Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Redress10

Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby Redress10 » September 14th, 2021, 10:51 pm

Seeing a photo circulating on facebook with a single chocolate digestive costing $3.00. If that is real then that is absolute madness and men like Lok Jack really taking the piss now.

Food producers/manufacturers have a duty to the citizena to keep food affordable and reasonable or the government has to step in at some point?

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby hover11 » September 14th, 2021, 10:56 pm

Trinis will froth and beat up for a week and focus on sum new next week, food prices been raising , no one can regulate such. Is either you buy it or leave it basically. You the consumer has the power, just a side note Devon is 3 dollars an apple is 5 dollars , take the healthier option
Redress10 wrote:Seeing a photo circulating on facebook with a single chocolate digestive costing $3.00. If that is real then that is absolute madness and men like Lok Jack really taking the piss now.

Food producers/manufacturers have a duty to the citizena to keep food affordable and reasonable or the government has to step in at some point?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 14th, 2021, 11:01 pm

hover11 wrote:Trinis will froth and beat up for a week and focus on sum new next week, food prices been raising , no one can regulate such. Is either you buy it or leave it basically. You the consumer has the power, just a side note Devon is 3 dollars an apple is 5 dollars , take the healthier option
Redress10 wrote:Seeing a photo circulating on facebook with a single chocolate digestive costing $3.00. If that is real then that is absolute madness and men like Lok Jack really taking the piss now.

I think this is a sh*t post. Where are the substitutes for trinis to leave it on the shelves? You really feel manufactuwrs will drop the price if it not selling? They will simply produce something else.

All over the world government regulate food prices. I was just in the UK food prices not rising there. A pack of chocolate digestives in the UK cost the same as a single digestive here in TT? Madness

Oh and btw using the fact that an apple cost $5 also doesn't help your cause. It's kinda like Nestle milk that is produced here is magically the same price as Moo milk that is imported all the way from Germany.

Postby hover11 » September 14th, 2021, 11:04 pm

You comparing us to a first world country, don't do that....you will be surely disappointed. As you can see we have nothing even remotely close to price control and consumer affairs is a toothless bulldog, the power is always in the hands of the consumer, similar to when doubles rose to 5 dollars and ppl beat up and make noise now it is accepted.....I believe it is in Trinis nature to beat up and then accept
Redress10 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Trinis will froth and beat up for a week and focus on sum new next week, food prices been raising , no one can regulate such. Is either you buy it or leave it basically. You the consumer has the power, just a side note Devon is 3 dollars an apple is 5 dollars , take the healthier option

I think this is a sh*t post. Where are the substitutes for trinis to leave it on the shelves? You really feel manufactuwrs will drop the price if it not selling? They will simply produce something else.

All over the world government regulate food prices. I was just in the UK food prices not rising there. A pack of chocolate digestives in the UK cost the same as a single digestive here in TT?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 14th, 2021, 11:10 pm

hover11 wrote:You comparing us to a first world country, don't do that....you will be surely disappointed. As you can see we have nothing even remotely close to price control and consumer affairs is a toothless bulldog, the power is always in the hands of the consumer, similar to when doubles rose to 5 dollars and ppl beat up and make noise now it is accepted.....I believe it is in Trinis nature to beat up and then accept
Redress10 wrote:

All over the world government regulate food prices. I was just in the UK food prices not rising there. A pack of chocolate digestives in the UK cost the same as a single digestive here in TT?

It's not about comparing or being "first world". You give that country too much credit. The fact remains that the elected politicians don't seem to care about food prices because their friends/financiers are the food importers and manufacturers. The government has a role in ensuing that citizens are food secure so the nation could function. That is a basic human need and a basic function of governance.

Trinis stop acting up because they realise the government doesn't back the consumer so it is pointless at this point in time.

Postby Habit7 » September 14th, 2021, 11:40 pm

Redress10 wrote:All over the world government regulate food prices. I was just in the UK food prices not rising there. A pack of chocolate digestives in the UK cost the same as a single digestive here in TT? Madness

Wait wat?

The govts that regulate food prices do so unsuccessfully, it creates black markets, worsens poverty and it is not capitalistic. Venezuela is the best example of that. The UK, like the rest of the world, is dealing with soaring food prices due to the pandemic https://www.retailgazette.co.uk/blog/20 ... n-3-years/ Supply chains have been disrupted, countries are hoarding and ppl are not going out to work because of spikes in cases.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 14th, 2021, 11:49 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:All over the world government regulate food prices. I was just in the UK food prices not rising there. A pack of chocolate digestives in the UK cost the same as a single digestive here in TT? Madness

Wait wat?

