Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby eliteauto » January 8th, 2022, 2:04 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
How to store flour long term?

I'm sure google will have a lot of answers, but I usually buy my whole wheat flour in the US and send a barrel down with about 1- 2 years worth and they stay quite well in the fridge or freezer

Postby MaxPower » January 8th, 2022, 2:15 pm

Trinis joyously pay increase prices for rum and cigarettes.

Was a lil increase in chicken?

Trinis asses are still too happy.

Postby bluefete » January 8th, 2022, 2:16 pm

Nestle MC!!! :x :x :x :x

Single percentage increases my behind!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 8th, 2022, 2:25 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
eliteauto wrote:For those so interested, Hearty foods has Hibiscus 10KG flour for 2 for $110 which equals to $55 a bag, exp is June 2022, Pricesmart has Country Pride 10KG for $54.95. Dunno if this is old stock prices but based on the wholesale listing these are below wholesale prices, so maybe you can stock some if you use a lot of flour. Hearty foods also has buy one get one free on Moo evaporated milk, exp date is 17th Jan 2022, 1 pack is $8.00, the 6 pack is listed on the shelf @$40 but reads at the cashier for $31.95 so you're paying that for 12 packs of milk, good deal for caterers or ppl who use it in coffee, tea baking etc. Oh and their in-house brand of UHT milk(imported by sister company ADM), Distinction retails for $12.95 on par with most other brands (Moo, Nestle, Lulubelle etc) but they sell it 2 for $20 which is the cheapest 1L UHT on the market atm.

If anyone sees deals that can help lower food bills feel free to post them up

How to store flour long term?

Flour along with rice and other peas can be stored in a freezer for long periods. Moms bake a lot of her own stuff so speaking from experience.

Postby pugboy » January 8th, 2022, 3:12 pm

or sealed real tight in double plastic bags otherwise weevils will find a way in

Postby eliteauto » January 8th, 2022, 5:37 pm

Also for the butter users, a 1lb block of butter will be between $50-$60 in the supermarket however Blooms imports in Maraval and Diego Martin import Sunny Morning 1lb butter (salted and unsalted) which is USDA certified, they retailed it at $38 for the last couple of years and it now retails for $34! Yes something actually dropped in price

Postby pugboy » January 8th, 2022, 6:06 pm

pricesmart has had anchor at $44 for a while now

Postby Dizzy28 » January 8th, 2022, 7:16 pm

pugboy wrote:pricesmart has had anchor at $44 for a while now
The anchor 1 lb butter is $41.45 since the VAT was removed
IMG_20220108_191639.jpg

Postby Rovin » January 8th, 2022, 7:20 pm

as a coincidence i now come from d grocery, d big tub cant believe is butter is now $37.50 for d big tub yes :shock: , i remember last year when it went from 28 to 30

i buy sunflower for $26 yes they also make a garlic butter for d same price thats taste good

dont even watch d big tub kerrygold butter cause its $78

few wks ago i tried a brand call imperial for small money was about 12 iirc , tasteless - wouldnt recommend it ...

Postby pugboy » January 8th, 2022, 7:38 pm

watch the ingredients of them processed butter substitutes
some are just plain palm oil like the veggie ghee

Rovin wrote:as a coincidence i now come from d grocery, d big tub cant believe is butter is now $37.50 for d big tub yes :shock: , i remember last year when it went from 28 to 30

i buy sunflower for $26 yes they also make a garlic butter for d same price thats taste good

few wks ago i tried a brand call imperial for small money was about 12 iirc , tasteless - wouldnt recommend it ...

Postby bluefete » January 8th, 2022, 7:38 pm

Rovin wrote:as a coincidence i now come from d grocery, d big tub cant believe is butter is now $37.50 for d big tub yes :shock: , i remember last year when it went from 28 to 30

You buying MARGARINE for $37.50 :shock: :shock: :shock: ? Best you add $2 and buy real butter.

Postby pugboy » January 8th, 2022, 7:45 pm

golden ray for the rich creole flavour

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 8th, 2022, 8:07 pm

Hahah^ never me and that nuh...kerrygold butter id buy in pricesmart..

When you think about it, parcel of parsad with all them sweets would be like gold this year.

Postby pugboy » January 8th, 2022, 8:20 pm

me ain’t buying kerrygold
azhar already is a billionaire
don’t need my money

Postby hover11 » January 9th, 2022, 8:35 am

Same thing I was telling Dragon yesterday, we back in the same position or probably even worse , the more the government tries to help the more the market tries to balance and businessmen never lose
FB_IMG_1641731639326.jpg

Postby K74T » January 10th, 2022, 11:14 am

FB_IMG_1641827631217.jpg

Postby hover11 » January 10th, 2022, 11:21 am

I remember my Econ teacher saying on the very first day , the aim of any business is to make a profit, only the government enters business to make a loss didn't understand what he meant until I got older

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 10th, 2022, 4:56 pm

K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1641827631217.jpg

ice cream is another junk that we can do without. they can raise prices until nobody buys an jokes on them.

