Licensing recalling 700,000 drivers’ permits

Postby hover11 » December 5th, 2021, 8:25 am

LICENSING SET OF RECALL 700,000 DRIVER’ PERMIT AS RAMPANT FRAUD CREATING HEADACHES IN THE SYSTEM

GUARDIAN MEDIA 

The Licensing Division is moving to implement new drivers’ permits (DPs) by month’s end.

The initiative is aimed at stopping false drivers’ licenses from being produced by fraudsters and which are now widely used by Venezuelans and T&T nationals.

It is unknown how many of these fake DPs are in the hands of non-nationals.

However, Transport Commissioner Clive Clarke, in a face-toface interview on Thursday with Guardian Media at the Ministry of Works and Transport headquarters in Port-of-Spain, confirmed that some of the holders of fraudulent permits are Venezuelans while some bogus licenses have been engaging the attention of the T&T Police Service.

Speaking in the presence of Works and Transport Minister Rohan Sinanan, Clarke said one way of stopping the forged permits being used was by issuing new permits with security features and hidden markings by the end of this year and recalling the over 700,000 valid permits in the coming months.

Clarke made it clear that the fake permits were being replicated by individuals outside the ambit of their offices.

Since his appointment in March 2020, Clarke said Licensing Division has picked up a number of false permits containing names, addresses and dates of births of legitimate drivers, while the photograph bears the image of someone else.

False permits tend to carry the same numbers as legitimate permits.

“We have seen an upsurge in duplicate numbers where persons are having false driver’s permits being created on the outside. In order for that to look as close as possible to our records, they are basically using what we call our number range. But that is in no way on our records,” Clarke said.

Pressed on how many fake permits they have been picked up under his tenure, Clarke said roughly 700.

The Licensing Division has over 700,000 registered drivers on its database.

In January, Clarke said they will introduce an online provisional system using codes for every service transaction. This system will pave the way for the renewal of permits and vehicle transfers online.

“By the end of December, a new driver’s permit will be out. That permit itself provides us with the data set and the environment to commence that online renewal.

Because we are changing the design of the permit, you will have the opportunity to upload your picture onto the permit.”

Following this process, the applicant, Clarke said, would have to visit a licensing office to verify their documents.

Collection of the renewal will have to be made at a TTConnect site or a Licensing Office with the old DP being surrendered.

“What would happen there...a number of persons would not be able to submit that (their expired permits and documents) because they are walking around bogus permits right now,” Clarke said.

Without divulging too much, Clarke boasted that the new permits will be embedded with enhanced security features and markings aimed at preventing duplication. The special markings will be detected by law enforcement officers using handheld devices.

If a permit does not have these markings it will be deemed fraudulent.

He said the new permits will also have “what we call ghost pictures.”

A ghost image is a smaller version of an original photo on a card and is usually printed in a semi-transparent form.

Clarke said the design for the new permits has already been completed.

“They are being printed and tested,” Clarke revealed.

He said only drivers with renewal appointments will be issued new permits beginning at the end of December.

A recall of unexpired permits will follow.

“I will be recommending to the Minister and our Permanent Secretary for consideration, that we implement a recall mechanism subject to their approval. What the introduction of new driver’s permits will allow us the opportunity, whereby we could recall those lookalikes of the old ones and generate something that is more difficult to reproduce.”

Clarke said the recall of valid permits will commence next June using either an alphabetical system or geographical locations.

“We will advise the minister what are the best options because we would have to look at fewer crowds and make it more manageable.”

He said the system in place at Licensing Division does not contribute to the duplication of permits.

“Any duplication of permits has to be permits that are generated on the outside through fraudulent means...clones,” he said.

Clarke said there are two types of permits in existence.

“We have one with the bird (holographic) and the old ones.”

The old ones could have been renewed for ten years.

“You have persons with some of those still...and ideally speaking, they should have discontinued that because those are the ones in particular...what you are seeing... with all due respect, the Venezuelans all over the place with it because it is easy to make those... those are the ones you are seeing them with. In fact, it is rampant!”

Clarke could not say where or how the fraudulent permits are being made.

“That is a matter the police are looking at to see where they are generating those. It is not just the Venezuelans. We are seeing local citizens with fraudulent DPs. We are seeing persons from different parts of the region with them.”

Clarke said recently, Licensing Division was contacted by the Fraud Squad concerning a fake permit that was used in a bank in South Trinidad to conduct a transaction.

“And that DP the person had was our exact material. When you look at it at face value, it appeared as ours but it was not one of our products. Two things...the top layer of the DP was shifty and when we looked up that DP in our system, it was in somebody else’s name and address.”

Clarke also disclosed that there are about 800 vehicles that have duplicated registration numbers as well.

