Anthony "Tony" Harford Dead

Postby bluefete » December 3rd, 2021, 2:27 pm

Tony Harford from Radio 100FM back in the day passed this morning.

Condolences to his family.

I remember him being on in the weekday mornings. He had great taste in music

Re: Anthony "Tony" Harford Dead

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2021, 2:44 pm

yeah
from the old school ppl who could actually speak properly and grammatically on radio and tv

Postby bluefete » December 3rd, 2021, 3:09 pm

pugboy wrote:yeah
from the old school ppl who could actually speak properly and grammatically on radio and tv

Dang right about that.

Loved to listen to him back in the day.

Now radio is one set of screechers and proper grammar and pronunciation have been consigned to the dustbin.

We gave up a good thing to pander to the brainless.

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2021, 4:19 pm

u use the best term to describe them idiots

Postby Les Bain » December 3rd, 2021, 5:46 pm

The old school bad really memorable personalities. You tuned in for the content but they were an integral part of the media on which they were employed. Viewers and listeners from that era were fortunate to have experienced those days.

Since then, 'personality' was hijacked to imply loud jackassery.

Postby Rovin » December 3rd, 2021, 6:12 pm

oh boy a old school legend has passed , as a child i remember hearing his voice\music selections on 100 & seeing him on tv , he was a sports follower too ... another piece of our local history gone

i agree with what u guys posted ....... we all showing our ages here

R.I.P Mr. Harford

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 3rd, 2021, 7:45 pm

Don't know the guy.
Who is he?

carluva

Postby carluva » December 3rd, 2021, 10:45 pm

Anthony Harford was a media personality from the 80s, 90s and 2000s.

He was a sports reporter for TTT news after which he made his way into radio and served on stations such as 97.1 and 100.1.

Quite a very decent media personality and possibly a good role model for those in the media industry.

VII

Postby VII » December 3rd, 2021, 11:24 pm

Damn, grew up on him, a real class act, a consummate professional with a measured calm delivery and a very sober tone. We were indeed lucky to experience the class and substance that was once part of this big little country

RIP to him and sincere condolences to his loved one's.

Everyone that made an impact on our lives are dying off as we transform into older folks right before our very own eyes .

RIP to him .
Last edited by VII on December 4th, 2021, 11:05 am, edited 3 times in total.

Postby zoom rader » December 4th, 2021, 7:30 am

Jah bless him.

He came from the era when we had real media houses and when we spoke English rather than the zess language

Postby pugboy » December 4th, 2021, 7:33 am

boy if you watch the news ticker on the stations everyday you will see both spelling and grammatical errors

you would swear is tuners write the news

Postby zoom rader » December 4th, 2021, 10:22 am

pugboy wrote:boy if you watch the news ticker on the stations everyday you will see both spelling and grammatical errors

Zess and Jamaican culture caused dis

Postby The_Honourable » December 4th, 2021, 11:12 am

Remembered him for reading sports and especially Caribbean Sports Digest

RIP

VII

Re: Anthony

Postby VII » December 4th, 2021, 11:19 am

And American ghetto gangsterism. They may have contributed a lot to the world and stand ready to defend democracy (if it suits them) but no other country has negatively influenced the world as the USA .

Jamaica has been doing a number on the region since the 80s with their gunman lyrics and patent brutality to the point where every jackass in the ghetto thinks he's a Jamaican in spirit, they just can't sing the song for light entertainment, they gotta live it..pleh..

pugboy wrote:boy if you watch the news ticker on the stations everyday you will see both spelling and grammatical errors

Zess and Jamaican culture caused dis
Last edited by VII on December 4th, 2021, 11:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » December 4th, 2021, 11:23 am

let’s not forget many of the local artistes in last decade were singing in a jamaican accent

bunji and maximus included

VII

Postby VII » December 4th, 2021, 11:24 am

And bottom of the barrel tuners because that's child's play for most aware and seasoned tuners such as yourself ,lol..

VII

Postby VII » December 4th, 2021, 11:31 am

Maybe for hype in intro etc but they maintained the Trini soca vibes in their lyrics and delivery etc...that's something I always observed ...it's these new breed of a**holes singing only gundown lyrics , even Jamaican don't do that anymore..

I think our best foray onto Jamaican music has been conscious men like Isasha etc ..

pugboy wrote:let’s not forget many of the local artistes in last decade were singing in a jamaican accent

Postby Rovin » December 4th, 2021, 12:45 pm

pugboy wrote:let’s not forget many of the local artistes in last decade were singing in a jamaican accent

even b4 them was d whole kiskadee caravan days in d early 90s , general grant & d rest ...

Postby alfa » December 4th, 2021, 7:40 pm

Rovin wrote:

even b4 them was d whole kiskadee caravan days in d early 90s , general grant & d rest ...

What accent rebel 6 and swanny does sing they gunman tune in?

Postby Rovin » December 4th, 2021, 7:46 pm

i will have to go YT it & get back to u cause i doh even know who dem is & what songs dey sing ... though i suspect is something zesser related

Postby pugboy » December 4th, 2021, 8:33 pm

mostly echo effect

alfa wrote:
Rovin wrote:

What accent rebel 6 and swanny does sing they gunman tune in?