No tax on electric vehicles in T&T

PariaMan

Re: No tax on electric vehicles in T&T

Postby PariaMan » October 10th, 2021, 9:17 am

eliteauto wrote:Saw a dealer P&V already has a fleet of Nissan Leaf available starting at $185k.
Have a pal with one he charges it every night from the dryer plug 2 years no issues

Postby zoom rader » October 10th, 2021, 10:29 am

EVs will end like CNG

Red government rush to change tings but does lay down the foundation.

We dealing a lackadaisical red government that does not have a clue.

How will someone that lives in a tower block or one of those HDC homes get to charge their kart .

Or you live where you have park your car on the street

Postby hover11 » October 10th, 2021, 10:52 am

zoom rader wrote:EVs will end like CNG

How will someone that lives in a tower block or one of those HDC homes get to charge their kart .

Zoom,

What about floods are they catering for the ppl after grand bazaar, if you are caught in flood waters with an electric vehicle what then, we don't have the infrastructure to accommodate such yet we rushing to implement.

Postby Kenjo » October 10th, 2021, 10:59 am

Carburetor time

Postby j.o.e » October 10th, 2021, 11:07 am

Zoom acting like the govt ban regular vehicles. If your circumstances don’t allow you to charge …… simple don’t buy one. Lol

abducted

Postby abducted » October 10th, 2021, 11:14 am

Hover, Zoom Rader and Smash, mashing up every ched with the same sh!t, posting personal feelings as fact,

VII

Postby VII » October 10th, 2021, 11:17 am

Zoom you're ridiculous now, any credibility your arguments had before is now being overshadowed by pettiness and hate..

As the guy said just don't buy an ev if it irritates you that much..
Last edited by VII on October 10th, 2021, 11:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

VII

Postby VII » October 10th, 2021, 11:21 am

Funny you think only T&T floods, electric vehicles have been proven to be more capable in floods than ICE vehicles, you know no ignition systems, intake and exhausts to be flooded, wading depths in upcoming electric pickups and SUVs are unprecedented. All they have to do is waterproof sensitive components with seals man..

hover11 wrote:

Zoom,

What about floods are they catering for the ppl after grand bazaar, if you are caught in flood waters with an electric vehicle what then, we don't have the infrastructure to accommodate such yet we rushing to implement.

Postby zoom rader » October 10th, 2021, 11:22 am

VII wrote:Zoom you're ridiculous now, any credibility your arguments had before are now being overshadowed by pettiness and hate..

You live where you have to park your car on the street, how you going to charge it ?

CNG was pushed on the population, did it take off?

Postby zoom rader » October 10th, 2021, 11:24 am

abducted wrote:Hover, Zoom Rader and Smash, mashing up every ched with the same sh!t, posting personal feelings as fact,
To every Pro there is a con.

If the Cons outweigh the pros then is it worth it?

Prove me wrong if you think is personal feelings.
Last edited by zoom rader on October 10th, 2021, 11:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » October 10th, 2021, 11:31 am

j.o.e wrote:

Zoom acting like the govt ban regular vehicles. If your circumstances don’t allow you to charge …… simple don’t buy one. Lol
The UK wants total EVs by 2030 , but in the UK they are making provisions and foundations for EVs to accommodate this transition.

We have seen how CNG was pushed and failed. It was hyped up since the mid 1980s . We are in 2021 from 1985 has CNG improved ?

What makes you think Trinidad is really ready for EVs?

People want to make money and that's the bottom line.

A fool and his money is soon parted.

VII

Postby VII » October 10th, 2021, 11:33 am

Zoom is not now people living where they can't accommodate cars you know, many people's property acquiring criteria revolves around having a car or not and that influences their choices and options to suit, that's nothing new. What about the hundreds of thousands that have a parking spot ?

And do you know one fo the major criticisms of grid electricity was how are they going to get it to every home ? It's not rocket science to provide secure public access charging options on any curb,kinda like parking meters, or reconfigure charging ports for secure random outdoor charging, from something like a drive up wheel clamp like port to an undercarriage contact point port..

VII wrote:Zoom you're ridiculous now, any credibility your arguments had before are now being overshadowed by pettiness and hate..

You live where you have to park your car on the street, how you going to charge it ?

Last edited by VII on October 10th, 2021, 11:47 am, edited 3 times in total.

Postby zoom rader » October 10th, 2021, 11:39 am

VII wrote:Zoom is not now people living where they can't accommodate cars you know, many people's property acquiring criteria revolves around having a car or not and that influences their choices and options to suit, that's nothing new. What about the hundreds of thousands that have a parking spot ?

And do you know one fo the major criticisms of grid electricity was how are they going to get it to every home ? It's not rocket science to provide secure public access charging options on any curb, kinda like parking meters...

Bro best rush and but your kart now

VII

Postby VII » October 10th, 2021, 11:42 am

Rivian pickup looking good....more than 3' wading depth 34" approach and departure angle, 15 genuine inches of ground clearance, no banjos and shafts etc in the way..

VII wrote:Zoom is not now people living where they can't accommodate cars you know, many people's property acquiring criteria revolves around having a car or not and that influences their choices and options to suit, that's nothing new. What about the hundreds of thousands that have a parking spot ?

And do you know one fo the major criticisms of grid electricity was how are they going to get it to every home ? It's not rocket science to provide secure public access charging options on any curb, kinda like parking meters...

