Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby hover11 » January 6th, 2022, 1:34 pm

Rovin wrote:doubles & such fried foods price increase by $1 ok arite buh why d size decreasing though .... they learning dat from kfc orrr
Shrinkflation at it's best , keep an eye on cereals, flour milk(cartons) packages soon and you will see the same

Postby Rovin » January 6th, 2022, 1:38 pm

yesterday on fb had somebody who buy fkc & get pigeon size wings ... man measure it with a caliper yes :lol:

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 6th, 2022, 2:31 pm

i made 20 aloo pies this morning with 3 cups flour and 5 aloo. half pound channa and the entire family had enough.
if i buy that it would be 20x6 which is $120
3 cup flour not even half a $12 pack
half channa is $5
5 aloo is $4.
i use fresh oil not resused oil for a month and still say oil gone up and they have to increase price.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 6th, 2022, 2:56 pm

^ You need to quantify your time spent doing the work as well and add a cost to it.

Postby Chimera » January 6th, 2022, 3:27 pm

daring dragoon wrote:i made 20 aloo pies this morning with 3 cups flour and 5 aloo. half pound channa and the entire family had enough.
half channa is $5
5 aloo is $4.
i use fresh oil not resused oil for a month and still say oil gone up and they have to increase price.

how long you take to do all that? from beginning to end

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 6th, 2022, 4:13 pm

while aloo boiling i kneed the flour, wait to rise, this was about 5-5:30am. i went back to sleep and about 6:30 assemble it and start to fry while channa boiling. in 30 minutes after everything done.it didnt take any longer to prepare than making roti and fry aloo IMO.

Postby 88sins » January 6th, 2022, 5:46 pm

daring dragoon wrote:i made 20 aloo pies this morning with 3 cups flour and 5 aloo. half pound channa and the entire family had enough.
half channa is $5
5 aloo is $4.

Like I said, there is nothing in a doubles to justify selling it for $10, and the minute it reach that price they go hadda pay their bills with doubles, cuz nobody gonna buy.

Postby RedVEVO » January 6th, 2022, 5:47 pm

half channa is $5
5 aloo is $4.

Add a smoothie with dry oats , granola , 3 bananas and full cream milk and you good ! :D

Five minutes and you ready to work :!:

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 6th, 2022, 6:21 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
half channa is $5
5 aloo is $4.

Add a smoothie with dry oats , granola , 3 bananas and full cream milk and you good ! :D

Five minutes and you ready to work :!:

cant get the frozen berries. seem to be in short supply,

Postby eliteauto » January 6th, 2022, 7:55 pm

Postby pugboy » January 6th, 2022, 8:30 pm

look like south american sourced
interesting company selling car polish and frozen strawberries

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 6th, 2022, 8:32 pm

Postby bluefete » January 6th, 2022, 9:03 pm

Not sure where they got the prices from though:

Concerned Citizens of Gasparillo
14h ·

Nutrimix Feeds went from $ 9.50/pound to $ 13.50/ pound for wholesale Whole Chicken, in one jump effective 15th December 2021.

Fine Choice wholesale Whole Chicken is now $ 15.52/pound.

Arawak's latest increase was effective yesterday, they are the suppliers to KFC so expect those prices to increase also.

Nestle has put in place price increases for all their products effective immediately, for instance the wholesale price of a 1 litre pack of Nestle Full Cream milk will now be $ 14, expect the retail price at Massy Stores to be $ 18.62.

Arawak increased the price of their wholesale Whole Chicken by 4 % after another 15 % increase back in October 2021.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 7th, 2022, 4:09 am

bluefete wrote:Not sure where they got the prices from though:

14h ·

Nutrimix Feeds went from $ 9.50/pound to $ 13.50/ pound for wholesale Whole Chicken, in one jump effective 15th December 2021.

Arawak's latest increase was effective yesterday, they are the suppliers to KFC so expect those prices to increase also.

Nestle has put in place price increases for all their products effective immediately, for instance the wholesale price of a 1 litre pack of Nestle Full Cream milk will now be $ 14, expect the retail price at Massy Stores to be $ 18.62.

Arawak increased the price of their wholesale Whole Chicken by 4 % after another 15 % increase back in October 2021.

in the 70's / 80's people ate chicken on a sunday only, possibly a wednesday pealau. TT eat too much fowl in these days. let KFC and the bunch hyul dey MC and keep they box of death just like the death and channa we call doubles and flour. adults DO NOT need milk after possibly 2 years old so let nestle HDMC. dont entertain their price increases on their luxury items especially fast food and sugary drinks.