The govts that regulate food prices do so unsuccessfully, it creates black markets, worsens poverty and it is not capitalistic. Venezuela is the best example of that. The UK, like the rest of the world, is dealing with soaring food prices due to the pandemic https://www.retailgazette.co.uk/blog/20 ... n-3-years/ Supply chains have been disrupted, countries are hoarding and ppl are not going out to work because of spikes in cases.

So who do you think regulate prices smart-arse? It's the government in the developed world. Whether it is by price controls, anti monopoly laws or even paying farmers for their produce such as they do for milk in Europe and wheat in the USA it is the government that regulate food prices?

I was just in the UK, there was no food price increase that was noticeable and I was in the more expensive part of London in one of the finer supermarkets there is. Yet a trolley of goods in that part of the world considered one of THE most expensive places on the planet still cheaper than a trolley of goods from Tru Valu farless Massy. But you on this forum talking about Venezuela and black markets as though food prices in the developed world is strictly left to market forces of demand and supply.

Let me ask you something. Try and find a good answer. If the country suffering from a USD shortage, where are food importers getting usd to import food? Howcome the government aint crack down on foreign food imports as yet?

Postby Habit7 » September 15th, 2021, 12:26 am

There is a difference between regulating food prices through price controls and govt regulating production. TT is way too small for us to regulate the cost of food through production, larger countries who are the top producers can do that, not us. We are price takers.

And I don't care about your anecdotal Dora the Explorer adventures. The stated fact is that food prices in the UK like all around the world are increasing. Your perception doesn't trump that.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 15th, 2021, 12:45 am

Bro....you are sounding delusional.

Try to make sense. Trinidad are price takers? Yes but what is the mark up on the price of goods that hit our shelves? You are acting as though food like oil/gas is negotiates by the government. Food is bought by private entities who then add a mark up. The question is what is that mark up?

My dora the explorer expeditions is relevant to this discussion because it clearly shows that the most expensive places on the planet that I have been to such as Dubai are still cheaper than TT. That shows that price gourging is clearly taking place where there is a lack of government regulation.

Ever wondered if the supermarket association is actually operating as a cartel? Has there ever been an investigation into the supermarket association and its members?

You really need to bring some sort of substance to discussions on this forum and stop biting at wind at every and anything.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » September 15th, 2021, 1:41 am

Trinidad gone thru.

Time to ride out from there.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 15th, 2021, 2:07 am

Apparently Kiss raised prices across the board. Goodie went from $1.00 to $1.50 now. That used to be the price of a double cake which is now $4.00 I believe.

Chocolate digestive is already $2.00 for one. Even if it's a fake post, it doesn't seem far-fetched. It will get there soon enough with how things going.

As for leaving it on the shelf - that's what I did. Asked the shop keeper if people still buying it and was told yes.

This govt of ours simply doesn't care about the lives of its citizens. You already said it - that things are they way they are to suit the financiers and friends of govt. They getting the forex to import food and grow their multiple businesses while the average person and small business owner suffers. They run entire sectors and entities into the ground only to be served up later on a silver platter to the select few to start anew; all at the taxpayer's expense. Our govt has no intentions of showing itself as being competent or caring. They literally have no shame, no sense of duty to their fellow man.

Ent Rowley say we need to make the rich richer in this country so we would be able to have jobs? That we should be so grateful to them for giving us work and providing us with food? Was it not you Redress, in another thread, that said we still in plantation days? Since when slaves have a say in anything? We just need to be grateful to Massa for providing.

In the words of our very own zoom: "Take bull. Trinidad take bull."

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » September 15th, 2021, 6:52 am

By middle october world prices will increase especially transport where a container used to cost $1700 usd not cost about $30000 usd. So expect unhealthy foreign sheit to increase. Allyuh go beat up a digestive is $3.00 an still buy it but refuse to but ah orange for the same $3.00.complain kfc gone up an still buy but refuse to but fresh fish at $22 a lb for king mackrel.

