Re: Miss World Trinidad 2021

Postby The_Honourable » January 18th, 2022, 7:02 pm

Postby Rovin » January 18th, 2022, 7:14 pm

dunno who she is but she spoke alot of sense ....

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 18th, 2022, 7:45 pm

Again everyone seems to be missing the point here, a Miss World competition shouldn't be a platform to raise concerns about the country from whence you came. That is something that needs to be raised at the United Nations. She is clearly doing this for selfish purposes to prop herself up and gain favor among the judges.

Postby bluefete » January 18th, 2022, 8:02 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:in the first few months of covid when NGO's were sharing hampers, remember how much hundreds of persons would line up in the hot sun to wait for a hamper worth $150. and thats the ones who had money to travel to get to the place they were sharing hampers.

things get substantially worse since.

looks like the majority of trinis have no idea how badly people are suffering locally and hopefully this opens some eyes

This is so true. I can tell you I was totally shocked by the people who were seeking help.

But let us continue with our heads in the sand.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » January 18th, 2022, 8:44 pm

DMan7 wrote:Again everyone seems to be missing the point here, a Miss World competition shouldn't be a platform to raise concerns about the country from whence you came. That is something that needs to be raised at the United Nations. She is clearly doing this for selfish purposes to prop herself up and gain favor among the judges.

Exactly! The Miss World pageant is a self-interest platform. What value does it bring to the country when a person wins? What did we gain when Gisselle won?

Postby matr1x » January 18th, 2022, 9:19 pm

You mean the same UN who been under investigation for failing twice to deal with children trading sex favors for food from UN staff in Africa?

Get real

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 18th, 2022, 9:22 pm

So if you expect the UN not to do something you expecting Miss World to do something about humanitarian issues in countries? :lol:

Postby matr1x » January 18th, 2022, 9:25 pm

The point is, ppl crying about her embarrassing the country, when in truth, the country is an embarrassment

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2022, 9:34 pm

our poverty level is actually a lot less than many other countries and we have decent infrastructure compared to them

the un laughs at us
our problems are largely of govt corruption origin

they know very well that any amount of aid money would not make a dent in standard of living as most would be siphoned via bobol

Postby bluefete » January 18th, 2022, 9:37 pm

Postby matr1x » January 18th, 2022, 9:43 pm

[soundcloud][/soundcloud]
pugboy wrote:our poverty level is actually a lot less than many other countries and we have decent infrastructure compared to them

the un laughs at us
our problems are largely of govt corruption origin

they know very well that any amount of aid money would not make a dent in standard of living as most would be siphoned via bobol

In 2009 over 50% was under the poverty line. It got worse since then.

UN cyah talk

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 18th, 2022, 9:45 pm

After seeing that video bluefete post, the girl damn right....only donkeys here braying saying she wrong.

Don't mind this beautiful woman take over from Kamla.
Last edited by SuperiorMan on January 18th, 2022, 9:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby matr1x » January 18th, 2022, 9:45 pm

I get it! Indo Trinidadians in poverty don't get counted by pnm. I forgot. My bad

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 18th, 2022, 9:45 pm

I guess when allya have domestic problems in your house allya does run go and tell allya neighbors and co-workers...

Postby matr1x » January 18th, 2022, 9:46 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:After seeing that video bluefete post, the girl damn right....only donkeys here braying saying she wrong.

If she related to Faris, yeah, I wouldn't trust her politically. Their family have ways been opportunistic

Postby matr1x » January 18th, 2022, 9:47 pm

DMan7 wrote:I guess when allya have domestic problems in your house allya does run go and tell allya neighbors and co-workers...

Not the same thing.

Pnm wants to sell a false narrative about Trinidad

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 18th, 2022, 9:48 pm

matr1x wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:After seeing that video bluefete post, the girl damn right....only donkeys here braying saying she wrong.

If she related to Faris, yeah, I wouldn't trust her politically. Their family have ways been opportunistic

Is she though....I thought it was a joke.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 18th, 2022, 9:51 pm

It is not the responsibility of Miss World to air the dirty laundry of the country on a platform that isn't meant for that. I swear some of you all are dumb as fcking bricks if you don't understand that simple logic. I understand some of you hate what's been going on in the country and feel relieved that someone mentioned all our ills for the world to see but it accomplishes nothing and is actually an embarrassment for it to be revealed on a platform such as Miss World.

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » January 18th, 2022, 9:58 pm

DMan7 wrote:I guess when allya have domestic problems in your house allya does run go and tell allya neighbors and co-workers...
You vex what in the dark come to light? Or you just ignorant to the situation. Even if she just using it for she own gain she ent lie.

tarzan

Postby tarzan » January 18th, 2022, 11:20 pm

Poverty exists in every country in the world , you don’t hear miss India talking about how people sheiting on the side of the road and women still use rags as feminine sanitary pads on that forum though.

Smallie try to gain points by pulling a sad story , maybe she thought it would have made her look as though her struggle was real.