“We would have rectified a high number of them. My last check was about 350 thereabout.”

The duplication, Clarke said, occurs in two ways. The first involved an old system where numbers were given out to different licensing offices.

“And over the years, they sometimes mixed up those numbers.... they mixed the batch. You may find in a situation 15 numbers may have been given out through that system. Therefore, when we check our records we are seeing both vehicles in our registration books. It is easy to treat with those. Those are called administrative errors.”

Secondly, he said, people have been cloning the numbers, which they have been detecting on their electronic system.

Clarke said the only time the Licensing Division will get total sanitisation of vehicle registration is by implementing the new license plates currently being procured.

“It will give us the opportunity to recall all vehicles and revisit what we call a revaluation process.”

Saying he was concerned about the perception of fraud at Licensing Offices, Clarke said once there are poor systems in place and “people are willing to participate in practices contrary to procedures ...that equates to corruption.”
FB_IMG_1638707112248.jpg

Re: Licensing fraud

Postby timelapse » December 5th, 2021, 8:32 am

I told you guys that there was a Vene counterfeiting ring.As usual,the simps defended.This is what they do.Wait until your land deed get counterfeited and you loss yuh house.Dont say I didn't warn you

Postby bluefete » December 5th, 2021, 8:35 am

timelapse wrote:I told you guys that there was a Vene counterfeiting ring.As usual,the simps defended.This is what they do.Wait until your land deed get counterfeited and you loss yuh house.Dont say I didn't warn you

Wait till Max wakes up and sees this.

Postby hover11 » December 5th, 2021, 8:37 am

I don't know about yall but when I driving I usually see more and more venes who not even speaking a word of English in traffic. How do they read signs , how is that possible?

Postby *KRONIK* » December 5th, 2021, 8:43 am

And chinese too

I seen plenty of them being escorted by driving school instructors to the photo room

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2021, 8:49 am

lot of venes were printing their own international drivers permit cards
valid for 6 or 3 months i think

can reprint
doubt ttps asking them to see their passport to know when they came ashore

Postby hover11 » December 5th, 2021, 8:55 am

Where is Max, this cannot continue. Something has to be done, so you recall 700,000 permits now, when it happens again what then?

Postby aaron17 » December 5th, 2021, 8:57 am

U know hoow hard it is to get an appointment online? Steups. If the pandemic not over..that gonna take rel long to get.

Postby Dave » December 5th, 2021, 9:26 am

What problems are you encountering? The last week in January is available for POS location.
You can renew up to a month before and there is an amnesty till Feb 22 for expired licenses.

aaron17 wrote:U know hoow hard it is to get an appointment online? Steups. If the pandemic not over..that gonna take rel long to get.

antlind

Postby antlind » December 5th, 2021, 9:34 am

I could see this new permit initiative ending up in chaos and confusion. Have the great minds at the license office ever done anything successfully (apart from taking bribes). Weren’t we supposed to ne getting new license plates? Whatever happened to that initiative.

Postby shogun » December 5th, 2021, 9:50 am

Dave wrote:What problems are you encountering? The last week in January is available for POS location.
You can renew up to a month before and there is an amnesty till Feb 22 for expired licenses.

Wait, so even DP's with a 2023 expiry date need to renew by that 2022 date as well?

Postby hover11 » December 5th, 2021, 9:54 am

shogun wrote:
Dave wrote:What problems are you encountering? The last week in January is available for POS location.

Wait, so even DP's with a 2023 expiry date need to renew by that 2022 date as well?
No, basically the moratorium for expired permits is up to Feb 2022, alot of ppl still have expired permits due to the pandemic so as to not clutter the licensing offices. So the expired permits thst people are using now will still be accepted until then however more than likely it will be extended yet again. Your permit expires in 2023 if it states 2023

Postby shogun » December 5th, 2021, 9:58 am

Thanks man.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 5th, 2021, 9:58 am

A Venezuelan woman set this off.
She went to Republic Bank high Street San Fernando with a DP to open a bank account.
Bank officials call fraud squad and they charged her with falsifying a DP.
Where she got it from?
Fraud in this institution will never be fixed.
Too much money passing.