Postby hover11 » September 15th, 2021, 6:58 am

Doubles was 50c , it is 5 dollars, no one bat an eye though

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 15th, 2021, 8:05 am

Like allyuh didnt see the prices of oil and sugar....now and then

Postby hover11 » September 15th, 2021, 8:13 am

That's the whole thing where is control or regulation of prices, all the costs are given to the consumer to carry. One doubles could be 10 dollars in some time to come ppl will still rush it.We are our own downfall.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Like allyuh didnt see the prices of oil and sugar....now and then

Postby MaxPower » September 15th, 2021, 8:15 am

daring dragoon wrote:By middle october world prices will increase especially transport where a container used to cost $1700 usd not cost about $30000 usd. So expect unhealthy foreign sheit to increase. Allyuh go beat up a digestive is $3.00 an still buy it but refuse to but ah orange for the same $3.00.complain kfc gone up an still buy but refuse to but fresh fish at $22 a lb for king mackrel.

Exactly.

Postby Habit7 » September 15th, 2021, 10:56 am

Some of you all need to learn to think beyond your limited sphere

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 15th, 2021, 11:06 am

Habit7 wrote:Some of you all need to learn to think beyond your limited sphere

So idiot. If food prices continually rising globally, shouldn't the gov't of TT look into improving local food production to counter these "global" conditions. Also if food prices are rising all over developed countries then where are the protests and riots etc? Or is it that these prices are really only affecting the poorer countries?

Which is it exactly? What exactly is your point you are trying to prove?

Postby hover11 » September 15th, 2021, 11:18 am

The government should have been doing that years ago not now and not only this government but the ones prior, agriculture was always the least important sector on our budget
Redress10 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Some of you all need to learn to think beyond your limited sphere

So idiot. If food prices continually rising globally, shouldn't the gov't of TT look into improving local food production to counter these "global" conditions. Also if food prices are rising all over developed countries then where are the protests and riots etc? Or is it that these prices are really only affecting the poorer countries?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 15th, 2021, 11:27 am

I would like Habit to tell us exactly wtf the GOVTT does when the day comes because it seems that they never are supposed to do anything.

They have the easiest job in the world apparently.

Postby meccalli » September 15th, 2021, 11:30 am

Yess, Lets protest against the sun, it's way too hot these days.
Most people these days really are too comfortable and insulated from the reality of an ever changing physical world. A generation that never had to face the realities of famines. ..Finally getting a taste of disease and everyone's losing their minds and thinking med/ tech will save our current way of life while others have been experiencing such realities on a constant basis.
Growing populations, climatic pressures and greedy/wasteful corps and people in power. We live in a world with finite resources, just in case anybody doesn't realise.

Postby Habit7 » September 15th, 2021, 11:31 am

Redress10 wrote:So idiot. If food prices continually rising globally, shouldn't the gov't of TT look into improving local food production to counter these "global" conditions. Also if food prices are rising all over developed countries then where are the protests and riots etc? Or is it that these prices are really only affecting the poorer countries?

Yes Capt Vague, lets improve food local production.

Are we going to improve local wheat production? Since that is a staple for a lot of our food. Do we have enough land to grow sufficient rice? How about sugar, we haven't had success with that since colonial days. Are we going to increase poultry and livestock production? But wait, we need feed to do that and the prices internationally are increasing and countries are hoarding.

And we doing all this while global shipping prices are skyrocketing too?

It is easy to be cynical and act like everybody is dotish except you. You are woefully uninformed about the subject therefore your solutions are pedestrian.

Postby bluefete » September 15th, 2021, 11:32 am

Redress10 wrote:I would like Habit to tell us exactly wtf the GOVTT does when the day comes because it seems that they never are supposed to do anything.

They have the easiest job in the world apparently.

You and Hover are responding to "ah PNM till ah dead" commentator. So you are wasting your time. Zoom could verify.

The PNM's mantra, since Manning's days, to consumers, is that "the power is yours".

Price control of food went out the door with Manning.

Tantie Kams made a lame effort to try and reduce prices.

But this Rowley government "of the rich, by the rich and for the rich" dgaf!!!!!!!!!!!!!

They know Trinbagonians would rather suck salt than stand up for anything. No backbone at all.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 15th, 2021, 11:35 am

meccalli wrote:Yess, Lets protest against the sun, it's way too hot these days.
Most people these days really are too comfortable and insulated from the reality of an ever changing physical world. A generation that never had to face the realities of famines. ..Finally getting a taste of disease and everyone's losing their minds and thinking med/ tech will save our current way of life while others have been experiencing such realities on a constant basis.
Growing populations, climatic pressures and greedy/wasteful corps and people in power. We live in a world with finite resources, just in case anybody doesn't realise.

Except food isn't a finite resource. You can simply grow more food once you have access to land. It is not rocket science. When Americans experienced hunger and famine they simply improved the technology and practices that they use to improve food production. It has been done before.

