Where in Trinidad sells Electric Bicycles and for what price?

pioneer5220

Where in Trinidad sells Electric Bicycles and for what price?

Postby pioneer5220 » December 17th, 2021, 9:15 am

Anyone ever tried bringing it in via skybox? what was the shipping and vat?

Anyway to do this affordable? will they ship the battery due to the large capacity by air?

Re: Where in Trinidad sells Electric Bicycles and for what price?

Postby 88sins » December 17th, 2021, 9:35 am

What exactly you want, an electric powered bicycle? Or an e-bike aka electric motorcycle?

Unless it comes comptelely built and the battery is already installed, the battery gonna ship as hazmat, may come separately according to who you ship with.

If it's the bicycle version you want, did you consider a motorized bicycle conversion kit? They relatively cheap and easy to install, and make for a fun project.

pioneer5220

Postby pioneer5220 » December 17th, 2021, 10:55 am

^ hi I want an E bike battery powered that is like a pedal assist basically.
I did read up about the gasoline powered one but it would be too noisy for what I want to do, I think an E-Bike from radpower bikes would be great but the price seems like a bummer especially since I was told you need to pay Duty to clear it? wish they made an exemption for it as part of the electric car exemptions since it serves the same purpose.

My other thoughts are buying a Roadbike, have you ever had experience using a roadbike? is it significantly easier to go from Point A to Point B on flat road as opposed to a straight handle flat bar Mountain Bike? looking to do some work commute 8 mile with the rise in taxi fair and all that but don't wanna sweat up too much before work as I work in an office.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 17th, 2021, 11:48 am

Aren't any bicycles that have an auxillary means of power considered a vehicle?

Therefore it would be need to be registered and insured etc.

pioneer5220

Postby pioneer5220 » December 17th, 2021, 1:36 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Aren't any bicycles that have an auxillary means of power considered a vehicle?

No this is incorrect.

E-Bikes are pedal with motor assist. Unless maybe you hack it or something it also doesn't matter so long as the top speed cuts of at 20mph this is the international law.

Postby pugboy » December 17th, 2021, 3:02 pm

i regularly see a guy in woodbrook with electric unicycle
moving at a good speed in traffic

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 17th, 2021, 3:06 pm

pioneer5220 wrote:Anyone ever tried bringing it in via skybox? what was the shipping and vat?

Anyway to do this affordable? will they ship the battery due to the large capacity by air?

Talk to Larry at MCE
You’ll get good advice and can prob purchase through them. Prices super competitive. I did a self import vs local bought and price was cheaper thru them as they are the dealers for some brands.

https://instagram.com/mce_bike_shop?utm ... =copy_link

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 17th, 2021, 3:21 pm

It have a man in south with a 2 stroke converted bicycle... I doubt believe he have insurance but I don't know the achievable speeds either
Last edited by kamakazi on December 17th, 2021, 3:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 17th, 2021, 3:40 pm

Fella in couva put a Wacker engine on a bicycle, police seize it. He used to give it real beans till one day he pass a police vehicle.

Smart and dotish at the same time.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 17th, 2021, 6:00 pm

pioneer5220 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Aren't any bicycles that have an auxillary means of power considered a vehicle?

No this is incorrect.

E-Bikes are pedal with motor assist. Unless maybe you hack it or something it also doesn't matter so long as the top speed cuts of at 20mph this is the international law.
Tbh I am not sure that international thing is a thing

However the Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic Act does state what constitutes an electric vehicle
IMG_20211217_175837.jpg

Rockram

Postby Rockram » December 17th, 2021, 7:27 pm

Had the pleasure of riding a GIANT pedal assist road bike in canada....was a great experience.....whichever direction you go buy the best bike you can afford....it's one of those things you need to spend $ for the best experience.

Postby pugboy » December 17th, 2021, 7:48 pm

a brand name electric will cost around $50k
i have seen more than a few chinese ones on the road
not sure who sells or how much they are

Postby 88sins » December 17th, 2021, 8:32 pm

From what I was told, once they retain the capacity to be powered by a riders physical effort, motorized bicycles are not considered an actual motor vehicle, they are considered a motor-assisted bicycle.

Consider this tho.
If you have a manually powered wheelchair, and with some ingenuity your relatives put a gas or electric motor, braking system, and steering system on it to make your life easier, you think that you required to register it with licensing office, while the people who bought motorized wheelchairs from dealers or imported them don't have to?

Anyway.
Op, I say get a gas conversion kit and have at it.

Postby pugboy » December 18th, 2021, 8:10 am

them gas ones are loud af

the cheap chinese ones with motor in the hub seem to work well but not the best aesthetically like the ones with motor in the crank.

Postby Dave » December 18th, 2021, 8:47 am

How about those retrofit kit? They are quite costly when last I checked.

Postby 88sins » December 18th, 2021, 9:57 am

pugboy wrote:them gas ones are loud af

the cheap chinese ones with motor in the hub seem to work well but not the best aesthetically like the ones with motor in the crank.

Yeah, they loud, does kinda sound like a whacker on full throttle. But they kinda easy to quiet down a good bit with a better muffler.
They vibrate a good bit as well, but with some small pieces of thick rubber between the mounting points and the frame fixes that easy too.

One good thing I will say tho, dem thing EXTREMELY fuel efficient for what they are, and as a means of transportation for people on a budget they real cost effective when tuned and operated properly.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 19th, 2021, 6:22 pm

Was riding up Chancellor and and old man pass me at speed riding while pedaling

Found out at the bottom of the hill was an e assist bike