Change The Name of Picton Street to Louisa Calderon Street.

Re: Change The Name of Picton Street to Louisa Calderon Street.

Postby RedVEVO » August 4th, 2022, 11:43 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Yahoo, how all our crime problems, our gang wars are done thanks to some over sensitive a55holes in this country who believe that changing a name on a street will change our history and our culture.
Leave history how it was, get past the stupid mental slavery that so many of you fools are still tied into.
Live in the time you are now and get over it. :roll:

There was a time when John John Towers in POS was to be renamed East Westmoorings or EastMoorings :D

death365

Postby death365 » August 4th, 2022, 11:56 am

yep back in mannin dayz ... then d obeyah tek him and he lost everything
RedVEVO wrote:There was a time when John John Towers in POS was to be renamed East Westmoorings or EastMoorings :D

Postby MaxPower » August 5th, 2022, 10:19 am

Trinis looking for any and everything to beat up for.

Quick to focus on a irrelevant sign in this day and age, but can’t even read a “NO Littering” sign.

Postby hover11 » August 5th, 2022, 10:34 am

MaxPower wrote:Trinis looking for any and everything to beat up for.

Quick to focus on a irrelevant sign in this day and age, but can’t even read a “NO Littering” sign.
Max,

This was avoidable however where were the checks and balances into this project or like everything else in this country was it was done vikey vike, however it hang , it swing

Postby Rovin » August 5th, 2022, 10:35 am

trinis so stink they will dump garbage right under a "no dumping of garbage here" sign or park under a no parking sign or park in front somebody gate entrance & want to play wrong\strong about it - had to tell my neighbor about that 1 last wk ...

Postby MaxPower » August 5th, 2022, 12:35 pm

Rovin wrote:trinis so stink they will dump garbage right under a "no dumping of garbage here" sign or park under a no parking sign or park in front somebody gate entrance & want to play wrong\strong about it - had to tell my neighbor about that 1 last wk ...

X3000.

Nastiest people around.

Postby SR » August 5th, 2022, 12:48 pm

While u at it rename woodford square too

Smh

Postby hover11 » August 5th, 2022, 12:50 pm

Rename all the streets in town while you at it because all of them are slave master names. Our priorities in the wrong places

Postby MaxPower » August 5th, 2022, 1:12 pm

Why not remove every single thing about Yasin Abu Bakr the terrorist?

And Kamla tief out all the money? Why not remove all her portraits?

Both UNC and PNM continue to a** rape the people for decades. HOW many citizens have been treated like animals and slaves? HOW many people have suffered? What it is we really removing?

But these dotish Trinis studying slavery omteen years ago?

Negro please

Postby pugboy » August 5th, 2022, 1:18 pm

can’t wait for the increased national productivity
since this has been a burden and keeping ppl back all this time

it will bring massive national unity like how the soca warriors united the country during world cup qualification

Postby MaxPower » August 5th, 2022, 1:22 pm

pugboy wrote:can’t wait for the increased national productivity
since this has been a burden and keeping ppl back all this time

it will bring massive national unity like how the soca warriors united the country during world cup qualification

X3000

Postby timelapse » August 5th, 2022, 7:14 pm

Meanwhile Kwami still brushing down the place and not minding his children.Blame everyone else for that, down to indos that reach here after you

Postby Rovin » August 5th, 2022, 7:18 pm

i wonder if persons with various massa surnames gonna change theirs too orrrrr ? ... :|

Postby timelapse » August 5th, 2022, 7:37 pm

Rovin wrote:i wonder if persons with various massa surnames gonna change theirs too orrrrr ? ... :|
I not changing mine

Postby hover11 » August 6th, 2022, 2:29 pm

SR wrote:While u at it rename woodford square too

Smh
Woodford square is being proposed to change to Eric Williams Square, this place is a rel joke lol

Postby timelapse » August 6th, 2022, 2:32 pm

hover11 wrote:

Smh
Woodford square is being proposed to change to Eric Williams Square, this place is a rel joke lol
How many places going to name after that woft?

Postby hover11 » August 6th, 2022, 2:36 pm

timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Smh
He was the best thing since slice bread.

Are we gonna change the money again I mean if we gonna do this we have to do this the right way. I mean Columbus is on our money and coat of arms.

Postby De Dragon » August 6th, 2022, 9:19 pm

timelapse wrote:Calderon was a 14-year old mulatto girl, accused of being involved in the theft of money from a Port of Spain businessman, Pedro Ruiz, whom Louisa’s mother had arranged for her to live with a as a ‘mistress’ at age 11.

Well look who sent her there.... Funny how nobody jumping on that bandwagon

The LFD RFD PNM have several pedos in their ranks

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 6th, 2022, 9:53 pm

hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Smh
He was the best thing since slice bread.

