:49 pm

who own all the land south of the macoya hiway? last time i pass modern electrical warehouse it only garden land. it is government ministers who now own all the land that warrant a roundabout that cost more than the curepe interchange.

Postby Rovin » January 18th, 2022, 6:55 pm

various govts only taking loans to build stuff & ppl will shout hurray we get a piece of smooth road to drive on ...

Postby hover11 » January 18th, 2022, 7:06 pm

Rovin wrote:various govts only taking loans to build stuff & ppl will shout hurray we get a piece of smooth road to drive on ...
A lil mamaguy and the ppl quick to throw their vote.....this trick has worked for years

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » January 18th, 2022, 7:42 pm

Postby bluefete » January 18th, 2022, 8:16 pm

$1 billion for that interchange and that is before once cent was spent.

Final cost will be around $3 billion after factoring for all the monies to go into assorted pockets.

And de man sitting down in that chair looking real tusty!

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » January 18th, 2022, 8:53 pm

There is no reason for the later installation of interchanges at both Trincity and Piarco though.

Piarco will do just fine, close off Trincity's highway cross point, and and improve the road setup along Trincity Boulevard East, to act as your main artery for traffic from the surrounding regions to access the highway at Piarco.

That way the next 2 interchanges after Macoya should be Piarco and O'Meara, which would eliminate all lights up to Tumpuna Road. Removing Tumpuna Road lights would be a trickier proposition.

Postby hover11 » January 18th, 2022, 8:54 pm

Whoever built that highway had no foresight as to the development of the country

Postby bluefete » January 18th, 2022, 8:56 pm

SPK1983 wrote:There is no reason for the later installation of interchanges at both Trincity and Piarco though.

Piarco will do just fine, close off Trincity's highway cross point, and and improve the road setup along Trincity Boulevard East, to act as your main artery for traffic from the surrounding regions to access the highway at Piarco.

That way the next 2 interchanges after Macoya should be Piarco and O'Meara, which would eliminate all lights up to Tumpuna Road. Removing Tumpuna Road lights would be a trickier proposition.

Behave your blasted self, eh.

It have any money to be made from your very practical proposal?

Why would I do that to save taxpayers money, when I can make millions from building 3-4 interchanges?

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » January 18th, 2022, 8:58 pm

bluefete wrote:
SPK1983 wrote:There is no reason for the later installation of interchanges at both Trincity and Piarco though.

Behave your blasted self, eh.

It have any money to be made from your very practical proposal?

Why would I do that to save taxpayers money, when I can make millions from building 3-4 interchanges?

Ah forget, sorry nah.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » January 18th, 2022, 9:41 pm

hover11 wrote:Whoever built that highway had no foresight as to the development of the country

More to the point who ever stopped the Trains had no foresight for the development of TnT.

tarzan

Postby tarzan » January 18th, 2022, 10:03 pm

Crime.

Postby zoom rader » January 18th, 2022, 11:31 pm

cornfused wrote:
hover11 wrote:Whoever built that highway had no foresight as to the development of the country

More to the point who ever stopped the Trains had no foresight for the development of TnT.
The red government stopped the trains back in the 60s, they were lobbied by the car dealers and insurance at that time in order to sell cars .

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 19th, 2022, 5:22 am

thats from the so called father of the nation? that is why all them does dead like dog for the wrong that they do. look at eric,robbie,geroge and look at bas (the man did no wrong as PM). blax baldhead now and teary forking up the cuntry and dont care. with all increase in prices just now TAXI fare will go up and we wont have so much cars on the road so why waste money on interchange.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 19th, 2022, 5:46 am

FFS fix all the potholes in literally every major road first.

Postby zoom rader » January 19th, 2022, 5:47 am

daring dragoon wrote:thats from the so called father of the nation? that is why all them does dead like dog for the wrong that they do. look at eric,robbie,geroge and look at bas (the man did no wrong as PM). blax baldhead now and teary forking up the cuntry and dont care. with all increase in prices just now TAXI fare will go up and we wont have so much cars on the road so why waste money on interchange.
Redman loves licking his arse

Postby De Dragon » January 20th, 2022, 5:48 pm

bluefete wrote:$1 billion for that interchange and that is before once cent was spent.

Final cost will be around $3 billion after factoring for all the monies to go into assorted pockets.

And de man sitting down in that chair looking real tusty!

Careful yunno! Remember Roundy is one of the honest Indo LFD RFD PNM politicos :roll:

Postby Rovin » January 20th, 2022, 5:59 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:FFS fix all the potholes in literally every major road first.

i like this idea but realistically it will never happen ....

dogg

Postby dogg » January 20th, 2022, 6:00 pm

i'll take a couple $b roundabouts before Manning's 25$$$Billion super train any day.

Allyuh could imagine the state we would have been in if that had gotten off the ground? Phew!

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 21st, 2022, 10:01 am

We studying interchange but it have roads that became offroad trails all over the country.

Question, when the UBH and SHH was built, they incorporated interchanges one time. Why wasn't this concept applied when the CRH was built? Or does it have to do with the CRH not being wide enough at the time to accommodate it? To me this is a prime example of a lack of vision that is costing us now which ought to have been incorporated back then.

dogg

Postby dogg » January 21st, 2022, 10:07 am

you understand that this is a neverending process right?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 21st, 2022, 10:14 am

agent007 wrote:We studying interchange but it have roads that became offroad trails all over the country.

Question, when the UBH and SHH was built, they incorporated interchanges one time. Why wasn't this concept applied when the CRH was built? Or does it have to do with the CRH not being wide enough at the time to accommodate it? To me this is a prime example of a lack of vision that is costing us now which ought to have been incorporated back then.

The CRH was built during World War II to connect the US Army base Fort Read (Waller FIeld) with Port of Spain because the Eastern Main Road was congested even then to move military equipment between Cumuto and Chaguaramas.
Construction began in December 1941 and was completed in March 1942. Originally reserved for the US armed forces, the road was turned over to the Government of Trinidad and Tobago on October 24, 1949.
The towns it passes or bypasses where we need interchanges now were not considered in the initial plan.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Churchill ... lt_Highway

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 21st, 2022, 10:47 am

dogg wrote:

At least freaking do maintain them, the current state is perhaps the worse in my lifetime.

I honestly have not been to a single country that has roads worse than ours.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 21st, 2022, 10:55 am

This project has my keen interest as one of the lights it eliminates is the one I use to enter and exit my area.
The final traffic flows should be interesting.

Postby hover11 » January 21st, 2022, 11:01 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
dogg wrote:

At least freaking do maintain them, the current state is perhaps the worse in my lifetime.

I honestly have not been to a single country that has roads worse than ours.
Are you willing to pay more taxes to maintain them, trinis want the perfect system when they pay little to no tax as compared to other countries. You are aware in other countries you have to pay for your garbage disposal, we get it here for free

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 21st, 2022, 11:18 am

Thanks for the info Duane