Postby bluefete » September 15th, 2021, 11:35 am

Habit7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:So idiot. If food prices continually rising globally, shouldn't the gov't of TT look into improving local food production to counter these "global" conditions. Also if food prices are rising all over developed countries then where are the protests and riots etc? Or is it that these prices are really only affecting the poorer countries?

Are we going to improve local wheat production? Since that is a staple for a lot of our food. Do we have enough land to grow sufficient rice? How about sugar, we haven't had success with that since colonial days. Are we going to increase poultry and livestock production? But wait, we need feed to do that and the prices internationally are increasing and countries are hoarding.

It is easy to be cynical and act like everybody is dotish except you. You are woefully uninformed about the subject therefore your solutions are pedestrian.

Typical PNM response.

It was MASSIVE INCOMPETENCE and BOBOL by many PNM and UNC governments that have us in an agricultural mess.

Caroni was a remnant from Tate and Lyle and we ran it into the ground. As long as we had oil and gas, self-sufficiency in food was never a priority.

NAR started to rehabilitate abandoned agricultural estates but when your beloved PNM came back into office in 1991, Manning mashed that up.

Postby meccalli » September 15th, 2021, 11:41 am

Redress10 wrote:

Except food isn't a finite resource. You can simply grow more food once you have access to land. It is not rocket science. When Americans experienced hunger and famine they simply improved the technology and practices that they use to improve food production. It has been done before.

Land itself is a finite resource. We are reaching a tipping point for multiple factors of physical inputs required for food production. Some of which I'm sure most people aren't even aware of. Here's just one.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 15th, 2021, 11:45 am

Habit7 wrote:

Bro, you are proving yourself to be the one uninformed on this forum. Wheat is readily available all over the world. America grows wheat to sustain its 350 million citizens and to export to millions/billions around the world. UK, canada, Russia etc are also wheat producers and exporters.

So unless there is a shortage that limits exports then wheat availability is a non issue for a population of 1.3 million ppl when wheat producers are producing it to meet the demand of hundreds of millions/billions worldwide. The only variable cost that would occur is the cost of shipping because it would need to be shipped here. That is the only variable.

On the issue of rice. That is gov't fault for building and developing agricultural land for political mileage. I say no more on that issue. On the availability of land for agricultural land all I have to ask is why not use Guyana? They have a land mass that is bigger than their population needs so why didn't the gov't which has been YOUR pnm government for 90% of the time reach out to Guyana to lease/buy hundreds and thousands of their lands for agricultural use. Since you know our land isn't "available".

Howcome China could spend billions buying up agricultural land in the USA to meet their needs but supporters such as yourself coming in this forum and saying the government can't do nothing. It is out of their hands.

Even global shipping prices could be countered with effective forecasting and pricing. Some of you all really brainwashed by politics inno.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 15th, 2021, 11:49 am

meccalli wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

Land itself is a finite resource. We are reaching a tipping point for multiple factors of physical inputs required for food production. Some of which I'm sure most people aren't even aware of. Here's just one.

Right but also remember this. It takes the same to sustain 1.3 million Trinis as 1.3 million ppl in the US etc. We simply need access to similar resources. So if 1.3 million ppl require 40 acres to grow food then access to 40 acres is what is crucial. There is a reason why China is expanding beyond just china. They require resources to sustain 1.3 billion ppl so they buying up additional farm land in places such as the US to meet that demand etc.

Postby 88sins » September 15th, 2021, 12:26 pm

so allyuh hada see a $3 digestive to realize allyuh screwed wrt to cost of food in this place?
when current & previous regimes ignored local farmers pleas for aid, bulldozed crops, built houses on arable land best suited for planting, squandered millions giving financiers grants for agri projects that never saw day one of startup, etc & so forth, allyuh wasn't studyin cost of food then? Yes, we import too much of the food we consume, even the food we can grow here. And as I tired tell allyuh, a nation that cannot feed itself is destined to collapse. Would it kill us to cut back on our wheat consumption as individuals? No. So why we don't do it? because we like it fast and easy & we do not care about the long term sustainability of our practices.

So op, what really upsetting you? It shouldn't be that a digestive is $3, because that's one of the ways how capitalism in a free market works. If you have something to sell, you sell it for what you want for it, and if someone want's it they buy it at the price you selling it for, if not, they don't. The power lies with the consumer, and unfortunately the problem also starts there too

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 15th, 2021, 12:30 pm

:? :?
IMG-20210915-WA0010.jpg