Are we gonna change the money again I mean if we gonna do this we have to do this the right way. I mean Columbus is on our money and coat of arms.

Wait na! That is a real heights, I never internalize that before! Lol

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » August 7th, 2022, 3:02 am

timelapse wrote:Calderon was a 14-year old mulatto girl, accused of being involved in the theft of money from a Port of Spain businessman, Pedro Ruiz, whom Louisa’s mother had arranged for her to live with a as a ‘mistress’ at age 11.

Well look who sent her there.... Funny how nobody jumping on that bandwagon

The LFD RFD PNM have several pedos in their ranks
Carefull u don't get ban for exposing pedos and fudge packers in the PNM

Postby Rovin » August 7th, 2022, 2:49 pm

plenty chestbun on fb , some idiots want ALL d colonial street names removed & renamed - they getting vex when others suggest that while ur at it bess u rename their own personal colonial names\surnames or renaming trinidad to iere b4 d time columbus came ...

https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/col ... _RiEuiDM48
Renaming streets: are we erasing a reminder of our past?

Many of our street names are of historical significance and form part of our cultural identity and heri­tage. So the controversial question remains, are we erasing a reminder of our historical past by renaming the streets in Trinidad and Tobago?

Local activists say they want to break free from street names associated with our colonial heri­tage. There are others in society who argue that street names should not be changed since they serve as important reference to our history.

This group postulates that even if there are some negative connotations attached to the names of some of our streets in Trinidad and Tobago, there are more important issues happening in our country that deserve priority. These are all important views expressed by our citizens. However, the fact remains that we cannot erase history to create new identities.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I have no objection to honouring the legacy of our local heroes and national icons in society, but instead of renaming existing roads that are of historical signi­ficance in the name of cultural relevance, there are other meaningful ways to acknowledge local heroes—by naming a new building, the new wing of a hospital, a scholarship fund, a bursary after them.

Commemorative street name signs added to a street name address are yet another way to honour our national icons and heroes. All of these are probably far more useful and meaningful than renaming a road after someone.

As leaders in society, we also have to consider carefully the extent to which renaming of streets produces real cultural change, where we can see a different kind of society that’s more inclusive and responsive to the realities of present day.

We have to be careful of the kind of subliminal messages we are sending to the youths of ­today of just who are considered our local heroes.

Is it only our local cultural artistes or sporting heroes, or are there specific established guidelines and criteria used to determine whether the individual selected to have a street ­renamed in his honour has provided “extraordinary public service or some exemplary contribution” to the public, and be associated with the community where the street is located?

Another issue we need to consider carefully is gender bias. Very few streets are being renamed after women. Besides the renaming of Queen Street after Janelle “Penny” Commissiong, have any other streets in our country been renamed after a woman who has made exemplary contribution to our society recently?

There must be a balance.

Have we also given serious consideration to the hassles involved in renaming a street? It might appear to be uncomplicated, but it’s not as easy as it seems. Utility bills, homeowner’s insurance, our driver’s license, ID cards and postal addresses are but a few things that will all have to be changed.

Furthermore, renaming requires the allocation of resources for the production of new signage, plus the labour costs of installing it.

There will always be arguments for and against the renaming of streets, but whatever the rationale for renaming streets in any country, it is imperative that we as a people adhere to best practices if our intent is to shape and support a local identity.

With the increasing focus on preservation of historic building and street names, it is worth adopting a more formal, structured approach, beginning with a review of all policies, including one on equality and diversity when dealing with the issue of renaming existing street names or promenades.

Having a clearly defined decision-making process for addressing questions of renaming streets and municipal parks is critical to the process since improvised procedures and lack of clear guidelines are likely to provoke further controversy in the future. For this reason, it is important to be wary of impulsive reactions to a situation.

—The author is curator of the Angelo Bissessarsingh Virtual Museum of Trinidad and Tobago

—Patricia Bissessar

Postby hover11 » August 7th, 2022, 2:54 pm

Rovin wrote:plenty chestbun on fb , some idiots want ALL d colonial street names removed & renamed - they getting vex when others suggest that while ur at it bess u rename their own personal colonial names\surnames or renaming trinidad to iere b4 d time columbus came ...

Many of our street names are of historical significance and form part of our cultural identity and heri­tage. So the controversial question remains, are we erasing a reminder of our historical past by renaming the streets in Trinidad and Tobago?

Local activists say they want to break free from street names associated with our colonial heri­tage. There are others in society who argue that street names should not be changed since they serve as important reference to our history.

