Beers in Trinidad Review Ched

Re: Beers in Trinidad Review Ched

Postby st7 » September 28th, 2021, 10:41 pm

Deputy does go down good beastly cold too ... from B'dos.

Postby De Dragon » September 29th, 2021, 7:22 am

viedcht wrote:All I drinking these days is Leffe brun. End up buying too much for Xmas 2020

Carlsberg always have same taste to me so

Only ever try Tommy's Steelpan, did not disappoint . Will try their dark offerings for Xmas 2021

Anybody remember the time Carib bunn the mash and put out Black Wolf? Back in 2008/2009...

Yes, anyone remembers Carib Strong? :evil:

Postby Gladiator » September 29th, 2021, 7:42 am

Redress10 wrote:Ppl really drink carib and stag because they like how it taste or that's more a price thing?

Availability and price.
It's the taste for me... Stag is a very well balanced beer. Yes it's local but I find it tastes great.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 29th, 2021, 8:08 am

Guinness draft.

Not the nasty stuff made locally. The original Guinness from Ireland.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » September 29th, 2021, 9:48 am

Gladiator wrote:Old Speckled Hen - 6/10
Hobgoblin - 6/10
Leffe - 7/10
Heinekin - 10/10
Carib -2/10
Carib Pilsner - 1/10
Stag - 10/10
Polar - 6/10
Banks - 3/10
Becks Red - 7/10
Samuel Adams Boston Lager - 7/10
Coors - 5/10
Presidente - 6/10
Guinnes - 7/10
Carlsburg - 9/10
Angry Orchard Hard Cider - 10/10
Mackeson -7/10
Blue Moon -7/10
Budweiser - 6/10
Balboa - 7/10
Panama - 6/10
Fullers Honey Dew - 8/10
Royal Extra Stout - 7/10
Red Stripe - 7/10
Cristal (Cuba) - 7/10
Bavaria - 6/10

Thats what I can remeber.... Drank beer all over the world. Nothing is as good as a Beastly Cold Stag for me, the taste is just right, especially on the tap. Regular Heinekin is also just as good...

Went to Austria and Belgium a couple years ago. Beers were magnificent. And they were even better when they were draught. Of course I can't remember most of the brands, but there was one I had in a Vietnamese restaurant which was delicious.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 29th, 2021, 10:23 am

^ Yea tasting new beers is I like to do when traveling.
A few years ago when I China I used to get some stuff on afternoons. The 500ml cans were around 5-6 yuan which was around the same in TT$ so pretty affordable.

Capture.JPG

Postby MG Man » September 29th, 2021, 10:58 am

a lot of people don't like the bitter stuff Old Speckled hen, mainly because they drink it too cold
We accustomed to 'beastly cold' but most of the ales and dark stuff taste best lightly chilled

Postby Dizzy28 » September 29th, 2021, 11:03 am

MG Man wrote:a lot of people don't like the bitter stuff Old Speckled hen, mainly because they drink it too cold
We accustomed to 'beastly cold' but most of the ales and dark stuff taste best lightly chilled

Hmmm.......this could explain a lot because I would taste the Ales but generally wouldn't repeat.

There was a time I was in to hard ciders but the only place I see any (Angry Orchard in the gourmet store in Valpark), they sell a bottle for $65. That's a bit too much. Used to like the Strongbow on Tap in Bat and Ball.
Last edited by Dizzy28 on September 29th, 2021, 11:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 29th, 2021, 11:03 am

Gladiator wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Ppl really drink carib and stag because they like how it taste or that's more a price thing?

Availability and price.
It's the taste for me... Stag is a very well balanced beer. Yes it's local but I find it tastes great.

Alluh would know more about beer than me so if you say stag is a well balanced beer I'll take your word for it. I never took the taste tbh..always felt I was forcing to drink it.

When I was in Belgium I couldn't stop drinking beer.

abducted

Postby abducted » September 29th, 2021, 1:03 pm

carib-blue.jpg

Anyone tried this, looks interersting,

Postby Dave » September 29th, 2021, 1:18 pm

They are knocking Labatt Blue

Postby pugboy » September 29th, 2021, 1:22 pm

i hear is the same old carib strong recipe from chutney bacchanal days

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » September 29th, 2021, 1:26 pm

Dave wrote:They are knocking Labatt Blue

If it tastes as good wont be bad at all.

Saw a review for Tommy's boy I was very disappointed the Tommy's lager was the best one drinkable at best honestly draft Carib and Stag are better. As for the steel pan stout cough medicine is more pleasant ... to me it tasted like burnt toast with a very harsh bitter after taste ... imho they need to reduce the variety and focus on refining a smaller selection.

