I am too old to keep wearing sneakers everyday .....

Re: I am too old to keep wearing sneakers everyday .....

Postby MaxPower » October 20th, 2021, 4:10 pm

IMG_8074.JPG
IMG_8074.JPG (15.12 KiB) Viewed 1976 times

My African brothers in high school went crazy over these.

Shaq Oneil.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » October 20th, 2021, 4:36 pm

Real flick there max... I was never much into the basketball shoes. Always a airmax guy.

Postby Rovin » October 20th, 2021, 6:26 pm

zoom rader wrote:Who remember when bata sold a shoe with a built in compass?

At the risk of exposing how old af I am

Yeah, I remember that
Eliteauto might remember that shoe

i know bout bata but not dat 1

allyuh men ole like d road , next ting allyuh go talk bout is washikong .... :lol:

Postby Gem_in_i » October 20th, 2021, 7:06 pm

It had dunlop shoes too

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 20th, 2021, 9:35 pm

Nismotrinidapa, correct!

Grant Hill and Scottie Pippen Uptempo. Reminds me of my secondary school days oui....fellas waiting for Fatima's Mayfair disco to showoff the latest inventory.

Les bain, me too lol!

David12, the blazers always had my respect.

The Jordan 11 from 1996 elevated some fellas into overnight generals back in school days. Playing basketball back in the days when BIG and 2PAC were still alive releasing the hits...

Youths today would never really understand the Chicago Bulls magic trio and the influence they had without the power of social media on their side.

Some other greats I want in my collection is the Air Worm Ndestrukt with the wraparound swoosh sign worn by Dennis Rodman and what has to be one of my all time favorites is the Penny Hardaway 11 (Notice the era of sneakers I'm referring to eh).

I kept some of my old Nike stocks for years until the air sole/gel rotted away and turned yellow before it cracked up so bad that if I actually walked on it, it would be broken into finer bits and pieces. With a heavy heart I threw them all away IIRC back in 2014/5.

But I've returned to this level of immaturity so I just want to pick 2 from the list above and use that in between. It's gonna be tough as you all can tell.

Postby bluefete » October 21st, 2021, 4:37 pm

You went to school with brothers from the African continent?

Do tell. Which countries were they from?

Did you understand their accents?

What did you learn about African culture?

MaxPower wrote:IMG_8074.JPG

Shaq Oneil.

Postby bluefete » October 21st, 2021, 4:40 pm

Rovin wrote:

At the risk of exposing how old af I am

Yeah, I remember that
Eliteauto might remember that shoe

i know bout bata but not dat 1

allyuh men ole like d road , next ting allyuh go talk bout is washikong .... :lol:

Yup. You could not walk into the house with them, especially if you suffered with "toe-jam".

You had to take them off and line them up outside until you were ready to put the obligatory "white paint" on them.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 21st, 2021, 4:46 pm

Rel old timers selling themselves out here in this thread boi.

Postby Les Bain » October 21st, 2021, 5:07 pm

I had one of these back in 99. My bro wanted to know which high school dance I was going to :cry:
Then he started to borrow it.
KB98.jpg
KB98.jpg (16.87 KiB) Viewed 1844 times

Postby MaxPower » October 21st, 2021, 5:24 pm

bluefete wrote:You went to school with brothers from the African continent?

Do tell. Which countries were they from?

Did you understand their accents?

What did you learn about African culture?

MaxPower wrote:IMG_8074.JPG

Shaq Oneil.

Don’t overthink, they were Trinis.

It’s 2021 pa, you cannot let the words African, negro, afro, ni99a, khoolie etc get to you bro.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 21st, 2021, 9:12 pm

Most comfortable footwear are sneakers, and safety boots (not recommended for long periods of wear). Good quality ones, though.

I'd recommend hiking sneakers, they're very comfortable on flat dry ground, but have some flamboyant colours.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 21st, 2021, 10:37 pm

But.... Why?

I was in the days of bolt, fame, fila, Northstar. And the rankers coasting desert clarks.

Postby De Dragon » October 21st, 2021, 10:49 pm

viedcht wrote:Most comfortable footwear are sneakers, and safety boots (not recommended for long periods of wear). Good quality ones, though.

I'd recommend hiking sneakers, they're very comfortable on flat dry ground, but have some flamboyant colours.

