Can you use your own cable box with Flow?

ek4ever

Can you use your own cable box with Flow?

Postby ek4ever » November 19th, 2021, 3:14 pm

Can you use your own cable box with Flow? If so, what are the settings or how do you get the settings from the current cable box?

Re: Can you use your own cable box with Flow?

Postby Dizzy28 » November 19th, 2021, 3:44 pm

How does one end up with your own cable box?

Postby teems1 » November 19th, 2021, 3:45 pm

No. The data is encrypted and you won't be able to view anything.

Back in the days of analog cable you could have bought a descrambler box and get unauthorized cable, but that has been phased out decades now.

Postby Dave » November 19th, 2021, 5:10 pm

Years ago I brought in a DVR and hooked up to flow's system. Sadly all that is gone.

Postby Chimera » November 19th, 2021, 5:33 pm

It have flow employees does be renting and selling their personal cable boxes that they get at a discounted rate or they don't pay anything at all. That's the racket these days

Postby pugboy » November 19th, 2021, 5:36 pm

yeah, they put a chip in it

Dave wrote:Years ago I brought in a DVR and hooked up to flow's system. Sadly all that is gone.

Postby Dave » November 19th, 2021, 5:49 pm

The excuse with me was they upgraded from mpeg 3 to 4 so they gave me their own DVR and paid half price for it then it went to small units we know now.

Postby paid_influencer » November 19th, 2021, 5:55 pm

my flow bax has a chip card. if you take out the card the bax does not authorize and will not show anything. The chip card system was supposed to allow for customer device flexibility but I guess it never happened.

before the changeover to IP, I bought the digital cable boxes from flow. the only benefit to buying vs renting was that you won't have to pay monthly for box rental. now I think all that phase out

Postby paid_influencer » November 19th, 2021, 5:56 pm

Dave wrote:The excuse with me was they upgraded from mpeg 3 to 4 so they gave me their own DVR and paid half price for it then it went to small units we know now.

the old digital boxes showed better imo. but the IP boxes (small ones) have cloud recording which is great when it works

Postby Dave » November 19th, 2021, 6:09 pm

Lol when it works is right!

Postby redmanjp » November 22nd, 2021, 9:45 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:It have flow employees does be renting and selling their personal cable boxes that they get at a discounted rate or they don't pay anything at all. That's the racket these days

so technically its possible if u can configure and activate your own box they just doh allow it