Government to outlaw pyramid/ponzi/mlms

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 13th, 2021, 6:55 pm

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/govt-mo ... id-schemes

Colm wrote:"For the purposes of this act, 'prohibited scheme' means a scheme in which a business is structured in such a way that the returns an investor or client earns, is directly tied to the number of persons he recruits to join this scheme. This is the typical infrastructure in a Ponzi scheme or a Pyramid scheme. It relies upon the recruitment of other persons in the scheme," he said.

Read the article for details, but the punishment is dread:
LoopTT wrote:The proposed penalties for breaching these laws are as follows:

A person who establishes or operates a prohibited scheme is liable on summary conviction to a fine of $10 million and imprisonment for 10 years.
A person who knowingly participates in a scheme of this nature is liable on conviction to a fine of $5 and imprisonment for five years.
A person who knowingly advertises or invites another person to join a prohibited scheme is liable on summary conviction to a fine of $2 million and imprisonment of three years.

Re: Government to outlaw pyramid/ponzi/mlms

Postby pugboy » December 13th, 2021, 7:08 pm

so wha about forex/iml type schemes?

Postby teems1 » December 13th, 2021, 7:08 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:https://tt.loopnews.com/content/govt-moves-outlaw-ponzi-pyramid-schemes

Colm wrote:"For the purposes of this act, 'prohibited scheme' means a scheme in which a business is structured in such a way that the returns an investor or client earns, is directly tied to the number of persons he recruits to join this scheme. This is the typical infrastructure in a Ponzi scheme or a Pyramid scheme. It relies upon the recruitment of other persons in the scheme," he said.

A person who establishes or operates a prohibited scheme is liable on summary conviction to a fine of $10 million and imprisonment for 10 years.
A person who knowingly participates in a scheme of this nature is liable on conviction to a fine of $5 and imprisonment for five years.
A person who knowingly advertises or invites another person to join a prohibited scheme is liable on summary conviction to a fine of $2 million and imprisonment of three years.

Rightfully so.

Ponzi schemes prey on the vulnerable, desperate and those who have a weak grasp of math.

agent007

Postby agent007 » December 13th, 2021, 7:17 pm

I did say this in the IML thread a while back. It's about time we stop this fraud and sieze all of the assets of these sick fraudsters and ofcourse make a special jail for them.

How about we merge this discussion on said IML thread?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 13th, 2021, 7:19 pm

teems1 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:https://tt.loopnews.com/content/govt-moves-outlaw-ponzi-pyramid-schemes

Rightfully so.

Ponzi schemes prey on the vulnerable, desperate and those who have a weak grasp of math.

Those people hopeless anyway. They'll just spend it on lotto alcohol and painting their house for Christmas.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 13th, 2021, 7:21 pm

agent007 wrote:I did say this in the IML thread a while back. It's about time we stop this fraud and sieze all of the assets of these sick fraudsters and ofcourse make a special jail for them.

You could stop everything, once their are fools and red govt supporters, there will be conmen.

Postby hover11 » December 13th, 2021, 7:23 pm

agent007 wrote:I did say this in the IML thread a while back. It's about time we stop this fraud and sieze all of the assets of these sick fraudsters and ofcourse make a special jail for them.

That would require legislation and politicians don't want to amend any laws concerning fraud to seize assets as that would implicate their friends.Con men now don't care, you catch them ,they getting bail the next day to do it again. Most that will happen is their pic posted up on social media and a court case dragged on for years in the judicial system hoping the police come to court and the matter isn't just thrown out. The most you can do is treat everyone like a con man when doing business run a back ground check on the individual selling any fixed asset be it land , car etc before engaging business, if they don't agree to a background check then move on to the next seller
Last edited by hover11 on December 13th, 2021, 7:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 13th, 2021, 7:27 pm

I just waiting to see how the con / recuruitment tactics going to adapt.

Postby hover11 » December 13th, 2021, 7:30 pm

So when the law passes all those ponzi groups that advertising on social media will cyber crime unit be monitoring those, passing a law is one thing but the enforcement of such is another

Postby MaxPower » December 13th, 2021, 7:38 pm

Narendra days numbered.