If you can't wear a safety boots for 16+ hours, then it's highly likely that your safety boots is tata, the wrong fit, or size.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 21st, 2021, 10:50 pm

I remember having Bolt and Flame when the real rankers had LA Gear, British Knight and Buffalino.

Reebok and Nike were actually rare.
viedcht wrote:
But.... Why?

I was in the days of bolt, fame, fila, Northstar. And the rankers coasting desert clarks.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 21st, 2021, 11:00 pm

viedcht wrote:Most comfortable footwear are sneakers, and safety boots (not recommended for long periods of wear). Good quality ones, though.

If you can't wear a safety boots for 16+ hours, then it's highly likely that your safety boots is tata, the wrong fit, or size.
No I mean the waterproofing don't allow much breathability. I used to have problems with all leather shoes in school, then in ngc with safety shoes. Athletes foot like thing, but not athletes foot.

Postby timelapse » October 22nd, 2021, 9:38 am

Dizzy28 wrote:I remember having Bolt and Flame when the real rankers had LA Gear, British Knight and Buffalino.

viedcht wrote:
But.... Why?

I remember the days when real rankers wore TravelFox

Postby Dave » October 22nd, 2021, 10:04 am

And Buffalino and Georgio Brutini.
timelapse wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:I remember having Bolt and Flame when the real rankers had LA Gear, British Knight and Buffalino.

viedcht wrote:
But.... Why?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 22nd, 2021, 10:11 am

Dave wrote:And Buffalino and Georgio Brutini.
timelapse wrote:

viedcht wrote:
But.... Why?

I started working on weekends in Form 4 and continued throughout my remaining high school life to Form 6. That's when I could have afforded my first real "branded" shoes. Bought a Fila in F4, a Shaq Reebok in Form 5, an Air Nomo Max in L6 and a TN Air Max in U6. The TN Air was the pinnacle for me however once I entered UWI I stopped wearing sneakers all together except for sporting activities. Since then I bought maybe two Nikes and thats more than 20 Years ago.

Now I have three sneakers two of which cost around US$20 each (RBX and Avia).

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » October 22nd, 2021, 10:33 am

Allyuh forget trojan sneakers

Postby Les Bain » October 22nd, 2021, 10:44 am

I remember my world changed in 95 when i got a beige, suede pair of Karl Kani low tops. Basketball sneaker men started looking like a bunch of plebs.

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 22nd, 2021, 10:52 am

Natco Steel tip

Rock that

Postby Chimera » October 22nd, 2021, 12:00 pm

$30 US reef or skechers slippers for everything except weddings and funerals

i hate wearing shoes

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 22nd, 2021, 12:09 pm

On my second pair of grey Lacoste Chaymon leather trainers

current pair is this

comfortable and casual but not too sneaker-ish looking

Postby mero » October 22nd, 2021, 12:30 pm

Owned a very similar pair to that, but was called the Lacoste misano 9

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 24th, 2021, 10:47 am

OP

Inbox pics of ur feet

Just wanna give informed advice

Postby bluefete » October 24th, 2021, 11:05 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:OP

Inbox pics of ur feet

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

OP DON"T DO IT.

Next thing yuh know de man have a foot fetish and licking yuh foot thru de pictures!!!

Postby Kenjo » October 24th, 2021, 11:17 am

bluefete wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:OP

Inbox pics of ur feet

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

OP DON"T DO IT.

Next thing yuh know de man have a foot fetish and licking yuh foot thru de pictures!!!

#this …. Man selling foot pics on onlyfans and then you see him talking about he bought a new house

Postby bluefete » October 24th, 2021, 11:26 am

Nike Air - Air Force XXV - Gold with Blue swoosh (below). Bought it about 12 years ago. Some mildew currently on the bottom, as it resides in a box for the past few years.

Paid about TT$100.00 for it in T&T, back when Francis Fashions had an instore warehouse on Queen St.

Did not think it was genuine when I bought it for the price. Turned out to be the real thing and a steal of a deal.

Has really held up over the years.

Release date: 24/11/2007
Name: Air Force 1 Low Prem CB
Colours: Metallic Gold / Midnight Navy
Price: US$125.00

Edit: I only just found out it was designed for Charles Barkley.

Postby Les Bain » October 24th, 2021, 10:19 pm

Never saw the hype with them Air Force sneakers. They look like 'special shoes,' especially the pure white ones that were all the rage in the 2000s.

Postby K74T » October 24th, 2021, 10:44 pm

Flax AF1 FTW