Postby hover11 » December 5th, 2021, 10:02 am

wtf wrote:A Venezuelan woman set this off.
She went to Republic Bank high Street San Fernando with a DP to open a bank account.
Where she got it from?
Too much money passing.
This is the land of fraud bro, how easy it is to get a real ID card with your picture and another name on it, that right there is a whole new identity, we have no checks and balances. Money talks and BS walks from morning

Postby timelapse » December 5th, 2021, 11:39 am

wtf wrote:A Venezuelan woman set this off.
Where she got it from?
Too much money passing.
A Trinidad dp is nothing for vene pros to copy

Postby alfa » December 5th, 2021, 11:50 am

*KRONIK* wrote:And chinese too

I seen plenty of them being escorted by driving school instructors to the photo room

Remember the story of the Chinese businesswoman who had an FUL but was charged for having excess ammo because she couldn't read the English to know that they limit was 25 rounds I think at the time? It's not DP alone have fraud, the only thing you can't buy here is life when your time up

Re: Licensing recalling 700,000 drivers’ permits

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2021, 12:05 pm

so how they plan to do this ?
they most they can do is send a letter to the driver's address on the system.

Postby mero » December 5th, 2021, 12:08 pm

Imagine everyone who buy dey license get shine up and dq'd nah... Guuuuud

wingnut

Postby wingnut » December 5th, 2021, 12:28 pm

pugboy wrote:so how they plan to do this ?
Yea right..... You really think these morons have a plan. They going to cancel all and say you have check license office to see if yours was one that get cancelled

Postby zoom rader » December 5th, 2021, 12:29 pm

I told you all years ago the Chinese where using one permit for multiple drivers.

Now Max venes abusing it.

We looking more like Nigeria now

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » December 5th, 2021, 2:14 pm

Chinese people smart too bad.

Postby Redman » December 6th, 2021, 8:35 am

Its time we grow up and take some responsibility to help get things better than they are....

MOWT should publish DP numbers- the same friggin DP numbers that we use every friggin day- Publish the range and dates-

Cycle 1A DP# 1-1000 Jan 1-15th
Cycle 1B DP #1001-2000 Jan 16-31st

Along side the renewal cycle, put the onus of action on the citizen to ensure that they comply.

MOWT can then authenticate in batches so that when we show up-its just to match info and take a photo.

IMHO this is a great time to issue every citizen a QR code that will be a unique identifier linked to DP, ID.

Scan than and get everything.

Postby pugboy » December 6th, 2021, 8:41 am

i doubt anybody would take that on, sure the folks like you and me but those fraudulent folks are fraudulent for a reason

Postby zoom rader » December 6th, 2021, 8:58 am

Redman wrote:

Its time we grow up and take some responsibility to help get things better than they are....

MOWT should publish DP numbers- the same friggin DP numbers that we use every friggin day- Publish the range and dates-

Cycle 1A DP# 1-1000 Jan 1-15th
Cycle 1B DP #1001-2000 Jan 16-31st

Along side the renewal cycle, put the onus of action on the citizen to ensure that they comply.

MOWT can then authenticate in batches so that when we show up-its just to match info and take a photo.

IMHO this is a great time to issue every citizen a QR code that will be a unique identifier linked to DP, ID.

Scan than and get everything.
QR codes is definitely the way to go. It's gonna be a challenge to fraud a QR.

Postby Redman » December 6th, 2021, 8:59 am

pugboy wrote:i doubt anybody would take that on, sure the folks like you and me but those fraudulent folks are fraudulent for a reason

Ent every one change out thei 100 bills?
Now not a peep for the rest.

If they sensible the MOWT will have a deadline- and fine non compliance.

Its SUCKEYE to establish a QR system- TTPS enters the DP # on a non compliant-if he in the grace period- small fine.
If he not-big fine.
If the number comes up duplicated or fake- arrest-cuz INSURANCE.

Like the firearms-there is an industry that can be established to support enforcement.
Its not one off.

At the end of the first 18 mnths we have only non compliant people with old licenses or fakes.

Look at the speeding- once we ENFORCE-we get compliance...
when we stop enforcing- things fall apart.

Postby pugboy » December 6th, 2021, 9:49 am

yeah they need to switch to a diff card with a total recall
asking those particular ppl to come in won’t work

Postby Ben_spanna » December 6th, 2021, 10:22 am

They should publish the names and addresses of 500 of them every day starting now and ask people to contact an office if they know the whereabouts of said persons... if they wont; come to the licensing division then send the squad after them with possible permenant disqualification as their penalty along with a $10,00 fine .

Postby Dizzy28 » December 6th, 2021, 11:10 am

What are they doing about the staff who in the scam?

Corrupt perosns going to continue to be corrupt.

Postby pugboy » December 6th, 2021, 12:13 pm

it’s usually the low level staff who do the “facilitation”

the fellas who assist the officers with vehicle inspection over the ramp are the ones who you speak to

last time i did a pickup inspection and was waiting outside for the officer to signup the batch of certs
the amount of ppl come behind asking them employees all kinda question and how to go about

Dizzy28 wrote:What are they doing about the staff who in the scam?

Corrupt perosns going to continue to be corrupt.