Change The Name of Picton Street to Louisa Calderon Street.

Postby bluefete » January 9th, 2022, 3:36 pm

Here is why. The man was brutal.

I think I read this in the National Museum many years ago.

Change The Name of Picton Street to Luisa Calderon Street.

Postby bluefete » January 9th, 2022, 3:39 pm

Here is why. The man was brutal.

I think I read this in the National Museum many years ago.

Re: Change The Name of Picton Street to Luisa Calderon Street.

Postby timelapse » January 9th, 2022, 3:45 pm

While you at it, change the Churchill Roosevelt Highway.Churchhill was terrible

Re: Change The Name of Picton Street to Louisa Calderon Street.

Postby 88sins » January 10th, 2022, 5:00 am

No thanks.
Not saying that I endorse Pictons conduct or anything, but I see no reason to change the name of the street to the name of a girl simply because she was tortured back then, a girl who did nothing of merit and simply faded away into obscurity. Particularly when there's been many others during that time who suffered much worse fates, and many since then who have done great things to bring national pride to this country.
Change the name if ynh want, but not to Louisa Calderon.

But daz jus me and my opinion, ymmv

Postby Ben_spanna » January 10th, 2022, 8:03 am

Changing names of places and streets NOW, because of peoples over sensitivity is unacceptable and uneccessary, its part of our history, leave it be and shut up!

Postby Dizzy28 » January 10th, 2022, 8:11 am

We should rename the country. I mean it was the white devil himself Columbus who named the country and we currently trying to cancel him and all his statues.

Go back to the native American name Iere...we can call ourselves Iereland!!!!!!!

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 10th, 2022, 8:29 am

What boi dizzy, yuh make post of the year finalist in just 10 days!

Postby timelapse » January 10th, 2022, 8:32 am

We should call it Snowflakia

Postby Dizzy28 » January 10th, 2022, 8:39 am

agent007 wrote:What boi dizzy, yuh make post of the year finalist in just 10 days!

Too much year end lists and no nominations!!

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 10th, 2022, 9:07 am

Dizzy28 wrote:We should rename the country. I mean it was the white devil himself Columbus who named the country and we currently trying to cancel him and all his statues.

Go back to the native American name Iere...we can call ourselves Iereland!!!!!!!

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Dizzy for PM

Postby MaxPower » January 10th, 2022, 9:27 am

zoom rader wrote:Best we changed dis county name to little Nigeria

Or Benesuela

Postby timelapse » January 10th, 2022, 9:36 am

Or Benesuela
Benny's Swelling was caused by an std.

Postby MaxPower » January 10th, 2022, 9:48 am

timelapse wrote:

Or Benesuela
Benny's Swelling was caused by an std.

Or ok

Postby De Dragon » January 12th, 2022, 6:11 pm

Yes, magically all that he did would vanish like smoke, just like highlighting or reporting on murders.

Postby alfa » January 12th, 2022, 6:40 pm

As a direct descendent of the colonizers indenturship system I demand reparations :D

Postby Rovin » January 12th, 2022, 6:46 pm

if names that were put during colonial times have to be removed or renamed well boi about half will need changing

imagine d chaos & then who gonna be doing d choosing\agreeing to these new names if we going d route of using indigenous words\names .....

Postby bluefete » August 3rd, 2022, 7:14 am

TIME TO ERASE RACIST PICTON
Brinsley Samaroo on removal of Picton name from streets and places:

Michelle Loubon 2 hrs ago 3 August 2022

“I think he should be removed. He was an extremely vicious and racist man.”

So said retired UWI St Augustine historian Prof Brinsley Samaroo yesterday, as he registered his support for Shabaka Kambon’s call for the name of late tyrannical slave owner and Trinidad’s first British governor, Sir Thomas Picton, to be removed from various streets and places, like Picton Street, Laventille; Picton Road, Sangre Grande; Picton Street, Woodbrook; Picton Street, San Juan; Picton Street Extension in Diamond Village, Penal; and Picton Court Apartments, Port of Spain.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... f391f.html

Postby bluefete » August 3rd, 2022, 7:23 am

https://henryclubs.com/picture-of-slave ... al-museum/

Picture of slave owner Sir Thomas Picton has been removed from the Welsh National Museum
November 3, 2021 Henry

A photograph of a slave owner who was the senior-most British officer to die in the Battle of Waterloo has been removed from the Welsh National Museum.

The ‘heroic’ portrait of Lieutenant General Sir Thomas Picton would not be displayed again until a group of artists completed a £12,000 commission to ‘reinterpret’ it.

The work at the museum in Cardiff has hung over 100 years, but after a rise in recent years there has been increasing scrutiny of Picton’s legacy

Despite being a war hero, the Welshman was also known as the ‘dictator of Trinidad’ and executed dozens of slaves while serving as governor of the island.