Postby A172 » October 10th, 2021, 11:49 am

hover11 wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Saw a dealer P&V already has a fleet of Nissan Leaf available starting at $185k.
Isn't that alot for a Nissan even though it is electric ?
at $23000 usd cnf what price it should sell for?

Postby st7 » October 10th, 2021, 12:19 pm

j.o.e wrote:

yeah i agree... govt not pushing anything and if they did, it would just be another empty promise. no one forcing anyone to get an EV in trinidad. if you parking on the street then dont get an EV.

abducted

Postby abducted » October 10th, 2021, 1:10 pm

abducted wrote:Hover, Zoom Rader and Smash, mashing up every ched with the same sh!t, posting personal feelings as fact,

There you go, posting personal feelings as fact,

abducted

Postby abducted » October 10th, 2021, 1:12 pm

Zoom Rader horner man drives a Leaf, have to be, he will not even call a car, he's calling it a kart,

Postby zoom rader » October 10th, 2021, 1:23 pm

abducted wrote:

There you go, posting personal feelings as fact,
https://autowise.com/top-7-disadvantages-of-electric-cars/

https://electriccarfaqs.com/disadvantag ... tric-cars/

Feel free to buy your Kart son

Postby zoom rader » October 10th, 2021, 1:25 pm

abducted wrote:

Zoom Rader horner man drives a Leaf, have to be, he will not even call a car, he's calling it a kart,
Nope I have a laser, a pickup and 4 motorbikes

VII

Postby VII » October 10th, 2021, 1:35 pm

I think he was referring to the hornerman..

abducted wrote:

Nope I have a laser, a pickup and 4 motorbikes

Postby eliteauto » October 10th, 2021, 2:26 pm

A172 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Isn't that alot for a Nissan even though it is electric ?
at $23000 usd cnf what price it should sell for?

$23KUSD being a bess price /trini
https://www.picknbuy24.com/detail/?refno=0120628141

Postby A172 » October 10th, 2021, 6:23 pm

waiting to hear how much hover think a $23k cnf car should cost in stock

and hover we in 2021 eh, x6.8 doh exist

Postby timelapse » October 10th, 2021, 6:32 pm

Question, have any of you brought in an EV as yet?
I personally have never gotten under the hood of one.
Do we have the same kind of inspection checklist by License office? Are any of the parts in a grey area legally?
What I'm getting at, if say,I want to bring one, what are the guidelines and requirements ?
It seems like a good way forward to me,its just the banana republic red tape I worry about.

Postby hover11 » October 10th, 2021, 6:44 pm

A172 wrote:waiting to hear how much hover think a $23k cnf car should cost in stock

Bro you honestly believe dealers paying those prices for such after bringing in numerous vehicles be real they are able to beat down and negotiate unlike us

Postby A172 » October 10th, 2021, 10:44 pm

hover11 wrote:
A172 wrote:waiting to hear how much hover think a $23k cnf car should cost in stock

Bro you honestly believe dealers paying those prices for such after bringing in numerous vehicles be real they are able to beat down and negotiate unlike us
how much u feel a dealer getting a 2018/19 leaf for?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 10th, 2021, 10:56 pm

Dealers don't typically go through the same channels as an average person to buy cars online such as the Japanese online foreign used cars that people bring down themselves individually. Dealers typically go through a bidding process online which can be at any time throughout the day or night due to time zone differences, they put money in their auction account as it is required which they then use to bid for cars online which they get much much cheaper than the cars you see on those Japanese foreign used car sites.

Postby A172 » October 10th, 2021, 11:17 pm

DMan7 wrote:Dealers don't typically go through the same channels as an average person to buy cars online such as the Japanese online foreign used cars that people bring down themselves individually. Dealers typically go through a bidding process online which can be at any time throughout the day or night due to time zone differences, they put money in their auction account as it is required which they then use to bid for cars online which they get much much cheaper than the cars you see on those Japanese foreign used car sites.
avg market price of a 2019 Leaf - 2.3m jpy, say $21500 usd

Freight - $1300 minimum

u feel the exporter doing anything for u for free cus u a dealer? exporter profit - $1000

Total - $23800 usd cnf

and these figures still on the very low side, just educating the germs who feel they know everything
280518361.jpg

Postby Ben_spanna » October 11th, 2021, 7:41 am

The entire developing world is heading towards Hybvrids and Electric, but our backwards a55 thinkers will keep us in the stone ages. as for zoom, dont bother with him , he blames every single thing in life for the red government, pity the same red government didnt hand your parents some free condoms back in the day!

Postby Les Bain » October 11th, 2021, 8:20 am

I was at an energy thing some years ago and missed the chance to ask Roger Sant if CNG was ever used in a motorsports or performance setting, which is why I think it didn't catch on (in addition to some other reasons).
Electrics and hybrids have been pushing the performance and design angle for some time now. Monster Tajima destroyed the Pike's Peak records he set in those ridiculously powerful twin engine Suzukis with a not as impressive looking electric. Porsche, Ferrari and McLaren set the standard for performance hybrids with the holy trinity in the early 2010's...and CNG was pushed as a conversion kit to rob you of trunk space so you could drive slower and wuk taxi.

Would you really watch those Rimac vehicles and call them golf carts though?