Postby 88sins » January 7th, 2022, 7:19 am

14h ·

And as we all know by now, prices in Trinidad defy all natural laws (gravity, scale, supply and demand, etc.), so when the price goes up, ain't no force on this planet can bring them back down.

On a more positive note.
That article makes me glad I started keeping rabbits for meat. Who knows, maybe the increase will motivate others to do the same and start eating healthier.
Because lewwe keep it real 100, chicken isn't exactly a healthy source of protein, and it's just the most common source of meat consumed because it's the cheapest to produce large scale.
Or should I say, it was.

Postby mero » January 7th, 2022, 8:51 am

88 u have wild hog or wha?

Postby timelapse » January 7th, 2022, 9:04 am

daring dragoon wrote:

14h ·

in the 70's / 80's people ate chicken on a sunday only, possibly a wednesday pealau. TT eat too much fowl in these days. let KFC and the bunch hyul dey MC and keep they box of death just like the death and channa we call doubles and flour. adults DO NOT need milk after possibly 2 years old so let nestle HDMC. dont entertain their price increases on their luxury items especially fast food and sugary drinks.
This is the truth.We have been suckered into consumerism.Especially indos that like to coast on other indos.Recently all of the young indo males I see are terribly overweight, and see nothing wrong with it.Meanwhile they have man boobs and not an ounce of bass in their voices.Hormones in the junk food I imagine.Or they just damn likrish

Postby 88sins » January 7th, 2022, 1:52 pm

mero wrote:88 u have wild hog or wha?

me nah deal in d swine bai, neither wild nor domesticated.

Postby timelapse » January 7th, 2022, 3:35 pm

Not the whole hog?

Postby pugboy » January 7th, 2022, 3:41 pm

it’s not only indo males on junk food
every time i drive past sealots i see ppl walking back from kfc with their bag of dead
all hours of the day

Postby mero » January 7th, 2022, 4:36 pm

Lol I thought the Indo pre pubescent soy boy voice was to appear more educated and well spoken.

Always wondered why, never knew is the food

Postby mero » January 7th, 2022, 4:39 pm

timelapse wrote:

Not the whole hog?
Lol, hog is life but to each their own.

Wha u hunting 88?

Hadda go up on a scaffolding this month

Postby timelapse » January 7th, 2022, 6:21 pm

mero wrote:Lol I thought the Indo pre pubescent soy boy voice was to appear more educated and well spoken.

Always wondered why, never knew is the food
Also , as an indo. Heavier voice is perceived as more aggressive to the older heads in some circles.Worse yet,if you don't speak with a sing-song tone.

Postby 88sins » January 7th, 2022, 7:25 pm

@ mero, I doh judge who does eat it, is just that I don't deal with that is all.

So far for the season I only hunting the usual, gouti, guana, lappe, caiman, capybara. Went and scout a location for deer last month, going back for him this weekend God willing

Postby De Dragon » January 7th, 2022, 9:41 pm

14h ·

And as we all know by now, prices in Trinidad defy all natural laws (gravity, scale, supply and demand, etc.), so when the price goes up, ain't no force on this planet can bring them back down.

On a more positive note.
That article makes me glad I started keeping rabbits for meat. Who knows, maybe the increase will motivate others to do the same and start eating healthier.
Because lewwe keep it real 100, chicken isn't exactly a healthy source of protein, and it's just the most common source of meat consumed because it's the cheapest to produce large scale.
Or should I say, it was.

Even if you free range them?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 7th, 2022, 10:25 pm

Up and up and up
IMG-20220107-WA0153.jpg

Postby De Dragon » January 7th, 2022, 10:31 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Up and up and up

Arawak? Oh Geed!

Postby hover11 » January 7th, 2022, 11:24 pm

So it safe to say all those VAT free initiatives the government pulled for the budget didn't make any sense whatsoever

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 8th, 2022, 4:18 am

Toilet paper to go up nexf. Still no riot.

Postby De Dragon » January 8th, 2022, 5:40 am

hover11 wrote:So it safe to say all those VAT free initiatives the government pulled for the budget didn't make any sense whatsoever

Well if they didn't you'd be paying VAT plus the extra :?
How is that senseless?