The National Museum of Wales says the new commission will retell Picton’s story from the perspective of the lives he influenced.

Postby timelapse » August 3rd, 2022, 7:24 am

Somebody looking for fame and relevance I see.Removing the name of Picton won't change a damn thing.On that note we should change ANR Robinson name from things because he was racist af also.Just name things by number or letter.Street A 6 etc in town 4.That not going to change the fact that Raj have a dhal belly or that Laqueesha don't know who she child fadda is,or that Mary still using yesterday pork in tomorrow charsui that she selling you.
The only truly unracist people in Trinidad is KFC
Kitchen For:
Chinee
Creole
C**lie (filter block the word)
Caucasians and
Cacaholes

Postby hover11 » August 3rd, 2022, 7:29 am

Renaming streets will help us how? It have nothing else to do in this place, nothing at all?

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » August 3rd, 2022, 7:39 am

timelapse wrote:Somebody looking for fame and relevance I see.Removing the name of Picton won't change a damn thing.On that note we should change ANR Robinson name from things because he was racist af also.Just name things by number or letter.Street A 6 etc in town 4.That not going to change the fact that Raj have a dhal belly or that Laqueesha don't know who she child fadda is,or that Mary still using yesterday pork in tomorrow charsui that she selling you.
The only truly unracist people in Trinidad is KFC
Kitchen For:
Chinee
Creole
C**lie (filter block the word)
Caucasians and
Cacaholes
You forgot PNM

Postby timelapse » August 3rd, 2022, 7:39 am

Calderon was a 14-year old mulatto girl, accused of being involved in the theft of money from a Port of Spain businessman, Pedro Ruiz, whom Louisa’s mother had arranged for her to live with a as a ‘mistress’ at age 11.

Well look who sent her there.... Funny how nobody jumping on that bandwagon

Postby De Dragon » August 3rd, 2022, 7:48 am

Dizzy28 wrote:We should rename the country. I mean it was the white devil himself Columbus who named the country and we currently trying to cancel him and all his statues.

Shabaka Kambon will not approve of your attempt to show other people were brutalized and subjugated.

death365

Postby death365 » August 3rd, 2022, 8:29 am

#Iereland

i likes it ... have an nice appeal to it

Postby Rovin » August 3rd, 2022, 10:26 am

rename all d picton to pricton - an easy insult & solution , problem solved ...

Postby bluefete » August 3rd, 2022, 2:04 pm

And just in time:

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-wales-62350 ... kF6fhr0cXg

Slave owner Sir Thomas Picton portrait returns in bid to reframe past
By Nicola Bryan BBC News
Published1 day ago - 2nd August 2022

A portrait of slave owner Sir Thomas Picton has been put back on display, albeit boxed up-and alongside new artworks and information that "reframes" his place in history.

The portrait was removed from National Museum Cardiff in November following scrutiny of memorials to slave owners.

The museum commissioned two artworks from Trinidadian artists to reframe his legacy and give a voice to his victims.

Young people also worked with curators to provide additional context.

Previously, information accompanying the portrait of Picton, who was from Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, hailed him as a hero of the Battle of Waterloo.

It had not included his brutal treatment of the people of Trinidad, including the torture of 14-year-old Luisa Calderon.

Postby timelapse » August 3rd, 2022, 3:44 pm

bluefete wrote:And just in time:

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-wales-62350 ... kF6fhr0cXg

Slave owner Sir Thomas Picton portrait returns in bid to reframe past
By Nicola Bryan BBC News
Published1 day ago - 2nd August 2022

A portrait of slave owner Sir Thomas Picton has been put back on display, albeit boxed up-and alongside new artworks and information that "reframes" his place in history.

The portrait was removed from National Museum Cardiff in November following scrutiny of memorials to slave owners.

The museum commissioned two artworks from Trinidadian artists to reframe his legacy and give a voice to his victims.

Young people also worked with curators to provide additional context.

Previously, information accompanying the portrait of Picton, who was from Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, hailed him as a hero of the Battle of Waterloo.

It had not included his brutal treatment of the people of Trinidad, including the torture of 14-year-old Luisa Calderon.
We sort out baby Akiel Chambers as yet?

Postby Ben_spanna » August 3rd, 2022, 3:46 pm

Yahoo, how all our crime problems, our gang wars are done thanks to some over sensitive a55holes in this country who believe that changing a name on a street will change our history and our culture.
Leave history how it was, get past the stupid mental slavery that so many of you fools are still tied into.
Live in the time you are now and get over it. :roll:

Postby Rovin » August 3rd, 2022, 3:50 pm

we like to follow foreign

when they vex with columbus we does get vex too , now is picton turn so we hadda follow dem too ...

Postby timelapse » August 3rd, 2022, 4:25 pm

Wait til they jump on Ralph Abercromby.
I heard he got his name from always being seasick
8180762898.jpg