That B15 will hadda sell

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » December 13th, 2021, 8:27 pm

Apparently there's similar things like IML under different names.

Postby zoom rader » December 13th, 2021, 8:39 pm

Stupes

Who runs a bigger pyramid scheme that the red government.

Postby hover11 » December 13th, 2021, 8:42 pm

zoom rader wrote:Stupes

Wasn't clico a pyramid scheme?

Postby gastly369 » December 13th, 2021, 8:51 pm

Ah seeing cashfx "de new flick"

Postby teems1 » December 13th, 2021, 9:00 pm

hover11 wrote:

Clico was invested in the US subprime mortgage crisis of 2008.

Not a ponzi scheme.

All due to ratings agencies and the belief in the US housing market would never falter. Moody's, Standard and Poor's etc were giving AAA ratings to securities which were CCC.

Postby The_Honourable » December 13th, 2021, 9:46 pm

gastly369 wrote:Ah seeing cashfx "de new flick"

ENT!!!??? :lol:

Where the nutrilite people at?

Postby Ben_spanna » December 13th, 2021, 9:52 pm

And commercial banks probing your every transaction as if you are a damn drug dealer .. like wtf is really going on, just now you will have to do a source of funds to buy fking bread …

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 13th, 2021, 9:59 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:And commercial banks probing your every transaction as if you are a damn drug dealer .. like wtf is really going on, just now you will have to do a source of funds to buy fking bread …

symptoms of a shadow economy and plenty dark money throughout the system?

Postby De Dragon » December 13th, 2021, 10:17 pm

hover11 wrote:So when the law passes all those ponzi groups that advertising on social media will cyber crime unit be monitoring those, passing a law is one thing but the enforcement of such is another

Nah, dem too busy trying to figure out what beach Volney on :roll:

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 13th, 2021, 10:21 pm

teems1 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Clico was invested in the US subprime mortgage crisis of 2008.

Not a ponzi scheme.

All due to ratings agencies and the belief in the US housing market would never falter. Moody's, Standard and Poor's etc were giving AAA ratings to securities which were CCC.

Yea but the kinda returns I heard clico was getting, you had to think something was wrong.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 13th, 2021, 10:22 pm

gastly369 wrote:Ah seeing cashfx "de new flick"

If people dumb enough to fall for that, they will fall for anything

Postby zoom rader » December 13th, 2021, 10:29 pm

hover11 wrote:So when the law passes all those ponzi groups that advertising on social media will cyber crime unit be monitoring those, passing a law is one thing but the enforcement of such is another

The red government agents has been very active to find which beach he used

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 13th, 2021, 10:54 pm

We could have all the nice laws we could ever dream of.

Good luck enforcing them.

Not as if we have laws being drafted competently anyway.

Postby timelapse » December 14th, 2021, 7:11 am

He in Sunova Beach

Postby MaxPower » December 14th, 2021, 7:17 am

ProtonPowder wrote:We could have all the nice laws we could ever dream of.

X3000

Littering is against the law and just look at the environment in T&T.

Postby hover11 » December 14th, 2021, 7:21 am

X3000

Max,

Murder is against the law yet look at the murder toll yearly

Postby timelapse » December 14th, 2021, 8:11 am

X3000

This also against the law, but look in the mirror:

Under the Trafficking in Persons Act, anyone who, for the purpose of exploitation, 'recruits, transports, transfers, harbours or receives persons into or within Trinidad and Tobago...by means of threats or by the giving or receiving of payment of benefits to achieve the consent of a person having control over another person, commits the offence of trafficking in persons and is liable on conviction on indictment, to a fine of not less than five hundred thousand dollars and imprisonment of not less than fifteen years'.

Postby redmanjp » December 17th, 2021, 3:30 pm

u could have the law where u could have a buyer get off in exchange for providing info on the seller. especially if the buyer lose a lot of money.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 17th, 2022, 4:27 pm

Getting a funny smell
https://www.nvisionu.com

oh no, it's all too familiar.
Smells like BS

Postby K74T » September 17th, 2022, 4:50 pm