Food was pretty good though i need to revisit them but I am kind of scared to be honest.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » September 29th, 2021, 1:31 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

Availability and price.

Alluh would know more about beer than me so if you say stag is a well balanced beer I'll take your word for it. I never took the taste tbh..always felt I was forcing to drink it.

Beer everyday hoss.....every single day i was there. it had one with 14% alcohol that did knock me out though lol

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 29th, 2021, 1:33 pm

Stag is honestly one of the worst beers I've ever tasted.

Carib is at least drinkable.

Dark German and Belgian beers are amazing.

Tommy's lager (assuming it's consistent) was pretty good, most weren't great though

Postby Dizzy28 » September 29th, 2021, 1:33 pm

14%???
Strongest I ever had was the Carlsberg Elephant at 7.2%. Xtra Foods had it a few years ago.
Would love to try something at the double digit level

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 29th, 2021, 1:38 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

Availability and price.

Beer everyday hoss.....every single day i was there. it had one with 14% alcohol that did knock me out though lol

Morning, noon and night. Sad thing is I didn't even have the sense to get the brand name. Best beer I ever had hands down. Some of those beers taste soo good, you can find yourself drinking whole day. Had one that had a sort of fruity/malt vibe to it but I never got the brand. Most times it was poured out into a glass so wasn't even paying attention.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » September 29th, 2021, 1:48 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:14%???
Strongest I ever had was the Carlsberg Elephant at 7.2%. Xtra Foods had it a few years ago.
Would love to try something at the double digit level

had that at a clams restaurant.........had a large indian family there too, like three generations dining. Anyways.....yuh boy playing man say if we going, we goin hard. Didn't get drunk but felt really uneasy on the tram

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » September 29th, 2021, 1:50 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

Availability and price.

Morning, noon and night. Sad thing is I didn't even have the sense to get the brand name. Best beer I ever had hands down. Some of those beers taste soo good, you can find yourself drinking whole day. Had one that had a sort of fruity/malt vibe to it but I never got the brand. Most times it was poured out into a glass so wasn't even paying attention.

my muMs did say the same thing. she went a few months after me. Worst beer i drank was also belgian though. Brand name was Jupiler. Only drank it after cuz i was broke from buying Vinyl records coming down to the end.
Last edited by Trinispougla on September 29th, 2021, 3:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » September 29th, 2021, 3:30 pm

All yuh fellas really find Carlsberg taste good?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 29th, 2021, 4:59 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:All yuh fellas really find Carlsberg taste good?
Drink it warm, then with a light chill/ fridge not freezer and judge for yourself.

Most times beastly cold hides the true taste. And always try and pour it out to give a foam head, unless you like to buss gyass every 3mins haha... but some ales taste better this way, kinda like letting red wine breath after opening.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 29th, 2021, 5:00 pm

De Dragon wrote:Yes, anyone remembers Carib Strong? :evil:

Only ever heard of Carib strong

death365

Postby death365 » September 29th, 2021, 5:02 pm

Man I loved Carib strong

Noteworthy was blackwolf
pugboy wrote:i hear is the same old carib strong recipe from chutney bacchanal days
Last edited by death365 on September 29th, 2021, 5:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 29th, 2021, 5:02 pm

MG Man wrote:a lot of people don't like the bitter stuff Old Speckled hen, mainly because they drink it too cold
Ah. A Connoisseur is amongst us.

Postby Gladiator » September 29th, 2021, 5:27 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:All yuh fellas really find Carlsberg taste good?
It's one of the best for me...

Postby timelapse » September 29th, 2021, 7:07 pm

Dawg I cant believe that I forgot Black Wolf.That was my absolute favorite

Postby Gladiator » September 29th, 2021, 8:28 pm

timelapse wrote:Dawg I cant believe that I forgot Black Wolf.That was my absolute favorite

That made a guest appearence in Trinidad... drank two to try it and never saw it on the shelf again... :?

Postby timelapse » September 29th, 2021, 9:19 pm

Gladiator wrote:
timelapse wrote:Dawg I cant believe that I forgot Black Wolf.That was my absolute favorite

That made a guest appearence in Trinidad... drank two to try it and never saw it on the shelf again... :?
I used to drink it by the pitcher at J Malones
$45 a pitcher I think, on tap.That was a long time ago

Postby stev » September 29th, 2021, 10:57 pm

what you guys think of Hurricane Reef? (Green label with the plane) everyone I ask hate the bitterness :lol: but I rel like it (not too cold)

Postby supercharged turbo » September 29th, 2021, 11:43 pm

stev wrote:what you guys think of Hurricane Reef? (Green label with the plane) everyone I ask hate the bitterness but I rel like it (not too cold)
That tasting like dirt