Postby timelapse » January 10th, 2022, 7:02 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1641827631217.jpg

ice cream is another junk that we can do without. they can raise prices until nobody buys an jokes on them.
You'd be surprised.There used to be a lady renting over the road by me that had a tub a week habit.Them blue bunny buckets...I kid you not

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 11th, 2022, 3:51 am

sugar is addictive just like alcohol and smoking and cocaine, after a week or two of withdrawal people will realize they dont need it and talk done but enjoy your life if that is your enjoyment as in these time you dont know when your jack will get hang,

Postby RedVEVO » January 11th, 2022, 4:32 am

hover11 wrote:So it safe to say all those VAT free initiatives the government pulled for the budget didn't make any sense whatsoever

Well if they didn't you'd be paying VAT plus the extra :?
How is that senseless?

The distributors have increased their prices so every consumer loses :roll:

Example: Use to buy 6 cases of water for $100 - And with VAT removed it is still $100 :lol:

death365

Postby death365 » January 11th, 2022, 4:58 am

Thank you ! That part of the equation is what most people miss... it just went from vat to profits.

RedVEVO wrote:
hover11 wrote:So it safe to say all those VAT free initiatives the government pulled for the budget didn't make any sense whatsoever

How is that senseless?

Example: Use to buy 6 cases of water for $100 - And with VAT removed it is still $100

Postby hover11 » January 11th, 2022, 5:00 am

RedVEVO wrote:

How is that senseless?

Example: Use to buy 6 cases of water for $100 - And with VAT removed it is still $100
I honestly didn't think I had to read and spell for a big man but thanks for taking the time to explain it men honestly think the government "help" have us in a better position

Postby RedVEVO » January 11th, 2022, 5:25 am

Another technical maneuver by "some" Supermarkets to to reduce the quantity and increasing the price .

Example:

Now go "Price Smart" and you will get a jumbo bag of red seedless grapes for $50 .

Just marvelous !

Now go to a "Smart Price" Supermarket and you will get a bunch of approx., 15 grapes for $19.99

And they added back the seeds for your Xtra happiness and comfort.

Live your Life ! :D

Postby RedVEVO » January 11th, 2022, 5:28 am

bluefete wrote:Nestle MC!!! :x :x :x :x

Good stats !!

Doesn't Nestle get it milf from Trinidad farmers ?

Postby hover11 » January 11th, 2022, 5:39 am

RedVEVO wrote:

Good stats !!

They have the full cream from the locals and they also have the foreign option for the ppl who don't want to support local, the local option normally in the blue carton is normally more expensive

Postby timelapse » January 11th, 2022, 7:06 am

RedVEVO wrote:

Good stats !!

The price of milfs went up?
Dang

carluva

Postby carluva » January 11th, 2022, 7:42 am

Yes the price of 'milk' increased.

Not 'milf'.... Now we know what your Google searches include and what your autocorrect dictionary has added to it.
timelapse wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Good stats !!

The price of milfs went up?
Dang

snatman

Postby snatman » January 11th, 2022, 9:39 am

A spike in prices for U.S. dairy products has hit futures markets, which means more expensive cheese and butter for Americans may be coming.

Omicron is one culprit. Manufacturers are struggling, with the Covid-19 virus variant causing more absenteeism at dairy plants. There’s also a more long-term trend at work: milk production in the U.S. is dropping. It’s getting too expensive to feed cows with grain costs soaring, so farmers are shrinking their herds and sending animals to slaughter. For the cows that remain, they’re getting fed less, which means they’ll produce less milk. Rising labor and energy costs are also making it tougher for dairies to net profits.

Postby hover11 » January 11th, 2022, 10:17 am

snatman wrote:
A spike in prices for U.S. dairy products has hit futures markets, which means more expensive cheese and butter for Americans may be coming.

Omicron is one culprit. Manufacturers are struggling, with the Covid-19 virus variant causing more absenteeism at dairy plants. There’s also a more long-term trend at work: milk production in the U.S. is dropping. It’s getting too expensive to feed cows with grain costs soaring, so farmers are shrinking their herds and sending animals to slaughter. For the cows that remain, they’re getting fed less, which means they’ll produce less milk. Rising labor and energy costs are also making it tougher for dairies to net profits.
So Anchor might be 100 Dollars now