This group postulates that even if there are some negative connotations attached to the names of some of our streets in Trinidad and Tobago, there are more important issues happening in our country that deserve priority. These are all important views expressed by our citizens. However, the fact remains that we cannot erase history to create new identities.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I have no objection to honouring the legacy of our local heroes and national icons in society, but instead of renaming existing roads that are of historical signi­ficance in the name of cultural relevance, there are other meaningful ways to acknowledge local heroes—by naming a new building, the new wing of a hospital, a scholarship fund, a bursary after them.

Commemorative street name signs added to a street name address are yet another way to honour our national icons and heroes. All of these are probably far more useful and meaningful than renaming a road after someone.

As leaders in society, we also have to consider carefully the extent to which renaming of streets produces real cultural change, where we can see a different kind of society that’s more inclusive and responsive to the realities of present day.

We have to be careful of the kind of subliminal messages we are sending to the youths of ­today of just who are considered our local heroes.

Is it only our local cultural artistes or sporting heroes, or are there specific established guidelines and criteria used to determine whether the individual selected to have a street ­renamed in his honour has provided “extraordinary public service or some exemplary contribution” to the public, and be associated with the community where the street is located?

Another issue we need to consider carefully is gender bias. Very few streets are being renamed after women. Besides the renaming of Queen Street after Janelle “Penny” Commissiong, have any other streets in our country been renamed after a woman who has made exemplary contribution to our society recently?

There must be a balance.

Have we also given serious consideration to the hassles involved in renaming a street? It might appear to be uncomplicated, but it’s not as easy as it seems. Utility bills, homeowner’s insurance, our driver’s license, ID cards and postal addresses are but a few things that will all have to be changed.

Furthermore, renaming requires the allocation of resources for the production of new signage, plus the labour costs of installing it.

There will always be arguments for and against the renaming of streets, but whatever the rationale for renaming streets in any country, it is imperative that we as a people adhere to best practices if our intent is to shape and support a local identity.

With the increasing focus on preservation of historic building and street names, it is worth adopting a more formal, structured approach, beginning with a review of all policies, including one on equality and diversity when dealing with the issue of renaming existing street names or promenades.

Having a clearly defined decision-making process for addressing questions of renaming streets and municipal parks is critical to the process since improvised procedures and lack of clear guidelines are likely to provoke further controversy in the future. For this reason, it is important to be wary of impulsive reactions to a situation.

—The author is curator of the Angelo Bissessarsingh Virtual Museum of Trinidad and Tobago

—Patricia Bissessar
As I said before if we doing this we can't do this half way , we hadda do it right. You want to get rid of Columbus and all the slavemaster names no problem, then why we not changing our names, our money , the country name, why are we holding onto the white man's religion (Christianity), why are we teaching our children westminster education, why are we still begging England to hear our court cases when we as a ppl cannot make a final decision....nobody ready for that conversation

Postby sMASH » August 7th, 2022, 6:04 pm

BLM tt views this as a success and progress
Yes, we can!

Postby timelapse » August 7th, 2022, 6:40 pm

In before we have a Skeng Street.

Postby timelapse » August 7th, 2022, 6:42 pm

hover11 wrote:
Rovin wrote:plenty chestbun on fb , some idiots want ALL d colonial street names removed & renamed - they getting vex when others suggest that while ur at it bess u rename their own personal colonial names\surnames or renaming trinidad to iere b4 d time columbus came ...

There must be a balance.

—Patricia Bissessar
As I said before if we doing this we can't do this half way , we hadda do it right. You want to get rid of Columbus and all the slavemaster names no problem, then why we not changing our names, our money , the country name, why are we holding onto the white man's religion (Christianity), why are we teaching our children westminster education, why are we still begging England to hear our court cases when we as a ppl cannot make a final decision....nobody ready for that conversation
This.Once you calling for places to rename on the grounds of slavery, you better not be Christian.Thats hypocrisy with a capital H

Postby MaxPower » August 7th, 2022, 6:49 pm

Boi if it could have a street call egg layer Street then anything goes yes.

Do allyuh do either way Trinis still gonna piss on it.

Postby timelapse » August 7th, 2022, 6:52 pm

MaxPower wrote:Boi if it could have a street call egg layer Street then anything goes yes.

True eh.Hornerman street, bachannal street, hydraulic road.Max Power Boulevard has a good ring to it

Postby Rovin » August 7th, 2022, 7:01 pm

u forget about bulller street in woodbrook ... :lol:

Postby MaxPower » August 7th, 2022, 10:28 pm

timelapse wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Boi if it could have a street call egg layer Street then anything goes yes.

True eh.Hornerman street, bachannal street, hydraulic road.Max Power Boulevard has a good ring to it

Timelapstreet FTW

Das it dey

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 7th, 2022, 10:44 pm

hover11 wrote:

There must be a balance.

—Patricia Bissessar
everything except the privy council could go