Those pageants are just a big pr stunt , let’s see how much charity she does after she returns , or how much of an activist she is towards the eradication of poverty when she returns as 16th runner up.

Postby timelapse » January 19th, 2022, 6:48 am

Miss World Beauty With a Purpose
The Beauty with a Purpose is an event established in 1972 that is celebrated during the activities prior to the Miss World pageant.[1] It awards the contestant with the most relevant and important charity project in her nation. Since 2005 the winner automatically makes the quarter finals. Miss World 2017 Manushi Chhillar from India is the first and only Beauty With a Purpose recipient to eventually win the Miss World crown.

Learn to fvcking google search before opening up allyuh piehole nah

Postby Dave » January 19th, 2022, 7:05 am

Poverty is generally described as being below a certain income bracket.
However being below said bracket but wearing the gold chains and Jordans and tattoos makes it hard to believe you are considered poor even though living conditions are what is being portrayed.
Were the means by which the material things acquired illegal?
Do you really want to come out of the situation you are in?

Postby Chimera » January 19th, 2022, 7:27 am

Its obvious that the majority of trinis weren't aware of how bad thousands of trinis are suffering.

So who cares if what she do was on the wrong platform.

I hope the charitable groups find themselves on plenty talk shows for the next 2 or 3 weeks to show what's going on locally

Postby hover11 » January 19th, 2022, 7:40 am

j.o.e wrote:Statistics show 20% of Trinis are below the poverty line and that’s with a big social net. Trinis are cvnts if they choose to ignore that.
False equivalence

77% of workforce earns less than $6,000 a month

https://www.google.com/amp/s/trinidadex ... f.amp.html

6000 is no kinda money ,if you have Rent or children

Postby Redman » January 19th, 2022, 7:41 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Its obvious that the majority of trinis weren't aware of how bad thousands of trinis are suffering.

So who cares if what she do was on the wrong platform.

I hope the charitable groups find themselves on plenty talk shows for the next 2 or 3 weeks to show what's going on locally

Killing the messenger means you avoid dealing with the issue.

Bluster is a strategy, but some here mistake it for content.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 19th, 2022, 8:26 am

hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Statistics show 20% of Trinis are below the poverty line and that’s with a big social net. Trinis are cvnts if they choose to ignore that.
False equivalence

77% of workforce earns less than $6,000 a month

https://www.google.com/amp/s/trinidadex ... f.amp.html

6000 is no kinda money ,if you have Rent or children

I highly doubt this is true.

I do not have data for post 2013 but up to 2013 approximately 40% of NIS contributors were in the bracket 6,109.99 and less. The largest individual bracket was actually 10,000 and over with 37% of all NIS contributors.

And the NIS system accounted for 95% of the total labour force at that time (597k contributors from a total workforce of 628k)

Even given the declining economic circumstances of the country since then that breakdown wouldn't have changed as dramatically as your statement indicates.

Postby 88sins » January 19th, 2022, 8:39 am

Plenty of allyuh really eh realize a very key factor.
She is NOT miss world, she is simply the T&T candidate. So, while she's claiming what she say is true and applicable to a wide swathofthepopulation, she is not in a position to influence the people who can advance her alleged cause, and is simply painting a picture of this country to look like a nation of suffering people for sympathy points.
And even if on the off chance she wins the pageant, she ain't going to do diddly squat for or about the suffering little girls she that she allegedly tries to help. Because these pageants are not about the candidates, or even the winners, much less the winners pet causes. They are about making money for the franchise, plain and simple.

Postby 16 cycles » January 19th, 2022, 9:17 am

might have missed it - is there a link to the full contribution from the candidate?

Postby timelapse » January 19th, 2022, 9:34 am

88sins wrote:Plenty of allyuh really eh realize a very key factor.
She is NOT miss world, she is simply the T&T candidate. So, while she's claiming what she say is true and applicable to a wide swathofthepopulation, she is not in a position to influence the people who can advance her alleged cause, and is simply painting a picture of this country to look like a nation of suffering people for sympathy points.
And even if on the off chance she wins the pageant, she ain't going to do diddly squat for or about the suffering little girls she that she allegedly tries to help. Because these pageants are not about the candidates, or even the winners, much less the winners pet causes. They are about making money for the franchise, plain and simple.
What allyuh not realizing is what I posted earlier.
There are smaller events that guarantee a spot in the semi finals if you win them.This is one of them.Beauty with a cause.You have to highlight things that you have done personally to alleviate poverty and those kinds of things in your home country.This is a relevent platform.
Its not a UN scale humanitarian event,nor is it designed to be.
This is a possible spot in the semi finals guaranteed, not an attempt at politics.

Postby bluefete » January 19th, 2022, 10:39 am

16 cycles wrote:might have missed it - is there a link to the full contribution from the candidate?

bluefete wrote:Tell me where she lied.

https://www.facebook.com/watch?v=663367501502938